DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the peptide SER140 (i.e. a dendrimer of 4 monomeric peptides SGRKSSKMQA (SEQ ID NO: 1) and coupled to a lysine backbone) in the reply filed on 7/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claims 22-26 are pending in this application.
Claim 24 is withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Claims 22-23 and 25-26 are presently under consideration as being drawn to the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced (see MPEP 2173.05(q)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 22-26 recite a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced (see MPEP 2173.05(q)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-23 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berezin et al. (WO 2012/122985).
With respect to claims 22-23, Berezin et al. teach a multimeric compound comprising two or more peptides consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claims 1-2 and 30). It is noted that SEQ ID NO: 1 corresponds to instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 1.
Furthermore, it is noted that “[d]uring examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim” (MPEP 2111.02). In the instant case, the limitation “for use in the treatment of diabetic nephropathy" does not appear to add any further structural differences that would distinguish the instant invention with regards to the invention of Berezin et al. Thus, Berezin et al. is deemed to anticipate these claims.
With respect to claim 25, Berezin et al. teach that the compound is a tetrameric dendrimer (claim 37).
With respect to claim 26, Berezin et al. teach that the tetrameric dendrimer is coupled to a lysine backbone (page 25, lines 32-35).
Double Patenting
Claims 22-23 and 25-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9359405. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same compound.
With respect to claims 22-23, ‘405 teaches a multimeric compound comprising two or more peptides, wherein each of said two or more peptides consists of 10 to 14 consecutive amino acid residues derived from IL-1 receptor antagonist protein (IL1RA), each peptide consisting of: the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 11). It is noted that SEQ ID NO: 1 corresponds to instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 1.
Furthermore, it is noted that “[d]uring examination, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. If so, the recitation serves to limit the claim” (MPEP 2111.02). In the instant case, the limitation “for use in the treatment of diabetic nephropathy" does not appear to add any further structural differences that would distinguish the instant invention with regards to the invention of ‘405. Thus, ‘405 is deemed to anticipate these claims.
With respect to claim 25, ‘405 teaches that the compound is a tetrameric dendrimer (claim 18).
With respect to claim 26, Berezin et al. teach that the tetrameric dendrimer is coupled to a lysine backbone (claim 20).
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658