DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 08 January 2024. Claims 1-30 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
22 July 2025
08 January 2024
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fakoorian et al. (hereinafter Fakoorian) (US 2021/0136783 A1; also, see US 11,510,131 B2).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 29-30, Fakoorian discloses a user equipment (UE) (e.g., 500) { (see pg. 9, [0097, 0100]; Figs. 1, 3, & 5) }, comprising:
at least one processor (e.g., 502) { (see pg. 9, [0097, 0100]; Figs. 1, 3, & 5) }; and
a memory (e.g., 504) coupled to the at least one processor (e.g., 502), the at least one processor (e.g., 502) storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor(e.g., 502), is configured to perform operations including { (see pg. 9, [0097, 0100]; Figs. 1, 3, & 5) }:
transmitting a channel occupancy time (COT) sharing (e.g., 2100) request to a second UE, wherein the COT sharing request indicates to the second UE to initiate sharing with the UE of a COT acquired by the second UE to access a sidelink channel { (see pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, & 21), where the system provides a UE (e.g., 115 - SL TX UE) that transmits sidelink data to UE (e.g., 115 - SL RX UE) };
receiving COT sharing information from the second UE, the COT sharing information configured to facilitate access to the COT by the UE { (see pg. 19, [0204, 0206]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21), where the system provides a UE (e.g., 115 - SL TX UE) that transmits sidelink data to UE (e.g., 115 - SL RX UE) }; and
transmitting data over the sidelink channel to one or more sidelink UEs during the COT shared by the second UE { (see pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, & 21), where the system provides a UE (e.g., 115 - SL TX UE) that transmits sidelink data to UE (e.g., 115 - SL RX UE) }.
Regarding claim 2, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the UE is a poorly-placed UE having a low probability of a successful listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure to acquire a COT to access the sidelink channel { (see pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claim 3, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the second UE is a well-placed UE having a high probability of successful listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure to acquire a COT to access the sidelink channel { (see pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 3, further comprising: receiving an indication of a channel occupancy (e.g., COT sharaing scheme 2100) of the second UE, the channel occupancy indicating a percentage of receive samples measured by the second UE where a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) is above a preconfigured threshold; or transmitting, to the second UE, an indication of a channel occupancy of the UE, wherein the UE is configured to determine whether to initiate COT sharing with the UE based on a determination of whether the second UE has a higher probability of a successful LBT procedure to acquire the COT to access the sidelink channel than the UE based on the channel occupancy of the UE and the channel occupancy of the second UE { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 3, further comprising: receiving one or more COT sharing requests froone or more UEs, respectively; storing an indication of the one or more UEs from which the one or more COT sharing requests are received; determining whether the second UE is a UE of the one or more UEs; transmitting the COT sharing request to the second UE in response to a determination that the second UE is not a UE of the one or more UEs from which the one or more COT sharing requests are received; and foregoing transmitting the COT sharing request to the second UE in response to a determination that the second UE is a UE of the one or more UEs from which the one or more COT sharing requests are received { (see pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the second UE has no data to transmit during the COT and acquires the COT exclusively for sharing the COT with the UE { (see pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; pp. 6-7, [0076-0077]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the COT sharing request is included in a COT sharing request field of a second stage sidelink control information (SCI) message transmitted to the second UE { (see pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; pp. 6-7, [0076-0077]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein the COT sharing request includes a one-bit indication, wherein: a first value of the one-bit indication indicates that the second UE is not to initiate sharing of the COT with the UE, and a second value of the one-bit indication indicates that the second UE is to initiate sharing of the COT with the UE, wherein the second UE is configured to determine parameters for acquiring the COT { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 7, wherein a higher layer parameter transmitted over the sidelink interface to the second UE indicates whether the COT sharing request field is included in the second stage SCI message or not { (see pg. 3, [0052]; pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein: a first value of the higher layer parameter indicates that the second UE is not to initiate sharing of the COT with the UE, and a second value of the higher layer parameter indicate that the COT sharing request includes an indication of a plurality of channel access priority classes (CAPCs) from which the second UE is to select to use for acquiring the COT { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the COT sharing request includes a buffer status report (BSR) indicating a buffer of the data that the UE is to transmit during the COT over the sidelink channel to the one or more sidelink UEs { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the COT sharing request includes an indication of a maximum number of COTs that the second UE is to acquire, wherein the second UE is configured to acquire the COT when the BSR is greater than zero if a number of COTs acquired by the second UE to share with the UE is less than the maximum number of COTs, wherein the UE transmits an update of the BSR to the second UE at the end of each COT when the second UE is not included in the one or more sidelink UEs to which the UE transmit the data during the COT { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the COT sharing request includes an indication of a channel occupancy of the UE, wherein the channel occupancy indicates a percentage of receive samples measured by the UE where a receive signal strength indicator (RSSI) is above a preconfigured threshold { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 14 and 29-30, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein transmitting the COT sharing request includes one or more of: performing a category 2 (Cat2) listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure to access the sidelink channel to transmit the COT sharing request to the second UE; performing a category 4 (Cat4) LBT procedure with a high energy threshold to access the sidelink channel to transmit the COT sharing request to the second UE; performing a Cat4 LBT procedure with a small contention window size to access the sidelink channel to transmit the COT sharing request to the second UE; transmitting the COT sharing request to a base station configured to transmit the COT sharing request to the second UE; transmitting the COT sharing request to the second UE in a primary cell, wherein the primary cell is in a licensed band, and wherein the primary cell is one carrier of a plurality of carriers configured for the second UE; or transmitting the COT sharing request to the second UE using short signaling without performing sensing of the sidelink channel { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claims 15 and 28, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein transmitting the data during the COT over the sidelink channel to the one or more sidelink UEs includes: performing a category 2 (Cat2) listen-before-talk (LBT) when a gap between transmissions of the UE and transmissions of the second UE is greater than a predetermined threshold; and using a cyclic prefix (CP) extension to compensate for the gap being greater than the predetermined threshold { (see pg. 4, [0056-0057]; pp. 19-20, [0204-0208]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Regarding claim 27, Fakoorian discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein determining to acquire the COT for COT sharing with the second UE includes: determining, based, at least in part, on the COT sharing request, whether a probability of acquiring the COT by the UE is higher or lower than a probability of acquiring the COT by the second UE; acquiring the COT and initiating COT sharing of the acquired COT with the UE in response to a determination that the probability of acquiring the COT by the UE is higher than the probability of acquiring the COT by the second UE; and foregoing acquiring the COT and initiating COT sharing in response to a determination that the probability of acquiring the COT by the UE is not higher than the probability of acquiring the COT by the second UE { (see pp. 19-20, [0204, 0206-0207]; Figs. 1, 3, 5, 7A-13, 15-16, & 21) }.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sun et al. (US 2021/0092783 A1) discloses channel occupancy time (COT) sharing for sidelink.
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
23 December 2025