DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in figure 6, there is an extra numeral 74b in the bottom right that is not pointing to any item in the figure and should be removed. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn et al. (2019/0349747).
With regard to claim 1, Dunn teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 28: “A plug connector housing 200 for electronic data lines (taught in paragraph 28), comprising: a data diode 140 integrated into the plug connector housing 200”.
With regard to claim 2, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 28 and 45-46: “wherein the data diode 140 has a plurality of parallel communication channels (paragraph 28 teaches multiple one-way communication sources and destinations handled by the diode at once) and, in at least one of these communication channels, only permits a flow of data in one direction”.
With regard to claim 3, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 2”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 28 and 45-46: “wherein the data diode contains a plurality of individual diodes (taught in paragraphs 45-46) in the plurality of communication channels (paragraphs 45-46 teach multiple one-way communication sources and destinations handled by the diode at once) and the forward directions of the individual diodes 140 are configured or able to be configured independently of one another (paragraph 46 teaches the diodes being configurable as desired)”.
With regard to claim 4, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 28 and 45-46: “wherein the data diode 140 is a hard data diode, the hardware configuration of which defines the forward direction of the diode 140”.
With regard to claim 5, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 28 and 42: “wherein the data diode 140 is a soft data diode, in which the forward direction is defined by the configuration of the diode software (paragraph 42 teaches software programming used to configure the diode)”.
With regard to claim 6, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 41: “wherein the data diode 140 is designed to emulate bidirectional communication according to a predetermined protocol”.
With regard to claim 7, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 39: “wherein the data diode 140 has a configuration interface for receiving configuration commands (paragraph 39 teaches the diode being configurable through an input device), wherein the data diode 140 is configurable for different operating modes”.
With regard to claim 9, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 7”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 37: “wherein the operating modes of the data diode 140 comprise an inactive mode (taught in paragraph 37, where connectors 290 and 240 are not processed) in which bidirectional communication is permitted”.
With regard to claim 10, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 7”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 45 and 46: “wherein the operating modes differ in the forward direction of the data diode 140 in at least one communication channel (paragraphs 45-46 teach the different paths configured for different operations)”.
With regard to claim 11, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 6”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 41-42: “wherein the operating modes differ in protocol specifications on the basis of which the bidirectional communication is emulated”.
With regard to claim 12, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 11, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 41: “wherein learning software (detection software taught in paragraph 41), which is configured to learn emulation algorithms for emulating bidirectional communication when the data diode 140 is active through observation of real bidirectional communication, is implemented in the data diode 140”.
With regard to claim 13, Dunn teaches: “A plug connector 140 having a plug connector housing 200 as claimed in claim 1”, as shown in figures 1-2 and described above.
With regard to claim 14, Dunn teaches: “…a plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “A plug connector system (shown in figure 1) having at least two mutually complementary plug connectors (110 and 140), at least one 140 of which has a plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”.
With regard to claim 15, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector system as claimed in claim 14”, as shown above.
Dunn also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 41: “wherein at least one coupling, the housing 200 of which contains the data diode 140 and is able to be used in two opposite orientations between two plug connectors 110 and 120, wherein the opposite orientations determine the respective forward direction of the data diode 140 (flipping 140 in the left-right direction would connect 110 and 120 to opposite sides, the connectors would then be identified to connect in the opposite directions as described in paragraph 41)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn et al. (2019/0349747) in view of Gifre et al. (Castor, 2018).
With regard to claim 8, Dunn teaches: “The plug connector housing as claimed in claim 1”, as shown above.
Dunn does not teach: “wherein the data diode contains a key file with a key to decrypt encrypted configuration commands”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Gifre teaches, as taught on page 3 lines 18-42, the use of key files to decrypt encrypted configuration commands. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use combine the key file of Gifre with the data diode of Dunn in order to ensure data privacy (Gifre, page 3 lines 18-42).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831