DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is responsive to an amendment filed on 03/16/2026. Claims 1-4, 6, 13, 15, 18, 20, 22, 25-26, 31-32, 44, 48, 51, 56, 60, 63 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicants arguments filed in the 03/16/2026 remarks have been fully considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection which is deemed appropriate to address all of the needs at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO.
Regarding claim 1, Christoph teaches a method for processing an input audio signal to be perceived in an acoustical environment comprising at least a first sound zone and a second sound zone (see fig. 1, 9, ¶ 0018, 0051. The environment having different sound zones which can be individually adjusted automatically.), said method comprising the steps of: receiving an input audio signal; processing said input audio signal using signal processing to generate a processed audio signal (see fig. 1, ¶ 0018, 0022, 0025, 0051. The system identifies the uses in the zones and generates audio signals for each of the users in their individual zones.); acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal by a loudspeaker system for said first sound zone, said loudspeaker system including a loudspeaker array that: includes a plurality of transducers, and directionally reproduces said processed audio signal, targeting said first sound zone (see fig. 1-2, ¶ 0029. The loudspeakers array (201, 202, 203) each circular array perform the function of beamforming to specific zone (areas) wherein the listener will be located.);
Christoph discloses sound zones wherein it discloses adjusting the sound volume for each sound zone. However it does not disclose determining an expected loudness in a second sound zone of said acoustical environment, of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal by a loudspeaker system for a first sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining an expected loudness is at least with respect to a bass frequency band; and automatically adjusting, on the basis of said determined expected loudness in said second sound zone, one or more level-dependent filters of said processing, wherein said one or more level-dependent filters being automatically adjusted to reduce a sound pressure level of said processed audio signal, in at least said bass frequency band, in said second sound zone, such that leakage of low-frequency sound from said first sound zone to said second sound zone is reduced.
Osako teaches determining an expected loudness in a second sound zone of said acoustical environment, of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal by a loudspeaker system for a first sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining an expected loudness is at least with respect to a bass frequency band; and automatically adjusting, on the basis of said determined expected loudness in said second sound zone, one or more level-dependent filters of said processing, wherein said one or more level-dependent filters being automatically adjusted to reduce a sound pressure level of said processed audio signal, in at least said bass frequency band, in said second sound zone, such that leakage of low-frequency sound from said first sound zone to said second sound zone is reduced (see fig. 1-3, ¶ 0025-0027, 0035-0040, 0079, 0083-0084, 0097, 0143, 0261, 0301-0306, 0318-0319. A leaking sound from the divided region is generated near the boundary of the divided region. The leaking sound referred to here is a content sound that leaks out of the divided region and is heard. The content sound that is heard outside the divided region is the leaking sound. The sounds of the content A and the content B in the portion surrounded by a dotted line CR11 is a leaking sound heard in the region between the region A and the region B, which are divided regions, that is, the region outside the divided regions. Characteristics such as the frequency characteristics of the masking sound for masking the leaking sound can be the same characteristics as crowd noise, bubble noise, pink noise, and the like. In this way, it is possible to mask the leaking sound without causing a sense of discomfort. The masking sound may be reproduced only in a region between a plurality of divided regions, or the masking sound may be reproduced in the region between the plurality of divided regions and in the region near the boundary in each divided region. The reproduction level adjustment unit controls the adjustment of the reproduction levels of the masking sound and the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information supplied from the outside and the supplied content sound data ,the reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the masking sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a masking sound gain coefficient for reproducing the masking sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit. The reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a content sound gain coefficient for reproducing the content sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit by the masking sound gain coefficient supplied from the reproduction level adjustment unit (gain adjustment.). The LPF is an LPF (low pass filter), and extracts only a low frequency component of the masking sound by performing the filtering processing using the low pass filter on the masking sound supplied from the amplification unit and supplies the masking sound to the DA conversion unit. The DA conversion unit performs DA conversion on the masking sound supplied from the LPF, more specifically, the low frequency component of the masking sound, and supplies the resulting masking sound, which is an analog signal, to the speaker, and causes the speaker to reproduce the masking sound.).
The combination of Osako to Christophe provide the adjustments and filtering of the signal to be accounted for a gain adjustment dependent on the loudness adjustment and wherein the leakage is contained or masked from the regions in which the sound is leaked over into which can be a low frequency signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph to incorporate gain adjustments based on sound zones based on spillovers from other zones. The modification will be to provide a gain setter that compares the masking threshold (from the in-zone signal) to the interference signals to determine if signal adjustment(s) are warranted.
Regarding claim 56, Christoph teaches a loudspeaker system for processing an input audio signal to be perceived in an acoustical environment comprising at least a first sound zone and a second sound zone (see fig. 1, 9, ¶ 0018, 0051. The environment having different sound zones which can be individually adjusted automatically.), comprising: an input arranged to receive an input audio signal; one or more signal processors arranged to process said input audio signal using signal to produce a processed audio signal (see fig. 1, ¶ 0018, 0022, 0025, 0051. The system identifies the uses in the zones and generates audio signals for each of the users in their individual zones.); a loudspeaker array comprising a plurality of transducers for acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal, said loudspeaker array being arranged to directionally reproduces said processed audio signal, targeting said first sound zone (see fig. 1-2, ¶ 0029. The loudspeakers array (201, 202, 203) each circular array perform the function of beamforming to specific zone (areas) wherein the listener will be located.).
Christoph discloses sound zones wherein it discloses adjusting the sound volume for each sound zone. However it does not disclose wherein said loudspeaker system is arranged to determine an expected loudness in said second sound zone of said acoustical environment, of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal for a first sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining said expected loudness being at least with respect to a bass frequency band, wherein said loudspeaker system is arranged to automatically adjust one or more level- dependent filters of said processing based on the basis of said determined expected loudness, and wherein said one or more level-dependent filters are automatically adjusted to reduce a sound pressure level of said processed audio signal, in at least said bass frequency band, in said second sound zone, such that leakage of low-frequency sound from said first sound zone to said second sound zone is reduced.
Osako teaches wherein said loudspeaker system is arranged to determine an expected loudness in said second sound zone of said acoustical environment, of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal for a first sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining said expected loudness being at least with respect to a bass frequency band, wherein said loudspeaker system is arranged to automatically adjust one or more level- dependent filters of said processing based on the basis of said determined expected loudness, and wherein said one or more level-dependent filters are automatically adjusted to reduce a sound pressure level of said processed audio signal, in at least said bass frequency band, in said second sound zone, such that leakage of low-frequency sound from said first sound zone to said second sound zone is reduced (see fig. 1-3, ¶ 0025-0027, 0035-0040, 0079, 0083-0084, 0097, 0143, 0261, 0301-0306, 0318-0319. A leaking sound from the divided region is generated near the boundary of the divided region. The leaking sound referred to here is a content sound that leaks out of the divided region and is heard. The content sound that is heard outside the divided region is the leaking sound. The sounds of the content A and the content B in the portion surrounded by a dotted line CR11 is a leaking sound heard in the region between the region A and the region B, which are divided regions, that is, the region outside the divided regions. Characteristics such as the frequency characteristics of the masking sound for masking the leaking sound can be the same characteristics as crowd noise, bubble noise, pink noise, and the like. In this way, it is possible to mask the leaking sound without causing a sense of discomfort. The masking sound may be reproduced only in a region between a plurality of divided regions, or the masking sound may be reproduced in the region between the plurality of divided regions and in the region near the boundary in each divided region. The reproduction level adjustment unit controls the adjustment of the reproduction levels of the masking sound and the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information supplied from the outside and the supplied content sound data ,the reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the masking sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a masking sound gain coefficient for reproducing the masking sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit. The reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a content sound gain coefficient for reproducing the content sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit by the masking sound gain coefficient supplied from the reproduction level adjustment unit (gain adjustment.). The LPF is an LPF (low pass filter), and extracts only a low frequency component of the masking sound by performing the filtering processing using the low pass filter on the masking sound supplied from the amplification unit and supplies the masking sound to the DA conversion unit. The DA conversion unit performs DA conversion on the masking sound supplied from the LPF, more specifically, the low frequency component of the masking sound, and supplies the resulting masking sound, which is an analog signal, to the speaker, and causes the speaker to reproduce the masking sound.).
The combination of Osako to Christophe provide the adjustments and filtering of the signal to be accounted for a gain adjustment dependent on the loudness adjustment and wherein the leakage is contained or masked from the regions in which the sound is leaked over into which can be a low frequency signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph to incorporate gain adjustments based on sound zones based on spillovers from other zones. The modification will be to provide a gain setter that compares the masking threshold (from the in-zone signal) to the interference signals to determine if signal adjustment(s) are warranted.
5. Claim(s) 63 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO in further view of Beer (US 2011/0142258).
Regarding claim 63, Christoph teaches a method for processing an input audio signal to be perceived in an acoustical environment comprising at least a first sound zone and a second sound zone (see fig. 1, 9, ¶ 0018, 0051. The environment having different sound zones which can be individually adjusted automatically.), said method comprising steps of: receiving an input audio signal; processing said input audio signal using signal processing to generate a processed audio signal (see fig. 1, ¶ 0018, 0022, 0025, 0051. The system identifies the uses in the zones and generates audio signals for each of the users in their individual zones.); and wherein said loudspeakers system comprises a loudspeaker array comprising a plurality of transducers; wherein said loudspeaker array comprises one or more gradient loudspeakers (see fig. 2-3. ¶ 0029 The speakers area arranged back to back which can be gradient loudspeaker system. The speaker system is a loudspeaker array.); acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal by a loudspeaker system for said first sound zone, wherein said loudspeaker system comprises a loudspeaker array comprising a plurality of transducers, wherein said loudspeaker array comprises one or more gradient loudspeakers, and wherein said loudspeaker array directionally reproduces said processed audio signal targeting said first sound zone (see fig. 1-2, ¶ 0029. The loudspeakers array (201, 202, 203) each circular array perform the function of beamforming to specific zone (areas) wherein the listener will be located.).
Christoph discloses sound zones wherein it discloses adjusting the sound volume for each sound zone. However it does not disclose wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal; wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band; determining an expected loudness in said second sound zone of said acoustical environment, of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal by said loudspeaker system for said first sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining an expected loudness is at least with respect to said bass frequency band; automatically adjusting, based on the basis of said determined expected loudness in said second sound zone, one or more level-dependent filters of said processing, wherein said one or more level-dependent filters are automatically adjusted to reduce a sound pressure level of said processed audio signal, in at least said bass frequency band, in said second sound zone such that leakage of low-frequency sound from said first sound zone to said second sound zone is reduced.
Osako teaches wherein said loudspeaker system is arranged to determine an expected loudness in said second sound zone of said acoustical environment, of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal for a first sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining said expected loudness being at least with respect to a bass frequency band, wherein said loudspeaker system is arranged to automatically adjust one or more level- dependent filters of said processing based on the basis of said determined expected loudness, and wherein said one or more level-dependent filters are automatically adjusted to reduce a sound pressure level of said processed audio signal, in at least said bass frequency band, in said second sound zone, such that leakage of low-frequency sound from said first sound zone to said second sound zone is reduced (see fig. 1-3, ¶ 0025-0027, 0035-0040, 0079, 0083-0084, 0097, 0143, 0261, 0301-0306, 0318-0319. A leaking sound from the divided region is generated near the boundary of the divided region. The leaking sound referred to here is a content sound that leaks out of the divided region and is heard. The content sound that is heard outside the divided region is the leaking sound. The sounds of the content A and the content B in the portion surrounded by a dotted line CR11 is a leaking sound heard in the region between the region A and the region B, which are divided regions, that is, the region outside the divided regions. Characteristics such as the frequency characteristics of the masking sound for masking the leaking sound can be the same characteristics as crowd noise, bubble noise, pink noise, and the like. In this way, it is possible to mask the leaking sound without causing a sense of discomfort. The masking sound may be reproduced only in a region between a plurality of divided regions, or the masking sound may be reproduced in the region between the plurality of divided regions and in the region near the boundary in each divided region. The reproduction level adjustment unit controls the adjustment of the reproduction levels of the masking sound and the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information supplied from the outside and the supplied content sound data ,the reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the masking sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a masking sound gain coefficient for reproducing the masking sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit. The reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a content sound gain coefficient for reproducing the content sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit by the masking sound gain coefficient supplied from the reproduction level adjustment unit (gain adjustment.). The LPF is an LPF (low pass filter), and extracts only a low frequency component of the masking sound by performing the filtering processing using the low pass filter on the masking sound supplied from the amplification unit and supplies the masking sound to the DA conversion unit. The DA conversion unit performs DA conversion on the masking sound supplied from the LPF, more specifically, the low frequency component of the masking sound, and supplies the resulting masking sound, which is an analog signal, to the speaker, and causes the speaker to reproduce the masking sound.).
The combination of Osako to Christophe provide the adjustments and filtering of the signal to be accounted for a gain adjustment dependent on the loudness adjustment and wherein the leakage is contained or masked from the regions in which the sound is leaked over into which can be a low frequency signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph to incorporate gain adjustments based on sound zones based on spillovers from other zones. The modification will be to provide a gain setter that compares the masking threshold (from the in-zone signal) to the interference signals to determine if signal adjustment(s) are warranted.
Beer teaches wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal; wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band (see fig. 3, 4, ¶ 0053-0062. Controlling the frequency band and processing the frequencies of the audio lower than the characteristic frequency. The harmonic image for each fundamental frequency below the cut off frequency may be created and matched for pitch and loudness.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph, Osako to incorporate gain adjustments based on the harmonic frequencies being below a loudness level. The modification will be to provide harmonic gain adjustments based on the frequency level.
6. Claim(s) 2, 4, 25, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO.
Regarding claim 2, Christoph does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein further comprising a step of determining a second expected loudness of acoustic sound present in said second sound zone and wherein said automatically adjusting one or more level-dependent filters is further based on said second expected loudness level.
Osako teaches wherein further comprising a step of determining a second expected loudness of acoustic sound present in said second sound zone and wherein said automatically adjusting one or more level-dependent filters is further based on said second expected loudness level (see fig. 1-3, ¶ 0025-0027, 0035-0040, 0079, 0083-0084, 0097, 0143, 0261, 0301-0306, 0318-0319. A leaking sound from the divided region is generated near the boundary of the divided region. The leaking sound referred to here is a content sound that leaks out of the divided region and is heard. The content sound that is heard outside the divided region is the leaking sound. The sounds of the content A and the content B in the portion surrounded by a dotted line CR11 is a leaking sound heard in the region between the region A and the region B, which are divided regions, that is, the region outside the divided regions. Characteristics such as the frequency characteristics of the masking sound for masking the leaking sound can be the same characteristics as crowd noise, bubble noise, pink noise, and the like. In this way, it is possible to mask the leaking sound without causing a sense of discomfort. The masking sound may be reproduced only in a region between a plurality of divided regions, or the masking sound may be reproduced in the region between the plurality of divided regions and in the region near the boundary in each divided region. The reproduction level adjustment unit controls the adjustment of the reproduction levels of the masking sound and the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information supplied from the outside and the supplied content sound data ,the reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the masking sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a masking sound gain coefficient for reproducing the masking sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit. The reproduction level adjustment unit determines the reproduction level of the content sound on the basis of at least one of the external information and the content sound data, and supplies a content sound gain coefficient for reproducing the content sound at the determined reproduction level to the amplification unit by the masking sound gain coefficient supplied from the reproduction level adjustment unit (gain adjustment.). The LPF is an LPF (low pass filter), and extracts only a low frequency component of the masking sound by performing the filtering processing using the low pass filter on the masking sound supplied from the amplification unit and supplies the masking sound to the DA conversion unit. The DA conversion unit performs DA conversion on the masking sound supplied from the LPF, more specifically, the low frequency component of the masking sound, and supplies the resulting masking sound, which is an analog signal, to the speaker, and causes the speaker to reproduce the masking sound.).
The combination of Osako to Christophe provide the adjustments and filtering of the signal to be accounted for a gain adjustment dependent on the loudness adjustment and wherein the leakage is contained or masked from the regions in which the sound is leaked over into which can be a low frequency signal.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph to incorporate gain adjustments based on sound zones based on spillovers from other zones. The modification will be to provide a gain setter that compares the masking threshold (from the in-zone signal) to the interference signals to determine if signal adjustment(s) are warranted.
Regarding claim 4, Christoph teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein said acoustic sound present in said second sound zone is produced by said loudspeaker system based on a received second input audio signal (see fig. 1, 9, ¶ 0018, 0022, 0025, 0051. The environment having different sound zones which can be individually adjusted automatically. The system identifies the uses in the zones and generates audio signals for each of the users in their individual zones.).
Regarding claim 25, Christophe teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein said step of acoustically reproducing said processed audio signal comprising generating a plurality driving signals and wherein each driving signal is generated for a respected transducer of said oud speaker array (see fig. 2-3. ¶ 0029 The speakers area arranged back to back which can be gradient loudspeaker system. The speaker system is a loudspeaker array.).
Regarding claim 26, Christoph teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein said loudspeaker array comprises one or more gradient loudspeakers (see fig. 2-3. ¶ 0029 The speakers area arranged back to back which can be gradient loudspeaker system. The speaker system is a loudspeaker array.).
7. Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 15, 18, 20, 44, 48, 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO in further view of in view of Katzer et al. (US 2010/0158263).
Regarding claim 3, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 2, wherein said acoustic sound present in said second sound zone is produced by a foreign audio source different from said loudspeaker system.
Katzer teaches wherein said acoustic sound present in said second sound zone is produced by a foreign audio source different from said loudspeaker system (see ¶ 0027. Wherein different audio content is being provided to multiple zones (e.g., one radio station to zone 200 and another radio station to zone 202) and signal processing exploiting auditory masking is implemented, spill-over is less noticeable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate different audio to different zones. The modification provides different audio content to different zones.
Regarding claim 6, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 4, wherein said second input audio signal is a masking signal.
Katzer teaches wherein said second input audio signal is a masking signal (see ¶ 0026. The system determining a masking threshold associated with the desired signal, identifying an interfering signal that may be present in the environment, comparing the interfering signal to the masking threshold, and adjusting the desired signal over time to raise its masking threshold above the level of the interfering signal.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate gain adjustments based on sound zones based on spillovers from other zones. The modification will be to provide a gain setter that compares the masking threshold (from the in-zone signal) to the interference signals to determine if signal adjustment(s) are warranted.
Regarding claim 15, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said expected loudness in said second sound zone is determined based on one or more recordings of said reproduced audio signal, said one or more recordings being performed with respect to said second sound zone.
Katzer teaches wherein said expected loudness in said second sound zone is determined based on one or more recordings of said reproduced audio signal, said one or more recordings being performed with respect to said second sound zone (see ¶ 0027. Wherein different audio content is being provided to multiple zones (e.g., one radio station to zone 200 and another radio station to zone 202) and signal processing exploiting auditory masking is implemented, spill-over is less noticeable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate different audio to different zones. The modification provides different audio content to different zones.
Regarding claim 18, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said expected loudness in said second sound zone is determined based on an acoustic transfer function.
Katzer teaches wherein said expected loudness in said second sound zone is determined based on an acoustic transfer function (see ¶ 0027, 0045. Wherein different audio content is being provided to multiple zones (e.g., one radio station to zone 200 and another radio station to zone 202) and signal processing exploiting auditory masking is implemented, spill-over is less noticeable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate different audio to different zones. The modification provides different audio content to different zones.
Regarding claim 20, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to any of the claims 2, wherein said second expected loudness in said second sound zone is determined based on one or more recordings of said acoustic sound present in said second sound zone, said one or more recordings being performed with respect to said second sound zone.
Katzer teaches wherein said second expected loudness in said second sound zone is determined based on one or more recordings of said acoustic sound present in said second sound zone, said one or more recordings being performed with respect to said second sound zone (see ¶ 0027, 0045. Wherein different audio content is being provided to multiple zones (e.g., one radio station to zone 200 and another radio station to zone 202) and signal processing exploiting auditory masking is implemented, spill-over is less noticeable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate different audio to different zones. The modification provides different audio content to different zones.
Regarding claim 44, Christoph teaches method according to claim 1, wherein said input audio signal is a first input audio signal, said processed audio signal is a first processed audio signal, and wherein said method further comprises the steps of: receiving a second input audio signal; processing said second input audio signal by signal processing to generate a second processed audio signal (see fig. 1, ¶ 0018, 0022, 0025, 0051. The system identifies the uses in the zones and generates audio signals for each of the users in their individual zones.).
Christoph discloses sound zones wherein it discloses adjusting the sound volume for each sound zone. However Christoph and Osako do not disclose determining an expected loudness in said first sound zone of said acoustical environment, of reproducing said second processed audio signal by said loudspeaker system for said second sound zone of said acoustical environment, wherein said determining an expected loudness is at least with respect to a bass frequency band, and automatically adjusting, based on said expected loudness in said first sound zone, one or more level-dependent filters of said processing.
Katzer teaches determining an expected loudness in said first sound zone of said acoustical environment, of reproducing said second processed audio signal by said loudspeaker system for said second sound zone of said acoustical environment (see ¶ 0026. The system determining a masking threshold associated with the desired signal, identifying an interfering signal that may be present in the environment, comparing the interfering signal to the masking threshold, and adjusting the desired signal over time to raise its masking threshold above the level of the interfering signal.), wherein said determining an expected loudness is at least with respect to a bass frequency band (see fig. 6, ¶ 0026-0027, 0031-0032; The level of the selected signal may be increased (e.g., a gain applied) to correspondingly raise its associated masking threshold at frequency level (where interfering signal has energy). The masking threshold only needs to be increased by an amount to raise it above the level of interfering signal. The gain of the selected signal at frequency can be increased to raise its associated masking threshold above the level of interfering signal.); and automatically adjusting, based on said expected loudness in said first sound zone, one or more level-dependent filters of said processing (see fig. 6-7, ¶ 0026-0027, 0031-0032, 0037. The level of tonal signal exceeds the level of the masking threshold (at the frequency of the tonal signal) and is audible to a listener. Adjustments are applied over time to the in-zone selected audio signal to reduce the number of instances an interfering signal exceeds the masking threshold associated with the selected signal. If the interfering signal is known and controllable by the audio system, adjustments may be applied to the interfering signal over time to reduce the number of instances the interferer exceeds the masking threshold associated with the selected signal. The interference estimator adjusts one or more masking thresholds to reduce noise effects. A slew rate limiter may also be included in the interference estimator, to reduce modulation of desired signals by interfering noise. The noise estimator (included in the interference estimator) uses one or more adaptive filters. ).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate gain adjustments based on sound zones based on spillovers from other zones. The modification will be to provide a gain setter that compares the masking threshold (from the in-zone signal) to the interference signals to determine if signal adjustment(s) are warranted.
Regarding claim 48, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 44, wherein said expected loudness in said first sound zone is determined based on one or more recordings of said second reproduced audio signal, said one or more recordings being performed with respect to said first sound zone.
Katzer teaches wherein said expected loudness in said first sound zone is determined based on one or more recordings of said second reproduced audio signal, said one or more recordings being performed with respect to said first sound zone (see ¶ 0027, 0045. Wherein different audio content is being provided to multiple zones (e.g., one radio station to zone 200 and another radio station to zone 202) and signal processing exploiting auditory masking is implemented, spill-over is less noticeable.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate different audio to different zones. The modification provides different audio content to different zones.
Regarding claim 51, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 44, wherein said expected loudness in said first sound zone is determined on the basis of an acoustic transfer function.
Katzer teaches wherein said expected loudness in said first sound zone is determined on the basis of an acoustic transfer function (see ¶ 0036-0037. Determining transfer functions between each pair of zones. A transfer function may be determined between zone 200 and zone 202, between zone 200 and zone 204, and between zone 200 and zone 206. Once the transfer functions are known, the signals selected for presentation in each of the interfering zones (zones 202, 204, and 206) can be convolved in the time domain (or multiplied in the frequency domain) with the transfer functions to estimate the interfering signal that spills over into zone 200.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate transfer function for zones. The modification will be to provide a selected signal for each zone based on the transfer function.
8. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO in further view of Lee (WO 2019/197002).
Regarding claim 13, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said processed audio signal is first reproduced at a first sound pressure level in said first sound zone and subsequently reproduced at a second sound pressure level in said first sound zone, and wherein said second sound pressure level is different from said first sound pressure level.
Lee teaches wherein said processed audio signal is first reproduced at a first sound pressure level in said first sound zone and subsequently reproduced at a second sound pressure level in said first sound zone, and wherein said second sound pressure level is different from said first sound pressure level (see page 5, lines 5-15. Wherein the trade-off input comprises a value indicative of a minimum sound pressure error in one sound zone and a maximum sound pressure level in another sound zone.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate sound pressure levels at different zones. The modification will be to provide pressure levels between different zones.
9. Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO in further view of Ekstrand (US 2013/0044896).
Regarding claim 22, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies in a range from 0 Hz to 700 Hz.
Ekstrand teaches wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies in a range from 0 Hz to 700 Hz (see ¶ 0077. Bass enhancement signal (including content in the range from 0 Hz to 750 Hz) is combined (e.g., mixed) with the input audio in bass enhanced audio generation stage to generate a bass enhanced audio signal.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate bass frequency range between 0Hz to 750Hz. The modification will be to provide bass enhancement in the frequency range.
10. Claim(s) 31, 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO in further view of Beer (US 2011/0142258).
Regarding claim 31, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal, wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band.
Beer teaches wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises filtering harmonics in a directionally controllable frequency band, each of said harmonics corresponding to a lower order harmonic in a bass frequency band of said input audio signal, wherein said bass frequency band comprises frequencies below said directionally controllable frequency band (see fig. 3, 4, ¶ 0053-0062. Controlling the frequency band and processing the frequencies of the audio lower than the characteristic frequency. The harmonic image for each fundamental frequency below the cut off frequency may be created and matched for pitch and loudness.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate gain adjustments based on the harmonic frequencies being below a loudness level. The modification will be to provide harmonic gain adjustments based on the frequency level.
Regarding claim 60, Christophe teaches the loudspeaker system according to claim 56, wherein said loudspeaker system comprises a loudspeaker array comprising a plurality of transducers (see fig. 2-3. ¶ 0029 The speakers area arranged back to back which can be gradient loudspeaker system. The speaker system is a loudspeaker array.).
11. Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoph et al. (US 2017/0195815) in view of WO2020036058 (translation) OSAKO in further view of Tracey et al. (US 2013/0030800).
Regarding claim 32, Christoph and Osako do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises attenuating said bass frequency band of said input audio signal.
Tracey teaches wherein said processing said input audio signal comprises attenuating said bass frequency band of said input audio signal (see ¶ 0047. Pre-filter be a high-pass filter or the like that attenuates certain bass frequencies. By attenuating spectral energy at low frequencies such as those below about 750 Hz, the pre-filter can create more headroom for subsequent processing, enabling better LPC analysis and enhancement.).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill int eh art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christoph and Osako to incorporate bass attenuation. The modification will be to provide attenuating spectral energy at low frequencies such as those below about 750 Hz.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691