Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 5-8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pelliconi (WO 02057342).
Pelliconi exemplifies a biaxial oriented polypropylene (BOPP) film which has 0.6 wt% of ethylene and a xylene insoluble fraction of 5 wt% according to the claimed temperature and a MFR according to the claimed test conditions (see bottom of page 9 first dash at the bottom of the page) of 1.8 g/10 min. (See Comp Example 2 – machine and transverse stretch to make the multilayer comp example 2 films (all layers comp example 2) in the paragraph before Table 4 on Page 15).
The 0.6 wt% amount of ethylene anticipates the range of Claim 1 and Claim 2.
The 5wt % xylene solubles anticipates said requirement of Claim 1, Claim 3, and Claim 6.
The MFR of 1.8 g/10 mins anticipates said requirement of Claim 1, Claim 4, and Claim 7.
The biaxially stretching method is anticipates the by the machine and transverse stretching taught above and the extrusion is reasonably suggested be occurring as the BOPP inventive and comparative films are taught to be made the same way and extrusion of the inventive films is taught on page 8 4th paragraph. This anticipates Claim 8.
The multilayer films of Comp 2 (all ABA layers are the same resin) anticipates Claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gloger (U.S. 20160208085) in view of Grein (U.S. 20100247375).
Gloger teaches BOPP films with a 0.45 mol % of ethylene (C2) and a xylene cold solubles (XCS) as claimed of 5 and MFR2 as claimed of 3.2 g/10 min. (IE2 – Table 2a)
The XCS of 5 reads over the XCS of Claim 1, Claim 3, and Claim 6.
The MFR2 of 3.2 g/10 min reads over the MFR as claimed of Claim 1, Claim 4 and Claim 7.
It is unclear how much 0.45 mol% of ethylene is terms of weight percent.
Grein, working in the field of food and optical packaging ¶[0001] similar to Applicant ¶[0002] as-filed specification, teaches the use of ethylene in BOPP films in the amount of 0.5 to 10 wt% and certain randomness of ethylene distribution to arrive at films that are highly suited for transparent film applications including those that are sterilizable and pasteuerizable. ¶[0013] ¶[0014] (BOPP ¶[0041]+)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Gloger, in particular the IE2 of Table 2a, such that the amount of ethylene was 0.5 to 10 wt% along with the randomness of greater than or equal to 0.945 to arrive at BOPP films in which are highly suited for transparent film applications including those that are sterilizable and pasteuerizable as taught by Grein as discussed above.
A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in the above modification because Grein teaches how to make the films ¶[0047]+, BOPP films ¶[0041]+ and also have XCS and MFR2 requirements that overlap those of Gloger and Applicant’s claims. (¶[0027], ¶[0028])
This 0.5 to 10 wt% of ethylene reads over the range recited by Claim 1, Claim 2 and Claim 5.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s comparisons are BOPP with and without ethylene and not to the amount of ethylene. Therefore, there is no data available to analysis with respect to any allegedly unexpected results.
Extruding compositions and stretching them to make the BOPP films are taught in ¶[0121-0125] which reads over Claim 8.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grein (U.S. 20100247375).
Grein teaches BOPP films ¶[0041] which have 0.5 to 10 wt% ethylene content ¶[0013] along with xylene cold solubles as recited of 4 to 10 wt% preferred ¶[0028] and MFR2 as recited of preferably 2 to 12 g/10 mins (¶[0027]).
The above ranges are not sufficiently specific to anticipate the claimed ranges.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was filed to practice the invention of Grein using the above identified ranges of ethylene wt%, XCS and MFR2 to produce films according to Grein because Grein suggests these ranges.
This 0.5 to 10 wt% of ethylene reads over the range recited by Claim 1, Claim 2 and Claim 5.
The XCS of 4 to wt% overlap the range XCS of Claim 1, Claim 3, and Claim 6.
The MFR2 of 2-12 g/10 min overlaps the MFR as claimed of Claim 1, Claim 4 and Claim 7.
Examiner notes that Applicant’s comparisons are BOPP with and without ethylene and not to the amount of ethylene. Therefore, there is no data available to analysis with respect to any allegedly unexpected results.
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grein (U.S. 20100247375) in view of Gloger (U.S. 20160208085).
Grein teaches a BOPP film but does not get into detail about the process.
Gloger, working in the field of BOPP films, teaches extruding compositions and stretching them to make the BOPP films are taught in ¶[0121-0125] which reads over Claim 8.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Grein in making BOPP using the BOPP extrusion and stretching technique of Gloger because this Gloger establishes this is a known way of making BOPP films similar to Grein’s. This represents the application of known technique, manufacturing and stretching of BOPP films, to yield the predictable result of a BOPP oriented film desired by Grein.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gloger (U.S. 20160208085) in view of Grein (U.S. 20100247375) in further view of Davis (U.S. 6,033,514).
Gloger and Grein are applied as above.
Neither Gloger nor Grein teach or suggest multilayer films of the BOPP films taught but neither Gloger nor Grein exclude multilayer films from being made.
Davis, working in the field of BOPP films, teaches thickness of the film determines barrier properties and, therefore, films can be made by direct extrusion or lamination of two more films. (Column 1 lines 34-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Gloger modified by Grein such that two or more layers of material are laminated together to form the material to adjust barrier properties as desired as suggested by Davis.
This reads over the multilayer film of Claim 10.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grein (U.S. 20100247375) in view of Davis (U.S. 6,033,514).
Grein is applied as above.
Grein teach or suggest multilayer films of the BOPP films taught but Grein does not exclude multilayer films from being made.
Davis, working in the field of BOPP films, teaches thickness of the film determines barrier properties and, therefore, films can be made by direct extrusion or lamination of two more films. (Column 1 lines 34-41).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to practice the invention of Grein such that two or more layers of material are laminated together to form the material to adjust barrier properties as desired as suggested by Davis.
This reads over the multilayer film of Claim 10.
Conclusion
/Christopher M Rodd/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766