Election/Restrictions
Due to Applicant’s amendment, and in the interests of compact prosecution, the restriction requirement mailed 11/21/2025 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 23, 24, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0152117 to Hall.
Regarding claims 23, Hall teaches a photovoltaic window covering strip 110 (Figs. 2, 3), the photovoltaic window covering strip comprising: a strip 110 which includes an outer surface (visible in Fig. 2, facing down in Fig. 3B; “exterior side” in ¶0058) and an inner surface (“interior surface”), at least one solar cell mounted on the outer surface (¶0044), and an adherent 380 (¶0060) on the outer surface.
Per claim 24, Hall teaches the limitations of claim 23. The inner surface is a colored surface (¶0059).
Per claim 31, Hall teaches the limitations of claim 24. In an embodiment, the strip comprises a plurality of sections (Fig. 8, ¶0069).
Claim(s) 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0158019 to Hall II.
Regarding claims 32 and 33, Hall II teaches a combination of a photovoltaic window covering strip 608 (¶0072, 0077, 0027) for mounting on a window and a photovoltaic blind (not labeled in Fig. 10A; Figs. 6, 8) for mounting on a window frame (¶0009, 0071, 0075), wherein the photovoltaic window covering strip and the photovoltaic blind together cover an entirety of the window (¶0025, 0026).
The photovoltaic window covering strip 608 and the photovoltaic blind are mechanically connected (in the embodiment of Fig. 10A, the strip 608 is mounted on the blind).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of US 2014/0116497 to Sanders (of record).
Regarding claim 25, Hall teaches the limitations of claim 23. Hall teaches that an electronic device is in electrical communication with the solar cell (¶0047, 0057), but does not teach that the electronic device is a light emitting device. Sanders teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form a light emitting device as such an electronic device in order to provide additional light (¶0060).
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0080279 to Eubanks, and further in view of US 2018/0302021 to Hall III.
Regarding claim 34, Eubanks teaches an energy storage and distribution system, the system comprising
A photovoltaic window covering strip 16 (Fig. 3) including a first photovoltaic energy harvesting module 22 (¶0019) a first energy storage module 26, a first controller 24 (¶0020) comprising a wireless radio 42 (¶0021)
A photovoltaic blind 34 including a second photovoltaic energy harvesting module 54 (Fig. 1, ¶0022), a second energy storage module 26 (within 18), a second controller 24 comprising a wireless radio 42
A grid which is in electrical communication with the photovoltaic window covering strip 16 and the photovoltaic blind 34 (¶0019: “The power modules 24 may be connected in common or may be independent of each other.”).
Eubanks does not specifically teach that the photovoltaic window covering strip and photovoltaic blind comprise one or more first sensors or second sensors, respectively. Hall III teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to include the strip and blind each with temperature sensor (Figs. 5A, 9, ¶0096, 0105) so that the temperature of the respective energy storage modules can be maintained at a safe and functional level (¶0077, 0078).
Eubanks does not detail that the first controller and second controller respectively comprise a processor and a memory. Hall III teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form such controllers to each comprise a processor and memory (¶0034, 0039, 0045), as such technology is conventionally used for performing the functions of a controller (¶0069, 0073, 0088, 0096, 0105). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Eubanks does not specifically teach programming or technology capable of determining whether an energy transfer between the photovoltaic window covering strip and the photovoltaic blind is required and instructing one of the photovoltaic window cover strip and the photovoltaic blind to transfer energy via the grid to the other of the photovoltaic window covering strip and the photovoltaic blind as needed. However, Hall III teaches that such preparation of such a function of energy transfer is preferable, as communicated by wireless communication, in order to properly distribute electrical energy based on storage capacity (¶0104, 0109, 0110).
Further, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to enable such functional communication by wireless communication with a server configured to receive a storage capacity dataset from each of the photovoltaic window covering strip and the photovoltaic blind, as enabling such function using a server with dataset production capability is conventional (¶0040-0043 of Hall III).
Conclusion
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726