DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 15-20, in the reply filed on 8/7/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 1/8/2024, 5/29/2025 and 8/7/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 lacks a period at the end of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 15 recites “combining brain machine interface signals with the separated constituent components; and elucidating a chemical structure and a concentration of individual components based on the separated constituent components.” The specification discloses that these steps can be performed by hardware, software or a combination thereof. The specification provides no description of structure of the hardware that would allow the hardware to perform the claimed steps. The specification provides no description of the software, or any algorithms performed by the software, that would allow the software (when executed by any suitable processor or collection of processors) to perform the claimed steps. The algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the functions must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP 2161.01(I). The lack of disclosure leads the examiner to conclude that at the time the application was filed, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 16-20 depend on claim 15 and are rejected for inheriting the same problems.
Claim 18 recites “identifying the constituent components in the mixtures.” Like the rejection of claim 15 above, the examiner notes that the lack of disclosure as to how the identifying is performed leads the examiner to conclude that at the time the application was filed, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 19 recites “diagnosing a disease based on the constituent components in the mixtures.” Like the rejection of claim 15 above, the examiner notes that the lack of disclosure as to how the diagnosing is performed leads the examiner to conclude that at the time the application was filed, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites “identifying a signature of a health state corresponding the constituent components in the mixtures.” Like the rejection of claim 15 above, the examiner notes that the lack of disclosure as to how the identifying is performed leads the examiner to conclude that at the time the application was filed, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 209/0227053 by Rinberg et al. (“Rinberg”) in view of “Cantilever based gas chromatography” by IBM Corp (“IBM”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0284476 by Gaber et al. (“Gaber”).
As for claim 15, Rinberg discloses a method of identifying volatile compounds, comprising:
combining brain machine interface signals with constituent components (paragraphs [0032], [0038], [0045], [0052], [0053], [0063]); and
elucidating a concentration of individual components based on constituent components (paragraph [0063]).
Rinberg does not disclose separating constituent components in mixtures based on physicochemical properties.
However, IBM discloses separating constituent components in mixtures based on physicochemical properties (using gas chromatography; see the paragraph beginning “A combination of a separation system …”).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Rinberg by including the step of separating as disclosed by IBM in order to provide a more powerful instrument (IBM: see the paragraph beginning “A combination of a separation system …”).
Rinberg as modified by IBM does not disclose elucidating a chemical structure based on the separated constituent components.
However, Gaber discloses elucidating a chemical structure based on separated constituent components (i.e. based on the retention times of the separated constituent components; paragraph [0194]).
Gaber and the Rinberg-IBM combination included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the method of the Rinberg-IBM combination with the step of elucidating a chemical structure of Gaber by determining the structure of the components by matching the retention times of the components with a computerized database as suggested by Gaber (paragraph [0194]), and that in combination, the method of the Rinberg-IBM combination and the step of Gaber merely perform the same functions as each does separately. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Rinberg and IBM to include the step of elucidating a chemical structure as disclosed by Gaber in order to achieve the predictable result of providing the chemical structure of the components of the volatile compounds.
As for claim 16, Rinberg as modified by IBM and Gaber discloses that the brain machine interface signals are generated from a brain machine interface (Rinberg: paragraphs [0029]-[0032]).
As for claim 17, Rinberg as modified by IBM and Gaber discloses that the brain machine interface signals are generated from a brain machine interface comprising:
an electrode assembly (Rinberg: paragraph [0030]); and
a chemical detector comprising an olfactory system in communication with the electrode assembly (Rinberg: paragraph [0030]).
As for claim 18, Rinberg as modified by IBM and Gaber discloses identifying the constituent components in the mixtures (Rinberg: paragraphs [0032], [0038], [0063]).
As for claim 19, Rinberg as modified by IBM and Gaber discloses diagnosing a disease based on the constituent components in the mixtures (Rinberg: paragraph [0050]).
As for claim 20, Rinberg as modified by IBM and Gaber discloses identifying a signature of a health state corresponding the constituent components in the mixtures (Rinberg: paragraph [0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 11,243,195 issued to White et al. (“White”) is cited for all that it discloses including a gas chromatography system combined with a biological or electronic nose.
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853