This is the first office action in response to the above identified patent application filed on 01/08/2024. Claims 1-24 are currently pending and being examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for bypassing in claim 6.
The claim limitation "means for bypassing" use the phrase "means". In the instant application, the phrase "means" has been treated as a broad limitation including any structure capable of performing the recited function and thus was not treated under 35 U.S.C. l12(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the specification does not contain a clear corresponding structure. Hence, the recitations have been interpreted as mere broad limitations.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the incoming ammonia stream" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the low pressure turbine" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the incoming air stream" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the incoming ammonia stream" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the incoming air stream" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "said high pressure fuel pump" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the incoming ammonia stream" in lines 2-3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the high pressure turbine" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the incoming air stream" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
In Claim 12 line 4, the limitation "a second heat exchanger" in presumed to be -- the second heat exchanger -- for proper clarity. Claim 12 depends from claim 10 and “a second heat exchanger” is already recited in claim 10.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the incoming ammonia stream" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the air intake stream" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the incoming ammonia stream" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the air intake stream" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites twice the recitation “a heat exchanger” in lines 2 and 4. It is unclear if this is the same heat exchanger or a different one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the outgoing combustion chamber exhaust stream" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites twice the recitation “a heat exchanger” in lines 2 and 5. It is unclear if this is the same heat exchanger or a different one. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the outgoing exhaust stream" in lines 3 and 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the incoming ammonia stream" in lines 3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the low pressure turbine" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the high pressure turbine" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Bulat et al. (US 2018/0355794).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Bulat discloses [Preamble a propulsion system] comprising; an ammonia cracking module 5; and an engine module (1, 2, 6); wherein ammonia is supplied to the ammonia cracking module to produce a fuel blend 24 of hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia (pars. 4, 16 teaches decomposing ammonia to produce a fuel blend of hydrogen, nitrogen and other constituents), said fuel blend 24 subsequently being fed to said engine module to produce energy (par. 22, 26 mechanical output at turbine 6 or via other energy-recovery arrangements); and wherein there is a thermal balance (heat exchange between the combustion exhaust stream 20 and the ammonia stream entering the unit 5) between the ammonia cracking module and the engine module.
The recited limitation of “propulsion” is read as intended use by the examiner and is given little patentable weight. (see MPEP 2111.02(II)). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Bulat discloses wherein said engine module (1, 2, 6) comprises a turbine engine 6.
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Bulat discloses wherein said ammonia cracking module 5 comprises a cracking reactor (par. 16 teaches the cracking module having a catalyst) formed from a series of one or more modular reactors.
Regarding dependent Claim 6, Bulat discloses wherein there is a means for bypassing a portion of the ammonia around the cracking reactor (ammonia stream 22 bypasses the racking reactor 5).
Regarding dependent Claim 22, Bulat discloses wherein an ammonia stream is split into two or more streams (22, 24) and at least one of said streams 24 is used in the ammonia cracking module 5.
In regards to Independent Claim 24, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Bulat discloses a method [PREAMBLE for propelling a vehicle]; wherein ammonia 3 is supplied to an ammonia cracking module 5 and wherein said ammonia is at least partially cracked by said ammonia cracking module to produce a fuel blend of hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia (pars. 4, 16 teaches decomposing ammonia to produce a fuel blend of hydrogen, nitrogen and other constituents), and said fuel blend is fed to an engine module (1, 2, 6) to produce energy (par. 22, 26 mechanical output at turbine 6 or via other energy-recovery arrangements).
Claims 1-5, 8 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Cocks et al. (US 2022/0162989).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Cocks discloses [Preamble a propulsion system; par. 41, 48] comprising; an ammonia cracking module 70; and an engine module (44, 46, 48); wherein ammonia is supplied to the ammonia cracking module to produce a fuel blend 60 of hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia (shown in figure 1), said fuel blend 60 subsequently being fed to said engine module to produce energy (par. 3, 41 high energy gas flow for propulsion via the nozzle 50); and wherein there is a thermal balance (heat exchange between the stream 84 and the ammonia stream entering the unit 70) between the ammonia cracking module and the engine module.
The recited limitation of “propulsion” is read as intended use by the examiner and is given little patentable weight. (see MPEP 2111.02(II)). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Cocks discloses wherein said engine module comprises a turbine engine 48.
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Cocks discloses wherein said engine module comprises an engine suitable for use in an aircraft (pars. 41, 48).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Cocks discloses wherein said engine module comprises an engine suitable for use in a watercraft or in a vehicle on land (par. 34 teaches can be used for a land-based turbine).
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Cocks discloses wherein said ammonia cracking module 70 comprises a cracking reactor (par. 43 teaches the cracking module having a catalyst) formed from a series of one or more modular reactors (shown in figure 5).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Cocks discloses wherein said thermal balance is achieved by way of at least one heat exchanger 52configured to exchange heat between an ammonia stream 58 and an air stream 84/52.
In regards to Independent Claim 24, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Cocks discloses a method [PREAMBLE for propelling a vehicle; pars. 41, 48]; wherein ammonia 58 is supplied to an ammonia cracking module 70 and wherein said ammonia is at least partially cracked by said ammonia cracking module to produce a fuel blend 60 of hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia (shown in figure 1), and said fuel blend 60 is fed to an engine module (44, 46, 48) to produce energy (par. 3, 41 high energy gas flow for propulsion via the nozzle 50).
Claims 1-5, 8, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Cocks et al. (US 2022/0162999).
In regards to Independent Claim 1, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Cocks discloses [Preamble a propulsion system; par. 44, 46] comprising; an ammonia cracking module 72; and an engine module (44, 46, 48); wherein ammonia is supplied to the ammonia cracking module to produce a fuel blend 80 of hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia (par. 43, figure 1), said fuel blend 80 subsequently being fed to said engine module to produce energy (par. 35 high energy gas flow for propulsion via the nozzle 50); and wherein there is a thermal balance (heat exchange between the stream 54 and the ammonia stream entering the unit 72) between the ammonia cracking module and the engine module.
The recited limitation of “propulsion” is read as intended use by the examiner and is given little patentable weight. (see MPEP 2111.02(II)). If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Regarding dependent Claim 2, Cocks discloses wherein said engine module comprises a turbine engine 48.
Regarding dependent Claim 3, Cocks discloses wherein said engine module comprises an engine suitable for use in an aircraft (pars. 44, 46).
Regarding dependent Claim 4, Cocks discloses wherein said engine module comprises an engine suitable for use in a watercraft or in a vehicle on land (par. 28 teaches can be used for a land-based turbine).
Regarding dependent Claim 5, Cocks discloses wherein said ammonia cracking module 72 comprises a cracking reactor (74, par. 33 teaches the cracking module having a catalyst) formed from a series of one or more modular reactors (shown in figure 1).
Regarding dependent Claim 8, Cocks discloses wherein said thermal balance is achieved by way of at least one heat exchanger 52 configured to exchange heat between an ammonia stream 78 and an air stream 56/52.
Regarding dependent Claim 23, Cocks discloses wherein a high pressure ammonia compression stage (via compressor 92) occurs after a catalytic cracking stage 72.
In regards to Independent Claim 24, and with particular reference to Figure 1, Cocks discloses a method [PREAMBLE for propelling a vehicle; pars. 44, 46]; wherein ammonia 78 is supplied to an ammonia cracking module 72 and wherein said ammonia is at least partially cracked by said ammonia cracking module to produce a fuel blend 80 of hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia (par. 43, figure 1), and said fuel blend 80 is fed to an engine module (44, 46, 48) to produce energy (par. 35 high energy gas flow for propulsion via the nozzle 50).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cocks’989 or Cocks’999.
Cocks’989 or Cocks ‘999 teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above except a second heat exchanger contributes to the thermal balance by exchanging heat between the ammonia stream and the incoming air stream.
It has been held that "the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced." In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04 VI(B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Cock’s 989 or Cocks’999 with additional heat exchangers for exchanging heat between the ammonia stream and the incoming air stream because to do so would be simply duplicating the components already present in the prior art with the expected result of pre-heating the ammonia stream.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bulat or Cocks’989 or Cocks’999 in view of Senjo et al. (US 4,061,743).
Bulat or Cocks’989 or Cocks’999 teaches the invention as claimed and as disclosed above except the combustion chamber exhaust gases treated to remove nitrous oxide.
Senjo teaches that it is well-known and conventional to remove nitrogen oxides from the exhaust gases by any know conventional processes (col. 1 line 25-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have treated the exhaust gases in the system of Bulat or Cocks’989 or Cocks’999, as taught by Senjo, in order to remove nitrogen oxides by any known conventional processes/devices (col. 1 lines 25-30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9 and 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
At least Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2021/0332759). Refer to figures 1 and 2.
At least Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2023/0313735). Refer to figure 3.
At least Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by MacDonald et al. (US 2022/0299205). Refer to figure 1.
At least Claims 1 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Callas (US 2009/0133400). Refer to figures 1 and 2.
Contact Information
/William H Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741