DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 01/09/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 01/09/2024, cited an incorrect foreign patent document. Listed document was JP 2021-516222, which deals with a pharmaceutical composition. This listed document has been lined through on the IDS. It appears the document JP 2021-516522, which is the “X” reference in the related PCT, should have been cited on an IDS.
An information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/31/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 03/31/2025, cited a document (Panasonic) that was cited on the previous IDS, filed 01/09/2024. This listed document has been lined through on the IDS filed 03/31/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Independent claims 1, 10, 19, and 20 state “plurality of the physical shared channels are transmitted to the terminal device”. It appears this could have been a claimed step within the claim language. Dependent claims 2-9 and 11-18, of these independent claims, do not resolve the issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (“Hwang”) [PGPUB 2021/0007127].
Regarding claim 1, the Hwang reference discloses a terminal device, comprising: a transceiver; and a hardware processor, wherein the hardware processor receives one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) through the transceiver [Hwang; figures 11, 28, and 33; paragraph 0104 (“receives PDCCH”), 0123 (“transceiver”), and 0305-0306],
the one PDCCH schedules a plurality of physical shared channels in one or more carriers or one or more slots [ie. slots; Hwang; fig 6 and 7; para 0102-0104, 0301, and 0313-0315],
the one PDCCH and a plurality of the physical shared channels are transmitted to the terminal device [Hwang; fig 15, 20, and 28; para 0102-0104, 0301, and 0305], and
a plurality of the physical shared channels is a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH) or a plurality of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH) [Hwang; fig 15, 20, and 28; para 0104, 0265-0266, 0301, and 0305-0307].
Regarding claim 10, the Hwang reference discloses a base station device comprising: a transceiver; and a hardware processor, wherein the hardware processor transmits one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to a terminal device through the transceiver [Hwang; figures 11, 28, and 33; paragraph 0104 (“transmits PDCCH”), 0123 (“transceiver”), and 0305-0306],
the one PDCCH schedules a plurality of physical shared channels in one or more carriers or one or more slots [ie. slots; Hwang; fig 6 and 7; para 0102-0104, 0301, and 0313-0315],
the one PDCCH and a plurality of the physical shared channels are transmitted to the terminal device [Hwang; fig 15, 20, and 28; para 0102-0104, 0301, and 0305], and
a plurality of the physical shared channels is a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH) or a plurality of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH) [Hwang; fig 15, 20, and 28; para 0104, 0265-0266, 0301, and 0305-0307].
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 19 performs the similar steps as the apparatus of claim 1. The Hwang reference teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as referenced above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, by the teachings of Hwang.
Regarding claim 20, the method of claim 20 performs the similar steps as the apparatus of claim 10. The Hwang reference teaches the apparatus of claim 10, as referenced above. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 10, by the teachings of Hwang.
Claims 1-5, 7-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al. (“MolavianJazi”) [PGPUB 2022/0408464] (supported by Provisional Application No. 63/211,383, filed on 06/16/2021).
Regarding claim 1, the MolavianJazi reference discloses a terminal device, comprising: a transceiver; and a hardware processor, wherein the hardware processor receives one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) through the transceiver [MolavianJazi; figures 3 and 6; abstract; paragraphs 0006, 0076-0077, and 0134-0135],
the one PDCCH schedules a plurality of physical shared channels in one or more carriers or one or more slots [ie. multiple slots; MolavianJazi; para 0117, 0130, 0207-0208, and 0212],
the one PDCCH and a plurality of the physical shared channels are transmitted to the terminal device [MolavianJazi; para 0085 and 0206-0207], and
a plurality of the physical shared channels is a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH) or a plurality of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH) [MolavianJazi; para 0006, 0085, and 0206-0207].
Regarding claim 2, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses among communication parameters applied to a plurality of the physical shared channels scheduled by the one PDCCH, a part of the communication parameters is applied in common to a plurality of the physical shared channels, and rest of the communication parameters are respectively applied to a plurality of the physical shared channels in a dedicated manner [ie. cell-common scheduling parameter (“common”) for all co-scheduled calls and cell specific scheduling parameter (“dedicated manner”); MolavianJazi; para 0084-0085 and 0094].
Regarding claim 3, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses the part of the communication parameters is applied in common to a plurality of the physical shared channels within at least one of a predetermined time length or a predetermined frequency band [the instant specification states “Note that the predetermined time length may be a time length prescribed in advance, such as one or a plurality of OFDM symbols, a slot including 14 OFDM symbols, a subframe (1ms), a half frame (5ms), a system frame (10ms), or the like”(para 0157); ie DCI fields (“time length”); MolavianJazi; para 0144 and 0094-0095].
Regarding claim 4, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses the transceiver supports communication in which a mapping type of the physical shared channel is a type B [MolavianJazi; para 0077 and 0362].
Regarding claim 5, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses start symbols of a plurality of the physical shared channels are notified in a bitmap format [MolavianJazi; para 0093 (receiving DCI in first symbol (“start symbol”)) and 0228 (DCI format for subset of co-scheduled cells (“bitmap format”))].
Regarding claim 7, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses a plurality of the physical shared channels is scheduled on a basis of a slot format [MolavianJazi; para 0129-0130].
Regarding claim 8, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses the one PDCCH includes a part of control information, and the physical shared channel includes at least a part of rest of the control information [ie. DCI (PDCCH control information) and UCI (PUSCH control information); MolavianJazi; para 0077 and 0203].
Regarding claim 9, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses a plurality of the physical shared channels is one or more PDSCHs and one or more PUSCHs [MolavianJazi; abstract; fig 3; para 0006 and 0083].
Regarding claim 10, the MolavianJazi reference discloses a base station device comprising: a transceiver; and a hardware processor, wherein the hardware processor transmits one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) to a terminal device through the transceiver [MolavianJazi; figures 2 and 6; abstract; paragraphs 0005, 0045-0048, and 0076],
the one PDCCH schedules a plurality of physical shared channels in one or more carriers or one or more slots [ie. multiple slots; MolavianJazi; para 0117, 0130, 0207-0208, and 0212],
the one PDCCH and a plurality of the physical shared channels are transmitted to the terminal device [MolavianJazi; para 0085 and 0206-0207], and
a plurality of the physical shared channels is a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCH) or a plurality of physical uplink shared channels (PUSCH) [MolavianJazi; para 0006, 0085, and 0206-0207].
Regarding claim 11, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses among communication parameters applied to a plurality of the physical shared channels scheduled by the one PDCCH, a part of the communication parameters is applied in common to a plurality of the physical shared channels, and rest of the communication parameters are respectively applied to a plurality of the physical shared channels in a dedicated manner. manner [ie. cell-common scheduling parameter (“common”) for all co-scheduled calls and cell specific scheduling parameter (“dedicated manner”); MolavianJazi; para 0084-0085 and 0094].
Regarding claim 12, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses the part of the communication parameters is applied in common to a plurality of the physical shared channels within at least one of a predetermined time length or a predetermined frequency band [the instant specification states “Note that the predetermined time length may be a time length prescribed in advance, such as one or a plurality of OFDM symbols, a slot including 14 OFDM symbols, a subframe (1ms), a half frame (5ms), a system frame (10ms), or the like”(para 0157); ie DCI fields (“time length”); MolavianJazi; para 0144 and 0094-0095].
Regarding claim 13, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses the transceiver supports communication in which a mapping type of the physical shared channel is a type B [MolavianJazi; para 0077 and 0362].
Regarding claim 14, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses start symbols of a plurality of the physical shared channels are notified in a bitmap format [MolavianJazi; para 0093 (receiving DCI in first symbol (“start symbol”)) and 0228 (DCI format for subset of co-scheduled cells (“bitmap format”))].
Regarding claim 16, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses a plurality of the physical shared channels is scheduled on a basis of a slot format [MolavianJazi; para 0129-0130].
Regarding claim 17, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses the one PDCCH includes a part of control information, and the physical shared channel includes at least a part of rest of the control information [ie. DCI (PDCCH control information) and UCI (PUSCH control information); MolavianJazi; para 0077 and 0203].
Regarding claim 18, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses a plurality of the physical shared channels is one or more PDSCHs and one or more PUSCHs [MolavianJazi; abstract; fig 3; para 0006 and 0083].
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 19 performs the similar steps as the apparatus of claim 1. The MolavianJazi reference teaches the apparatus of claim 1, as referenced above. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 1, by the teachings of MolavianJazi.
Regarding claim 20, the method of claim 20 performs the similar steps as the apparatus of claim 10. The MolavianJazi reference teaches the apparatus of claim 10, as referenced above. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 10, by the teachings of MolavianJazi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MolavianJazi in view of Bae et al. (“Bae”) [PGPUB 2023/0092884].
Regarding claim 6, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses start symbols of a plurality of the physical shared channels are notified as information indicating relative positions [The instant specification does not further describe “indicating relative positions”, which could be interpreted as slot/field position with DCI within PDCCH; MolavianJazi; para 0189-0192 and 0194-0195]. The MolavianJazi reference does not specifically disclose information indicating relative positions with respect to a predetermined symbol position of the one PDCCH.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bae reference discloses information indicating relative positions with respect to a predetermined symbol position of the one PDCCH [ie. slot format information; Bae; para 0098 and 0154]. The MolavianJazi and Bae references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to have a more efficient base station communication. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of predetermined symbol position of a PDCCH, taught by Bae, into the system, taught by MolavianJazi. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a consistent format for PDCCH/PDSCH.
Regarding claim 15, the MolavianJazi reference further discloses start symbols of a plurality of the physical shared channels are notified as information indicating relative positions [The instant specification does not further describe “indicating relative positions”, which could be interpreted as slot/field position with DCI within PDCCH; MolavianJazi; para 0189-0192 and 0194-0195]. The MolavianJazi reference does not specifically disclose information indicating relative positions with respect to a predetermined symbol position of the one PDCCH.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Bae reference discloses information indicating relative positions with respect to a predetermined symbol position of the one PDCCH [ie. slot format information; Bae; para 0098 and 0154]. The MolavianJazi and Bae references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to have a more efficient base station communication. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of predetermined symbol position of a PDCCH, taught by Bae, into the system, taught by MolavianJazi. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a consistent format for PDCCH/PDSCH.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matsumura et al. (“Matsumura”) [PGPUB 2023/0141660] describes using one DCI for multiple PDSCHs.
Choi et al. (“Choi”) [PGPUB 2021/0143948] describes long PUCCHs with various number of symbols.
Kim et al. (“Kim”) [PGPUB 2019/0081841] describes downlink control information and uplink control information.
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458