DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki et al. (US 2010/0039982 A1)(hereinafter “Itagaki”) in view of Mena et al. (US 2020/0100143 A1)(hereinafter “Mena”).
Regarding claim 1, Itagaki discloses a wireless communication device (Fig. 3, [¶0054]: wireless communication device (STA 1) 10) comprising
a wireless control unit ([¶0054]-[¶0055]: the wireless communication device 10 has a data processing unit 11 and a transmission processing unit 12; the data processing unit 11 creates packets storing communication data; the transmission processing unit 12 performs such processing as appending headers or error detection codes to the packets generated by the data processing unit 11, and provides the processed data to the wireless interface unit 13.) that controls to send a frame including relay data to be relayed in another wireless communication device (Fig. 2, [¶0051]: FIG. 2 shows a wireless communication device (STA 1) 10 and a wireless communication device (STA 2) 20 as two wireless terminals that perform data communication, and further-an access point (AP) 30 that executes a process of relaying communication between the wireless communication devices. [¶0176]: when transmitting each data frame, the STA 1 that performs data transmission transmits each data frame while recording information indicating whether or not this data frame is the end frame on the currently used path, in the extension header of the data frame.) and information regarding an access category of the relay data, to the another wireless communication device ([¶0278]: in a case where each of the STAs and the AP supports a QoS function, this frame is transmitted with the same TID as the TID for which the "Rx path switch response" has been received. [¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist. Accordingly, Itagaki discloses transmitting relay data packets including a traffic ID and that traffic IDs are information regarding an access category of the relay data.).
Although Itagaki discloses transmitting relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data to another communication device, Itagaki does not clearly disclose transmitting the relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data in a frame. However, Mena discloses to send a frame including relay data to be relayed in another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, to the another wireless communication device (Fig. 8, [¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. In particular, WMM supports the different access categories indicated in FIG. 8: voice, video, best effort, and background. The priority value may be an 802.1D priority value contained in a QoS control field of a WMM data frame associated with the traffic flow.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a frame as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for implementing improved QoS for the relayed data (See Mena [¶0066].)
Regarding claim 2, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Itagaki does not clearly disclose that the wireless control unit controls to send the frame made up of a data unit including only the relay data of the access category. However, Mean discloses wherein the wireless control unit controls to send the frame made up of a data unit including only the relay data of the access category (Fig. 8, [¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. Accordingly, the data unit of the relay data includes only the relay data associated with the priority value that is associated with the access category).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a data unit including only the relay data of the access category, as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for clearly identifying the access category to which the relay data is associated.
Regarding claim 3, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Itagaki does not disclose wherein the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission are included in the data unit. However, Mena discloses wherein the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission are included in the data unit ([¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. In particular, WMM supports the different access categories indicated in FIG. 8: voice, video, best effort, and background. The priority value may be an 802.1D priority value contained in a QoS control field of a WMM data frame associated with the traffic flow.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a data unit including control information related to relay transmission, as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for controlling the relaying of the data based on the access category.
Regarding claim 9, Itagaki discloses a wireless communication method comprising controlling to send a frame including relay data to be relayed in another wireless communication device (Fig. 2, [¶0051]: FIG. 2 shows a wireless communication device (STA 1) 10 and a wireless communication device (STA 2) 20 as two wireless terminals that perform data communication, and further-an access point (AP) 30 that executes a process of relaying communication between the wireless communication devices. [¶0176]: when transmitting each data frame, the STA 1 that performs data transmission transmits each data frame while recording information indicating whether or not this data frame is the end frame on the currently used path, in the extension header of the data frame.) and information regarding an access category of the relay data, to the another wireless communication device ([¶0278]: in a case where each of the STAs and the AP supports a QoS function, this frame is transmitted with the same TID as the TID for which the "Rx path switch response" has been received. [¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist. Accordingly, Itagaki discloses transmitting relay data packets including a traffic ID and that traffic IDs are information regarding an access category of the relay data.), by a wireless communication device (Fig. 3, [¶0054]: wireless communication device (STA 1) 10).
Although Itagaki discloses transmitting relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data to another communication device, Itagaki does not clearly disclose transmitting the relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data in a frame. However, Mena discloses to send a frame including relay data to be relayed in another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, to the another wireless communication device (Fig. 8, [¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. In particular, WMM supports the different access categories indicated in FIG. 8: voice, video, best effort, and background. The priority value may be an 802.1D priority value contained in a QoS control field of a WMM data frame associated with the traffic flow.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a frame as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for implementing improved QoS for the relayed data (See Mena [¶0066]).
Regarding claim 10, Itagaki discloses a wireless communication device (FIG. 2, [¶0051]: an access point (AP) 10) comprising:
a reception unit (Fig. 1: packet relay process. [¶0094]: the access point (AP) shown in the drawing executes a packet relay process.) that receives a frame including relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data ([¶0051]: FIG. 2 shows a wireless communication device (STA 1) 10 and a wireless communication device (STA 2) 20 as two wireless terminals that perform data communication, and further-an access point (AP) 30 that executes a process of relaying communication between the wireless communication devices. ([¶0278]: in a case where each of the STAs and the AP supports a QoS function, this frame is transmitted with the same TID as the TID for which the "Rx path switch response" has been received. [¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist. Accordingly, Itagaki discloses transmitting relay data packets including a traffic ID and that traffic IDs are information regarding an access category of the relay data.); and
a data processing unit (Fig. 1: packet relay process. [¶0094]: the access point (AP) shown in the drawing executes a packet relay process.) that queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category ([¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist.).
Although Itagaki discloses receiving relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data to another communication device, Itagaki does not clearly disclose receiving the relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data in a frame. However, Mena discloses to receive a frame including relay data to be relayed in another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data (Fig. 8, [¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. In particular, WMM supports the different access categories indicated in FIG. 8: voice, video, best effort, and background. The priority value may be an 802.1D priority value contained in a QoS control field of a WMM data frame associated with the traffic flow.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a frame as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for implementing improved QoS for the relayed data (See Mena [¶0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Itagaki does not clearly disclose wherein the frame is made up of a data unit including only the relay data of the access category. However, Mean discloses wherein the frame is made up of a data unit including only the relay data of the access category (Fig. 8, [¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. Accordingly, the data unit of the relay data includes only the relay data associated with the priority value that is associated with the access category).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a data unit including only the relay data of the access category, as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for clearly identifying the access category to which the relay data is associated.
Regarding claim 12, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Itagaki does not disclose wherein the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission are included in the data unit. However, Mena discloses wherein the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission are included in the data unit ([¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. In particular, WMM supports the different access categories indicated in FIG. 8: voice, video, best effort, and background. The priority value may be an 802.1D priority value contained in a QoS control field of a WMM data frame associated with the traffic flow.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a data unit including control information related to relay transmission, as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for controlling the relaying of the data based on the access category.
Regarding claim 18, Itagaki discloses a wireless communication method comprising:
receiving a frame including relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data ([¶0051]: FIG. 2 shows a wireless communication device (STA 1) 10 and a wireless communication device (STA 2) 20 as two wireless terminals that perform data communication, and further-an access point (AP) 30 that executes a process of relaying communication between the wireless communication devices. ([¶0278]: in a case where each of the STAs and the AP supports a QoS function, this frame is transmitted with the same TID as the TID for which the "Rx path switch response" has been received. [¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist. Accordingly, Itagaki discloses transmitting relay data packets including a traffic ID and that traffic IDs are information regarding an access category of the relay data.); and
queuing the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category, by a wireless communication device ([¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist.).
Although Itagaki discloses receiving relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data to another communication device, Itagaki does not clearly disclose receiving the relay data and information regarding an access category of the relay data in a frame. However, Mena discloses receiving a frame including relay data to be relayed in another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data (Fig. 8, [¶0064]: Table 800 of FIG. 8 provides a mapping of priority values to access categories (and therefore priority queues), where the priority values are contained in a field of a data frame associated with a traffic flow. In particular, WMM supports the different access categories indicated in FIG. 8: voice, video, best effort, and background. The priority value may be an 802.1D priority value contained in a QoS control field of a WMM data frame associated with the traffic flow.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, within a frame as taught by Mena. Doing so allows for implementing improved QoS for the relayed data (see Mena [¶0066]).
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki in view of Mena and further in view of Wentink (US 2005/0122927 A1)(hereinafter “Wentink”).
Regarding claim 4, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 3 as outlined above.
Itagaki in view of Mena does not disclose wherein the data unit is encrypted on a basis of capability information indicating capability of the another wireless communication device, the capability information being notified by the another wireless communication device. However, Wentink discloses wherein the data unit is encrypted on a basis of capability information indicating capability of the another wireless communication device, the capability information being notified by the another wireless communication device (Fig. 18, [¶0115]: the setup request frame 1810, the setup response frame 1814 and setup confirm frame 1816 are used to negotiate the capabilities of the proposed direct link. Accordingly, the capability information field 1918 may include data related to the capabilities, such as PHY rate, compression types, encryption capabilities, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, using encryption according to exchanged capability information as taught by Wentink. Doing so allows for improved security of the relay data (See Wentink [¶0116]).
Regarding claim 13, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 12 as outlined above.
Itagaki in view of Mena discloses wherein the data processing unit…queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category of the data unit.. Itagaki in view of Mena does not disclose wherein the data processing unit decrypts encryption of the data unit on a basis of information indicating a frame configuration, the information being included in the frame, and queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category of the data unit for which the encryption has been decrypted. However, Wentink discloses wherein the data processing unit decrypts encryption of the data unit on a basis of information indicating a frame configuration, the information being included in the frame, and queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category of the data unit for which the encryption has been decrypted (Fig. 18, [¶0115]: the setup request frame 1810, the setup response frame 1814 and setup confirm frame 1816 are used to negotiate the capabilities of the proposed direct link. Accordingly, the capability information field 1918 may include data related to the capabilities, such as PHY rate, compression types, encryption capabilities, etc.)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, using encryption and decryption according to exchanged capability information as taught by Wentink. Doing so allows for improved security of the relay data (See Wentink [¶0116]).
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itagaki in view of Mena and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2022/0255849 A1)(hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 5, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Itagaki in view of Mena does not disclose wherein the frame is constituted from a header including control information related to relay transmission, and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information including the information regarding the access category of the relay data included in the data unit, and the data unit. However, Huang discloses wherein the frame is constituted from a header including control information related to relay transmission (Fig. 7 and Fig. 11, [¶0176]: the first data frame includes header with a frame control portion), and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information including the information regarding the access category of the relay data included in the data unit (Fig. 11, [¶0245]- [¶0246]: a QoS control field carries the TID of the first MSDU (“delimiter information”), and the data unit (Fig. 11: payload field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, using the frame, header, and delimiter format as taught by Huang. Doing so allows for compatibility with existing 802.11 communication protocols (See Huang [¶0020]).
Regarding claim 6, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Itagaki in view of Mena does not disclose wherein the frame is constituted from a header including the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission, and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information and the data unit. However, Huang discloses wherein the frame is constituted from a header including the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission (Fig. 7 and Fig. 11, [¶0176]: the first data frame includes header with a frame control portion), and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information (Fig. 11, [¶0245]- [¶0246]: a QoS control field carries the TID of the first MSDU (“delimiter information”) and the data unit (Fig. 11: payload field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, using the frame, header, and delimiter format as taught by Huang. Doing so allows for compatibility with existing 802.11 communication protocols (See Huang [¶0020]).
Regarding claim 14, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Itagaki in view of Mena discloses that a data processing unit queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category ([¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist.). Itagaki in view of Mena does not disclose wherein the frame is constituted from a header including control information related to relay transmission, and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information including the information regarding the access category of the relay data included in the data unit, and the data unit, and the data processing unit queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category included in the delimiter information. Huang discloses wherein the frame is constituted from a header including control information related to relay transmission (Fig. 7 and Fig. 11, [¶0176]: the first data frame includes header with a frame control portion), and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information including the information regarding the access category of the relay data included in the data unit (Fig. 11, [¶0245]- [¶0246]: a QoS control field carries the TID of the first MSDU (“delimiter information”), and the data unit (Fig. 11: payload field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data and queuing the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category, as taught by Itagaki, using the frame, header, and delimiter format as taught by Huang. Doing so allows for compatibility with existing 802.11 communication protocols (See Huang [¶0020]).
Regarding claim 15, Itagaki in view of Mena discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Itagaki in view of Mena discloses that a data processing unit queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category ([¶0122]: in a case where each of the communication devices STA 1 and STA 2 that execute transmission/reception of data, and the access point (AP) executes a QoS function, and has transmit queues individually for a plurality of access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) on the communication path, first, the presence/absence of packets in each queue at the time of a path update determination is monitored. Then, the above-described "Tx path switch request" and "path end" frames are transmitted for access categories (ACs) or traffic IDs (TIDs) in which transmit packets whose destination is the path switch target (STA 2 in this embodiment) exist.). Itagaki in view of Mena does not disclose wherein the frame is constituted from a header including the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission, and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information and the data unit, and the data processing unit queues the relay data of the access category for each of the access categories on a basis of the information regarding the access category included in the header. However, Huang discloses wherein the frame is constituted from a header including the information regarding the access category and control information related to relay transmission (Fig. 7 and Fig. 11, [¶0176]: the first data frame includes header with a frame control portion), and a plurality of subframes made up of delimiter information (Fig. 11, [¶0245]- [¶0246]: a QoS control field carries the TID of the first MSDU (“delimiter information”) and the data unit (Fig. 11: payload field).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the relay data to be relayed to another wireless communication device and information regarding an access category of the relay data, as taught by Itagaki, using the frame, header, and delimiter format as taught by Huang. Doing so allows for compatibility with existing 802.11 communication protocols (See Huang [¶0020]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 2024/0179726 A1) – Methods, Relay UE, and Network Node For Communication Over Sidelink.
Nakayama et al. (US 2024/0032086 A1) – Relay Method and Relay Apparatus.
Kang et al. (US 2024/0205989 A1) – Method and Device For Configuring Connection Of Remote Terminal Through Relay Terminal In Wireless Communication System.
Shagdar et al. (US 2009/0092083 A1) – Multi-Hop Wireless Network System.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463