DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-25, 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen et al (US Publication No.: US 2017/0108628 A1, “Larsen”) in view of Lee et al (US Publication No.: US 2008/0186558 A1, “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 17, Larsen discloses a light control film (Figures 1-5, 7-9A, 10A) comprising:
Opposing substantially planar substantially parallel first and second major surfaces spaced apart long a thickness direction of the light control film by less than about 500 microns (Paragraph 0028 discloses opposing major surfaces; Paragraph 0049 and Paragraph 0062 disclose a thickness less than 500 microns); and
A plurality of substantially parallel optically transparent polymer columns disposed in, and substantially surrounded by, a light absorbing polymeric material (Paragraphs 0051-0053; Paragraphs 0062-0063; Figure 5, optically transparent polymer columns 322, light absorbing polymeric material 340),
Each of the polymeric columns having a first column end at the first major surface and an opposite second column end at the second major surface (Figure 5, first column end is at first major surface 328 and second column end is at second major surface 324),
Each of the polymeric columns having an aspect ratio greater than about 3 (Paragraph 0046; Paragraph 0062), such that
The first column ends of at least one pair of adjacent polymeric columns comprise substantially parallel substantially straight sides facing, and substantially coextensive with, each other (Paragraph 0062 and Figure 4 discloses parallel sides).
Larsen fails to disclose that each of the polymeric columns comprising a polymeric fiber core.
However, Lee discloses a similar light control film where each of the polymeric columns comprising a polymeric fiber core (Lee, Paragraph 0033; Paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polymeric columns as disclosed by Larsen to include a fiber core as disclosed by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing optical properties of the polymeric columns (Lee, Paragraph 0033).
Regarding Claim 17, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of Claim 16, wherein the substantially parallel substantially straight side form an angle of less than about 15 degrees with one another (Larsen, Paragraph 0044 discloses an angle between 0.5° to 3°).
Regarding Claim 18, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of claim 16, wherein in at least one cross-section of the light control film in a plane substantially orthogonal to the thickness direction, the polymeric columns generally extend along a first direction making an angle of between about 2 degrees and about 60 degrees with the thickness direction (Larsen, Figure 4; Paragraphs 0037-0044).
Regarding Claim 19, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of claim 16, wherein the first column ends cover at least 40% of the first major surface (Larsen, Figure 5 discloses that the first column ends cover a majority of the first major surface 328; Paragraph 0046; Paragraph 0062).
Regarding Claim 20, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of claim 16, wherein the plurality of optically transparent polymeric columns comprises a plurality of polygonal first column ends at the first major surface of the light control film and a plurality of polygonal second column ends at the second major surface of the light control film (Larsen, Figures 3-4 disclose polygonal ends).
Regarding Claim 21, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of claim 20, wherein at least two of the column ends of at least one of the polygonal first column ends and the polygonal second column ends have a different number of sides (Larsen, Paragraph 0030 discloses having different sides/shapes).
Regarding Claim 22, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of Claim 18, wherein in a cross-section of the light control film in a plane substantially orthogonal to a thickness direction of the light control film, each of the polymeric columns comprises a closed perimeter, the closed perimeter of at least some of the polymeric columns comprising one or more substantially straight perimeter portions, such that a total length of the substantially straight perimeter portions is greater than about 10% of a total length of the closed perimeters of the polymeric columns in the plurality of polymeric columns in the cross-section (Larsen, Figures 3-4 discloses that the straight perimeter is greater than a closed perimeter of the columns; Paragraphs 0045-0046).
Regarding Claim 23, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of 16, wherein in a cross-section of the light control film in a plane substantially orthogonal to a thickness direction of the light control film, each of the polymeric columns comprises one or more sides, such that for each pair in a plurality of pairs of adjacent polymeric columns, a side of one of the adjacent polymeric columns faces, and is substantially parallel and coextensive in length with, a side of the other one of the polymeric columns to form a pair of parallel sides, such that a total number of the sides of the polymeric columns that are part of a pair of parallel sides is greater than about 10% of a total number of sides in the plurality of polymeric columns in the cross-section (Larsen, Figures 3-4; Paragraph 0030).
Regarding Claim 24, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of claim 16 being formed by cutting, at least once, a block that comprises a plurality of substantially parallel optically transparent polymeric columns disposed in, and substantially surrounded by, a light absorbing polymeric material, the cutting resulting in at least one of the first and second major surfaces, the cutting imparting a surface roughness to at least one of the first and second column ends of at least one of the polymeric columns (Larsen, Paragraph 0037).
Regarding Claim 25, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the light control film of claim 24, wherein the cutting imparts a pattern comprising a plurality of substantially straight substantially parallel features to the at least one of the first and second major surfaces (Larsen, Figures 3-5).
Regarding Claim 30, Larsen discloses a method of fabricating a light control film (Figures 3-5), the method comprising:
Providing a plurality of substantially parallel optically transparent first polymeric columns extending along a same first direction and disposed in (Figure 5, polymeric columns 322; Paragraph 0049; Paragraph 0062), and
Substantially surrounded by, a light absorbing polymeric material (Figure 5, light absorbing polymeric material 340),
The first polymeric columns defining a plurality of substantially optically transparent gaps therebetween (Figure 5; Paragraph 0037), each of the first polymeric columns having a lateral cross-sectional first shape (Figures 3-5); and
Applying at least one of pressure and heat to the plurality of first polymeric columns along at least one second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction, the at least one of pressure and heat at least reducing a size of at least some of the gaps and modifying each of the first polymeric columns to a corresponding second polymeric column having a lateral cross- sectional second shape different than the cross-sectional first shape of the first polymeric column (Paragraph 0030; Paragraph 0053).
Larsen fails to disclose that each of the first polymeric columns comprise a polymeric fiber core.
However, Lee discloses a similar light control film where each of the polymeric columns comprise a polymeric fiber core (Lee, Paragraph 0033; Paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polymeric columns as disclosed by Larsen to include a fiber core as disclosed by Lee. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of optimizing optical properties of the polymeric columns (Lee, Paragraph 0033).
Regarding Claim 32, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 31, applying the at least one of pressure and heat results in the light absorbing polymeric material bonding the second polymeric columns to one another to form an integral block of the second polymeric columns (Larsen, Paragraph 0053).
Regarding Claim 33, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 32, further comprising cutting the integral block of the second polymeric columns (Larsen, Figure 5; Paragraphs 0037-0045).
Regarding Claim 34, Larsen in view of Lee discloses the method of claim 31, wherein the first shape is circular and the second shape is polygonal (Larsen, Figures 3-5; Paragraph 0030).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen in view of Lee in further view of Chung et al (US Publication No.: US 2018/0012069 A1, “Chung”).
Regarding Claim 26, Larsen discloses a display system (Larsen, Paragraph 0056; Figure 6), comprising a light source (Figure 2, light source 290; Paragraph 0036), and the light control film of claim 16.
Larsen fails to disclose that the light control film is disposed between an optical sensor and a display panel configured to generate an image for viewing by a user, the light source configured to emit a light toward at least a finger of the user disposed proximate the display panel, the optical sensor configured to at least sense a presence of the finger by receiving at least a portion of the emitted light reflected by the finger.
However, Chung discloses a similar display where the light control film is disposed between an optical sensor and a display panel configured to generate an image for viewing by a user, the light source configured to emit a light toward at least a finger of the user disposed proximate the display panel, the optical sensor configured to at least sense a presence of the finger by receiving at least a portion of the emitted light reflected by the finger (Chung, Figure 1, optical sensor 12-2, light control film 12-1, display panel 11; Paragraph 0165).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display as disclosed by Larsen to include a sensor as disclosed by Chung. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of creating a touch panel (Chung, Paragraph 0165).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 27, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a light control film comprising a plurality of optically transparent spaced apart polymeric fiber cores substantially surrounded by a common light absorbing polymeric cladding, the fiber cores comprising corresponding fiber core ends seemingly irregularly arranged at a major surface of the light control film, such that an average radial power spectral density of the fiber core ends as a function of a spatial frequency in a cross-section of the light control film in a plane substantially orthogonal to a thickness direction of the light control film comprises a first peak region comprising one or more local peaks and defined by a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of between about 5 and about 150 inverse mm, in combination with the remaining features recited in the claim.
The prior art of Larsen (US 2017/0108628 A1) discloses a light control film comprising a plurality of optically transparent spaced apart polymer columns (Larsen, Figures 3-5). However, Larsen fails to disclose polymeric fiber cores. The prior art of Lee (US 2008/0186558 A1) discloses polymeric fiber cores arranged at a distance to one another (Lee, Figure 2A; Paragraph 0033). However, Lee also fails to disclose an arrangement of the fiber cores such that an average radial power spectral density of the fiber core ends as a function of a spatial frequency in a cross-section of the light control film in a plane substantially orthogonal to a thickness direction of the light control film comprises a first peak region comprising one or more local peaks and defined by a full width at half maximum (FWHM) of between about 5 and about 150 inverse mm.
Therefore, Claim 27 is allowed. Claims 28-30 are allowed by virtue of their dependence on the allowed claim.
Conclusion
/MARIAM QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2871