DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 53-59, 62-67 and 72-88 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Ziegenbein, U.S. 2020/0332471, in view of Upgradation of Wheat Straw and Rice Straw for Pulp and Papermaking by Sushma, hereinafter and evidenced by Singh et al., (hereinafter Singh), in “Complete Characterization of Wheat Straw (Triticum Aestivum PBW-343 L. Emend. Fiori & Paol.) A Renewable Source of Fibres for Pulp and Paper Making” and/or Buranov et al., (hereinafter Buranov) in “Lignin in straw of herbaceous crops.” Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53-59, 62-67 and 72-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegenbein, US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0332471 A1, in view of Upgradation of Wheat Straw and Rice Straw for Pulp and Papermaking by Sushma, hereinafter and evidenced by Singh et al., (hereinafter Singh), in “Complete Characterization of Wheat Straw (Triticum Aestivum PBW-343 L. Emend. Fiori & Paol.) A Renewable Source of Fibres for Pulp and Paper Making” and/or Buranov et al., (hereinafter Buranov) in “Lignin in straw of herbaceous crops.”
With regard to claims 53-56, 62-64, 67, 72-77, 82-88, Ziegenbein discloses an absorbent paper product, such as tissue and towels (reading on claims 67 and 82), which could be single or multiply (¶-[0017]-[0019]) having unique properties. Said absorbent product including from 20 through 90 wt.% on the dry basis of a refined softwood pulp, (which includes the wood pulp of claims 63-64 , 74-77) and the rest of hardwood, non-wood fibers, recycled, synthetic fibers and mixtures thereof; see abstract and ¶-[0029]. Ziegenbein discloses also that the non-wood fibers are or can be straw (belongs to the Poaceae Family); see ¶-[0029]. Therefore, it is within the scope of the reference a pulp including 20 to 90 % by dry weight of fibers of softwood and between 10 through 80 % by dry weight of straw or straw with any other fiber(s) while still be within the claimed range, i.e., 10 to 60 %. Ziegenbein teaches that the paper has an GMT Index between 6 N.m/g to 12 N.m/g (¶-[0071] and claim1) and having basis weight between 10 gsm to 120 gsm, but preferably between 20 to 60 gsm (¶-0065) and the examples show a target basis weigh of 52 gsm and GMT Index between 6.5 to 11 N.m/g, which converts to GMT between 338 N/m to 572 N/m (GMT Index= GMT/BW ⸫ GMT=GMT Index*BW) and table on ¶-[0178] shows values for a single ply towel 1) 8.58*25.7=220.50 N/m: 2) 9.91*26.2=259.64 N/m and 3) 26.2*10.8=282.96, all of them within the range of claims 53-54, 56 and 85. Ziegenbein is silent with regard to the type of straw used. However, all of the secondary references teach the use of wheat straw and other straws, e.g. rice straw, that can be used in the making of papers and teach that wheat straw have hemicellulose content of at least 15% and lignin that has been reduced to less than 15% by delignification; see page 93 and Table 3 of Sushma, which teaches hemicellulose greater than 15% (Pentosan is part of the hemicellulose) and lignin between 3.45 and 1.5 after the delignification; Buranov teaches that the lignin composition of wheat straw depends on the country and varies from 5.3 through 17.0 and Singh teaches Hemicellulose of 28.95 table 3 and teaches that on table 2 that the fiber length is 1.18± 0.08 mm. Therefore, using wheat straw as the straw suggested by Ziegenbein would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if such fibers were used as the straw suggested by Ziegenbein. Note also that using the straw with low lignin content as suggested by Sushma the pulp would have higher brightness and increases formation with less shive, as shown on table 7 and last paragraph on column 1 of page 96.
Regarding to claims 57-59, Ziegenbein on ¶-[0017] teaches that the absorbent paper can be multiply and that each ply can have the same type pulp or different fibers in each ply. Therefore, optimizing the amount of the type of fibers in each ply is considered obvious, absent a showing of unexpected results.
With regard to claims 65-66 and 78-81, the use of never dried pulp instead of dry market pulp is known in the art and considered obvious, absent a showing of unexpected results. It is also known that the use of virgin pulps, i.e., never dried pulps, have more strength than that has been previously dried, i.e., dry market pulp, and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefits.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Tissue Paper Material and Tissue Paper Product.”
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF