DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the amendments filed September 10, 2026 with a request for continued examination of application 18/577,751. Claims 1 and 26 have been amended, claims 8 and 10-13 have been cancelled, and claims 91 and 92 are newly presented; claims 1-5, 19, 24-26, 48-50, 52, 91, and 92 are currently pending.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed September 10, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the device that Nakamura describes a silicone rubber sleeve wrapped around a stem such that the sleeve is composed of silicon rubber than the device itself, it is noted that claims 1 and 26 each recite that the housing is made from silicone or a silicone-based elastomer but does not limit the housing to be made only from silicone or a silicone-based elastomer. Similarly, Rudakov (US 2012/0192872), which is now relied upon as the primary reference in the rejection of claims 1 and 26, discloses an analogous housing made from the elongate member (12) in combination with the flow reducing member (14), wherein at least the flow reducing member (14) of the housing is made from silicone (¶ 0213). Further, Rudakov discloses that the housing (12+14) is configured to expand from a radially compressed configuration to engage and seal against an inner surface of a lumen to obstruct flow of fluid flowing through the lumen (¶ 0128-0129 & 0224), wherein the housing (12+14) must therefore have a conformal outer surface in order to achieve a sufficient seal with the inner surface of the lumen to obstruct the flow of fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 91 and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 91 and 92, each recite the limitation “The method of claim 1”; however, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “The method” since claim 1 is directed to a “device” rather than a “method”. For examination purposes, the above limitation of claims 91 and 92 has been interpreted as “The device of claim 1”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 19, 26, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudakov et al. (US 2012/0192872).
Regarding claim 1, Rudakov discloses an intracervical conformal contraceptive device (apparatus 10 may be used to reduce or stop flow through a tubular structure including a cervical canal) (¶ 0144) comprising a housing (elongate member 12 + flow reducing member 14) made from silicone or a silicone-based elastomer and having an outer surface (flow reducing member 14), the housing (12+14) defining a conduit passing from a first proximal end (proximal opening 18) to a second distal end (distal opening 16) of the housing (12+14), wherein the housing (12+14) comprises a one-way valve (flap 78) within the conduit, the one-way valve (78) allowing fluid to pass from the first proximal end (18) to the second distal end (16) (Figs. 1-2 & 18; ¶ 0013, 0128, 0136, & 0213).
Rudakov further discloses that the housing (12+14) is configured to expand from a radially compressed configuration to engage and seal against an inner surface of a lumen to obstruct flow of fluid flowing through the lumen (¶ 0128-0129 & 0224) thereby rendering the outer surface of the housing to be conformal to the shape of the lumen.
Regarding claim 2, Rudakov further discloses that the housing (12+14) is substantially tubular (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Rudakov further discloses that the housing (12+14) is substantially spindle-shaped (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Rudakov further discloses that the device (10) has a length of no more than 3 cm (¶ 0141).
Regarding claim 5, Rudakov further discloses that the device (10) has a diameter of no more than 12 mm (¶ 0142).
Regarding claim 19, Rudakov further discloses a spermicidal agent position in the housing (12+14) (¶ 0198).
Regarding claim 26, Rudakov discloses a method comprising inserting a device (apparatus 10) into a cervix of a subject (apparatus 10 may be used to reduce or stop flow through a tubular structure including a cervical canal) (¶ 0144), the device (10) comprising a housing (elongate member 12 + flow reducing member 14) made from silicone or a silicone-based elastomer and having an outer surface (flow reducing member 14), the housing (12+14) defining a conduit passing from a first end (proximal opening 18) to a second end (distal opening 16) of the housing (12+14), wherein the housing (12+14) comprises a one-way valve (flap 78) within the conduit such that the one-way valve (78) is positioned to allow fluid to exit a vagina (flap 78 facilitations proximal flow through the distal opening) (Figs. 1-2 & 18; ¶ 0013, 0128, 0136, & 0213).
Rudakov further discloses that the housing (12+14) is configured to expand from a radially compressed configuration to engage and seal against an inner surface of a lumen to obstruct flow of fluid flowing through the lumen (¶ 0128-0129 & 0224) thereby rendering the outer surface of the housing to be conformal to the shape of the lumen.
Regarding claim 48, Rudakov further discloses that the housing (12+14) comprises a retention mechanism (coated with agents suitable for facilitating engagement of frame 76 to an inner surface of a lumen) (¶ 0134).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudakov as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Nakamura et al. (US 4,004,582).
Rudakov discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the housing comprises a flange at the first proximal end of the device.
Nakamura discloses an analogous intracervical conformal contraceptive device (intracervical contraceptive device ICD 10) comprising a housing (stem 12 + sleeve 34) having a conformal outer surface (sleeve 34) and defining a conduit (hollow bore 14) passing from a first proximal end (inner end 16) to a second distal end (outer end 22) of the housing (12+34), wherein the housing (12+34) comprises a flange (arms 18+20) at the first proximal end (16) of the device (10) (Figs. 1-2 & 4; column 2, lines 35-43; column 3, lines 1-4, 8-17, & 28-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the housing of the intracervical conformal contraceptive device taught by Rudakov to comprise a flange at the first proximal end of the device as taught by Nakamura for the purpose of preventing inadvertent expulsion of the device.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudakov as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Silber (US 3,312,215).
Rudakov discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the housing comprises a flange at the second distal end of the device.
Silber discloses an analogous intracervical device (uterocervical cannula) comprising a housing (stem S + collar member C) defining a conduit from a first proximal end (portions 13a+13b) to a second distal end (portions 18a+18b), wherein the housing (S+C) comprises a flange (collar member C) at the second distal end (18a+18b) of the device (Figs. 2, 7, & 26; column 6, lines 20-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the housing of the intracervical conformal contraceptive device taught by Rudakov to comprises a flange at the second distal end of the device as taught by Silber for the purpose of preventing movement of the device towards the uterus.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudakov as applied to claims 26 and 48 above, in view of Waterbury (US 2,422,377).
Rudakov discloses the method substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the retention mechanism comprises one or more circumferential vanes.
Waterbury discloses an analogous method comprising inserting a device (pessary) into a cervix of a subject, the device comprising a housing (stem 11) having a retention mechanism, wherein the retention mechanism comprises one or more circumferential vanes (disks 26) (Figs. 1-2; column 2, lines 18-23; column 3, lines 56-75; column 4, lines 1-12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the housing of the device used in the method taught by Rudakov such that the retention mechanism comprises one or more circumferential vanes as taught by Waterbury for the purpose of assisting in retaining the device in proper position and also serving to prevent the entrance of foreign substances into the cavity of the uterus.
Claims 50 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudakov as applied to claims 1 and 48 above, in view of Ragheb (US 10,159,597).
Rudakov discloses the method substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the retention mechanism comprises one or more ridges or that the housing has a textured surface.
Ragheb discloses an analogous method comprising inserting a device (birth control assembly 10) into a cervix of a subject, the device (10) comprising a housing (tube 12) having a retention mechanism, wherein the retention mechanism comprises one or more ridges (rings 22) which provide the housing with a textured surface (Figs. 1 & 5; column 2, lines 21-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the housing of the device used in the method taught by Rudakov such that the retention mechanism comprises one or more ridges thus providing the housing with a textured surface as taught by Ragheb for the purpose of frictionally engage the cervix to facilitate retaining the housing in the cervix.
Claims 91 and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudakov as applied to claim 1 above, in view of DeLaurentis et al. (US 5,295,979).
Rudakov discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but fails to teach that the one-way valve comprises a rigid material that prevents distortion of the one-way valve and a plurality of flaps.
DeLaurentis discloses an analogous one-way valve (one-way valve 500/600) configured to allow fluid to pass from a first end (input portion 510/610) to a second end (output port 512/612), wherein the one-way valve (500/600) comprises a rigid material (more rigid flap portion 618) capable of preventing distortion of the one-way valve (500/600) and a plurality of flaps (flaps 516/616) (Figs. 5a-6; column 7, line 51 – column 8, line 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the one-way valve of the device taught by Rudakov to comprise a rigid material and a plurality of flaps as taught by DeLaurentis for the purpose of providing added resistance to reflux pressure.
Conclusion
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 10/28/2026