DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 8/7/2026. Since the initial filing, claims 1-37 have been cancelled, claims 38-53 have been added and no claims have been amended. Thus, clams 38-53 are pending in the application.
A Preliminary Amendment was filed on 8/7/2026 to correct a previously misfiled amended claim set filed 1/9/2024.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “safety element” in claim 38.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In the broadest reasonable reading of the specification, the safety element functions to shut off vacuum in unsafe circumstances. Claim 45 adds additional structural limitations, supported by the disclosure at least on page 4 and 10, describes structural elements without any link to function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42, 43 and 51 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the operator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing to “an operator” to overcome this rejection.
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the subject or operator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing to “the subject or an operator” to overcome this rejection.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "the operator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing to “an operator” to overcome this rejection.
Claim 52 recites the limitation "the subject or operator" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggests changing to “the subject or an operator” to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lantz (US 2018/0200462) in view of Kim (US 2018/0361089) and Kimm (US 2011/0220107).
In regards to claim 38, Lantz discloses a tracheobronchial-air stimulation device (device 1) intended to be connected to a subject (patient 5, paragraph 52) comprising: (i) a physiological interface able to interface the device with the subject's airways (interface 2); (ii) a vacuum interface (pneumatic base 3 and negative pressure generator 6, Fig 5), said vacuum interface comprising a safety element (deadman remote control, paragraph 69, or safety tube as seen on Annotated Fig 4); (iii) a vent (sound trap 8, paragraph 55); (iv) an electro-valve connected to said physiological interface, said vacuum interface and said vent (solenoid valve 9, Fig 5); and (v) a control module (microcontroller card 10) configured to control said electro-valve for the application of pressure oscillations at a frequency of at least 1 Hz, and set a negative pressure into the physiological interface (paragraph 61).
Annotated Fig 4
Lantz does not disclose wherein the device is portable and wherein the vacuum interface is able to interface with a wall inlet of a medical vacuum system.
However, Kim teaches wherein such devices may be made portable (Title, paragraph 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lantz wherein the device is portable as taught by Kim as this would allow a patient to use the device during activities of daily living.
Further, Kimm teaches wherein a vacuum interface is able to interface with a wall inlet of a medical vacuum system (paragraph 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lantz wherein the vacuum interface is able to interface with a wall inlet of a medical vacuum system as taught by Kimm as these are known equivalents which may be obviously substituted (Kimm: paragraph 32; MPEP 2144.06 II).
In regards to claim 39, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38 and the combination further teaches which does not comprise a negative pressure generator (Kimm: devices known to be attachable wall vacuum outlet, paragraph 32).
In regards to claim 40, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38 and Lantz further discloses wherein the control module is configured to control the electro-valve for the application of an expiration cycle comprising a plurality of successive expirations, each expiration having a frequency and a duty cycle, said expiration cycle comprises a first part of an expiration cycle having a first frequency and a first duty cycle, and a second part of an expiration cycle having a second frequency and a second duty cycle, wherein the first part of the expiration cycle comprises a plurality of expirations having a frequency of the order of 10 to 15 Hz and a duty cycle of 0.2 to 0.7 and the second part of the expiration cycle comprises a plurality of expirations having a frequency of the order of 4 to 7 Hz and a duty cycle of the order of 0.5 to 0.8 (paragraph 32-33 and 61).
In regards to claim 41, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 40 and Lantz further discloses wherein the first part of the expiration cycle comprises a frequency of 12 Hz and a duty cycle of the order of 0.3 and the second part of the expiration cycle comprises a frequency of 6 Hz and a duty cycle of the order of 0.6 (paragraph 33 and 61).
In regards to claim 42, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 40 and Lantz further discloses wherein the control module is configured to adapt the expiration cycle previously chosen by the operator or the subject according to one or more results of an evaluated average stimulation duration (paragraph 34).
In regards to claim 43, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38 and Lantz further discloses wherein the control module is configured to receive instructions from the subject or operator to adjust an amplitude of one or more departing negative pressures according to their tolerance (paragraph 40-41 and 68).
In regards to claim 44, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38 and Lantz further discloses wherein the electro-valve is connected to the physiological interface via a connecting tube and/or the electro-valve is connected to the vacuum interface via a connecting tube (pipe 4 links interface 2 to pneumatic base 3 which holds valve 9, paragraph 57 and 60).
In regards to claim 45, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38.
Lantz does not explicitly disclose wherein the safety element is a safety tube having an inner diameter less than 5 mm and a length greater or equal to 1 cm and less or equal to 10 cm.
However, it does show a tube wherein the diameter may be established as within the claimed range (opening diameter of solenoid 9 is less than 6 mm, paragraph 60 line 28-29, encompassing the claimed limitation of less than 5 mm, MPEP 2144.05 I, opening of solenoid in line with “safety tube” with equivalent diameter, see Annotated Fig 4, MPEP 2125) and a length within the claimed range (Fig 4 shows length of “safety tube” being ~3x opening diameter resulting in a length that overlaps the claimed range, see Annotated Fig 4, MPEP 2125, MPEP 2144.05 I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lantz wherein the safety element is a safety tube having an inner diameter less than 5 mm and a length greater or equal to 1 cm and less or equal to 10 cm as it has been held that in cases where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I) and that the description of the article pictured can be relied on, in combination with the drawings, for what they would reasonably teach one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2125 II).
In regards to claim 46, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38 and Lantz further discloses wherein the pressure oscillations are applied during an expiratory phase of the subject (paragraph 61).
In regards to claim 47, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the device of claim 38 and the combination further teaches a method for stimulating tracheobronchial air comprising the steps of: (i) providing a tracheobronchial-air stimulation device according to claim 38 (see above Claim 38 Rejection); (ii) connecting the vacuum interface with a wall inlet of a medical vacuum system (Kimm: paragraph 32); (iii) connecting said tracheobronchial-air stimulation device to a subject via the physiological interface (Lantz: Fig 1); (iv) applying an expiration cycle comprising a plurality of successive expirations to the subject, each expiration having a frequency and a duty cycle, wherein the expiration cycle comprises a first part of an expiration cycle having a first frequency and a first duty cycle, and a second part of an expiration cycle having a second frequency and a second duty cycle (Lantz: paragraph 61).
In regards to claim 48, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the method of claim 47 and the combination further teaches wherein the tracheobronchial-air stimulation device does not comprise a negative pressure generator (Kimm: devices known to be attachable to wall vacuum outlet, paragraph 32).
In regards to claim 49, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the method of claim 47 and Lantz further discloses wherein the first part of the expiration cycle comprises a plurality of expirations having a frequency of the order of 10 to 15 Hz and a duty cycle of 0.2 to 0.7 and the second part of an expiration cycle comprises a plurality of expirations having a frequency of the order of 4 to 7 Hz and a duty cycle of the order of 0.5 to 0.8 (paragraph 32 and 61).
In regards to claim 50, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the method of claim 49 and Lantz further discloses wherein the first part of the expiration cycle comprises a frequency of 12 Hz and a duty cycle of the order of 0.3 and the second part of the expiration cycle comprises a frequency of 6 Hz and a duty cycle of the order of 0.6 (paragraph 33 and 61).
In regards to claim 51, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the method of claim 47 and Lantz further discloses wherein the control module is configured to adapt the expiration cycle previously chosen by the operator or the subject according to one or more results of an evaluated average stimulation duration (paragraph 34 and 61).
In regards to claim 52, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the method of claim 47 and Lantz further discloses wherein the control module is configured to receive instructions from the subject or operator to adjust an amplitude of one or more departing negative pressures according to their tolerance (paragraph 40-41 and 68).
In regards to claim 53, Lantz in view of Kim and Kimm teaches the method of claim 47 and Lantz further discloses wherein the electro-valve is connected to the physiological interface via a connecting tube and/or the electro-valve is connected to the vacuum interface via a connecting tube (pipe 4 links interface 2 to pneumatic base 3 which holds valve 9, paragraph 57 and 60).
Conclusion
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785