Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, claims 1-4, 6-10, and 12-21 with traverse in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 24 is withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Applicant submits that “the search and examination of the entire application could be made without serious burden” and cites MPEP section 803. However, the examiner submits that the current application is a national stage application and the restriction requirement is directed to the requirement for unity of invention as provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a). The lack of unity is due to the lack of a shared special technical feature between the groups. See MPEP section 1850. It is respectfully submitted that this policy should be applied in the present 371 application instead of the restriction requirements for applications filed under 35 U.S.C. 111.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Good (US PG Pub 2020/0404845).
Regarding claim 1, Good discloses A computer-implemented method for picking mushrooms from a mushroom bed with a robotic mushroom picker, the method comprising [Good ¶ 0022 "here is provided a method of harvesting mushrooms using an automated harvester"]:
obtaining at least one image of a cluster of mushrooms in a mushroom bed [Good ¶ 0102 "If a section is available to be scanned that section is scanned at step 410 and this generates a 3D point cloud that is processed at step 412 for data representing that section."];
determining, within each image:
each individual mushroom [Good ¶ 0116 "The properties of mushrooms include their position within the mushroom growing bed (i.e. their coordinates), size of the mushroom cap, shapes of the mushroom caps, orientations of the mushrooms (tilted, straight and so forth), growth rates, volumes, mass, stem size, pivot point, maturity, and surrounding space (distance between mushrooms)."],
a position and a height of each individual mushroom, and a radius of a cap of each individual mushroom [Good ¶ 0102 "At step 414 the processor categorizes mushroom candidates by their properties (determined from the 3D point cloud acquired using the multiple scanners 100)" and ¶ 0116 "The properties of mushrooms include their position within the mushroom growing bed (i.e. their coordinates), size of the mushroom cap, shapes of the mushroom caps, orientations of the mushrooms (tilted, straight and so forth), growth rates, volumes, mass, stem size, pivot point, maturity, and surrounding space (distance between mushrooms)."];
determining an amount of free space in the vicinity of each mushroom [Good ¶ 0102 "At step 414 the processor categorizes mushroom candidates by their properties (determined from the 3D point cloud acquired using the multiple scanners 100)" and ¶ 0116 "The properties of mushrooms include their position within the mushroom growing bed (i.e. their coordinates), size of the mushroom cap, shapes of the mushroom caps, orientations of the mushrooms (tilted, straight and so forth), growth rates, volumes, mass, stem size, pivot point, maturity, and surrounding space (distance between mushrooms)."];
determining a picking schedule based on the radius of the cap, the height and the amount of free space in the vicinity of each mushroom [Good ¶ 0102 "The processor extracts target mushrooms 24 from the candidate list at step 416. Then, at step 418, a global picking strategy is generated for the target mushrooms 24." and ¶ 0106 "With a list of target mushrooms 24 per section of the growing bed, the local processing unit can calculate a global strategy that specifies the order of picking which is to be performed by the harvesting unit, taking mushroom cluster density, surrounding space, and timing into consideration as discussed above and shown in FIG. 32."]; and
controlling the robotic mushroom picker to pick mushrooms according to the picking schedule [Good ¶ 0102 "t step 420, for each target mushroom 24, the processor generates a local picking strategy at step 422 and sends instructions to the automated harvester 20 at step 424 for grasping and picking."].
Regarding claim 2, Good discloses The method as claimed in claim 1 further comprising: updating, after the picking of a mushroom, the determined picking schedule based on any changes to remaining mushrooms in the cluster of mushrooms after picking [Good ¶ 0100 "Once a section is finished being scanned the local processor unit determines if there are any candidates to harvest in the section based on the scanned data it received. If there are no candidate mushrooms 24 to harvest the harvester continues scanning the next target section and repeats the process until it reaches the physical end of the bed level. Once the end of the bed level has been reached the harvester reverses back to the lift without scanning. The Lift then raises or lowers the harvester to a new bed level and the process repeats."].
Regarding claim 8, Good discloses The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein controlling the robotic mushroom picker to pick mushrooms comprises controlling an orientation of the robotic mushroom picker to pick each mushroom based on a corresponding preferred pick direction in the picking schedule [Good ¶ 0106 " For each mushroom 24 in that global picking order, the local processing unit calculates local strategies that determine the precise picking strategy required to pick the mushroom in the most optimal way while minimizing external contact and damage that may appear of the mushroom upon contact. The local strategy for each mushroom 24 can include calculating the optimal picking approach, points of contact with the harvesters grasping technology, picking motion, and picking direction."].
Regarding claim 9, Good discloses A robotic mushroom picker comprising: a robotic arm and a robotic end effector coupled to the robotic arm [Good ¶ 0085 "The gripper 64 is connected to the gantry 60 and is controlled to execute advanced manoeuvres to replicate human picking motions. Gantry = robotic arm, gripper = robotic effector];
a vision system for [Good ¶ 0019 "the vision system configured to scan a growing bed"]:
obtaining at least one image of a cluster of mushrooms in a mushroom bed [Good ¶ 0102 "If a section is available to be scanned that section is scanned at step 410 and this generates a 3D point cloud that is processed at step 412 for data representing that section."];
determining, within each image each individual mushroom, a height of each individual mushroom, and a radius of a cap of each individual mushroom; and determining an amount of free space in the vicinity of each mushroom [Good ¶ 0102 "At step 414 the processor categorizes mushroom candidates by their properties (determined from the 3D point cloud acquired using the multiple scanners 100)" and ¶ 0116 "The properties of mushrooms include their position within the mushroom growing bed (i.e. their coordinates), size of the mushroom cap, shapes of the mushroom caps, orientations of the mushrooms (tilted, straight and so forth), growth rates, volumes, mass, stem size, pivot point, maturity, and surrounding space (distance between mushrooms)."];
a planning system for determining a picking schedule based on the radius of the cap, the height and the amount of free space in the vicinity of each mushroom as determined by the vision system [Good ¶ 0102 "The processor extracts target mushrooms 24 from the candidate list at step 416. Then, at step 418, a global picking strategy is generated for the target mushrooms 24." and ¶ 0106 "With a list of target mushrooms 24 per section of the growing bed, the local processing unit can calculate a global strategy that specifies the order of picking which is to be performed by the harvesting unit, taking mushroom cluster density, surrounding space, and timing into consideration as discussed above and shown in FIG. 32."]; and
a control system for controlling the robotic arm and robotic end effector to pick mushrooms according to the picking schedule [Good ¶ 0102 "t step 420, for each target mushroom 24, the processor generates a local picking strategy at step 422 and sends instructions to the automated harvester 20 at step 424 for grasping and picking."].
Regarding claim 12, Good discloses The robotic mushroom picker as claimed in claim 9 wherein controlling the robotic mushroom picker to pick mushrooms comprises controlling an orientation of the robotic mushroom picker to pick each mushroom based on a corresponding preferred pick direction in the picking schedule [Good ¶ 0106 " For each mushroom 24 in that global picking order, the local processing unit calculates local strategies that determine the precise picking strategy required to pick the mushroom in the most optimal way while minimizing external contact and damage that may appear of the mushroom upon contact. The local strategy for each mushroom 24 can include calculating the optimal picking approach, points of contact with the harvesters grasping technology, picking motion, and picking direction."].
Regarding claim 21, Good discloses The robotic mushroom picker as claimed in claim 9 wherein the planning system updates the picking schedule after a mushroom has been picked [Good ¶ 0100 "Once a section is finished being scanned the local processor unit determines if there are any candidates to harvest in the section based on the scanned data it received. If there are no candidate mushrooms 24 to harvest the harvester continues scanning the next target section and repeats the process until it reaches the physical end of the bed level. Once the end of the bed level has been reached the harvester reverses back to the lift without scanning. The Lift then raises or lowers the harvester to a new bed level and the process repeats."].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Good in view of Wang (CN 109345554 A).
Regarding claim 3, Good teaches claim 1. Good does not teach wherein obtaining at least one image comprises obtaining at least one image captured by an RGB-D camera.
However, in a related field of invention, Wang does teach wherein obtaining at least one image comprises obtaining at least one image captured by an RGB-D camera [Wang ¶ 0010-0013 "Step 1, Mushroom Image Acquisition: Continuously acquire depth video streams using an RGB-D camera; Step 4, in-situ mushroom measurement: calibrate the camera coordinate system, verify the accuracy of the in-situ measurement method based on the ceramic circular plate, and calculate the position, diameter, and tilt angle of the individual mushroom in the camera's world coordinate system."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the mushroom harvesting system using 3D scanners as taught by Good with using an RGB-D camera as taught by Wang in order to improve recognition results and lower computational costs [Wang ¶ 0006].
Regarding claim 10, Good teaches claim 9. Good does not teach wherein the vision system comprises an RGB-D camera and wherein the vision system is further configured to estimate a pose of each identified individual mushroom.
However, in a related field of invention, Wang does teach wherein the vision system comprises an RGB-D camera and wherein the vision system is further configured to estimate a pose of each identified individual mushroom [Wang ¶ 0010-0013 "Step 1, Mushroom Image Acquisition: Continuously acquire depth video streams using an RGB-D camera; Step 4, in-situ mushroom measurement: calibrate the camera coordinate system, verify the accuracy of the in-situ measurement method based on the ceramic circular plate, and calculate the position, diameter, and tilt angle of the individual mushroom in the camera's world coordinate system."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the mushroom harvesting system using 3D scanners as taught by Good with using an RGB-D camera as taught by Wang in order to improve recognition results and lower computational costs [Wang ¶ 0006].
Claims 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Good in view of Chai.
Regarding claim 16, Good teaches claim 9. Good does not teach wherein the robotic end effector comprises a vacuum cup, and wherein the vacuum cup comprises: a plurality of vacuum distribution channels on an inner surface of the vacuum cup, extending between a vacuum transfer port and an outer edge of the suction cup; and a plurality of protrusions on an inner surface of the vacuum cup for gripping a mushroom.
However, in a related field of invention, Chai does teach wherein the robotic end effector comprises a vacuum cup, and wherein the vacuum cup comprises:
a plurality of vacuum distribution channels on an inner surface of the vacuum cup, extending between a vacuum transfer port and an outer edge of the suction cup [Chai ¶ n0010 "Preferably, the surface of the circular raised portion of the flexible suction cup is provided with multiple recesses along the circumferential direction."]; and
a plurality of protrusions on an inner surface of the vacuum cup for gripping a mushroom [Chai ¶ n0011 "Preferably, the surface of the circular raised portion of the flexible suction cup is provided with multiple protrusions along the circumferential direction."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the mushroom harvesting system using a gripper with fingers as taught by Good with using a vacuum cup as taught by Chai in order to reliably pick up mushrooms and lower bruising of the mushroom [Chai ¶ n0006].
Regarding claim 17, Good and Chai teach claim 16. Chai further teaches wherein controlling the robotic arm and robotic end effector comprises: driving the vacuum cup onto a cap of a mushroom [Chai ¶ n0073 "The flexible suction cup 1 presses down on the top of the cap 24-1, and the circular ridge 1-2 presses down on the middle position of the top of the cap 24-1."];
supplying negative air pressure to the vacuum cup, for retaining a portion of the cap of the mushroom in the vacuum cup [Chai ¶ n0074 "Then, the external negative pressure pump is activated to remove the air from the sealed chamber, creating a partial vacuum. "]; and
rotating the vacuum cup while a portion of the cap of the mushroom is retained in the vacuum cup, to break a stem of the mushroom [Chai ¶ n0075 "The horizontal support plate 5 drives the adaptive suction cup to rotate at a certain angle, and the adaptive suction cup drives the mushroom 24 to rotate at a certain angle, thus breaking off the mushroom stem and removing the mushroom 24."].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the mushroom harvesting system using a gripper with fingers as taught by Good with using a vacuum cup as taught by Chai in order to reliably pick up mushrooms and lower bruising of the mushroom [Chai ¶ n0006].
Regarding claim 20, Good and Chai teach claim 16. Chai further teaches wherein the vacuum cup is releasably coupled to the robotic end effector [Chai ¶ n0021 "The base of the adaptive suction cup is fixedly connected to the horizontal support plate via a first connecting rod and a second connecting rod." The rods can be taken out so that the suction cup can be replaced. The suction cup and the horizontal support plate are not one solid part, so it is releasably coupled.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the mushroom harvesting system using a gripper with fingers as taught by Good with using a vacuum cup as taught by Chai in order to reliably pick up mushrooms and lower bruising of the mushroom [Chai ¶ n0006].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/J.E.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666