DETAILED ACTION
The correspondence of 11 December 2025 has been received. Claims 1-7 as amended on 9 January 2024 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando (JP 2015-041419, machine translation provided on 11 December 2025 relied upon).
Bando teaches an elastic electrode (abstract). The electrode (#100 or #120) comprises a base elastomer layer (#101 or #121) and an electrode main body made of carbon nanotubes [CNTs] (#102 or #122) (¶16 and Figs. 1-2). The thickness of the layers is in the range of 100 nm to 10 microns (¶35).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pick any part of the disclosed range, including a thickness between 100nm and 1000 nm based on the desired properties of the laminate.
Bando renders obvious claim 1.
With respect to claim 2, Bando fails to teach the Young’s modulus of the film. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to create the invention of the prior art with a Young’s modulus in the range of 50 – 200 MPa based on the application of the device and the desired flexibility and resistance to deformation in use.
With respect to claim 3, Bando teaches the overall thickness but not the thickness of the individual layers. Bando however teaches properties associated with the individual layers (too thin and insufficient conductivity, too thick and insufficient stretchability). Given the conductivity is imparted by the CNT layer (¶22) and the stretchability by the elastomer layer (¶17) it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the thickness of each layer based on the desired properties of the electrode. It has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The burden is upon the Applicant to demonstrate that the claimed ratio is critical and has unexpected results.
With respect to claim 4, Bando teaches the electrode can include SWCNT (¶23).
With respect to claim 5, Bando teaches an electrode which is self-supporting (see examples disclosing crosslinking) and instant specification’s discussion of the term self-supporting.
With respect to claims 6-7, Bando teaches the electrode as an actuator (¶55) and as a laminate of two or more nano film and elastomer base materials alternatively laminated (Fig 2b).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bando as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hino (US 2012/0235545).
In the event Applicant disagrees that Bando sufficiently renders obvious a Young’s modulus in the range of 50 – 200 MPa,
Hino teaches an actuator (¶1) which includes an electrode having a Young’s modulus of 0.1-600 MPa. Hino teaches within these ranges, the electrode has improved flexibility, elasticity, and resistance to plastic deformation in actuator applications, so that an actuator with higher repeating durability can be produced. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to produce the electrode of Bando with a Young’s modulus between 0.1-600 MPa, including the range of 50 – 200 MPa based upon the desired durability, flexibility, and elasticity of the device.
Conclusion
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781