DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a Response to Applicant’s Arguments and Amendment submitted 06/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-31, 32-34, and 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the attached Conference abstract entitled “Electro–Responsive Hydrogel Films and Beads: Using Electric Fields To Break Or Stick Solids” (hereinafter “ERHFaB”), presented publicly at conference entitled Collodial, Macromolecular, and Biological Gels II under the organization of Engineering Conferences International, on July 23, 2019 in Cork, Ireland as a printed publication, or otherwise made available to the public at the conference set forth above (previously of record).
Regarding claim 24, ERHFaB discloses a method comprising using electroadhesion to induce adhesion between a cationic hydrogel and anionic cells (see [01]-[02]) of an animal tissue (see [02] which specifically states that “the same phenomenon also works with certain animal tissues”).
ERHFaB further discloses (claim 25) wherein the electroadhesion comprises: a) contacting the anionic cells with a first electrode; b) contacting the cationic hydrogel with a second electrode; and c) applying an electric potential to the first electrode and the second electrode to induce the adhesion between the cationic hydrogel and the anionic cells (see [02], it is inherent that in an electric field as set forth in ERHFaB, there will be two electrodes which allow for an electric potential between them); (claim 26) further comprising stopping the applying, wherein the adhesion remains after the stopping (see [02], adhesion remains until polarity is reversed); (claim 27) further comprising reversing the adhesion (see [02]); (claim 28) wherein the reversing comprises applying a second electric potential to the cationic hydrogel and the anionic cells, wherein the second electric potential has reversed polarity relative to the electric potential (see [02]); (claim 29) wherein the adhesion between the cationic hydrogel and the anionic cells occurs in a double network wherein one or both networks of the double network has a cationic charge (see [01]-[02]); (claim 30) wherein the anionic cells comprise an extracellular matrix, and wherein a network in the double network comprises the extracellular matrix (see [02]); and (claim 31) wherein the cationic hydrogel is adhered to the anionic cells via electrophoresis (see [02]).
Regarding claim 32, ERHFaB discloses a method of electroadhering an animal tissue to a cationic hydrogel (see [01]-[02]), comprising: (a) contacting the animal tissue (see [02] which specifically states that “the same phenomenon also works with certain animal tissues”) comprising anionic cells with a first electrode ([02], it is inherent that in an electric field as set forth in ERHFaB, there will be two electrodes which allow for an electric potential between them); (b) contacting a cationic hydrogel with a second electrode ([02]); (c) bringing the cationic hydrogel and the animal tissue into contact ([02]); and (d) applying an electric potential to the first electrode and the second electrode to induce an adhesion between the cationic hydrogel and the animal tissue ([02]).
ERHFaB further discloses (claim 33) wherein (d) further comprises maintaining the adhesion between the tissue and the cationic hydrogel (see [02], adhesion is maintained until polarity is reversed); (claim 34) further comprising reversing the adhesion between the tissue and the cationic hydrogel by applying a second electric potential, wherein the second electric potential has reversed polarity from the electric potential (see [02]); (claims 38-39) wherein the adhesion between the cationic hydrogel and the tissue comprises a single or multiple network, and includes: i) a chemical crosslink; ii) a physical crosslink; iii) a biodegradable hydrogel; or iv) any combination thereof (see [01]-[02]); and (claims 40-41) wherein the electric potential has a voltage of between 3-25 volts ([02], 10 volts falls within the claimed range).
Claim(s) 24, 32, 35-37, and 44-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN112457501A, inventors Yuan et al. (hereinafter “Yuan”) (cited in an IDS dated 01/22/2024 with included English translation, citations to English translation).
Regarding claim 24, Yuan discloses (see abstract; [n0003]; [n0017]-[n0028]) a method comprising using electroadhesion to induce adhesion between a cationic hydrogel and anionic cells (see [n0017]-[n0028]) of an animal tissue (see [n0024]).
Regarding claim 32,Yuan discloses (see abstract; [n0003]; [n0017]-[n0028]) a method of electroadhering an animal tissue to a cationic hydrogel (see [n0017]-[n0028]), comprising: (a) contacting the animal tissue comprising anionic cells with a first electrode (see [n0017]-[n0020] & [n0024]), it is inherent that in an electric field as set forth in Yuan, there will be two electrodes which allow for an electric potential between them); (b) contacting a cationic hydrogel with a second electrode (see [n0017]-[n0020]); (c) bringing the cationic hydrogel and the animal tissue into contact (see [n0017]-[n0028]); and (d) applying an electric potential to the first electrode and the second electrode to induce an adhesion between the cationic hydrogel and the animal tissue (see [n0017]-[n0028]).
Yuan further discloses (claim 35) wherein the method is used to perform surgery on a a cartilage (see [n0024]); (claim 36) wherein (d) patches a puncture or cut in the tissue (see [n00224]); (claim 37) wherein the tissue comprises two cut segments and the adhesion rejoins the two cut segments (see [n0024]-[n0028]); (claims 44 and 45) wherein the animal tissue and the cationic hydrogel are in contact with whole blood (see [n0024], wounds needing closure frequently if not always involve whole blood being present at the wound which would contact the blood); (claims 46 and 47) wherein the animal tissue comprises human tissue (see [n0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ERHFaB.
ERHFaB discloses the invention substantially as claimed as discussed above, however, with respect to claims 42-43, ERHFaB fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electric potential is applied such that the adhesion strength between the cationic hydrogel and the tissue saturates, but rather, discloses that the electric potential is applied for "just a few seconds" (see [02]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of being obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.398,82 USPQ2d 1385,1395- 97(2007)), to obtain the predictable result of determining the optimal amount of time to determine when adhesion strength between the cationic hydrogel and the tissue saturates, by determining that the disclosure of "just a few seconds" would be sufficient to experiment with the specific amount of time necessary to meet the ultimate end goal of applying the electric potential, which is to adequately adhere the hydrogel to the tissue to the point of saturation. Further, ERHFAB discloses (claim 43) wherein the electric potential is applied for at most 60 seconds (see [02], "a few seconds" is understood to be less than 60 seconds).
Requirement for Information
Applicant submitted a copy of slides in response to the previous Requirement for Information. This submission is deemed sufficient to comply with the Requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that ERHFaB is deficient with respect to the amended limitation involving “of animal tissues” because the slides provided merely ask the question of whether this could work with animal tissue but involved ongoing work. Nonetheless, the ERHFaB conference abstract explicitly sets forth that the disclosed technique “also works with certain animal tissues” at [02], and therefore there is sufficient anticipation of the claim because this establishes that ERHFaB anticipates the claim even when modified to specify “of animal tissues”.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Yuan are not persuasive. Applicant’s specification states that a cationic hydrogel is contacted by a positive electrode while the anionic substrate (gel or tissue) is contacted by the negative electrode so that when voltage is applied, the hydrogel strongly adheres to the anionic substrate (and conversely, when if the electroadhered gel is connected to the electrodes in the reverse orientation with a voltage applied, the gel loses its adhesion and can be detached (see [0043]-[0044]). This functions the same way as Yuan’s disclosure at [n0017]-[n0020] – thus, Yuan’s hydrogel is cationic in the context of the claims. Further, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the cationic hydrogel is a cationic polyelectrolyte and specifically not PVA-based with catechol groups) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771