Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1 (Claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 07/02/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 20080318131), hereinafter Watanabe.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches an electrolyte for a lithium metal battery comprising an amount of gadolinium nitrate ([0006], [0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Watanabe teaches an electrolyte comprising gadolinium nitrate as stated above. Watanabe fails to teach the amount of gadolinium nitrate comprises one milligram per milliliter of electrolyte. Although Watanabe does not explicitly disclose that the amount of gadolinium nitrate is 1 milligram per milliliter of electrolyte, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to optimize the concentration of gadolinium nitrate through routine experimentation to achieve the desired electrochemical performance. The selection of a particular concentration would have been an obvious matter of design choice. Varying the concentration of a known additive to obtain predictable results is considered within the ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 2, as stated above. Watanabe further teaches the electrolyte comprises an amount of lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide ([0112]).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Watanabe further teaches the electrolyte comprises an amount of 1,3-dioxolane ([0110], Watanabe teaches the alternative spelling of 1,3-dioxoran).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Watanabe further teaches the electrolyte comprises an amount of 1,2-dimethoxyethane ([0110]).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 5, as stated above. Watanabe further teaches the electrolyte comprises an amount of lithium nitrate ([0083-0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 2, as stated above. Watanabe teaches an electrolyte comprising gadolinium nitrate as stated above. Watanabe fails to teach the electrolyte is characterized by a wettability contact angle of 13.50 degrees. However, since Watanabe teaches an electrolyte comprising gadolinium nitrate, it would logically follow that an electrolyte having the same composition would exhibit substantially the same wettability characteristics, including a contact angles of 13.50°. Moreover, the recited wettability contact angle is merely a property of the electrolyte composition and does not impart any additional structural limitation to the claimed electrolyte. To the extent of the contact angle may vary based on formulation or processing conditions, selecting a particular wettability contact angle, including 13.50°, would have been an obvious matter of routine optimization and design choice, absent evidence that the claimed value is critical or produces unexpected results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Swonger et al. (US 10177366), hereinafter Swonger.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Watanabe teaches an electrolyte, as stated above. Watanabe fails to teach the electrolyte is in contact with and forms a solid electrolyte interphase with a lithium metal anode.
Swonger teaches an electrolyte that is in contact with a lithium metal anode and forms a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) thereon. Watanabe and Swonger are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrolytes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to incorporate the electrolyte configuration of Swonger into the electrolyte of Watanabe because both references are directed to electrolytes. Doing so would have predictably result in the electrolyte contacting the lithium metal anode and forming an SEI, as taught by Swonger, thereby improving interfacial stability and cycling performance. The modification merely involves applying a known electrolyte to another known electrolyte to obtain its recognized and predictable benefits.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Perera et al. (US 2021019399), hereinafter Perera.
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe and Swonger teach the limitations of claim 8, as stated above. Watanabe teaches an electrolyte comprising gadolinium nitrate as stated above. Watanabe fails to teach a portion of the amount of gadolinium nitrate is present in the solid electrolyte interphase. Perera teaches an electrolyte comprising a nitrate additive, specifically cerium nitrate, which is in contact with a lithium metal anode and forms a solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) ([0054], [0073]).
Watanabe and Perera are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrolytes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the cerium nitrate of Perera with the gadolinium nitrate taught by Watanabe because both are rare-earth metal nitrate additives used in battery electrolytes, and the substitution of one known electrolyte additive for another to obtain the predictable result of forming an SEI is merely the substitution of one known element for another. Furthermore, the literature teaches that gadolinium nitrate enhances SEI stability, suppresses lithium dendrite growth, and improves cycling performance and electrochemical stability, thereby providing additional motivation to make the substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (K.C. Anjaneya et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
In addition to the above, please note the “X” reference on the international search report, i.e. US20200118769 that teaches an electrolyte comprising an amount of gadolinium nitrate [0094].
Please also note that the only requirement of claim 1 is to have gadolinium nitrate (in any amount, so the entirety of the invention could be gadolinium nitrate as currently claimed), absent unclaimed other limitations.
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776