DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received on 08/25/2026. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-14, 16-19, 21, 22, 24, and 30-33 are currently pending.
Claims 16-19, 21, 22, 24, and 30-33 are withdrawn from prosecution as being drawn to nonelected subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 10-14 are examined herein. The restriction requirement mailed on 07/07/2026 is still deemed proper. Applicant elected Group I with traverse in the reply filed on 08/25/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 08/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that “Groups I-IV share, as a common essential element, not merely a gene expression construct, but the transposon vector defined in claim 1, which comprises specific 5' ITR and 3' ITR sequences … the transposon vector of claim 1 constitutes a common special technical feature that defines the contribution over the prior art and links the respective Groups so as to form a single general inventive concept” (Remarks, page 2). This is not found persuasive because Higgins (US11542528B2, priority to PRO 63/175,345, filed on 04/15/2021 and others with earlier priority dates) anticipates the transposon vector of claim 1 with its “specific 5' ITR and 3' ITR sequences”, see the office action under 35 U.S.C. §102 below. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16-19, 21, 22, 24, and 30-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/25/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in REPUBLIC OF KOREA. This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2022/010075 filed on 07/11/2022, with priority to 10-2021-0090133 filed on 07/09/2021, and 10-2022-0085306 filed on 07/11/2022.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The use of the terms FACS Aria, ATCC, Maxcyte, Neon, TruStain, Opti-MEM, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it is noted that the claim recites “b) a nucleic acid molecule including a sequence encoding a transposase protein or transposase”. This language is considered to be indefinite because of 2 plausible interpretations: 1), component b) requires only nucleic acid molecule which includes a sequence encoding a transposase protein or transposase, wherein “transposase protein” and “transposase” are two alternative terms of referring to the same thing with one being redundant, or 2), component b) requires either a transposase, in a protein form, or a nucleic acid molecule including a sequence encoding a transposase protein, a nucleic acid form. It is noted that the specification states that “The present invention is also directed to providing a transposon system for delivering target DNA, which includes the transposon vector and a transposase (a protein or a nucleic acid molecule encoding the same)” (Page 2, 3rd¶), the claim language as written remains indefinite. It is recommended that the claim language be revised to “b) a transposase protein or a nucleic acid molecule including a sequence encoding a transposase protein” to be consistent with the specification, thus providing clear metes and bounds. The broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is applied to include both readings below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2) as being anticipated by Higgins (US11542528 B2, priority to PRO 63/175,345, filed on 04/15/2021 and others with earlier priority dates).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, Higgins teaches a transposon vector, comprising: a 5' ITR having a sequence of at least 71 consecutive nucleotides in the nucleotide sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 (FIG. 14, SEQ ID NO: 341; see alignment below); and a 3' ITR having a sequence of at least 66 consecutive nucleotides in the nucleotide sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 2 (FIG. 15, SEQ ID NO: 433; see alignment below). Higgins calls the 5’ ITR “left end” and the 3’ ITR “right end” (FIG. 1D) or “left ITR” and “right ITR” (FIGs. 8B; 16; 24B), or “5’TRE” and “3’TRE” (FIG. 23E).
Query: Higgins SEQ ID NO: 341; Sbjct: Instant SEQ ID NO: 1
Query: Higgins SEQ ID NO: 433; Sbjct: Instant SEQ ID NO: 2
Given the sequence relationships of SEQ ID NOs: 5-8, and 5’-ACACTTGG-3’ relative to SEQ ID NO: 1, and the sequence relationships of SEQ ID NOs: 9-11, 13, 14 relative to SEQ ID NO: 2, see below, Higgins also teaches claimed limitations in claims 3 & 4.
5’ ITR sequence:
SEQ ID NO: 1
ttaacacttg gattgcggga aacgagttaa gtcggctcgc gtgaattgcg cgtactccgc
gggagccgtc ttaactcggt tcatatagat ttgcggtgga gtgcgggaaa cgtgtaaact
cgggccgatt gtaactgcgt attaccaaat atttgtt
SEQ ID NO: 5 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 1)
ttaacacttg gattgcggga aacgagttaa gtcggctcgc gtgaattgcg cgtactccgc
gggagccgtc ttaactcggt tcatatagat ttgcggtgga gtgcgggaaa cgtgtaaact
cgggccgatt gtaactgcgt attaccaaat atttgtt
SEQ ID NO: 6 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 1)
ttaacacttg gattgcggga aacgagttaa gtcggctcgc gtgaattgcg cgtactccgc
gggagccgtc ttaactcggt tcatatagat ttgcggtgga gtgcgggaaa cgtgtaaact
cgggccgatt gtaactgcgt attaccaaat atttgtt
SEQ ID NO: 7 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 1)
ttaacacttg gattgcggga aacgagttaa gtcggctcgc gtgaattgcg cgtactccgc
gggagccgtc ttaactcggt tcatatagat ttgcggtgga gtgcgggaaa cgtgtaaact
cgggccgatt gtaactgcgt attaccaaat atttgtt
5’-ACACTTGG-3’ (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 1)
ttaacacttg gattgcggga aacgagttaa gtcggctcgc gtgaattgcg cgtactccgc
gggagccgtc ttaactcggt tcatatagat ttgcggtgga gtgcgggaaa cgtgtaaact
cgggccgatt gtaactgcgt attaccaaat atttgtt
SEQ ID NO: 8 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 1)
ttaacacttg gattgcggga aacgagttaa gtcggctcgc gtgaattgcg cgtactccgc
gggagccgtc ttaactcggt tcatatagat ttgcggtgga gtgcgggaaa cgtgtaaact
cgggccgatt gtaactgcgt attaccaaat atttgtt
3’ ITR sequence:
SEQ ID NO: 2
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
SEQ ID NO: 9 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 2)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
SEQ ID NO: 10 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 2)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
SEQ ID NO: 11 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 2)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
SEQ ID NO: 13 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 2)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
SEQ ID NO: 14 (bold sequence within SEQ ID NO: 2)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
Regarding claim 5, Higgins teaches the claimed sequence orientations in the transposon vector in FIG. 16 and in another embodiment in FIG. 23E.
Regarding claim 8, Higgins teaches GFP or TurboGFP, and neomycin resistance gene as representative reporter proteins coding sequence in the vector map shown in FIG. 16 and FIG. 23E.
Regarding claim 10, Higgins teaches a DNA donor construct template used with Myotis lucifugus transposase comprising a CMV promoter, a GFP and a Neomycin/Kanamycin resistance gene as >1 target genes, a TK polyA signal, in addition to a 5’ ITR, i.e. left ITR and a 3’ ITR, i.e. a right ITR in the representative vector map in FIG. 16 (Col 11, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 11, Higgins teaches a circular plasmid as a representative transposon vector in map show in FIGs. 16 and 23E.
Regarding claim 12, Higgins’ FIG. 16 shows a representative transposon vector with a 7820bp size, which is within the claimed range of 1,000 to 10,000 bp.
Regarding claim 13, Higgins teaches a transposon system comprising: a) a donor vector shown in FIG. 8B, into which target DNA (optimized transgene ORF as shown in the vector map) is inserted; and b) a helper vector which comprises a nucleic acid molecule including a sequence encoding a transposase protein (optimized Myotis lucifugus transposase, MLT; Col 3, lines 5-6) shown in FIG. 8A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (2021; see full citation above), in view of Livet (WO2019219947A1, published on 11/21/2019).
Higgins’ teachings have been discussed above as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-13. Higgins does not teach “The transposon vector of claim 1, wherein the transposon vector includes antisense DNA having a reverse complement sequence of the nucleotide sequence of the 3' ITR in the 5' to 3' direction downstream of the position where target DNA is inserted into the transposon vector, wherein the reverse complement sequence of the 3' ITR includes the nucleotide sequence represented by any one of SEQ ID NOs: 15 to 17”. As shown below in the sequence alignment, SEQ ID NOs: 15-17 corresponds to SEQ ID NOs: 9-11 as their respective reverse complement sequences.
Reverse complementary sequences to the 3’ ITR sequences NOs: 9-11:
SEQ ID NO: 15 (reverse complement of SEQ ID NO: 9)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
|||| |||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||
3’- TTGG ATTTATTAAC GGGCGCGGTA GAATATAAAA
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
|||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||
CCGCCCTTTA AGTGGGCTGT GGCATCACAA TT – 5’
SEQ ID NO: 16 (reverse complement of SEQ ID NO: 10)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||
3’- TTTGATTGA GACTAAAACG CGCCCTTTGG ATTTATTAAC GGGCGCGGTA GAATATAAAA
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
|||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||
CCGCCCTTTA AGTGGGCTGT GGCATCACAA TT – 5’
SEQ ID NO: 17 (reverse complement of SEQ ID NO: 11)
aattatttat gtactgaata gataaaaaaa tgtctgtgat tgaataaatt ttcatttttt
acacaagaaa ccgaaaattt catttcaatc gaacccatac ttcaaaagat ataggcattt
3’- GTGTTCTTT GGCTTTTAAA GTAAAGTTAG CTTGGGTATG AAGTTTTCTA TATCCGTAAA
taaactaact ctgattttgc gcgggaaacc taaataattg cccgcgccat cttatatttt
|||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||
ATTTGATTGA GACTAAAACG CGCCCTTTGG ATTTATTAAC GGGCGCGGTA GAATATAAAA
ggcgggaaat tcacccgaca ccgtagtgtt aa
|||||||||| |||||||||| ||||||||||
CCGCCCTTTA AGTGGGCTGT GGCATCACAA TT – 5’
However, Livet (2019) teaches that the 3’ ITR sequence can be flipped for a 5’ [Wingdings font/0xE0] 3’ orientation with reverse complementary sequence (Figure 1A, right configuration, ID switch), i.e. an antisense orientation as an alternative, interchangement embodiment of a transposon vector (Page 15, lines 11-26), and explicitly teaches one preferred embodiment wherein “a 5' ITR and a 3' ITR of a DNA transposon, advantageously a cut and paste DNA transposon … one of said sequence is in the sense orientation, while the other is in the anti-sense orientation, with respect to the sequence of the promoter” (Page 15, lines 30-33). Livet teaches that the purpose of this design is to achieve transposition-dependent transgene expression. This arrangement can suppress expression while the vector remains episomal, thereby reducing potentially toxic or otherwise undesirable effects of transient expression, while allowing sustained expression after genomic integration and facilitating identification of successfully integrated cells (Page 2, lines 1-13, 32-33; Page 3, lines 31-34; Page 4, ¶1-4).
It would have been obvious for persons of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITAs) before the effective filing date to have modified the transposon vector designs of Higgins by inverting the 3’ ITR sequence, such that “the transposon vector includes antisense DNA having a reverse complement sequence of the nucleotide sequence of the 3' ITR in the 5' to 3' direction downstream of the position where target DNA is inserted into the transposon vector…”. Since Higgins’ transposon vector comprises a 3’ ITR with the sequence set forth in the claimed SEQ ID NO: 2, which comprises SEQ ID NOs: 9-11, such an inverted 3’ ITR would have comprised a 5’-> 3’ sequence that is complementary on the sense strand, thereby reading on any of the claimed antisense DNA sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15-17, yet still satisfying the requirement of the independent claim 1, upon which claim 6 depends and incorporating the requirement, because SEQ ID NO: 2 is still comprised in the inverted 3’ ITR by being present in the antisense strand of the DNA double strand in the 3’ ITR. It would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of prior art elements based on known methods with predictable results. One would be motivated to do so because Livet teaches this arrangement as a preferred embodiment and that it prevents episomal expression of the transgene as the antisense orientation of the flipped 3’ ITR helps the modified transposon vector architecture to minimize uncontrolled transgene expression and may reduce toxicity (Livet, Page 4, lines 29-34). One would have reasonable expectations for success because Livet demonstrates precise control of integration-based transgene expression devoid of non-integrative episomal gene expression (Figure 1B).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins (2021) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13 above, and further in view of Mitra (Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2013;110(1):234-9).
The teachings of Higgins (2021) have been discussed above. Despite teaching a transposase protein sequence that matches 571/572 (99% sequence identity) of the amino acids in the claimed protein sequence, Higgins does not teach a transposase protein that includes the amino acid sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 18.
However, Mitra (2013) teaches a piggyBat protein sequence (Table S2; Page 235) identical to the claimed transposase sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 18, see alignment on the right.
Although Higgins does incorporate Mitra in its entirety (Col 44, lines 61-64), this data is not relied upon in Higgins’ disclosure. Hence, Mitra serves as a secondary reference for this rejection. Higgins discloses a Myotis lucifugus transposase-derived transposon system employing a transposase and identifies Mitra (2013) among its cited references. The piggyBat transposase disclosed by Mitra is also derived from Myotis lucifugus.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted Higgins’ engineered transposase with Mitra’s expressly disclosed piggyBat transposase sequence in Higgins’ transposon system because Mitra establishes that piggyBat is an active mammalian DNA transposon and demonstrates its utility for transposition in mammalian cells, including human cells (Page 234, Abstract, lines 11-15). The use of the known piggyBat transposase would therefore have been a predictable selection of a previously characterized transposase from the same species for use in a transposon-based gene-delivery system, with a reasonable expectation of success based on Mitra’s demonstrated transposition activity (Page 237, Figure 4).
It would have merely amounted to simple substitution of prior art elements using known methods to achieve predictable results. One would have been motivated to do so because Higgins claims a transposon system comprising a nucleic acid encoding a transposase enzyme, wherein the transposase enzyme comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 95% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 2 (Claim 1), and the claimed sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 18 falls within this claimed variant range because a single amino acid mismatch out of 572 AA puts Mitra’s transposase sequence with a 99% sequence identity with SEQ ID NO: 2 of Higgins, i.e. these are considered interchangeable variants by Higgins. One would have reasonable expectations for success because these transposases are art-recognized variants of each other with the same origin of species and carrying out the same functions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/DELPHINUS DOU YI YU/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636