DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 5A, 5B and 5C are in the form of photographs when the subject matter can be practically illustrated in a drawing. See 37 CFR 1.84(b). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is fewer than 50 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, it is unclear whether the groups are limited to the listed compositions since the groups are required to include the listed compositions by may also include additional components. The claims are therefore indefinite. For the purposes of this Office action, the claims will be interpreted as if they excluded compositions that are not listed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bozzacco (US 2,806,509).
Regarding claim 1, Bozzacco discloses a laminate having good heat insulating characteristics (column 1, lines 41-53) made up of a filler comprised of small thin walled hollow beads coated with a heat tackifiable resin that is formed into a gel (column 1, lines 63-69). The resin serves as a binder (column 2, lines 33-44). The recitation of aerosol generating device is considered to be a claimed intended use in the preamble that is not given patentable weight. The Courts have held that, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2, Bozzacco discloses that the beads are made from perlite (column 1, lines 70-72, column 2, lines 1-24).
Regarding claim 3, Bozzacco discloses that the beads range in size between 250 and 350 US standard mesh (column 2, lines 44-69), which falls within the claimed range when converted to microns.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozzacco (US 2,806,509) in view of Kamioka (US 5,384,344).
Regarding claim 4, Bozzacco discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Bozzacco additionally discloses that the beads have a binding resin (column 2, lines 33-44) that is a thermosetting resin (column 2, lines 70-72, column 3, lines 1-7). Bozzacco does not explicitly disclose the thermosetting resin binder being polyimide.
Kamioka teaches that polyimide resin is a suitable thermosetting resin binder (column 2, lines 40-50).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyimide resin of Kamioka as the binder resin of Bozzacco. One would have been motivated to do so since Kamioka teaches that polyimide is a thermosetting resin binder. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozzacco (US 2,806,509).
Regarding claim 5, Bozzacco discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Bozzacco additionally teaches the beads are placed within a powdered metal (figure 4, reference numeral 11) and held in place by outer confining skins to form a panel (column 5, lines 3-28, figure 4, reference numeral 13). Bozzacco does not explicitly disclose the relative amount of space occupied by the beads compared to the overall panel.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the beads occupy the claimed volume of the panel. A change in size or proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art absent evidence that the change in size results in a difference in performance. See MPEP § 2144.04 IV A.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-7 of copending Application No. 18/267,569 (hereafter referred to as Seo) in view of Bozzacco (US 2,806,509).
Regarding claim 1, Seo claims an aerosol generating device (claim 1) having an insulation portion (claim 3) including a plurality of hollow beads (claim 6). Seo does not explicitly claim a binder holding the beads together.
Bozzacco teaches a laminate having good heat insulating characteristics (column 1, lines 41-53) made up of a filler comprised of small thin walled hollow beads coated with a heat tackifiable resin that is formed into a gel (column 1, lines 63-69). The resin serves as a binder (column 2, lines 33-44) and is a thermosetting resin (column 2, lines 70-72, column 3, lines 1-7).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beads of Seo with the binder of Bozzacco. One would have been motivated to do so since Bozzacco teaches a binder that holds hollow beads together. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Seo claims that the ceramic material is perlite (claim 7).
Claims 1 and 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 10-14 of copending Application No. 18/267,569 (hereafter referred to as Seo) in view of Bozzacco (US 2,806,509).
Regarding claim 1, Seo claims an aerosol generating device (claim 8) having an insulation portion (claim 10) including a plurality of hollow beads (claim 13). Seo does not explicitly claim a binder holding the beads together.
Bozzacco teaches a laminate having good heat insulating characteristics (column 1, lines 41-53) made up of a filler comprised of small thin walled hollow beads coated with a heat tackifiable resin that is formed into a gel (column 1, lines 63-69). The resin serves as a binder (column 2, lines 33-44) and is a thermosetting resin (column 2, lines 70-72, column 3, lines 1-7).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beads of Seo with the binder of Bozzacco. One would have been motivated to do so since Bozzacco teaches a binder that holds hollow beads together. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Regarding claim 2, Seo claims that the ceramic material is perlite (claim 14).
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755