This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 4/24/2026.
Claims 1, 3-6 & 8-19 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2021-0097337, filed on 7/23/2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 2 & 7 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11-13 & 15 have been amended.
Claims 16-19 have been added and are presented for examination.
Objections to claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 have been withdrawn.
Rejections of claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 12 & 13 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Rejections of claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 & 13-15 under 35 USC 102 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 1/26/2026 have been withdrawn, but new grounds of rejections of this claims have been made under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Park et al. (US 2021/0368477).
Rejections of claims 3, 8 & 12 under 35 USC 103 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 1/26/2026 have been withdrawn, but new grounds of rejections of this claims have been made under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Park et al. (US 2021/0368477).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to Objections to claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Objections to claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to Rejections of claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 12 & 13 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejections to claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 12 & 13 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting rejections of claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 & 13-15 based on Lee et al. (copending Application No. 19/300419) (herein after “Lee”) in view of Wu et al. (US 20230062132)(herein after “Wu”), and the Double Patenting rejections of claims 3, 8 & 12 based on Lee in view of Wu and Hindy et al. (US 20240048195)(herein after “Hindy”), made in the prior record Non-final rejection dated 1/26/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these Double Patenting rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of Double Patenting rejections are made for claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 & 13-15 based on Lee in view of Wu and further in view of new reference Park et al. (US 2021/0368477)(herein after “Park”), and new grounds of Double Patenting rejections are made for claims 3, 8 & 12 based on Lee in view of Wu and further in view of Hindy and new reference Park.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 & 15, applicant argues that Wu fails to disclose “wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP” because the co-scaling amplitude coefficients in the current application are specific elements directly reported via an indicator in the CSI report, while the scaling in Wu is merely a functional aspect of the precoding matrix within the codebook and not a distinct element that is directly reported as a specific coefficient in the CSI report. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that Fig 4, [0077] & [0080] in Wu discloses that the UE may quantize the non-zero coefficients, which may be amplitude coefficients, in the coefficient matrix 416 C(1) and the coefficient matrix 426 C(2) and report the quantized coefficient values (i.e. an indicator indicating scaling amplitudes coefficients per TRP). There could be more than one quantized non-zero coefficient reported per TRP, but any one of the quantized non-zero coefficients reported for each TRP represents “a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP”. Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Wu discloses the limitation “wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP”, as recited in claims 1, 6, 11 & 15.
Applicant submits that claims 1, 3-6 & 8-19 are patentable because the cited references, individually or in combination, fail to disclose or render obvious all of the limitations in these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 4/24/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 based on Wu et al. (US 20230062132)(herein after “Wu”) made in the prior record Non-final rejection dated 1/26/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection under 35 USC 103 is made for this claim based on Wu in view of new reference Park et al. (US 2021/0368477)(herein after “Park”). Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 6, 11 & 15, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 102 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 1/26/2026 due to similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 6, 11 & 15 under 35 USC 102 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 1/26/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 6, 11 & 15 under 35 USC 103 based on Wu in view of new reference Park.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 13 & 14, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 102 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 1/26/2026 due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 6, 11 or 15. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 13 & 14 under 35 USC 102 made in the Non-final Rejection dated 1/26/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 13 & 14 under 35 USC 103 based on Wu in view of new reference Park.
Regarding new claims 16-19, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 6, 11 or 15, and due to additional features recited in claims 16-19. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, as well as for additional reasons discussed in this Office Action, examiner introduces rejections of claims 16-19 under 35 USC 103 based on Wu in view of new reference Park.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 & 13-15, provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 & 11 respectively of copending Application No. 19/300419 (herein after “Lee”) in view of Wu et al. (US 20230062132)(herein after “Wu”) and further in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0368477)(herein after “Park”). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 11 & 15, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 of the current application merely broaden the scope of claims 1, 6 & 11 of the Lee patent application by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims as set forth below, and otherwise would have been obvious in view of Wu.
Claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 of current application
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11 & 12 of Lee
Claim 1 Preamble: A user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE comprising:
Claim 6 Preamble: A base station in a communication system, the UE comprising:
Claim 11 Preamble: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE, the method comprising:
Claim 15 Preamble: A method performed by a base station in a communication system, the UE, the method comprising:
Claim 1 Preamble: A user equipment (UE) comprising:
Claim 6 Preamble: A base station comprising:
Claim 11 Preamble: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE, the method comprising:
Claim 11 Preamble: A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system, the UE, the method comprising:
Limitation 1: a transceiver;
Limitation 1: a transceiver operably coupled with the processor, the transceiver configured to:
Limitation 2: a controller configured to:
Limitation 2: a processor;
Claim 1 Limitation 3: receive, from a base station, configuration information associated with multiple transmit-receive points (TRPs),
Claim 6 Limitation 3: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), …
Claim 11 Limitation 3: receiving, from a base station, …
Claim 15 Limitation 3: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), …
Claim 1 Limitation 3: receive, from a base station, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report, wherein the configuration information includes information on CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) ports and a codebook associated with transmit and receive points (TRPs), and wherein CSI-RS resources associated with the CSI-RS ports correspond to the TRPs,
Claim 6 Limitation 3: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), …
Claim 11 Limitation 3: receiving, from a base station, …
Claim 6 Limitation 3: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), …
Claim 1 Limitation 4: identify amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information,
Claim 11 Limitation 4: identifying …
Claim 1 Limitation 4: none.
Claim 11 Limitation 4: none.
Claim 1 Limitation 5: transmit, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report including indicators indicating the amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs.
Claim 6 Limitation 5: receive, from the UE, …
Claim 11 limitation 5: transmitting, to the base station, …
Claim 15 Limitation 5: receiving, from the UE, …
Claim 1 Limitation 5: transmit, to the base station, the CSI report including a bitmap, wherein the bitmap includes at least one non zero bit for identifying coefficients in an amplitude coefficient indicator and a phase coefficient indicator,
Claim 6 Limitation 5: receive, from the UE, …
Claim 11 limitation 5: transmitting, to the base station, …
Claim 6 Limitation 5: receive, from the UE, …
Claim 1 Limitation 6: wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, and one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs.
Claim 6 Limitation 6: wherein the CSI report includes…
Claim 11 Limitation 6: wherein the CSI report includes…
Claim 15 Limitation 6: wherein the CSI report includes…
Claim 1 Limitation 6: none.
Claim 6 Limitation 6: none.
Claim 11 Limitation 6: none.
Claim 6 Limitation 6: none.
Claim 1 Limitation 7: wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs.
Claim 6 Limitation 7: : wherein a precoder W…
Claim 11 Limitation 7: : wherein a precoder W…
Claim 15 Limitation 7: : wherein a precoder W…
Claim 1 Limitation 7: none.
Claim 6 Limitation 7: none.
Claim 11 Limitation 7: none.
Claim 6 Limitation 7: none.
Limitation 8: None.
Limitation 8: wherein the CSI-RS resources correspond to the at least one non zero bit,
Limitation 9: None.
Limitation 9: wherein a number of the at least one non zero bit summed is based on a size of the bitmap.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 6, 11 & 15 of the current application merely broaden the scope of claims 1, 6 & 11 of the Lee reference by eliminating the italicized portions of limitations 1, 3 & 5 and the entire limitations 6 & 7 of claims 1, 6 & 11 respectively of Lee.
The Lee reference fails to disclose wherein the UE and the base station are “in a communication system”, and comprise a controller and wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, receives, from a base station that transmits, configuration information associated with multiple TRPs, wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, identifies amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, wherein the method is performed by a base station, and wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP.
However, Wu teaches wherein the UE and base station are “in a communication system” ([0001] discloses communication devices such as user equipment (UE) in wireless communication systems. [0002] discloses a wireless communication system including a number of base stations.), and comprise a controller (Fig 5 & [0092]-[0093] disclose the UE may include a processor including a controller. Fig 6 & [0107]-[0108] disclose the BS may include a processor including a controller.) and wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, receives, from a base station that transmits, configuration information associated with multiple TRPs ([0007]-[0008] disclose a UE receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating a precoder size parameter (i.e. configuration information) for a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs).), wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, identifies amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information ([0006] disclose the UE, based on the configuration information, identifying precoding matrix indications (PMIs) for the multiple TRPs based on transmit reference signals transmitted by the base station associated with each TRP. Figs 3 & 4 and [0065]-[0067] disclose that the PMI may be a precoding matrix that may include coefficients including amplitude weights.), wherein in the method is performed by a base station ([0008] discloses a method of wireless communication for a BS.) and wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP ([0062]-[0063] discloses that the UE may transmit a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that may be based on codebook-based transmissions forming beams, wherein the codebook may be matrices including selection of weights for scaling amplitudes at antenna elements of the TRPs (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficients per each TRP).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have a UE, a method for the UE, and a base station, as disclosed by Lee, wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, receives, transmitted from a base station, and as a method for the base station, configuration information associated with multiple TRPs and wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, identifies amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, and a method for the UE, and a base station, and as a method for the base station, as part of a communication system, each comprising a controller so that the UE can receive, from a base station that transmits, configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, identify amplitude coefficients associated with the plurality of TRPs and transmit, to a base station that receives, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRP including weights for scaling amplitudes at antenna elements of the TRPs, in order to enable the base station to make optimized transmission decisions for scaling amplitudes of antenna elements at each TRP.
The Lee reference fails to disclose wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs.
However, Park further teaches wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses one amplitude value ai for the ith TRP of multiple TRPs (equation [00009] shows a1 and a2 for two TRPs).), and
wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have a UE, a method for the UE, and a base station, and as a method for the base station, wherein the UE receives, transmitted from a base station, configuration information associated with multiple TRPs and wherein the UE, and as a method for the UE, identifies amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, and wherein a CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu, wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs, as further taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, and a method for the UE, and a base station, and as a method for the base station, as part of a communication system, each comprising a controller so that the UE can receive, from the base station that transmits, configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, identify amplitude coefficients associated with the plurality of TRPs and transmit, to a base station that receives, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes an amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform precoding across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Regarding claims 4, 9 & 13, Lee in view of Wu and Park disclose the UE of claim 1, base station of claim 6 and method of claim 11.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs, or an indicator indicating the strongest coefficient per layer per TRP.
However, Wu teaches wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). [0066] discloses that the precoding matrix (i.e. PMI in the multi-TRP CSI report) may include beams for each spatial layer. Thus, the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a best beam per layer per TRP (i.e. a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP).), or an indicator indicating the strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060], [0063] & [0066] disclose the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP as discussed above. A strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs would be a strongest amplitude coefficient of the strongest amplitude coefficients per layer per TRP. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, and the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu and Park, wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs, or an indicator indicating the strongest coefficient per layer per TRP, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, a base station, and a method where the UE transmits to the base station a CSI report including an indication of a strongest TRP among a plurality of TRPs so that the base station can make optimized transmission decisions across the TRPs for techniques like CoMP and beam switching based on knowing the strongest TRP amongst a plurality of TRPs.
Regarding claims 5, 10 & 14, Lee in view of Wu and Park disclose the UE of claim 1, base station of claim 6 and method of claim 11.
Lee fails to disclose wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report is restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs.
However, Wu teaches wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report is restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs ([0072]-[0073] discloses that the multi-TRP PMI CSI feedback report may be limited (i.e. restricted) such as limiting a number of spatial domains across the total number of TRPs for which the UE reports the amplitude coefficients of the PMI. [0077] discloses that the coefficient matrix (i.e. including amplitude coefficients of the PMI) in the multi-TRP CSI feedback report may consist of the non-zero coefficients. [0074] discloses that the limit of the number of spatial domains reported may be per TRP.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, and the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu and Park, wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report is restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, a base station, and a method where the UE transmits to the base station a CSI report wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report have been restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs in order to reduce overhead in the CSI report.
Regarding claims 16-19, Lee in view of Wu and Park discloses the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, the method of claim 11 and the method of claim 15.
Lee fails to disclose but Wu teaches wherein a precoder W for N TRPs is
W
=
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
W1r is a spatial domain (SD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP,
WHFR is a frequency domain (FD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP, and
W2r is a linear combining amplitude and phase matrix for the r-th TRP (Fig 4 & [0075]-[0077] disclose precoding matrices W(1) and W(2) for two TRPs (for simplicity the two TRPs will be identified as the ith TRP where i = 1 or 2) where W(i) is equal to the product of W1 (i) precoding matrices 312 (for i=1) or 322 (for i=2), C(i) matrices 416 or 426 and WF(i) matrices 418 or 428. [0058] discloses that 2 TRPs are shown for simplicity, although the embodiments of the disclosed inventions may scale to many mor TRPs (i.e. the matrices may scale to W(N), W1 (N), C(N) and WF(N). [0067]-[0068] discloses that wideband precoding matrices W1 (i) include spatial domain components for a spatial domain basis for the ith TRP (i.e. spatial domain matrices for the rth TRP). [0076]-[0077] disclose that matrices WF(i) include frequency domain components for a frequency domain basis for the ith TRP (i.e. frequency domain matrices for the rth TRP). [0077] discloses that matrices C(i) include amplitude coefficients and phase coefficients for weighting the linear combination of the 2L(i) spatial domain basis for the ith TRP (i.e. linear combining amplitude and phase matrices for the r-th TRP). Taken together, the W(N) matrices represent a precoder (i.e. precoder W) for transmission across N TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, the method of claim 11 and the method of claim 15, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu and Park, wherein a precoder W for N TRPs is
W
=
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
W1r is a spatial domain (SD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP,
WHFR is a frequency domain (FD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP, and
W2r is a linear combining amplitude and phase matrix for the r-th TRP, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, and a method for a UE to, receive configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, transmitted from a base station, as part of a method for a base station, and transmit, to the base station that receives, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs including precoding matrices W(i) = W1(i)C(i)WF(i) where W1 (i) is a spatial domain basis matrix for the ith TRP, WF(i) is a frequency domain basis matrix for the ith TRP, and C(i) is a linear combining matrix for the spatial domain basis for the ith TRP, to optimize the combining of antenna elements in each TRP for transmission from the multiple TRPs.
Lee fails to disclose but Park further teaches wherein a precoder W for the coherent joint transmission (CJT) from N TRPs is
W
=
a
1
p
1
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
a
N
p
N
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
ar is a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for an r-th TRP,
pr is a co-scaling phase coefficient for the r-th TRP ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE. Although only two TRPs are shown in equation [00009], paragraph [0078] discloses that ai in signal y represents the ith TRP, and thus a broadest reasonable interpretation is that there can be any number of TRPs (e.g. up to N TRPs). [0078] discloses that ejq represents the co-phasing coefficient identifying the phase different between the transmission of the first TRP and the second TRP. A broadest reasonable assumption is that there would be co-phasing coefficients for additional TRPs (e.g. ejqi representing the co-phase coefficient for the ith TRP).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, the method of claim 11 and the method of claim 15, wherein a precoder W for N TRPs is
W
=
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
W1r is a spatial domain (SD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP,
WHFR is a frequency domain (FD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP, and
W2r is a linear combining amplitude and phase matrix for the r-th TRP, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu and Park, wherein a precoder W for the coherent joint transmission (CJT) from N TRPs is
W
=
a
1
p
1
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
a
N
p
N
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
ar is a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for an r-th TRP,
pr is a co-scaling phase coefficient for the r-th TRP, as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, and a method for a UE to, receive configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, transmitted from a base station, as part of a method for a base station, and transmit, to the base station that receives, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes one amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform a precoding based on the equation yRX,NCJT = a1W1 + a2ejq2 + … + aNejqN where ai represents amplitude scaling coefficients for the ith TRP, ejqi represents co-phasing coefficients for the ith TRP, and W(i) represents precoding for the ith TRP where W(i) = W1(i)C(i)WF(i) where W1 (i) is a spatial domain basis matrix for the ith TRP, WF(i) is a frequency domain basis matrix for the ith TRP, and C(i) is a linear combining matrix for the spatial domain basis for the ith TRP, for transmission across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Claims 3, 8 & 12 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6 & 11 respectively of copending Application No. 19/300419 (herein after “Lee”) in view of Wu et al. (US 20230062132)(herein after “Wu”) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0367728)(herein after “Park”), as applied to claims 1, 6 & 11, and further in view of Hindy et al. (US 20240048195)(herein after “Hindy”). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 3, 8 & 12, Lee in view of Wu and Park disclose the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6 and the method of claim 11.
Lee fails to disclose wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs.
However, Wu teaches wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). A strongest TRP among multiple TRPs would be indicated by the strongest amplitude coefficient among the multiple TRPs. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient (i.e. a strongest TRP) among the multiple TRPs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6 and the method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu and Park, wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs, as taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, base station and method for the UE to transmit to the base station a CSI report including an indication of a strongest TRP among a plurality of TRPs so that the base station can make optimized transmission decisions across the TRPs for techniques like CoMP and beam switching based on knowing the strongest TRP amongst a plurality of TRPs.
Lee fails to disclose a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report.
However, Hindy further teaches a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report ([0040]-[0041] discloses normalizing the magnitude (i.e. amplitude) coefficients of a CSI report with respect to the coefficient with the largest magnitude (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP) and not reporting the magnitude information for the strongest amplitude coefficient but only reporting an indication of the index of the strongest amplitude coefficient.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1, base station of claim 6 and method of claim 11, as disclosed by Lee in view of Wu and Park, and wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report, as further taught by Hindy. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce CSI reporting overhead by having a UE, base station and method wherein the UE does not report absolute amplitude coefficients for each TRP (including not report the absolute amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP), but instead reports amplitude coefficients normalized by the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient and only indicate an index for which normalized amplitude coefficient is the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11 & 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20230062132)(herein after “Wu”) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0368477)(herein after “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, A user equipment (UE) in a communication system ([0001] discloses communication devices such a s user equipment (UE) in wireless communication systems.), the UE comprising:
a transceiver ([0009] discloses a UE including a transceiver.); and
a controller (Fig 5 & [0092]-[0093] disclose the UE may include a processor including a controller.) configured to:
receive, from a base station, configuration information associated with multiple transmit-receive points (TRPs) ([0007]-[0008] disclose a UE receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating a precoder size parameter (i.e. configuration information) for a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs).), identify amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, and transmit, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report including indicators indicating the amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs ([0006] disclose the UE, based on the configuration information, identifying precoding matrix indications (PMIs) for the multiple TRPs based on transmit reference signals transmitted by the base station associated with each TRP. Figs 3 & 4 and [0065]-[0067] disclose that the PMI may be a precoding matrix that may include coefficients including amplitude weights. [0006]-[0007] disclose the UE may transmit, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report including feedback of the PMI, including amplitude coefficients, for each TRP.), and
wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP ([0062]-[0063] discloses that the UE may transmit a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that may be based on codebook-based transmissions forming beams, wherein the codebook may be matrices including selection of weights for scaling amplitudes at antenna elements of the TRPs (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficients per each TRP).).
Wu fails to disclose wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs.
However, Park further teaches wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses one amplitude value ai for the ith TRP of multiple TRPs (equation [00009] shows a1 and a2 for two TRPs).), and
wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have a UE receive, from a base station, configuration information associated with multiple TRPs, identify amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, and transmit, to the base station, a CSI report including indicators indicating the amplitude coefficients associated with multiple TRPs, wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, as disclosed by Wu, wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs, as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, as part of a communication system, comprising a controller so that the UE can receive, from the base station, configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, identify amplitude coefficients associated with the plurality of TRPs and transmit, to the base station, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes one amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform precoding across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Regarding claim 4, Wu in view of Park discloses the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest coefficient per layer per TRP (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). [0066] discloses that the precoding matrix (i.e. PMI in the multi-TRP CSI report) may include beams for each spatial layer. Thus, the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a best beam per layer per TRP (i.e. a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP).), or an indicator indicating the strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060], [0063] & [0066] disclose the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP as discussed above. A strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs would be a strongest amplitude coefficient of the strongest amplitude coefficients per layer per TRP. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs.).
Regarding claim 5, Wu in view of Park discloses the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report is restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs ([0072]-[0073] discloses that the multi-TRP PMI CSI feedback report may be limited (i.e. restricted) such as limiting a number of spatial domains across the total number of TRPs for which the UE reports the amplitude coefficients of the PMI. [0077] discloses that the coefficient matrix (i.e. including amplitude coefficients of the PMI) in the multi-TRP CSI feedback report may consist of the non-zero coefficients. [0074] discloses that the limit of the number of spatial domains reported may be per TRP.).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses a base station in a communication system ([0002] discloses a wireless communication system including a number of base stations.), the base station comprising:
a transceiver ([0010] discloses the base station (BS) may include a transceiver.); and
a controller (Fig 6 & [0107]-[0108] disclose the BS may include a processor including a controller.) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with a multiple transmit-receive points (TRPs) ([0007]-[0008] disclose a BS transmitting, to a UE, a configuration indicating a precoder size parameter (i.e. configuration information) for a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs).), and receive, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report including indicators indicating amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information ([0006] disclose the UE, based on the configuration information, identifying precoding matrix indications (PMIs) for the multiple TRPs based on transmit reference signals transmitted by the base station associated with each TRP. Figs 3 & 4 and [0065]-[0067] disclose that the PMI may be a precoding matrix that may include coefficients including amplitude weights. [0008] disclose the BS may receive, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report including feedback of the PMI, including amplitude coefficients, for each TRP.), and
wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, ([0062]-[0063] discloses that the UE may transmit a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that may be based on codebook-based transmissions forming beams, wherein the codebook may be matrices including selection of weights for scaling amplitudes at antenna elements of the TRPs (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficients per each TRP).).
Wu fails to disclose wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs.
However, Park further teaches wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses one amplitude value ai for the ith TRP of multiple TRPs (equation [00009] shows a1 and a2 for two TRPs).), and
wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have a base station transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with multiple TRPs, and receive, from the UE, a CSI report including indicators indicating amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, wherein a CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, as disclosed by Wu, wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs, as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a base station, as part of a communication system, comprising a controller that can transmit, to a UE, configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, and receive, from the UE, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes one amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform precoding across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Regarding claim 9, Wu in view of Park discloses the base station of claim 6.
Wu discloses wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest coefficient per layer per TRP (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). [0066] discloses that the precoding matrix (i.e. PMI in the multi-TRP CSI report) may include beams for each spatial layer. Thus, the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a best beam per layer per TRP (i.e. a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP).), or an indicator indicating the strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060], [0063] & [0066] disclose the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP as discussed above. A strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs would be a strongest amplitude coefficient of the strongest amplitude coefficients per layer per TRP. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs.).
Regarding claim 10, Wu in view of Park discloses the base station of claim 6.
Wu discloses wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report is restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs ([0072]-[0073] discloses that the multi-TRP PMI CSI feedback report may be limited (i.e. restricted) such as limiting a number of spatial domains across the total number of TRPs for which the UE reports the amplitude coefficients of the PMI. [0077] discloses that the coefficient matrix (i.e. including amplitude coefficients of the PMI) in the multi-TRP CSI feedback report may consist of the non-zero coefficients. [0074] discloses that the limit of the number of spatial domains reported may be per TRP.).
Regarding claim 11, Wu discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system ([0007] discloses a method of wireless communication for a UE. [0001] discloses that the UE may be part of a wireless communication systems), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information associated with a multiple transmit-receive points (TRPs) ([0007]-[0008] disclose a UE receiving, from a base station, a configuration indicating a precoder size parameter (i.e. configuration information) for a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs).);
identifying amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information ([0006] disclose the UE, based on the configuration information, identifying precoding matrix indications (PMIs) for the multiple TRPs based on transmit reference signals transmitted by the base station associated with each TRP. Figs 3 & 4 and [0065]-[0067] disclose that the PMI may be a precoding matrix that may include coefficients including amplitude weights.); and
transmitting, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report including indicators indicating the amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs ([0006]-[0007] disclose the UE may transmit, to the base station, a channel state information (CSI) report including feedback of the PMI, including amplitude coefficients, for each TRP.), and
wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP ([0062]-[0063] discloses that the UE may transmit a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that may be based on codebook-based transmissions forming beams, wherein the codebook may be matrices including selection of weights for scaling amplitudes at antenna elements of the TRPs (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficients per each TRP).).
Wu fails to disclose wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs.
However, Park further teaches wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses one amplitude value ai for the ith TRP of multiple TRPs (equation [00009] shows a1 and a2 for two TRPs).), and
wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have a method for a UE comprising receiving, from a base station, configuration information associated with multiple TRPs, identifying amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, and transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report including indicators indicating the amplitude coefficients associated with multiple TRPs, wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, as disclosed by Wu, wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs, as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE, as part of a communication system, comprising receiving, from the base station, configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, identifying amplitude coefficients associated with the plurality of TRPs and transmitting, to the base station, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes one amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform precoding across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Regarding claim 13, Wu in view of Park discloses the method of claim 11.
Wu discloses wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest coefficient per layer per TRP (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). [0066] discloses that the precoding matrix (i.e. PMI in the multi-TRP CSI report) may include beams for each spatial layer. Thus, the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a best beam per layer per TRP (i.e. a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP).), or an indicator indicating the strongest coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060], [0063] & [0066] disclose the multi-TRP CSI report may indicate a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP as discussed above. A strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs would be a strongest amplitude coefficient of the strongest amplitude coefficients per layer per TRP. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per layer across the multiple TRPs.).
Regarding claim 14, Wu in view of Park discloses the method of claim 11.
Wu discloses wherein a number of non-zero coefficients included in the CSI report is restricted per TRP or across the multiple TRPs ([0072]-[0073] discloses that the multi-TRP PMI CSI feedback report may be limited (i.e. restricted) such as limiting a number of spatial domains across the total number of TRPs for which the UE reports the amplitude coefficients of the PMI. [0077] discloses that the coefficient matrix (i.e. including amplitude coefficients of the PMI) in the multi-TRP CSI feedback report may consist of the non-zero coefficients. [0074] discloses that the limit of the number of spatial domains reported may be per TRP.).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses a method performed by a base station in a communication system ([0008] discloses a method of wireless communication for a BS. [0001] discloses that the BS may be part of a wireless communication systems), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with a multiple transmit-receive points (TRPs) ([0007]-[0008] disclose a BS transmitting, to a UE, a configuration indicating a precoder size parameter (i.e. configuration information) for a plurality of transmission-reception points (TRPs).); and
receiving, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report including indicators indicating amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information ([0006] disclose the UE, based on the configuration information, identifying precoding matrix indications (PMIs) for the multiple TRPs based on transmit reference signals transmitted by the base station associated with each TRP. Figs 3 & 4 and [0065]-[0067] disclose that the PMI may be a precoding matrix that may include coefficients including amplitude weights. [0008] disclose the BS may receive, from the UE, a channel state information (CSI) report including feedback of the PMI, including amplitude coefficients, for each TRP.), and
wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, ([0062]-[0063] discloses that the UE may transmit a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that may be based on codebook-based transmissions forming beams, wherein the codebook may be matrices including selection of weights for scaling amplitudes at antenna elements of the TRPs (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficients per each TRP).).
Wu fails to disclose wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs.
However, Park further teaches wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses one amplitude value ai for the ith TRP of multiple TRPs (equation [00009] shows a1 and a2 for two TRPs).), and
wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have a method for a base station comprising transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with multiple TRPs, and receiving, from the UE, a CSI report including indicators indicating amplitude coefficients associated with the multiple TRPs based on the configuration information, wherein a CSI report includes an indicator indicating a co-scaling amplitude coefficient per TRP, as disclosed by Wu, wherein one co-scaling amplitude coefficient corresponds to a respective TRP of the multiple TRPs, and wherein a precoder W for a coherent joint transmission (CJT) from the multiple TRPs is based on co-scaling amplitude coefficients corresponding to the multiple TRPs, as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station, as part of a communication system, comprising transmitting, to a UE, configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, and receiving, from the UE, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes one amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform precoding across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Regarding claims 16-19, Wu in view of Park discloses the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, the method of claim 11 and the method of claim 15.
Wu discloses wherein a precoder W for N TRPs is
W
=
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
W1r is a spatial domain (SD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP,
WHFR is a frequency domain (FD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP, and
W2r is a linear combining amplitude and phase matrix for the r-th TRP (Fig 4 & [0075]-[0077] disclose precoding matrices W(1) and W(2) for two TRPs (for simplicity the two TRPs will be identified as the ith TRP where i = 1 or 2) where W(i) is equal to the product of W1 (i) precoding matrices 312 (for i=1) or 322 (for i=2), C(i) matrices 416 or 426 and WF(i) matrices 418 or 428. [0058] discloses that 2 TRPs are shown for simplicity, although the embodiments of the disclosed inventions may scale to many mor TRPs (i.e. the matrices may scale to W(N), W1 (N), C(N) and WF(N). [0067]-[0068] discloses that wideband precoding matrices W1 (i) include spatial domain components for a spatial domain basis for the ith TRP (i.e. spatial domain matrices for the rth TRP). [0076]-[0077] disclose that matrices WF(i) include frequency domain components for a frequency domain basis for the ith TRP (i.e. frequency domain matrices for the rth TRP). [0077] discloses that matrices C(i) include amplitude coefficients and phase coefficients for weighting the linear combination of the 2L(i) spatial domain basis for the ith TRP (i.e. linear combining amplitude and phase matrices for the r-th TRP). Taken together, the W(N) matrices represent a precoder (i.e. precoder W) for transmission across N TRPs.).
Wu fails to disclose but Park teaches wherein a precoder W for the coherent joint transmission (CJT) from N TRPs is
W
=
a
1
p
1
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
a
N
p
N
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
ar is a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for an r-th TRP,
pr is a co-scaling phase coefficient for the r-th TRP ([0078] discloses a coherent joint transmission in equation [00009] from 2 TRPs based on scaling amplitude coefficients a1 corresponding to the first TRP and a2 corresponding to the second TRP. yRX,NCJT in equation [00009] represents a pre-coded signal transmitted by the two TRPs (i.e. a precoder W) for CJT and received by a UE. Although only two TRPs are shown in equation [00009], paragraph [0078] discloses that ai in signal y represents the ith TRP, and thus a broadest reasonable interpretation is that there can be any number of TRPs (e.g. up to N TRPs). [0078] discloses that ejq represents the co-phasing coefficient identifying the phase different between the transmission of the first TRP and the second TRP. A broadest reasonable assumption is that there would be co-phasing coefficients for additional TRPs (e.g. ejqi representing the co-phase coefficient for the ith TRP).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed inventions to have the UE of claim 1, the base station of claim 6, the method of claim 11 and the method of claim 15, wherein a precoder W for N TRPs is
W
=
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
W1r is a spatial domain (SD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP,
WHFR is a frequency domain (FD) basis matrix for the r-th TRP, and
W2r is a linear combining amplitude and phase matrix for the r-th TRP, as disclosed by Wu in view of Park, wherein a precoder W for the coherent joint transmission (CJT) from N TRPs is
W
=
a
1
p
1
W
11
W
22
W
f
1
H
⋮
a
N
p
N
W
1
N
W
2
N
W
f
N
H
where, for r=1,2...,N,
ar is a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for an r-th TRP,
pr is a co-scaling phase coefficient for the r-th TRP, as taught by Park. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, and a method for a UE to, receive configuration information for a plurality of TRPs, transmitted from a base station, as part of a method for a base station, and transmit, to the base station that receives, a CSI report associated with the plurality of TRPs that includes one amplitude coefficient per TRP, in order to enable the base station to perform a precoding based on the equation yRX,NCJT = a1W1 + a2ejq2 + … + aNejqN where ai represents amplitude scaling coefficients for the ith TRP, ejqi represents co-phasing coefficients for the ith TRP, and W(i) represents precoding for the ith TRP where Wi = W1(i)C(i)WF(i) where W1 (i) is a spatial domain basis matrix for the ith TRP, WF(i) is a frequency domain basis matrix for the ith TRP, and C(i) is a linear combining matric for the spatial domain basis for the ith TRP, for transmission across the multiple TRPs for techniques like Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP), CJT or beam switching.
Claims 3, 8 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20230062132)(herein after “Wu”) in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0368477)(herein after “Park”), as applied to clams 1, 6 & 11, and further in view of Hindy et al. (US 20240048195)(herein after “Hindy”).
Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Park disclose the UE of claim 1.
Wu discloses wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). A strongest TRP among multiple TRPs would be indicated by the strongest amplitude coefficient among the multiple TRPs. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient (i.e. a strongest TRP) among the multiple TRPs.).
Wu fails to disclose wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report.
However, Hindy teaches wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report ([0040]-[0041] discloses normalizing the magnitude (i.e. amplitude) coefficients of a CSI report with respect to the coefficient with the largest magnitude (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP) and not reporting the magnitude information for the strongest amplitude coefficient but only reporting an indication of the index of the strongest amplitude coefficient.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of claim 1 wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs, as disclosed by Wu in view of Park, and wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report, as taught by Hindy. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce CSI reporting overhead by having a UE not report absolute amplitude coefficients for each TRP (including not report the absolute amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP), but instead report amplitude coefficients normalized by a strongest TRP amplitude coefficient and only indicate an index for which normalized amplitude coefficient is the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient.
Regarding claim 8, Wu in view of Park disclose the base station of claim 6.
Wu discloses wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). A strongest TRP among multiple TRPs would be indicated by the strongest amplitude coefficient among the multiple TRPs. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient (i.e. a strongest TRP) among the multiple TRPs.).
Wu fails to disclose wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report.
However, Hindy teaches wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report ([0040]-[0041] discloses normalizing the magnitude (i.e. amplitude) coefficients of a CSI report with respect to the coefficient with the largest magnitude (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP) and not reporting the magnitude information for the strongest amplitude coefficient but only reporting an indication of the index of the strongest amplitude coefficient.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the BS of claim 6 wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs, as disclosed by Wu in view of Park, and wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report, as taught by Hindy. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce CSI reporting overhead by having a BS receive CSI reports from a UE that does not report absolute amplitude coefficients for each TRP (including not report the absolute amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP), but instead reports amplitude coefficients normalized by the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient and only indicates an index for which normalized amplitude coefficient is the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient.
Regarding claim 12, Wu in view of Park disclose the method of claim 11.
Wu discloses wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating a strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs (Fig 2 and [0059]-[0060] & [0063] disclose the UE transmitting a multi-TRP CSI report including a PMI that indicates a best beam per TRP, wherein a best beam may be a beam with the highest received signal power among the set of beams measured at the UE (i.e. a beam with a strongest amplitude coefficient). A strongest TRP among multiple TRPs would be indicated by the strongest amplitude coefficient among the multiple TRPs. Thus, a multi-TRP CSI report that includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient per TRP inherently includes an indication of a strongest amplitude coefficient (i.e. a strongest TRP) among the multiple TRPs.).
Wu fails to disclose wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report.
However, Hindy teaches wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report ([0040]-[0041] discloses normalizing the magnitude (i.e. amplitude) coefficients of a CSI report with respect to the coefficient with the largest magnitude (i.e. co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP) and not reporting the magnitude information for the strongest amplitude coefficient but only reporting an indication of the index of the strongest amplitude coefficient.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 11 wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating co-scaling amplitude coefficients per each TRP, wherein the CSI report includes an indicator indicating the strongest TRP among the multiple TRPs, as disclosed by Wu in view of Park, and wherein a co-scaling amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP being not reported by the CSI report, as taught by Hindy. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce CSI reporting overhead by having method for a UE to not report absolute amplitude coefficients for each TRP (including not report the absolute amplitude coefficient for the strongest TRP), but instead report amplitude coefficients normalized by the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient and only indicate an index for which normalized amplitude coefficient is the strongest TRP amplitude coefficient.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lunttila et al. (US 9660784) discloses a Method and Apparatus Providing Inter-transmission Point Phase Relationship Feedback for Joint Transmission CoMP.
Park et al. (US 2021/0367728) discloses Techniques for Coherent Joint Transmission for a Multi-transmit and receive point (TRP) with a Different Physical Cell Identifier (PCID) by Using a Type-II Port Selection Codebook.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419 /PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409