DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 1 April 2026. Claims 1-30 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the present rejection is based on a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 that relies on a different combination of teachings than the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10, 12-18, 21, 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurumoorthy et al. (US 20230239795 A1) (hereinafter Gur) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20200145921 A1) (hereinafter Ang).
Regarding claim 1 and 15, Gur-Ang teaches a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7),comprising:
One or more memories (Gur, fig. 5, [0058]-[0067]: [0059] the communication device 106 may include various types of memory (e.g., including NAND flash 310), an input/output interface such as connector I/F 320 (e.g., for connecting to a computer system); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (Gur, fig. 5, [0058]-[0067]: [0064] The processor(s) 302 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 340):
receiving, from a network node, configuration information indicating a wake-up signal (WUS) configuration associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, wherein the WUS configuration indicates one or more WUS occasions (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0101], [0102]-[0111]: [0092] A wireless device may receive, for example from a wireless node, a configuration message which configures connected mode DRX. In some cases, a configuration message may be received by a wireless device from a wireless network via a radio resource control (RRC) message. The configuration message may define the DRX cycles 704, for example, by providing DRX cycles 704 timing information. In some cases, the configuration message may also include information about a WUS 716. For example, the configuration message may indicate a time offset 718 from the start of a DRX on-duration 712. The time offset 718 may define a WUS monitoring occasion time period prior to the DRX on-duration 712 in which the wireless device may monitor for the WUS 716 signal. In some cases, the time offset 720 may have a predefined duration. In other cases, the time offset 720 may have a configurable duration, for example, as indicated in the configuration message.);
identifying one or more conditions (Gur, [0051]-[0057]: [0057] The PDCCH may use control channel elements (CCEs) to convey the control information. Before being mapped to resource elements,0 the PDCCH complex-valued symbols may first be organized into quadruplets, which may then be permuted using a sub-block interleaver for rate matching. Each PDCCH may be transmitted using one or more of these CCEs, where each CCE may correspond to nine sets of four physical resource elements known as resource element groups (REGs). Four Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK) symbols may be mapped to each REG. The PDCCH can be transmitted using one or more CCEs, depending on the size of the downlink control information (DCI) and the channel condition. There can be four or more different PDCCH formats defined in LTE with different numbers of CCEs (e.g., aggregation level, L=1, 2, 4, or 8).);
refraining from monitoring at least one WUS occasion, from the one or more WUS occasions, based at least in part on the identification of the one or more conditions (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: [0097] In some cases, a WUS skip value may be encoded into the WUS 816 indicating whether or how many WUS monitoring occasions may be skipped. For example, the WUS skip value may be a bit added to the WUS 816 indicating whether the wireless device may skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 0 may indicate that the wireless device may not skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In such cases the wireless device may then monitor for a PDCCH during the next on-duration and monitor for another WUS during the next WUS monitoring occasion, as discussed above with respect to FIG. 7. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 1 may indicate that the wireless device may skip a next WUS monitoring occasion. For example, a wireless node may determine that it needs to transmit multiple PDCCH messages to the to the wireless device over multiple DRX cycles, such as if the wireless device is sending or receiving data over a period of time. The wireless node may then transmit a first WUS 816A during a WUS monitoring occasion to the wireless device with an encoded skip value of 1. The wireless device may receive the first WUS 816A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the WUS. Where the WUS skip value is one, the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip one WUS monitoring occasion and monitor for one additional PDCCH occasion in addition to the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. For example, the UE may monitor for a first PDCCH 818A during the next on-duration in a second DRX cycle 804B as well as a second PDCCH 818B during the on-duration in a third DRX cycle 804C (e.g., the on-duration right after the next on-duration), without monitoring for skipped WUS 824B. After skipping WUS 824B, the wireless device may resume monitoring for a WUS during the next WUS interval and receive a second WUS 816B. This second WUS 816B may also include a WUS skip value of 1 the wireless device may skip monitoring for skipped WUS 824C while monitoring for PDCCH 8180 and 818D. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 824A in a fifth DRX cycle 804E, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIG. 7 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 822 in a sixth DRX cycle 804F.).
Thus, Gur does not explicitly teach monitoring one or more resources during an on duration associated with the DRX cycle, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions comprises: identifying that a time offset satisfies a threshold, wherein the time offset is indicated by the configuration information, and wherein the time offset indicates a start of a WUS occasion search-time relative to a start of the on duration associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to the system of Gur, Ang teaches performing NR-PDCCH detection during a DRX on-duration when determining that a received WUS indicates a wake-up condition, which can be seen as, monitoring one or more resources during an on duration associated with the DRX cycle, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions comprises (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0072] If WUS indicates a “non wake-up”, then the counter of non-wake-up WUS may be incremented by 1 (step 604). The WUS time window parameters may be adjusted as: W.sub.adj(i−1)=W.sub.ext(i−1), and T.sub.adj(i−1)=T.sub.eff(i−1). The parameters of the next WUS window may be set as W.sub.ext(i)=W.sub.adj(i−1)+2*ΔT*D.sub.i−1, T.sub.eff(i)=T.sub.adj(i−1)−ΔT*D.sub.i−1+D.sub.i−1. The UE's main receiver does not wake up to detect NR-PDCCH during the DRX cycle (step 605), and the next extended WUS window increases accordingly (step 606). [0073] If, instead, the WUS indicates a “wake-up”, the UE may wake up, turn on its main receiver, synchronize its main receiver with gNB, synchronize its low-power WUS receiver with the gNb (step 607), and perform NR-PDCCH detection during the DRX on duration (step 608), and follow the rest of DRX procedures. The WTRU may be configured with an allowed maximum time drift ΔTmax value, which the WTRU may use to decide whether or not to synchronize its timing upon turning on its main receiver. The UE may estimate its time drift and if the estimated time drift is higher than ΔTmax, the UE may synchronize its timing upon turning on its main receiver (step 609). Otherwise, the WTRU may not re-synchronize its timing. [0145] A group of UEs may be configured by higher layer signaling (such as via RRC), each group has its own group ID or group RNTI. The UEs in the group may be arranged in a predetermined order. Each UE's index within the group may also be included in the WUS group configuration signaling. A UE may be configured for multiple WUS groups. Upon receiving a WUS addressed to its group ID, the UE may wake up its main receiver to detect NR-PDCCH in the DRX on duration.):
Similar to the system of Gur, Ang teaches configuring WUS timing offset parameters as part of a DRX configuration and comparing an estimated time drift to an allowed maximum time drift threshold to determine whether timing synchronization should be performed, which can be seen as, identifying that a time offset satisfies a threshold, wherein the time offset is indicated by the configuration information, and wherein the time offset indicates a start of a WUS occasion search-time relative to a start of the on duration associated with the DRX cycle (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0063]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0064] Furthermore, in order to enable wake-up signal and associated wake-up procedures, the following design aspects are described herein: WUS transmission channels (including cases in which the data channel is above or below 6 GHz); preventing inter-cell wake-up signals from waking up UEs accidently; communicating a UE's WUS capability to the network; and configuring/setting up WUS parameters (including but not limited to periodicity, timing offset, etc.) between UE(s) and the gNB. In order to address these issues, a design to enable a WUS and associated wake-up procedures, which includes but is not limited to the following features, is described herein: defining a WUS transmission channel; defining WUS capability and signaling; WUS configuration (periodicity, timing offset and etc.), which may be part of a DRX configuration/negotiation with the network or configured separately; and a WUS procedure activation using RRC or other signaling. [0093] Yet another embodiment relates to WUS configuration signaling. The procedures and parameters of WUS for a UE may be related to a DRX procedure of the UE. Therefore, WUS parameters (periodicity, timing offset and etc.) may be included as a part of DRX configuration. [0119] A UE may also autonomously start operating in a WUS reachability mode upon event R1 and may report such an event to the network. The network may configure the UE to start operating in WUS reachability mode upon event R1. [0122] When the UE is configured by the network to operate in paging reachability mode and the UE cannot be reached by paging or subsequently becomes non-reachable by paging, the UE may take one or more of the following actions: check WUS reachability event R1 and if reachable via the WUS, inform the network of WUS reachability event R1 either immediately or at the next possible occasion, such as for example, upon connection to the network initiated by UE upper layer. This may be a result of a tracking area update, RAN area notification update, or UL data transmission. For example, the case where the UL and the WUS are both deployed in a low frequency range (e.g. below 6 GHz), while the DL is deployed in higher frequency range (e.g. above 6 GHz).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Ang to improve efficiency and power savings during WUS operation (Ang, [0067]).
Regarding claim 2, Gur teaches the method of claim 1:
wherein the on duration is a next on duration in a time domain after the at least one WUS occasion (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: [0091] Turning now to FIG. 7, a timing diagram 700 illustrating receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on a WUS, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Timing diagram 700 illustrates relationships between WUS 716 transmissions and PDCCH 718 transmissions over multiple DRX cycles 704 on a time axis 702. As shown, the DRX cycles 704 includes a partial first DRX cycle which ends at time 706, a second DRX cycle starts at time 706 and ends at time 708, and a third DRX cycle starts at time 708 and ends at time 710. The second DRX cycle and third DRX cycles include an on-duration 712 and an off-duration 714, while the first DRX cycle includes an off-duration 714. It may be understood that the first DRX cycle may include an on-duration 712, but the on-duration 712 may have occurred prior to the time period illustrated in FIG. 7. In some cases, a wireless device may be configured to monitor for a WUS 716 transmitted by a wireless node prior to an on-duration 712 in which a PDCCH 718 may be transmitted. In this example, WUS 716A may be associated with and transmitted prior to PDCCH 718A during a time offset 720 prior to an on-duration 712A associated with the PDCCH 718A. If the wireless device receives the WUS 716A, the wireless device may monitor for the PDCCH 718A during the on-duration 712A. This process may be repeated for each DRX cycle. For example, the wireless device may monitor during a time offset 720 prior to on duration 712B for a WUS. If the wireless device does not receive the WUS (e.g., a skipped WUS 724A), the wireless device may not monitor for the PDCCH (e.g., a skipped PDCCH 722A) in the next on-duration 712B. For example, the wireless device may not start an on-duration timer during the next on-duration 712B (e.g., monitoring occasion for the PDCCH). The wireless device may enter or remain in a sleep or lower power state for all or a portion of the next on-duration 712B. The wireless device then repeats this process, monitoring for another WUS during a time offset 720 prior to another on-duration, and so forth.) .
Regarding claim 3 and 16, Gur teaches a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7),comprising:
wherein the one or more conditions are based at least in part on at least one of (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]):
the WUS configuration (Gur, fig. 9, [0099]-[0101]: [0099] FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating a first WUS skip mode of operation, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In FIG. 9, a wireless device may receive a first WUS 916A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the first WUS 916A. In this example, the WUS skip value is two, and the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip monitoring for two skipped WUS 924A, 924B in DRX cycles 904B and 904C, respectively, and monitor for two additional PDCCH 918B, 918C in DRX cycles 904C and 904D, respectively, in addition to monitoring for the next PDCCH 918A in DRX cycle 904B. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 924C in a fourth DRX cycle 804D, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIGS. 7 and 8 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 922 in a fifth DRX cycle 904E. Similarly, if the WUS skip value is three, the wireless device may skip monitoring for three skipped WUS monitoring occasions and monitor for three additional PDCCH monitoring occasions in addition to monitoring in the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. In some cases, a number of skipped WUS monitoring occasions may be limited as it may be difficult for a wireless node to accurately schedule that far in advance. For example, the number of skipped WUS monitoring occasions may be limited to 3.);
a search space set configuration;
a minimum time gap, indicated by capability information associated with the UE, between on durations associated with the DRX cycle and WUS occasions (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0998]: [0100] In some cases, in a second WUS skip mode of operation, the wireless device may determine that the wireless device can skip one or more future WUS monitoring occasions along with the PDCCH monitoring occasions associated with the one or more skipped WUS monitoring occasions. This mode of operation may be useful if a wireless node determines that the wireless device does not need to send or receive data for a period of time. For example, a wireless node may determine that a wireless device is sending or receiving data periodically with relatively large gaps between transmissions, or the wireless node may have multiple, relatively small sets of non-time critical data for a wireless device, the wireless node may batch up the data and send the data to the wireless device all together. By reducing a number of transmissions, the wireless device may be able to reduce an amount of power consumption and stay in a lower power state longer.);
the time offset (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0998]: [0091] Turning now to FIG. 7, a timing diagram 700 illustrating receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) based on a WUS, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. Timing diagram 700 illustrates relationships between WUS 716 transmissions and PDCCH 718 transmissions over multiple DRX cycles 704 on a time axis 702. As shown, the DRX cycles 704 includes a partial first DRX cycle which ends at time 706, a second DRX cycle starts at time 706 and ends at time 708, and a third DRX cycle starts at time 708 and ends at time 710. The second DRX cycle and third DRX cycles include an on-duration 712 and an off-duration 714, while the first DRX cycle includes an off-duration 714. It may be understood that the first DRX cycle may include an on-duration 712, but the on-duration 712 may have occurred prior to the time period illustrated in FIG. 7. In some cases, a wireless device may be configured to monitor for a WUS 716 transmitted by a wireless node prior to an on-duration 712 in which a PDCCH 718 may be transmitted. In this example, WUS 716A may be associated with and transmitted prior to PDCCH 718A during a time offset 720 prior to an on-duration 712A associated with the PDCCH 718A. If the wireless device receives the WUS 716A, the wireless device may monitor for the PDCCH 718A during the on-duration 712A. This process may be repeated for each DRX cycle. For example, the wireless device may monitor during a time offset 720 prior to on duration 712B for a WUS. If the wireless device does not receive the WUS (e.g., a skipped WUS 724A), the wireless device may not monitor for the PDCCH (e.g., a skipped PDCCH 722A) in the next on-duration 712B. For example, the wireless device may not start an on-duration timer during the next on-duration 712B (e.g., monitoring occasion for the PDCCH). The wireless device may enter or remain in a sleep or lower power state for all or a portion of the next on-duration 712B. The wireless device then repeats this process, monitoring for another WUS during a time offset 720 prior to another on-duration, and so forth.);
a duration of the one or more WUS occasions (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0998]: [0092] A wireless device may receive, for example from a wireless node, a configuration message which configures connected mode DRX. In some cases, a configuration message may be received by a wireless device from a wireless network via a radio resource control (RRC) message. The configuration message may define the DRX cycles 704, for example, by providing DRX cycles 704 timing information. In some cases, the configuration message may also include information about a WUS 716. For example, the configuration message may indicate a time offset 718 from the start of a DRX on-duration 712. The time offset 718 may define a WUS monitoring occasion time period prior to the DRX on-duration 712 in which the wireless device may monitor for the WUS 716 signal. In some cases, the time offset 720 may have a predefined duration. In other cases, the time offset 720 may have a configurable duration, for example, as indicated in the configuration message.) ; or
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring configuration (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0998]: [0096] FIG. 8 is a timing diagram 800 illustrating a first WUS skip mode of operation, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure, Timing diagram 800 also illustrates relationships between WUS 816 transmissions and PDCCH 818 transmissions over multiple DRX cycles 804A-804F on a time axis 802. In timing diagram 800, DRX on and off durations as well as monitoring intervals, as compared to FIG. 7, have been omitted for clarity.).
Regarding claim 4 and 17, Gur teaches a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7),wherein:
the threshold comprises a threshold time value that is based at least in part on a DRX configuration (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0022]-[0084], [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0112]: [0099] FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating a first WUS skip mode of operation, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In FIG. 9, a wireless device may receive a first WUS 916A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the first WUS 916A. In this example, the WUS skip value is two, and the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip monitoring for two skipped WUS 924A, 924B in DRX cycles 904B and 904C, respectively, and monitor for two additional PDCCH 918B, 918C in DRX cycles 904C and 904D, respectively, in addition to monitoring for the next PDCCH 918A in DRX cycle 904B. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 924C in a fourth DRX cycle 804D, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIGS. 7 and 8 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 922 in a fifth DRX cycle 904E. Similarly, if the WUS skip value is three, the wireless device may skip monitoring for three skipped WUS monitoring occasions and monitor for three additional PDCCH monitoring occasions in addition to monitoring in the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. In some cases, a number of skipped WUS monitoring occasions may be limited as it may be difficult for a wireless node to accurately schedule that far in advance. For example, the number of skipped WUS monitoring occasions may be limited to 3.).
Regarding claim 5, Gur teaches a method of claim 1:
wherein the identification of the one or more conditions comprises (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: See above for paragraph[0097]):
identifying that a number of slots associated with the one or more WUS occasions satisfies a slot number threshold (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0112]: [0055] In some embodiments, a downlink resource grid can be used for downlink transmissions from any of the base stations 102 to the UEs 106, while uplink transmissions can utilize similar techniques. The grid can be a time-frequency grid, called a resource grid or time-frequency resource grid, which is the physical resource in the downlink in each slot. Such a time-frequency plane representation is a common practice for OFDM systems, which makes it intuitive for radio resource allocation. Each column and each row of the resource grid corresponds to one OFDM symbol and one OFDM subcarrier, respectively. The duration of the resource grid in the time domain corresponds to one slot in a radio frame. The smallest time-frequency unit in a resource grid is denoted as a resource element. Each resource grid may comprise a number of resource blocks, which describe the mapping of certain physical channels to resource elements. Each resource block comprises a collection of resource elements. There are several different physical downlink channels that are conveyed using such resource blocks. [0105] In some cases, specific behaviors may be mapped to values of the WUS skip value. For example, WUS skip values may be mapped to one or more patterns for skipping WUS monitoring occasions, such as skipping every other monitoring occasion until changed. As another example, a default WUS skip value may be predefined, such as in a specification, and the default WUS skip value may be applied when no skip value is provided, or the default WUS skip value may always applied.).
Regarding claim 6 and 18, Gur a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7) comprising:
wherein the one or more conditions are based at least in part on one or more thresholds, and wherein the one or more thresholds are based at least in part on a scheduling rate of traffic activity associated with the UE (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0022]-[0084], [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0112]: [0057] The PDCCH may use control channel elements (CCEs) to convey the control information. Before being mapped to resource elements, the PDCCH complex-valued symbols may first be organized into quadruplets, which may then be permuted using a sub-block interleaver for rate matching. Each PDCCH may be transmitted using one or more of these CCEs, where each CCE may correspond to nine sets of four physical resource elements known as resource element groups (REGs). Four Quadrature Phase Shift Keying (QPSK) symbols may be mapped to each REG. The PDCCH can be transmitted using one or more CCEs, depending on the size of the downlink control information (DCI) and the channel condition. There can be four or more different PDCCH formats defined in LTE with different numbers of CCEs (e.g., aggregation level, L=1, 2, 4, or 8). [0099] FIG. 9 is a timing diagram 900 illustrating a first WUS skip mode of operation, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In FIG. 9, a wireless device may receive a first WUS 916A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the first WUS 916A. In this example, the WUS skip value is two, and the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip monitoring for two skipped WUS 924A, 924B in DRX cycles 904B and 904C, respectively, and monitor for two additional PDCCH 918B, 918C in DRX cycles 904C and 904D, respectively, in addition to monitoring for the next PDCCH 918A in DRX cycle 904B. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 924C in a fourth DRX cycle 804D, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIGS. 7 and 8 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 922 in a fifth DRX cycle 904E. Similarly, if the WUS skip value is three, the wireless device may skip monitoring for three skipped WUS monitoring occasions and monitor for three additional PDCCH monitoring occasions in addition to monitoring in the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. In some cases, a number of skipped WUS monitoring occasions may be limited as it may be difficult for a wireless node to accurately schedule that far in advance. For example, the number of skipped WUS monitoring occasions may be limited to 3.).
Regarding claim 10 and 21, Gur teaches a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7) comprising:
wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on a number of on durations, associated with the DRX cycle, that are associated with receiving or transmitting traffic (Gur, fig. 7-10, [0022]-[0084], [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0112]: [0097] In some cases, a WUS skip value may be encoded into the WUS 816 indicating whether or how many WUS monitoring occasions may be skipped. For example, the WUS skip value may be a bit added to the WUS 816 indicating whether the wireless device may skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 0 may indicate that the wireless device may not skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In such cases the wireless device may then monitor for a PDCCH during the next on-duration and monitor for another WUS during the next WUS monitoring occasion, as discussed above with respect to FIG. 7. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 1 may indicate that the wireless device may skip a next WUS monitoring occasion. For example, a wireless node may determine that it needs to transmit multiple PDCCH messages to the to the wireless device over multiple DRX cycles, such as if the wireless device is sending or receiving data over a period of time. The wireless node may then transmit a first WUS 816A during a WUS monitoring occasion to the wireless device with an encoded skip value of 1. The wireless device may receive the first WUS 816A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the WUS. Where the WUS skip value is one, the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip one WUS monitoring occasion and monitor for one additional PDCCH occasion in addition to the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. For example, the UE may monitor for a first PDCCH 818A during the next on-duration in a second DRX cycle 804B as well as a second PDCCH 818B during the on-duration in a third DRX cycle 804C (e.g., the on-duration right after the next on-duration), without monitoring for skipped WUS 824B. After skipping WUS 824B, the wireless device may resume monitoring for a WUS during the next WUS interval and receive a second WUS 816B. This second WUS 816B may also include a WUS skip value of 1 the wireless device may skip monitoring for skipped WUS 824C while monitoring for PDCCH 8180 and 818D. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 824A in a fifth DRX cycle 804E, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIG. 7 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 822 in a sixth DRX cycle 804F.).
Regarding claim 12, Gur teaches a method of claim 1:
wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on identifying that the UE is associated with voice over New Radio (VoNR) traffic (Gur, fig. 1, [0042]-[0050], [0051]-[0057], [0058]-[0067]: [0046] As shown, the base station 102A may also be equipped to communicate with a network 100 (e.g., a core network of a cellular service provider, a telecommunication network such as a public switched telephone network (PSTN), and/or the Internet, among various possibilities). Thus, the base station 102A may facilitate communication between the user devices and/or between the user devices and the network 100. In particular, the cellular base station 102A may provide UEs 106 with various telecommunication capabilities, such as voice, SMS and/or data services.).
Regarding claim 13 and 25, Ang teaches a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7) comprising:
Thus, Gur does not teach wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on a number of occurrences of false wake-ups associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to Gur, Ang teaches monitoring false wake-up and/or false-alarm events related to wake-up signaling across DRX cycles and statistics of those events to trigger reconfiguration or deactivation of wake-up signaling, which can be seen as, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on a number of occurrences of false wake-ups associated with the DRX cycle (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]:: [0143] Either the UE or gNB may initiate a process to re-configure WUS parameters (window length, WUS channel resources locations, channel coding, and channel resources) and de-activate the WUS with the network based on WUS false-alarm detection statistics. For example, if the gNB determines that the false alarm is caused by interference, it may configure a different frequency domain resource(s) used for the wake-up signals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Ang to in order to improve efficiency and reduce power consumption in wake-up signaling during DRX operation, as Ang explains that wake-up signaling designs balance efficiency and power savings that excessive or false wake-ups increase overhead and efficiency (Ang, [0067]).
Regarding claim 14 and 26, Ang teaches a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7) comprising:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Gur, fig. 3, [0058]-[0067]):
Thus, Gur does not teach identifying the number of occurrences of false wake-ups associated with the DRX cycle over a sliding time window, wherein a false wake-up is associated with monitoring an on duration based at least in part on: receiving a WUS or failing to decode the WUS, and failing to receive any traffic during the on duration, and wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the number of occurrences of false wake-ups satisfying another threshold.
Similar to Gur, Ang teaches tracking false wake-up (false alarm) events occurring during DRX cycles and maintain statistics of the events over multiple DRX cycles, including evaluating wake-up behavior based on statistics collected over last N DRX cycles (Ang, [0066], [0134], [0141]), which can be seen as, identifying the number of occurrences of false wake-ups associated with the DRX cycle over a sliding time window, wherein a false wake-up is associated with monitoring an on duration based at least in part on (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0134] In accordance with a third method, after miss-detection of WUS, a UE may wake up or not according to predetermined or configured criteria or parameters. For example, a criterion for the UE behavior of waking up or not may be determined by the WUS statistics in the last N DRX cycles. If the UE has received a WUS indicating “wake-up” in K out of N DRX cycles, it may wake up. Otherwise, the UE may not wake up. The parameters K and N may depend on the UE's traffic model of current applications. UE wake up criteria and parameters (such as K and N) may be configured in its WUS and/or DRX configuration. Alternatively, the decision of the UE to wake up or not may be based on the device/service type. For example, if a best effort service is being used, the UE may not wake up; but if an application with requirement of high reliability is being supported, the UE may choose to wake up.):
Similar to Gur, Ang teaches detection of a WUS false-alarm event, in which UE detects a WUS indicating wake-up, wakes up to monitor a DRX on duration, and does not receive any valid PDCCH or PDSCH during the DRX cycle, which can be seen as, receiving a WUS or failing to decode the WUS, and failing to receive any traffic during the on duration, and wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the number of occurrences of false wake-ups satisfying another threshold (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0097] In some cases, a WUS skip value may be encoded into the WUS 816 indicating whether or how many WUS monitoring occasions may be skipped. For example, the WUS skip value may be a bit added to the WUS 816 indicating whether the wireless device may skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 0 may indicate that the wireless device may not skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In such cases the wireless device may then monitor for a PDCCH during the next on-duration and monitor for another WUS during the next WUS monitoring occasion, as discussed above with respect to FIG. 7. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 1 may indicate that the wireless device may skip a next WUS monitoring occasion. For example, a wireless node may determine that it needs to transmit multiple PDCCH messages to the to the wireless device over multiple DRX cycles, such as if the wireless device is sending or receiving data over a period of time. The wireless node may then transmit a first WUS 816A during a WUS monitoring occasion to the wireless device with an encoded skip value of 1. The wireless device may receive the first WUS 816A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the WUS. Where the WUS skip value is one, the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip one WUS monitoring occasion and monitor for one additional PDCCH occasion in addition to the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. For example, the UE may monitor for a first PDCCH 818A during the next on-duration in a second DRX cycle 804B as well as a second PDCCH 818B during the on-duration in a third DRX cycle 804C (e.g., the on-duration right after the next on-duration), without monitoring for skipped WUS 824B. After skipping WUS 824B, the wireless device may resume monitoring for a WUS during the next WUS interval and receive a second WUS 816B. This second WUS 816B may also include a WUS skip value of 1 the wireless device may skip monitoring for skipped WUS 824C while monitoring for PDCCH 8180 and 818D. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 824A in a fifth DRX cycle 804E, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIG. 7 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 822 in a sixth DRX cycle 804F. [0101] In some cases, in this second WUS skip mode of operation, a WUS skip value may also be encoded into the WUS. In a manner similar to that discussed in conjunction with FIGS. 7 and 8 and the first WUS skip mode of operation, the WUS skip value may be encoded as one or two bits in the WUS. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 0 may indicate that the wireless device may not skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In some cases, a WUS skip value of one may indicate that the wireless device may skip one WUS monitoring occasion along with an associated PDCCH monitoring occasion. Similarly, a WUS skip value of two or three may indicate that the wireless device may skip a corresponding number of WUS monitoring occasions along with the respective, associated, PDCCH monitoring occasions. [0105] In some cases, specific behaviors may be mapped to values of the WUS skip value. For example, WUS skip values may be mapped to one or more patterns for skipping WUS monitoring occasions, such as skipping every other monitoring occasion until changed. As another example, a default WUS skip value may be predefined, such as in a specification, and the default WUS skip value may be applied when no skip value is provided, or the default WUS skip value may always applied.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Ang in order to improve DRX efficiency and reduce unnecessary power consumption caused by false wake-ups, as Ang explains that false-alarm WUS detections negatively impact DRX procedures and UE performance, ad teaches adapting UE and network behavior based on WUS false-alarm detection statistics (Ang, [0066]-[0067], [0141]).
Regarding claim 23, Ang teaches the UE of claim 15:
Thus, Gur does not teach wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on uplink statistics associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to Gur, Ang teaches determining UE wake-up behavior based on WUS statistics collected over prior DRX cycles, where the UE identifies whether to wake up or remain asleep according to statistics from the last N DRX cycle, which can be seen as, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on uplink statistics associated with the DRX cycle (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0134] In accordance with a third method, after miss-detection of WUS, a UE may wake up or not according to predetermined or configured criteria or parameters. For example, a criterion for the UE behavior of waking up or not may be determined by the WUS statistics in the last N DRX cycles. If the UE has received a WUS indicating “wake-up” in K out of N DRX cycles, it may wake up. Otherwise, the UE may not wake up. The parameters K and N may depend on the UE's traffic model of current applications. UE wake up criteria and parameters (such as K and N) may be configured in its WUS and/or DRX configuration. Alternatively, the decision of the UE to wake up or not may be based on the device/service type. For example, if a best effort service is being used, the UE may not wake up; but if an application with requirement of high reliability is being supported, the UE may choose to wake up.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Ang in order to improve efficiency and power consumption in wake-up signaling and DRX operation, as Ang explains that WUS designs are motivated by efficiency and power-saving considerations (Ang, [0067]).
Regarding claim 24, Gur teaches the UE of claim 15:
wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on a number of activated component carriers (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0107]-[0110]: [0107] FIGS. 11A and 11B illustrate a technique for power saving for a wireless device, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In FIG. 11A, exemplary wireless device behaviors 1100 are described. At step 1102, a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a wireless system may be established. At step 1104, an RRC connected mode may be entered based on the established RRC connection. For example, a wireless device may establish an RRC connection with a wireless node and the wireless mode may enter an RRC connected mode. In some cases, step 1102 and step 1104 may be optional. For example, the wireless device may be in an RRC idle mode. As another example, the wireless device may have established an RRC connection with the wireless system, but is in an RRC inactive mode. At step 1106, configuration information may be received from the wireless node indicating a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle time, a DRX on time period, and an offset time. For example, the wireless device may receive a configuration message including information defining a DRX cycle and WUS timing information. At step 1108, a WUS monitoring occasion may be determined for a DRX cycle based on the offset time and the DRX on time period. For example, a WUS monitoring occasion may be determined based on the offset time from the DRX on-duration. At step 1110, the wireless device may monitor, during a first DRX cycle, for a WUS during the WUS monitoring occasion associated with the first DRX cycle. For example, the wireless device may monitor for a WUS during a first WUS monitoring occasion. At step 1112, the wireless device may receive, from the wireless system, the WUS during the WUS monitoring occasion. For example, the wireless device may receive a DCI message indicating that the wireless device should monitor the PDCCH during a next PDCCH monitoring occasion. At step 1114, the wireless device may determine that the WUS indicates that the wireless device skip one or more future WUS monitoring occasions. For example, the WUS may include an encoded WUS skip value indicating that the wireless device may skip one or more WUS monitoring occasions. At step 1116, the wireless device may skip monitoring for the WUS based on the indicated skipped one or more future WUS monitoring occasions.).
Regarding claim 27, Gur teaches the UE of claim 15:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Gur, fig. 3, [0058]-[0067]):
transmit, to the network node, an indication to disable or de-configure the at least one WUS occasion (Gur, fig. 8, [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0101]: [0097] In some cases, a WUS skip value may be encoded into the WUS 816 indicating whether or how many WUS monitoring occasions may be skipped. For example, the WUS skip value may be a bit added to the WUS 816 indicating whether the wireless device may skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 0 may indicate that the wireless device may not skip a WUS monitoring occasion. In such cases the wireless device may then monitor for a PDCCH during the next on-duration and monitor for another WUS during the next WUS monitoring occasion, as discussed above with respect to FIG. 7. In some cases, a WUS skip value of 1 may indicate that the wireless device may skip a next WUS monitoring occasion. For example, a wireless node may determine that it needs to transmit multiple PDCCH messages to the to the wireless device over multiple DRX cycles, such as if the wireless device is sending or receiving data over a period of time. The wireless node may then transmit a first WUS 816A during a WUS monitoring occasion to the wireless device with an encoded skip value of 1. The wireless device may receive the first WUS 816A during the WUS monitoring occasion and decode the WUS. Where the WUS skip value is one, the wireless device may determine that the wireless device may skip one WUS monitoring occasion and monitor for one additional PDCCH occasion in addition to the next PDCCH monitoring occasion. For example, the UE may monitor for a first PDCCH 818A during the next on-duration in a second DRX cycle 804B as well as a second PDCCH 818B during the on-duration in a third DRX cycle 804C (e.g., the on-duration right after the next on-duration), without monitoring for skipped WUS 824B. After skipping WUS 824B, the wireless device may resume monitoring for a WUS during the next WUS interval and receive a second WUS 816B. This second WUS 816B may also include a WUS skip value of 1 the wireless device may skip monitoring for skipped WUS 824C while monitoring for PDCCH 8180 and 818D. In some cases, if the wireless device does not receive the WUS, such as skipped WUS 824A in a fifth DRX cycle 804E, the wireless device may operate as described above with respect in FIG. 7 and not monitor for the PDCCH, such as skipped PDCCH 822 in a sixth DRX cycle 804F.).
Regarding claim 28, Gur teaches the UE of claim 15:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Gur, fig. 3, [0058]-[0067]):
receive, from the network node, an indication to refrain from monitoring the at least one WUS occasion, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the reception of the indication (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: [0090] In some cases, when the wireless device is in the RRC connected state, the wireless device may continually monitor for the PDCCH transmission to the wireless device. Continually monitoring a channel can consume a substantial amount of power. For example, the RF front end and corresponding modem may need to remain powered on and one or more processors may be used to attempt to decode transmissions when monitoring the channel. To help reduce an amount of power used by wireless device, discontinuous reception (DRX) may be implemented in the RRC connected state. Using DRX, a wireless device may receive, from the wireless network, a schedule for when the wireless device should monitor the PDCCH and when the wireless device does not need to monitor the PDCCH. Together, an instance of time the wireless device should monitor the PDCCH, referred to as an on-duration, and an instance of time the wireless devices does not need to monitor the PDCCH, referred to as an off-duration, may be together comprise a DRX cycle. As the wireless device does not need to monitor the PDCCH during the off-duration, the wireless device may enter a relatively low power state (e.g., sleep, or other lower power state) as compared to the on-duration. For example, the wireless device may partially or completely power down the RF front end, modem, one or more processers, and/or other component that may be used to receive uplink transmissions during the off-duration. While monitoring the PDCCH during DRX on-durations reduces power consumption as compared to constantly monitoring the PDCCH, additional power savings can be had by not monitoring, e.g., skipping, the PDCCH during certain DRX on-durations.).
Regarding claim 29, Gur-Ang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising (Gur, fig. 6, [0085]-[0090], [0164]):
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to (Gur, fig. 6, [0085]-[0090]: [0085] FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary block diagram of a network element 600, according to some aspects. According to some aspects, the network element 600 may implement one or more logical functions/entities of a cellular core network, such as a mobility management entity (MME), serving gateway (S-GW), access and management function (AMF), session management function (SMF), network slice quota management (NSQM) function, etc. It is noted that the network element 600 of FIG. 6 is merely one example of a possible network element 600. As shown, the core network element 600 may include processor(s) 604 which may execute program instructions for the core network element 600. The processor(s) 604 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 640, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 604 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 660 and read only memory (ROM) 650) or to other circuits or devices.):
receive, from a network node, configuration information indicating a wake-up signal (WUS) configuration associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, wherein the WUS configuration indicates one or more WUS occasions (Gur, fig. 7, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0101]: See above for paragraph [0092].);
identify one or more conditions (Gur, [0051]-[0057]: See above for paragraph [0057].);
refrain from monitoring at least one WUS occasion, from the one or more WUS occasions, based at least in part on the identification of the one or more conditions (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: See above for paragraph [0097].); and
Thus, Gur does not explicitly teach monitor one or more resources during an on duration associated with the DRX cycle, identify that a time offset satisfies a threshold, wherein the time offset is indicated by the configuration information, and wherein the time offset indicates a start of a WUS occasion search-time relative to a start of the on duration associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to the system of Gur, Ang teaches performing NR-PDCCH detection during a DRX on-duration when determining that a received WUS indicates a wake-up condition, which can be seen as, monitor one or more resources during an on duration associated with the DRX cycle, wherein, to identify the one or more conditions, the instructions cause the UE to (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0072] If WUS indicates a “non wake-up”, then the counter of non-wake-up WUS may be incremented by 1 (step 604). The WUS time window parameters may be adjusted as: W.sub.adj(i−1)=W.sub.ext(i−1), and T.sub.adj(i−1)=T.sub.eff(i−1). The parameters of the next WUS window may be set as W.sub.ext(i)=W.sub.adj(i−1)+2*ΔT*D.sub.i−1, T.sub.eff(i)=T.sub.adj(i−1)−ΔT*D.sub.i−1+D.sub.i−1. The UE's main receiver does not wake up to detect NR-PDCCH during the DRX cycle (step 605), and the next extended WUS window increases accordingly (step 606). [0073] If, instead, the WUS indicates a “wake-up”, the UE may wake up, turn on its main receiver, synchronize its main receiver with gNB, synchronize its low-power WUS receiver with the gNb (step 607), and perform NR-PDCCH detection during the DRX on duration (step 608), and follow the rest of DRX procedures. The WTRU may be configured with an allowed maximum time drift ΔTmax value, which the WTRU may use to decide whether or not to synchronize its timing upon turning on its main receiver. The UE may estimate its time drift and if the estimated time drift is higher than ΔTmax, the UE may synchronize its timing upon turning on its main receiver (step 609). Otherwise, the WTRU may not re-synchronize its timing. [0145] A group of UEs may be configured by higher layer signaling (such as via RRC), each group has its own group ID or group RNTI. The UEs in the group may be arranged in a predetermined order. Each UE's index within the group may also be included in the WUS group configuration signaling. A UE may be configured for multiple WUS groups. Upon receiving a WUS addressed to its group ID, the UE may wake up its main receiver to detect NR-PDCCH in the DRX on duration.):
Similar to the system of Gur, Ang teaches configuring WUS timing offset parameters as part of a DRX configuration and comparing an estimated time drift to an allowed maximum time drift threshold to determine whether timing synchronization should be performed, which can be seen as, identify that a time offset satisfies a threshold, wherein the time offset is indicated by the configuration information, and wherein the time offset indicates a start of a WUS occasion search-time relative to a start of the on duration associated with the DRX cycle (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0063]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0064] Furthermore, in order to enable wake-up signal and associated wake-up procedures, the following design aspects are described herein: WUS transmission channels (including cases in which the data channel is above or below 6 GHz); preventing inter-cell wake-up signals from waking up UEs accidently; communicating a UE's WUS capability to the network; and configuring/setting up WUS parameters (including but not limited to periodicity, timing offset, etc.) between UE(s) and the gNB. In order to address these issues, a design to enable a WUS and associated wake-up procedures, which includes but is not limited to the following features, is described herein: defining a WUS transmission channel; defining WUS capability and signaling; WUS configuration (periodicity, timing offset and etc.), which may be part of a DRX configuration/negotiation with the network or configured separately; and a WUS procedure activation using RRC or other signaling. [0093] Yet another embodiment relates to WUS configuration signaling. The procedures and parameters of WUS for a UE may be related to a DRX procedure of the UE. Therefore, WUS parameters (periodicity, timing offset and etc.) may be included as a part of DRX configuration. [0119] A UE may also autonomously start operating in a WUS reachability mode upon event R1 and may report such an event to the network. The network may configure the UE to start operating in WUS reachability mode upon event R1. [0122] When the UE is configured by the network to operate in paging reachability mode and the UE cannot be reached by paging or subsequently becomes non-reachable by paging, the UE may take one or more of the following actions: check WUS reachability event R1 and if reachable via the WUS, inform the network of WUS reachability event R1 either immediately or at the next possible occasion, such as for example, upon connection to the network initiated by UE upper layer. This may be a result of a tracking area update, RAN area notification update, or UL data transmission. For example, the case where the UL and the WUS are both deployed in a low frequency range (e.g. below 6 GHz), while the DL is deployed in higher frequency range (e.g. above 6 GHz).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Ang to improve efficiency and power savings during WUS operation (Ang, [0067]).
Regarding claim 30, Gur-Ang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for receiving, from a network node, configuration information indicating a wake-up signal (WUS) configuration associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle, wherein the WUS configuration indicates one or more WUS occasions (Gur, fig. 7, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0101]: See above for paragraph [0092].);
means for identifying one or more conditions (Gur, [0051]-[0057]: See above for paragraph [0057].);
means for refraining from monitoring at least one WUS occasion, from the one or more WUS occasions, based at least in part on the identification of the one or more conditions (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: See above for paragraph [0097].); and
Thus, Gur does not explicitly teach means for monitoring one or more resources during an on duration associated with the DRX cycle, wherein the means for identifying the one or more conditions comprise: means for identifying that a time offset satisfies a threshold, wherein the time offset is indicated by the configuration information, and wherein the time offset indicates a start of a WUS occasion search-time relative to a start of the on duration associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to the system of Gur, Ang teaches performing NR-PDCCH detection during a DRX on-duration when determining that a received WUS indicates a wake-up condition, which can be seen as, means for monitoring one or more resources during an on duration associated with the DRX cycle, wherein the means for identifying the one or more conditions comprise: (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0067]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0072] If WUS indicates a “non wake-up”, then the counter of non-wake-up WUS may be incremented by 1 (step 604). The WUS time window parameters may be adjusted as: W.sub.adj(i−1)=W.sub.ext(i−1), and T.sub.adj(i−1)=T.sub.eff(i−1). The parameters of the next WUS window may be set as W.sub.ext(i)=W.sub.adj(i−1)+2*ΔT*D.sub.i−1, T.sub.eff(i)=T.sub.adj(i−1)−ΔT*D.sub.i−1+D.sub.i−1. The UE's main receiver does not wake up to detect NR-PDCCH during the DRX cycle (step 605), and the next extended WUS window increases accordingly (step 606). [0073] If, instead, the WUS indicates a “wake-up”, the UE may wake up, turn on its main receiver, synchronize its main receiver with gNB, synchronize its low-power WUS receiver with the gNb (step 607), and perform NR-PDCCH detection during the DRX on duration (step 608), and follow the rest of DRX procedures. The WTRU may be configured with an allowed maximum time drift ΔTmax value, which the WTRU may use to decide whether or not to synchronize its timing upon turning on its main receiver. The UE may estimate its time drift and if the estimated time drift is higher than ΔTmax, the UE may synchronize its timing upon turning on its main receiver (step 609). Otherwise, the WTRU may not re-synchronize its timing. [0145] A group of UEs may be configured by higher layer signaling (such as via RRC), each group has its own group ID or group RNTI. The UEs in the group may be arranged in a predetermined order. Each UE's index within the group may also be included in the WUS group configuration signaling. A UE may be configured for multiple WUS groups. Upon receiving a WUS addressed to its group ID, the UE may wake up its main receiver to detect NR-PDCCH in the DRX on duration.):
Similar to the system of Gur, Ang teaches configuring WUS timing offset parameters as part of a DRX configuration and comparing an estimated time drift to an allowed maximum time drift threshold to determine whether timing synchronization should be performed, which can be seen as, means for identifying that a time offset satisfies a threshold, wherein the time offset is indicated by the configuration information, and wherein the time offset indicates a start of a WUS occasion search-time relative to a start of the on duration associated with the DRX cycle (Ang, fig. 4-5, fig. 6-10, [0063]-[0122], [0123]-[0148], [0149]-[0167], [0168]-[0191], [0192]-[0205]: [0064] Furthermore, in order to enable wake-up signal and associated wake-up procedures, the following design aspects are described herein: WUS transmission channels (including cases in which the data channel is above or below 6 GHz); preventing inter-cell wake-up signals from waking up UEs accidently; communicating a UE's WUS capability to the network; and configuring/setting up WUS parameters (including but not limited to periodicity, timing offset, etc.) between UE(s) and the gNB. In order to address these issues, a design to enable a WUS and associated wake-up procedures, which includes but is not limited to the following features, is described herein: defining a WUS transmission channel; defining WUS capability and signaling; WUS configuration (periodicity, timing offset and etc.), which may be part of a DRX configuration/negotiation with the network or configured separately; and a WUS procedure activation using RRC or other signaling. [0093] Yet another embodiment relates to WUS configuration signaling. The procedures and parameters of WUS for a UE may be related to a DRX procedure of the UE. Therefore, WUS parameters (periodicity, timing offset and etc.) may be included as a part of DRX configuration. [0119] A UE may also autonomously start operating in a WUS reachability mode upon event R1 and may report such an event to the network. The network may configure the UE to start operating in WUS reachability mode upon event R1. [0122] When the UE is configured by the network to operate in paging reachability mode and the UE cannot be reached by paging or subsequently becomes non-reachable by paging, the UE may take one or more of the following actions: check WUS reachability event R1 and if reachable via the WUS, inform the network of WUS reachability event R1 either immediately or at the next possible occasion, such as for example, upon connection to the network initiated by UE upper layer. This may be a result of a tracking area update, RAN area notification update, or UL data transmission. For example, the case where the UL and the WUS are both deployed in a low frequency range (e.g. below 6 GHz), while the DL is deployed in higher frequency range (e.g. above 6 GHz).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Ang to improve efficiency and power savings during WUS operation (Ang, [0067]).
Claim(s) 7-9, 19-20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gurumoorthy et al. (US 20230239795 A1) (hereinafter Gur) as applied to claim 1/15 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20200092814 A1) (hereinafter Zho):
Regarding claim 7, Zho teaches a method of claim 1:
Thus, Gur does not teach receiving a channel state information (CSI) configuration, wherein the CSI configuration indicates one or more periodic CSI measurement and reporting configurations, and wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the one or more periodic CSI measurement and reporting configurations.
Similar to Gur, Zho teaches configuring a UE with periodic CSI-RS resources that the UE uses to obtain channel state information, which can be seen as, receiving a channel state information (CSI) configuration, wherein the CSI configuration indicates one or more periodic CSI measurement and reporting configurations, and wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the one or more periodic CSI measurement and reporting configurations (Zho, fig. 5A, [0250]-[0261]: [0259] In an example, downlink CSI-RS 522 may be employed for a UE to acquire channel state information. A radio network may support periodic, aperiodic, and/or semi-persistent transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure and/or reconfigure a UE with periodic transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated ad/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically. In an example, CSI-RS configuration may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least a number of antenna ports. For example, a base station may configure a UE with 32 ports. A base station may semi-statistically configure a UE with one or more CSI-RS resource sets. One or more CSI-RS resources may be allocated from one or more CSI-RS resource sets to one or more UEs. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure one or more parameters indicating CSI RS resource mapping, for example, time-domain location of one or more CSI-RS resources, a bandwidth of a CSI-RS resource, and/or a periodicity. In an example, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS 522 and control resource set (coreset) when the downlink CSI-RS 522 and coreset are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS 522 are the outside of PRBs configured for coreset. In an example, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS 522 and SS/PBCH blocks when the downlink CSI-RS 522 and SS/PBCH blocks are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS 522 are the outside of PRBs configured for SS/PBCH blocks.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Zho to improve resource utilization efficiency (Zho, [0420]).
Regarding claim 19, Zho teaches the UE of claim 15:
wherein the one or more processors, to identify the one or more conditions, are configured to (Gur, fig. 3, [0058]-[0067]):
Thus, Gur does not teach identify that at least one periodic channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting parameters are configured, wherein the at least one periodic CSI measurement and reporting parameters indicate that a CSI measurement and reporting is to occur during on durations associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to Gur, Zho teaches receiving a channel state information (CSI) configuration, which can be seen as, identify that at least one periodic channel state information (CSI) measurement and reporting parameters are configured, wherein the at least one periodic CSI measurement and reporting parameters indicate that a CSI measurement and reporting is to occur during on durations associated with the DRX cycle (Zho, fig. 5A, [0250]-[0261]: [0259] In an example, downlink CSI-RS 522 may be employed for a UE to acquire channel state information. A radio network may support periodic, aperiodic, and/or semi-persistent transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure and/or reconfigure a UE with periodic transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated ad/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically. In an example, CSI-RS configuration may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least a number of antenna ports. For example, a base station may configure a UE with 32 ports. A base station may semi-statistically configure a UE with one or more CSI-RS resource sets. One or more CSI-RS resources may be allocated from one or more CSI-RS resource sets to one or more UEs. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure one or more parameters indicating CSI RS resource mapping, for example, time-domain location of one or more CSI-RS resources, a bandwidth of a CSI-RS resource, and/or a periodicity. In an example, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS 522 and control resource set (coreset) when the downlink CSI-RS 522 and coreset are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS 522 are the outside of PRBs configured for coreset. In an example, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS 522 and SS/PBCH blocks when the downlink CSI-RS 522 and SS/PBCH blocks are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS 522 are the outside of PRBs configured for SS/PBCH blocks.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Zho to improve resource utilization efficiency (Zho, [0420]).
Regarding claim 8 and 20, Gur-Zho teach a method performed by UE (Gur, see fig. 11A)/ A UE for wireless communication (Gur, see fig. 7) comprising:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Gur, fig. 3, [0058]-[0067]):
and wherein the one or more processors, wherein refraining from monitoring the at least one WUS occasion comprises refraining from monitoring each WUS occasion associated with the one or more on durations (Gur, fig. 7 and 8, [0085]-[0090], [0091]-[0095], [0096]-[0098], [0099]-[0100]: See above for paragraph [0097].
Thus, Gur does not teach receiving a channel state information (CSI) configuration, wherein the CSI configuration indicates a timing associated with CSI measurement and reporting; wherein the one or more processors, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions comprises identifying that the timing indicates that CSI measurement and reporting is to occur during one or more on durations associated with the DRX cycle.
Similar to Gur, Zho teaches configuring a UE with periodic CSI-RS resources that the UE uses to obtain channel state information, which can be seen as, receiving a channel state information (CSI) configuration, wherein the CSI configuration indicates a timing associated with CSI measurement and reporting; wherein the one or more processors, wherein the identification of the one or more conditions comprises identifying that the timing indicates that CSI measurement and reporting is to occur during one or more on durations associated with the DRX cycle (Zho, fig. 5A, [0250]-[0261]: [0259] In an example, downlink CSI-RS 522 may be employed for a UE to acquire channel state information. A radio network may support periodic, aperiodic, and/or semi-persistent transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure and/or reconfigure a UE with periodic transmission of downlink CSI-RS 522. A configured CSI-RS resources may be activated ad/or deactivated. For semi-persistent transmission, an activation and/or deactivation of CSI-RS resource may be triggered dynamically. In an example, CSI-RS configuration may comprise one or more parameters indicating at least a number of antenna ports. For example, a base station may configure a UE with 32 ports. A base station may semi-statistically configure a UE with one or more CSI-RS resource sets. One or more CSI-RS resources may be allocated from one or more CSI-RS resource sets to one or more UEs. For example, a base station may semi-statistically configure one or more parameters indicating CSI RS resource mapping, for example, time-domain location of one or more CSI-RS resources, a bandwidth of a CSI-RS resource, and/or a periodicity. In an example, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS 522 and control resource set (coreset) when the downlink CSI-RS 522 and coreset are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS 522 are the outside of PRBs configured for coreset. In an example, a UE may be configured to employ a same OFDM symbols for downlink CSI-RS 522 and SS/PBCH blocks when the downlink CSI-RS 522 and SS/PBCH blocks are spatially quasi co-located and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS 522 are the outside of PRBs configured for SS/PBCH blocks.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Zho to improve resource utilization efficiency (Zho, [0420]).
Regarding claim 9, Zho teaches a method of claim 1:
Thus, Gur does not teach receiving a synchronization signal configuration, wherein the synchronization signal configuration indicates a timing associated with synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), wherein identifying the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the timing associated with the SSBs.
Similar to Gur, Zho teaches receiving configuration information via RRC signaling that includes synchronization signal block (SSB) related parameters, and using the SSB-associated time durations to determine resources for transmitting wake-up signals, which can be seen as, receiving a synchronization signal configuration, wherein the synchronization signal configuration indicates a timing associated with synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), wherein identifying the one or more conditions is based at least in part on the timing associated with the SSBs (Zho, fig. 38, [0488]-[0492]: [0489] As shown in FIG. 38, the base station may transmit a first wake-up signal (e.g., WUS 1) on a first resource (e.g., time/frequency radio resource), to the first wireless device (e.g., UE 1). The first resource may be determined based on Beam 1(identified by SSB 1), on a cell. In an example, the first resource may be one or more resources determined based on a first time duration (e.g., T1) associated with SSB 1. In an example, the first resource may be one or more resources in the first time duration associated with SSB 1. The first duration may be a time duration when SSB 1 is transmitted. The base station may transmit a second wake-up signal (e.g., WUS 2) on a second resource (e.g., time/frequency radio resource), to the second wireless device (e.g., UE 2). The second resource may be determined based on Beam 2 (identified by SSB 2). In an example, the second resource may be one or more resources determined based on a second time duration (e.g., T2) associated with SSB 2. The second resource may be one or more resources in the second time duration. The second time duration may be a time duration when SSB 2 is transmitted.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Zho in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce battery consumption, as Zho teaches using SSB-associated timing to determine resources for wake-up signaling in an NR system, which Zho explains improves efficiency and power usage of wireless devices (Zho, [0332]).
Regarding claim 22, Zho teaches the UE of claim 15:
Thus, Gur does not teach wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on a traffic type or a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the UE.
Similar to Gur, Zho teaches UE operation that is determined based on a qualify of service (QoS) flow associated with the UE, by mapping QoS flows to radio bearers and performing UE-side logical channel prioritization and resource handling according to QoS requirements, which can be seen as, teach wherein the identification of the one or more conditions is based at least in part on a traffic type or a quality of service (QoS) flow associated with the UE (Zho, Fig. 2A-2B,[0219],[0220]-[0222]: [0221] In an example, a base station may configure a plurality of logical channels for a wireless device. A logical channel in the plurality of logical channels may correspond to a radio bearer and the radio bearer may be associated with a QoS requirement. In an example, a base station may configure a logical channel to be mapped to one or more TTIs/numerologies in a plurality of TTIs/numerologies. The wireless device may receive a Downlink Control Information (DCI) via Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) indicating an uplink grant. In an example, the uplink grant may be for a first TTI/numerology and may indicate uplink resources for transmission of a transport block. The base station may configure each logical channel in the plurality of logical channels with one or more parameters to be used by a logical channel prioritization procedure at the MAC layer of the wireless device. The one or more parameters may comprise priority, prioritized bit rate, etc. A logical channel in the plurality of logical channels may correspond to one or more buffers comprising data associated with the logical channel. The logical channel prioritization procedure may allocate the uplink resources to one or more first logical channels in the plurality of logical channels and/or one or more MAC Control Elements (CEs). The one or more first logical channels may be mapped to the first TTI/numerology. The MAC layer at the wireless device may multiplex one or more MAC CEs and/or one or more MAC SDUs (e.g., logical channel) in a MAC PDU (e.g., transport block). In an example, the MAC PDU may comprise a MAC header comprising a plurality of MAC sub-headers. A MAC sub-header in the plurality of MAC sub-headers may correspond to a MAC CE or a MAC SUD (logical channel) in the one or more MAC CEs and/or one or more MAC SDUs. In an example, a MAC CE or a logical channel may be configured with a Logical Channel IDentifier (LCID). In an example, LCID for a logical channel or a MAC CE may be fixed/pre-configured. In an example, LCID for a logical channel or MAC CE may be configured for the wireless device by the base station. The MAC sub-header corresponding to a MAC CE or a MAC SDU may comprise LCID associated with the MAC CE or the MAC SDU.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gur with Zho in order to improve transmission efficiency and reduce battery consumption, as Zho teaches UE operation that is determined based on a qualify of service (QoS) flow associated with the UE (Zho, [0221]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468