DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation of “the measured voltage enters the criterion voltage” is unclear.
Regarding claim 7, the recitation of “a phase change time of the battery” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ezawa et al. (US 2016/0190827, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Ezawa teaches a battery control apparatus (fig. 1), comprising: a memory (111) configured to store a criterion voltage for a battery (101) ([0034]-[0038]); a measuring unit (115) configured to measure a voltage of the battery during a charging or discharging process of the battery ([0033]); and a processor (116, [0031]) configured to: compare the measured voltage and the criterion voltage during the charging or discharging process of the battery and change a charging C-rate or a discharging C-rate for the battery when the measured voltage corresponds to the criterion voltage ([0079]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 2, Ezawa further teaches wherein the memory stores different criterion voltages for the charging process (111, [0034]-[0037]) and the discharging process (121, [0062], [0063] and [0067]), respectively (figs. 1 and 9).
Regarding claim 3, Ezawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform rapid control so that the battery is charged or discharged at a C-rate higher than a C-rate other than the criterion voltage, in a state where the measured voltage corresponds to the criterion voltage ([0085]).
Regarding claim 4, Ezawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform normal control so that the battery is charged or discharged at a C-rate lower than a C-rate in a state of rapid control for charging or discharging, after the rapid control for charging or discharging is performed ([0030] and [0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Ezawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to increase a magnitude of the C-rate while allowing a current to flow in a same direction or to allow the current to flow in an opposite direction, before charging or discharging of the battery ends (figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Ezawa further teaches a battery pack ([0003]), comprising the battery control apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Ezawa further teaches a vehicle ([0003]), comprising the battery control apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Ezawa further teaches an energy storage system ([0003]), comprising the battery control apparatus according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Ezawa teaches a battery control method, comprising: storing a criterion voltage for a battery (101, [0034]-[0037]); measuring a voltage of the battery during a charging or discharging process of the battery ([0033] and [0066]); and comparing the measured voltage and the criterion voltage during the charging or discharging process of the battery and changing a charging C-rate or a discharging C-rate for the battery when the measured voltage corresponds to the criterion voltage ([0081]-[0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ezawa in view of Shibata et al. (US 2011/0215765).
Regarding claim 5, Ezawa teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above except for wherein the processor is configured to perform idle control so that charging or discharging is stopped for a predetermined time, when the measured voltage enters the criterion voltage.
However, Shibata teaches protection circuit and battery pack that a controller is configured to perform idle control so that charging or discharging is stopped for a predetermined time, when the measured voltage enters the criterion voltage (the abstract).
In view of Shibata’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ezawa by incorporating the teaching as taught by Shibata so as to protect the battery from over chagrining or discharging.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ezawa in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0234930, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 7, Ezawa teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above.
Ezawa further teaches wherein the criterion voltage is determined based on a voltage measure at a type and degradation degree of a battery, etc. ([0030]-[0037]) but silent a phase change time of the battery.
However, Lee teach wherein the criterion voltage is determined based on a voltage measure at a phase change time of the battery ([0072], [0080] and claim 8).
In view of Lee’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ezawa by incorporating the teaching as taught by Lee so as to prevent the damage of the battery and the life of the battery can be improved (see Lee: [0080]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Yoon et al. (US 12,095,298); Namikawa et al. (US 2022/0115890); Ikeda et al. (US 2021/0305820); Lee et al. (US 2021/0190878); Lim et al. (US 2020/0182943); Kim (US 2012/0021255) are cited because they are related to battery control system.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876