DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed February 9, 2026 has been received and entered.
3. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, and medication for the species in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
5. Claims 4-9 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
6. Claims 1-3 and 10 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “enhancing” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “enhancing” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what types of “enhancements” are encompassed by the claim, and how all potential “enhancements” are quantified. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claims are unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1, 2, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bjorncrantz (US 9,333,229).
This reference teaches a method for making a winterized Cannabis extract by mixing the Cannabis extract with a solvent such as ethanol, chilling to a temperature below -20°C, allowing for the separation of the components for a time sufficient to allow for separation, collecting and refining the lipid fraction by filtering and removal of the solvent. The collected fraction is added to medicinal compositions such as other Cannabis extracts or other medicines to improve the characteristics of the combined components such as improved stability, quality, and taste (see column 3, lines 26-end; column 6, lines 12-65; column 9, lines 25-44; column 10, lines 30-46). The administration of the medicinal composition should also lead to an increased systemic exposure because the same composition as claimed is being administered to a patient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjorncrantz (US 9,333,229) in view of Agrify ("What is the Winterization Process in Cannabis Extraction?" Web. 15 June 2020 https://precisionextraction.com/2020/06/what-is-the-winterizaton-process-in-cannabis-extraction/)
The teachings of Bjorncrantz are discussed above. The reference does not teach using a temperature of -80°C during the winterization process. However, Agrify teaches that -80°C is the optimal temperature to use when winterizing Cannabis. Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that Bjorncrantz could be modified with success to include the use of this temperature. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Bjorncrantz to include the use of -80°C as a temperature during the winterization process.
10. Claim(s) 1, 2, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smeeding (US 2019/0224141) in view of Bjorncrantz (US 9,333,229).
Smeeding teaches a method for improving the bioavailability (increased systemic exposure) of a statin by adding a cannabinoid composition to the statin. The reference teaches that the cannabinoid can be a Cannabis extract purified using winterization (see paragraphs 53, 70 and claims 31 and 37). The reference does not teach the specific process used for winterizing.
However, Bjorncrantz teaches a method for making a winterized Cannabis extract by mixing the Cannabis extract with a solvent such as ethanol, chilling to a temperature below -20°C, allowing for the separation of the components for a time sufficient to allow for separation, collecting and refining the lipid fraction by filtering and removal of the solvent. The collected fraction is added to medicinal compositions improve the characteristics of the combined components such as improved stability, quality, and taste (see column 3, lines 26-end; column 6, lines 12-65; column 9, lines 25-44; column 10, lines 30-46). Thus, given these improved characteristics, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that using the winterized Cannabis extract produced using the process of Bjorncrantz would improve the cannabinoid and statin composition taught by Smeeding. Therefore, the artisan would have been motivated to use the winterization process taught by Bjorncrantz to produce the winterized Cannabis extract to Smeeding which is then added to a statin composition to improve the bioavailability of the statin composition.
11. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smeeding (US 2019/0224141) in view of Bjorncrantz (US 9,333,229) as applied to claims 1, 2, and 10 above, and further in view of Agrify ("What is the Winterization Process in Cannabis Extraction?" Web. 15 June 2020 https://precisionextraction.com/2020/06/what-is-the-winterizaton-process-in-cannabis-extraction/)
The teachings of Smeeding and Bjorncrantz are discussed above. The references do not teach using a temperature of -80°C during the winterization process. However, Agrify teaches that -80°C is the optimal temperature to use when winterizing Cannabis. Thus, an artisan of ordinary skill would reasonably expect that Bjorncrantz could be modified with success to include the use of this temperature. This reasonable expectation of success would have motivated the artisan to modify Bjorncrantz to include the use of -80°C as a temperature during the winterization process.
12. No claims are allowed.
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655