Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 18-24 and 26-49 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 7/29/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10, filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 18-24, 26-44, 46 and 48-49 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Dudhwala et al. (Hereinafter, “Dudhwala”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 45 and 47 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhwala in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 9-10, of the remarks, filed on 7/29/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 18-24, 26-44, 46 and 48-49 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Dudhwala et al. (Hereinafter, “Dudhwala”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 45 and 47 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhwala in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, that “The anticipation and obviousness rejections rely on an interpretation of "stack" in the claims as reading on the braided or woven bundles taught by Dudhwala. The proposed amendment clarifies the scope and meaning of "stack", making it clear that Dudhwala does not disclose or suggest this feature.
Examiner Monsur confirmed during the interview that formal submission of the proposed amendment to claim 1 would result in withdrawal of the anticipation and obviousness rejections………… (Remarks-Page 9)
Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the anticipation and obviousness rejections are respectfully requested.
For at least the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully submitted that the above-identified application is in condition for allowance. Favorable reconsideration and prompt allowance of the claims are respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 10)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 9-10 (stated above), filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 18-24, 26-44, 46 and 48-49 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Dudhwala et al. (Hereinafter, “Dudhwala”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 45 and 47 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhwala in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 4/29/2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because Dudhwal does not disclose the amended limitation, “wherein the flexible deformation element is in a form of a stack comprising multiple planes arranged on top of each other.”. Therefore, it overcomes the present rejection of claims 18-24, 26-44, 46 and 48-49 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Dudhwala et al. (Hereinafter, “Dudhwala”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 45 and 47 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhwala in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1, as applied to the Final office Action mailed on 4/29/2025, However applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation, “wherein the flexible deformation element is in a form of a stack comprising multiple planes arranged on top of each other” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. After doing an updated search reference YAMAMOTO NORITAKA (Hereinafter, “Yamamoto”) in the Patent Publication Number JP2017041504A (Publication Date 2017-02-23) is found which can be applied to meet at least the amended limitation. YAMAMOTO teaches a flexible resistor which has multiple layers as shown in the Figure 1(e): Modified Figure 1 (e) of Yamamoto below. Therefore claims 18-24 and 26-49 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhwala et al. (Hereinafter, “Dudhwala”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1 in view of YAMAMOTO NORITAKA (Hereinafter, “Yamamoto”) in the Patent Publication Number JP2017041504A (Publication Date 2017-02-23), as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-24 and 26-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudhwala et al. (Hereinafter, “Dudhwala”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20020171987 A1 in view of YAMAMOTO NORITAKA (Hereinafter, “Yamamoto”) in the Patent Publication Number JP2017041504A (Publication Date 2017-02-23).
Regarding claim 18, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor for measuring an electric current (a line conductor extending through the current transformers, a circuit board, and a pair of sensing leads extending between the line conductor and the circuit board. In a first embodiment the line conductor is a relatively rigid line bus bar, and in a second embodiment the line conductor is a relatively flexible line shunt; Abstract), comprising:
a) a first connection part [296] (sensing lead 296 as the first connection part) in Figure 3 (Similar to sensing lead 96 in Figure 1 and therefore the description of the sensing lead is used from Figure 1) comprising at least one of a conductor material and a resistor material for introducing the electric current to be measured into the current measuring resistor (More specifically, the sensing leads 96 are electrically conductively connected with the line bus bar 60 at spaced locations. The resistance of the line bus bar 60 between the pair of sensing leads 96 is known (or is readily ascertainable), such that by detecting the voltage drop along the line bus bar 60 between the pair of sensing leads 96, the current flowing through the line bus bar 60 and thus through the line current path 16 can be determined; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8);
b) a second connection part [296] (sensing lead 296 as the first connection part) comprising at least one of the conductor material and the resistor material for conducting the electric current to be measured out of the current measuring resistor (More specifically, the sensing leads 96 are electrically conductively connected with the line bus bar 60 at spaced locations. The resistance of the line bus bar 60 between the pair of sensing leads 96 is known (or is readily ascertainable), such that by detecting the voltage drop along the line bus bar 60 between the pair of sensing leads 96, the current flowing through the line bus bar 60 and thus through the line current path 16 can be determined; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8);
c) a resistor element [266] (line shunt as the resistor element) comprising a resistor material of the resistor element, the resistor element being arranged in a direction of current flow between the first connection part and the second connection part, so that the electric current to be measured flows through the resistor element during a current measurement (By configuring the line shunt 266 to have a slightly resistive character, meaning that it has an electrical resistance at least nominally greater than that of copper alone, the circuit board 300 can readily ascertain the voltage drop between the sensing leads 296 and thus can determine the current flowing through the line shunt 266. The circuit board 300 accordingly can detect the existence of various fault conditions; Paragraph [0050] Line 9-16); and
d) at least one flexible deformation element [266] (line shunt 266 is flexible and therefore is considered as flexible deformation element; Present invention also has the same element 4 as the resistor element and flexible deformation element) (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible. The line shunt 266 extends between the first and second current transformers 290 and 292 and terminates at the line terminal 264; Paragraph [0048] Line 8-11) for enabling a non-destructive and reversible deformation of the current measuring resistor (By configuring the line shunt 266 to have a slightly resistive character, meaning that it has an electrical resistance at least nominally greater than that of copper alone, the circuit board 300 can readily ascertain the voltage drop between the sensing leads 296 and thus can determine the current flowing through the line shunt 266. The circuit board 300 accordingly can detect the existence of various fault conditions; Paragraph [0050] Line 9-16),
the flexible deformation element [266] being arranged between the first connection part and the second connection part in the direction of current flow (As can be seen in FIG. 3, the sensing leads 296 are connected with the line shunt 266 at spaced apart locations and extend therefrom to the circuit board 300; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-3), so that the electric current to be measured flows through the flexible deformation element during the current measurement (The line shunt 266 may be made of many different conductive materials in various combinations, and in one exemplar embodiment may be made of a combination of copper and nickel. Such a copper/nickel combination has a relatively higher resistance than copper alone such that the voltage drop along the line shunt 266 between the sensing leads 296 can be more easily ascertained than if the line shunt 266 were made solely of copper which would have a relatively lower resistance. By configuring the line shunt 266 to have a slightly resistive character, meaning that it has an electrical resistance at least nominally greater than that of copper alone, the circuit board 300 can readily ascertain the voltage drop between the sensing leads 296 and thus can determine the current flowing through the line shunt 266; Paragraph [0050] Line 1-14);
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] is in a form of a stack (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible; Paragraph [0048] Line 5-8; Therefore, the flexible deformation element is in a form of a stack because the flexible deformation element is made of braided or woven metal fibers; From the definition of stack: a large usually conical pile (as of hay, straw, or grain in the sheaf) left standing in the field for storage; https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/stack ; braided is kind of large woven metal fiber. Braided can be considered as the stack because: Braided structures can be considered as a stack of layers due to their interlacing pattern of yarns. The interlacement creates a continuous and cohesive structure, which is similar to the way layers are stacked in a stack; https://www.bing.com/search?q=braided%20can%20be%20considered%20as%20stack%20of%20layer&qs=n&form=QBRE&sp=-1&ghc=1&lq=0&pq=braided%20can%20be%20considered%20as%20stack%20of%20layer&sc=12-43&sk=&cvid=0DE67E3F71C84A708B08641A6BAFD23D).
Dudhwala fails to teach wherein the flexible deformation element is in a form of a stack comprising multiple planes arranged on top of each other.
Yamamoto teaches a flexible resistor suitable for manufacture by coating such as printing, a method of manufacturing the same, and a printed wiring device (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the flexible deformation element (Figure 1(e)) is in a form of a stack comprising multiple planes [1, 2, 3, 5] arranged on top of each other (A heat-dissipating functional material 2 is formed in a partial region on the surface of the resin base material 1 (FIG. 1 b, FIG. 2 b); Paragraph [0030] Line 1-3; A conductive ink layer 3 is applied to a wiring formation region on the surface of the resin base material 1 and a partial region where a resistor is to be formed on the surface of the already formed heat dissipation functional material (FIGS. 1 c and 2 c); Paragraph [0039] Line 1-4; By heating with a Xe flash lamp or the like, one of the conductive ink layers 3, which is formed on the heat dissipation functional material 2 and is formed of the wiring ink, becomes a resistor film 5 having a large resistance value, and substantially becomes a resistor. (FIG. 1(e), FIG. 2 (d)); Paragraph [0045] Line 1-4; Claim 3: The flexible resistor according to claim 1, further comprising: a first heat dissipation functional material layer on the flexible resin base material; a first resistive film containing at least a conductive substance of a conductive ink material on the first heat dissipation functional material layer; a second heat dissipation functional material layer on the flexible resin base material; and a second resistive film containing at least a conductive substance of a conductive ink material on the second heat dissipation functional material layer, wherein the first resistive film and the second resistive film have different resistance values; Figure 1(e): Modified Figure 1 (e) of Yamamoto below shows the flexible deformation element is in a form of a stack comprising multiple planes arranged on top of each other). The purpose of doing so is to provide a resistor which is suitable for a printing manufacturing technique in which a resistor element is mounted at the same time as manufacture, to provide a printed wiring device in which a wiring layer and a resistor are directly formed on a flexible resin substrate, to provide a plurality of resistors having different resistance values in a printing manufacturing technique, and to provide a method for manufacturing a flexible resistor capable of simultaneously forming a plurality of resistors having different resistance values.
Figure 1(e): Modified Figure 1 (e) of Yamamoto
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the flexible deformation element of Dudhwala by the flexible resistor disclosed by Yamamoto, because Yamamoto teaches to include a flexible deformation element in a form of a stack comprising multiple planes arranged on top of each other provides a resistor which is suitable for a printing manufacturing technique in which a resistor element is mounted at the same time as manufacture, provides a printed wiring device in which a wiring layer and a resistor are directly formed on a flexible resin substrate, provides a plurality of resistors having different resistance values in a printing manufacturing technique, and provides a method for manufacturing a flexible resistor capable of simultaneously forming a plurality of resistors having different resistance values (Paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 19, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] is formed by the resistor element (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible. The line shunt 266 extends between the first and second current transformers 290 and 292 and terminates at the line terminal 264; Paragraph [0048] Line 8-11; By configuring the line shunt 266 to have a slightly resistive character, meaning that it has an electrical resistance at least nominally greater than that of copper alone, the circuit board 300 can readily ascertain the voltage drop between the sensing leads 296 and thus can determine the current flowing through the line shunt 266; Paragraph [0050] Line 9-14).
Regarding claim 20, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] is elastically deformable (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible. The line shunt 266 extends between the first and second current transformers 290 and 292 and terminates at the line terminal 264; Paragraph [0048] Line 8-11; line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers and therefore elastically deformable).
Regarding claim 21, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element is plastically deformable (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible. The line shunt 266 extends between the first and second current transformers 290 and 292 and terminates at the line terminal 264. The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers; Paragraph [0048] Line 8-13; synonyms of flexible is elastic and Dudhwala discloses that the line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible and therefore deformable).
Regarding claim 22, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible; Paragraph [0048] Line 5-8).
Dudhwala teaches the flexible deformation element however the combination of Dudhwala and Yamamoto does not teach that the flexible deformation element allows a non-destructive length change of the current measuring resistor of at least 10%.
With respect to the intended use of the flexible deformation element, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528.
Regarding claim 23, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible; Paragraph [0048] Line 5-8).
Dudhwala teaches the flexible deformation element however the combination of Dudhwala and Yamamoto does not teach that the flexible deformation element allows a non-destructive bending of the connection parts relative to each other of at least 10°.
With respect to the intended use of the flexible deformation element, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528.
Regarding claim 24, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] (The line shunt 266 is a relatively flexible metal member made of braided or woven metal fibers that conduct current therethrough yet remain relatively flexible; Paragraph [0048] Line 5-8).
Dudhwala teaches the flexible deformation element however the combination of Dudhwala and Yamamoto does not teach that the flexible deformation element permits non-destructive rotation of the connection parts relative to one another by at least 10°.
With respect to the intended use of the flexible deformation element, it is to be noted that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Additionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, (In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531) and an “apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett- Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528.
Regarding claim 26, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element [266] is connected to the connection parts [296] via mechanical connection elements in each case in a connecting region (As can be seen in FIG. 3, the sensing leads 296 are connected with the line shunt 266 at spaced apart locations and extend therefrom to the circuit board 300 in a fashion similar to the configuration of the circuit breaker 4; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-8; Figure 3 shows the flexible deformation element [266] is connected to the connection parts [296] via mechanical connection elements in each case in a connecting region).
Regarding claim 27, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the connection parts [296] each enclose, cover or sheathe the mechanical connection elements, so that the connecting region also forms an electrical contact region (Claim 1. A circuit breaker comprising: a set of electrical contacts disconnectably engaged with one another; an operating mechanism structured to responsively disconnect the electrical contacts from one another; a sensor apparatus including a pair of sensing leads, at least a first current transformer, and a sensor; and a line conductor conductively connected with one of the electrical contacts and extending through the at least first current transformer; the sensing leads being electrically connected with the line conductor at spaced apart locations).
Regarding claim 28, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the connection parts [296] are spatially separated from the mechanical connection elements so that the connecting region is separate from the electrical contact region (Figure 3 shows the connection parts [296] are spatially separated from the mechanical connection elements so that the connecting region is separate from the electrical contact region).
Regarding claim 29, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the flexible deformation element is connected to at least one of the connection parts or to at least one of the mechanical connection elements by one of the following connection types: a) a press connection; b) a welded connection; c) a riveted connection; and d) a crimp connection (The bimetal strip 52 includes a fixed end 80 and a free end 84 opposite one another. The fixed end 80 is substantially immovable. The second conductor 48 is connected with the free end 84 of the bimetal strip 52, and the third conductor 56 is connected with the fixed end 80 thereof, with both the second and third conductors 48 and 56 being affixed by soldering, welding, mechanical attachment, or other appropriate connection methodology; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8).
Regarding claim 30, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor, further comprising:
a) at least one first voltage tap [290] on the first connection part [296] and/or on the resistor element [266]; and
b) at least one second voltage tap [292] on the second connection part [296] and/or on the resistor element [266] (The line shunt 266 extends between the first and second current transformers 290 and 292 and terminates at the line terminal 264; Paragraph [0048] Line 8-10).
Regarding claim 31, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor, wherein:
i) the at least one first voltage tap and the at least one second voltage tap are each formed by pins;
i1) the pins are pressed into bores in the connection parts or the resistor element, welded onto the connection parts or the resistor element or soldered onto the connection parts or the resistor element;
iii) the pins consist of the conductor material of the connection parts or of the resistor material of the resistor element; and
iv) the pins are coated with a coating (1-10The sensor apparatus 28 includes a first current transformer 90, a second current transformer 92, a circuit board 100, and a pair of sensing leads 96 that extend between the line bus bar 60 and the circuit board 100. It is understood, however, that in other embodiments of the circuit breaker 4, the sensor apparatus may not include the second current transformer 92. For reasons that will be set forth more fully below, the circuit board 100 is operatively connected with the operating mechanism 24 as is depicted by a fourth dashed line 104; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-10).
Regarding claim 32, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
further comprising
a) a first current shadow [264] in a form of an incision in the first connection part for influencing the current flow in the first connection part, the first current shadow at least partially surrounding the first voltage tap, and b) a second current shadow [268] in a form of an incision in the second connection part for influencing the current flow in the second connection part, the second current shadow at least partially surrounding the second voltage tap (The line bus bar 60 connects with a line terminal 64 that is at the opposite end of the line current path 16 from the line terminal 32. The line terminal 64 is connectable with a wire that extends to the line side of the electrical load; Paragraph [0034] Line 104; Figure 3 discloses similar current shadow).
Regarding claim 33, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor, further comprising:
wherein the two current shadows [264, 268] in the connection parts have the same shape (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] in the connection parts have the same shape).
.
Regarding claim 34, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor, further comprising:
wherein the two current shadows in the connection parts have the same length along the incision (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] the two current shadows in the connection parts have the same length along the incision).
Regarding claim 35, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the two current shadows in the connection parts are L-shaped, U-shaped, C-shaped, V-shaped, straight or arc- shaped (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] in the connection parts are L-shaped).
Regarding claim 36, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the two current shadows in the connection parts start from an edge of the current-measuring resistor (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] in the connection parts start from an edge of the current-measuring resistor).
Regarding claim 37, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the two current shadows in the connection parts have the same distance or different distances from a lateral edge of the current measuring resistor (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] in the connection parts have the same distance or different distances from a lateral edge of the current measuring resistor).
Regarding claim 38, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein: a) a current shadow in a form of an incision is arranged in the resistor element in order to influence the current flow in the resistor element; b) the current shadow in the resistor element emanates from a lateral edge (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] in the resistor element emanates from a lateral edge), from one or from both sides of the resistor element; and c) the current shadow in the resistor element is arranged centrally between the connection parts.
Regarding claim 39, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the current shadow is arranged in all planes of a stack forming the flexible deformation element [266] (Figure 3 shows the wo current shadows [264, 268] which is connected with flexible deformation element 266 and therefore the current shadow is arranged in all planes of a stack forming the flexible deformation element [266]).
Regarding claim 40, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein a trim cut is introduced into the resistor element and/or into at least one of the connection elements in order to adjust a resistance value (Figure 3 shows a trim cut is introduced into the resistor element and/or into at least one of the connection elements in order to adjust a resistance value as it clips with the flexible element).
Regarding claim 41, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the trim cut is arranged in the resistor element and/or in at least one of the connection elements as follows: a) laterally from an edge from one side; and b) in all planes of the stack forming the flexible deformation element (Figure 3 shows the trim cut is arranged in the resistor element and/or in at least one of the connection elements as follows: a) laterally from an edge from one side; and b) in all planes of a stack forming the flexible deformation element).
Regarding claim 42, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the voltage taps [290, 292] are each formed by contact pads on the connection parts and/or the resistor element (The line and neutral bus bars 60 and 72 additionally include substantially rigid extension conductors 110, 114, 116, and 118 that extend through the central bores 106 in the first and second current transformers 90 and 92 but form the primaries of the first and second current transformers 90 and 92; Paragraph [0041] Line 5-10; Similar elements in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 43, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the voltage taps are formed by mating contact surfaces which are in contact with the connection parts and/or the resistor element, the mating contact surfaces optionally being located on a printed circuit board [300], a plug, a pin or a stamped grid (As can be seen in FIG. 3, the sensing leads 296 are connected with the line shunt 266 at spaced apart locations and extend therefrom to the circuit board 300 in a fashion similar to the configuration of the circuit breaker 4; paragraph [0049] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 44, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein: a) the conductor material of the connection parts 1s copper; b) the resistor material of the resistor element is selected from the group consisting of: bl) acopper alloy; b2) a copper-manganese-tin alloy; b3) = CuMni2Nu; b4) CuMn7Snz3; b5) a copper-manganese-nickel alloy; b6) CusgaNigMni2; b7) CuesMnasNit0; b8) acopper-chromium alloy; b9) anickel alloy; b10) NiCr; b11) NiCraAISi; b12) CuNi; and b13) CuNi44; c) the conductor material of the connection parts has a lower specific electrical resistance than the resistor material of the resistor element; d) the resistor material of the resistor element has a specific electrical resistance smaller than 2-107 O-m; e) the resistor material of the resistor element has a specific electrical resistance greater than 2-107 Q-m; and f) the conductor material of the connection parts has a specific electrical resistance which is smaller than 10° Q-m (The line shunt 266 may be made of many different conductive materials in various combinations, and in one exemplar embodiment may be made of a combination of copper and nickel. Such a copper/nickel combination has a relatively higher resistance than copper alone such that the voltage drop along the line shunt 266 between the sensing leads 296 can be more easily ascertained than if the line shunt 266 were made solely of copper which would have a relatively lower resistance. By configuring the line shunt 266 to have a slightly resistive character, meaning that it has an electrical resistance at least nominally greater than that of copper alone, the circuit board 300 can readily ascertain the voltage drop between the sensing leads 296 and thus can determine the current flowing through the line shunt 266. The circuit board 300 accordingly can detect the existence of various fault conditions; Paragraph [0050] Line 1-16).
Regarding claim 45, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein the resistor material has the resistor element (By configuring the line shunt 266 to have a slightly resistive character, meaning that it has an electrical resistance at least nominally greater than that of copper alone, the circuit board 300 can readily ascertain the voltage drop between the sensing leads 296 and thus can determine the current flowing through the line shunt 266. The circuit board 300 accordingly can detect the existence of various fault conditions; Paragraph [0050] Line 9-16).
Dudhwala in view of Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for the resistor material of the resistor element has a temperature coefficient of electrical resistance of less than 50 ppm/K in a temperature range Tl = -20°C to +140°C relative to a reference temperature TRef = 20°C; and b) the resistor material of the resistor element has a temperature coefficient of electrical resistance of less than 60 ppm/K in the temperature range T2 = -40°C to +200°C relative to the reference temperature TRef = 20°C; and/or c) the resistor material of the resistor element has a temperature coefficient of electrical resistance of less than 80 ppm/K in the temperature range T3 = -60°C to +200°C relative to the reference temperature TRef = 20°C.. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an electrical resistance value of at most 10 mQ, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine Skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 46, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor, wherein:
a) the connection parts are coated with a coating; and b) the connection parts are each plate-shaped (The line shunt 266, due to its flexible nature, may additionally include an insulative coating on the outer surface thereof to resist shorting with other components within the circuit breaker 204; Paragraph [0049] Line 4-8).
Regarding claim 47, Dudhwala teaches a current measuring resistor,
wherein: the current measuring resistor has an electrical resistance (More specifically, the sensing leads 96 are electrically conductively connected with the line bus bar 60 at spaced locations. The resistance of the line bus bar 60 between the pair of sensing leads 96 is known (or is readily ascertainable), such that by detecting the voltage drop along the line bus bar 60 between the pair of sensing leads 96, the current flowing through the line bus bar 60 and thus through the line current path 16 can be determined; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8).
Dudhwala in view of Yamamoto discloses the claimed invention except for the current measuring resistor has an electrical resistance value of at most 10 mQ. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have an electrical resistance value of at most 10 mQ, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine Skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 48, Dudhwala teaches a measuring arrangement with
a) a current measuring resistor according to claim 18 (Rejection of claim 18), and
b) a contacting partner [300] (circuit board 300) for the current measuring resistor [296+266], wherein at least one of the connection parts [296] of the current measuring resistor is electrically and mechanically connected to the contacting partner [300] (As can be seen in FIG. 3, the sensing leads 296 are connected with the line shunt 266 at spaced apart locations and extend therefrom to the circuit board 300 in a fashion similar to the configuration of the circuit breaker 4; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-4).
Regarding claim 49, Dudhwala teaches a measuring arrangement,
wherein the contacting partner is a printed circuit board [300], a connector, a pin or a stamped grid (As can be seen in FIG. 3, the sensing leads 296 are connected with the line shunt 266 at spaced apart locations and extend therefrom to the circuit board 300 in a fashion similar to the configuration of the circuit breaker 4; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Berlin et al. (US 20040216303 A1) discloses, “Thick Film Current Sensing Resistor And Method- [0009] According to one aspect of the present invention, a film resistor is provided which is particularly adapted to sense electrical current. The film resistor includes an input terminal for receiving an electrical current, and an output terminal for outputting the electrical current. A film of resistive material extends between the input and output terminals and is electrically coupled to the input and output terminals. Electrical current flows through the film of resistive material. [0016] Referring to FIG. 2, the thick film current sensing resistor 10 is illustrated having an input terminal 14 for receiving an electrical current signal I, and an output terminal 16 for outputting the electrical current signal I. The input and output terminals 14 and 16 are made of an electrically conductive material, such as palladium silver. Also shown are a pair of sensing terminals 24 and 26. The sensing terminals 24 and 26 are likewise made of an electrically conductive material, such as palladium silver. The ratio of palladium and silver employed in each of the electrically conductive terminals 14, 16, 24, and 26 is selected to achieve a desired conductivity. The pair of sensing terminals 24 and 26 are employed to sense a voltage differential V.sub.S across a sensing gap length L.sub.G of the resistor 10, with the voltage differential V.sub.S being indicative of the electrical current I. [0017] The current sensing resistor 10 is a thick film resistor employing an ink film of electrically resistive material 20 that is printed on top of a substrate, and is sequentially fired to cure the ink film. The film of resistive material 20 is formed in contact with the first and second terminals 14 and 16, respectively, and the pair of sensing terminals 24 and 26. [0019] The interaction of the bulk resistor material 20 overlapping the first conductive terminal 14 creates an interaction region 18. Similarly, the bulk resistor material 20 overlapping the second conductive terminal 16 likewise creates an interaction region 22-However Berlin does not disclose that the current measuring resistor for measuring an electric current, comprising: at least one flexible deformation element for enabling a non-destructive and reversible deformation of the current measuring resistor, the flexible deformation element being arranged between the first connection part and the second connection part in the direction of current flow, so that the electric current to be measured flows through the flexible deformation element during the current measurement.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858