DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “handgrip portion” in claim 2, where “portion” is the placeholder and “handgrip” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation should read --a second portion.--
The term “smoothly” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “smoothly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The minimum degree of “evenness” or “uniformity” to meet the claim limitation is not known.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-15 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davis (US20140346252).
With respect to claim 1, Davis discloses a system (Figs. 1-5) for (capable of) dispensing a liquid product (cleaning and disinfecting products. [0001]), comprising: a pouch (2), made from film material (Abstract, line 2), having a first (lower) end and a second (upper) end and comprising a first wall (front 14. Fig. 1), a second wall (rear 14) and a base wall (15) disposed between the first wall and the second wall at the first end, the pouch comprising a first weld (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below) joining the first wall to the second wall, a second weld joining the first wall to the base wall and a third weld joining the second wall to the base wall, the first wall, the second wall and the base wall delimiting a containing space (of 1) holding the liquid product, the first wall and the second wall defining an opening (occupied by 3) in the pouch at the second end, the dispensing system comprising a bushing (3) inserted in the opening, the first and second walls being joined to the bushing at the opening, the bushing having a first (central) axis, the dispensing system comprising a sprayer (4) for dispensing the liquid product from the pouch, the sprayer being coupled to the bushing and comprising a pumping assembly (5 and 11), a lever (8) for (capable of) driving the pumping assembly, a diffuser unit (nozzle pointed by reference number 13. Fig. 1) in communication with the pumping assembly.
With respect to claim 2, Davis discloses wherein the pouch has a taper (at 21. Fig. 2) towards the second end, the taper defining a handgrip (holding) portion for the dispensing system.
With respect to claim 3, Davis discloses wherein the first and second walls are symmetrical about the first axis of symmetry (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 4, Davis discloses wherein the first weld comprises a first stretch (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below) and a second stretch extending from opposite sides of the opening.
With respect to claim 5, Davis discloses wherein the first stretch and the second stretch are asymmetrical relative to the first axis of symmetry (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 6, Davis discloses wherein the first stretch comprises a first portion (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below) having concavity facing the first axis of symmetry and a second portion (area defined by the outer surface of 21) having concavity facing the side opposite to (outward of) the first axis of symmetry.
With respect to claim 7, Davis discloses wherein the second portion delimits (defining) the handgrip portion of the dispensing system by contouring the pouch (Figs. 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 8, Davis discloses wherein the second stretch has concavity (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below) facing towards the first axis of symmetry.
With respect to claim 9, Davis discloses wherein the base wall has a second (central) axis of symmetry.
With respect to claim 10, Davis discloses wherein the second axis of symmetry is parallel to the first axis of symmetry (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 12, Davis discloses wherein the base wall has a fold line (phantom line near 19 in Fig. 2), the base wall being foldable about the fold line between a position of minimum size (Fig. 2) and a position of maximum size (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 13, Davis discloses wherein the second and third welds each have a first polygonal portion (area at left 16) and a second polygonal portion (area at right 16) which are smoothly connected to each other (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 14, Davis discloses wherein the bushing comprises a collar (body of 3) inserted in the opening.
With respect to claim 15, Davis discloses the dispensing system according to claim 1, comprising a fourth weld (22 on the left and right of 3. Fig. 2), the fourth weld joining the first and second wall to the bushing.
With respect to claim 18, Davis discloses wherein the film material comprises a polylaminated (impermeable material which comprises two or more layers of different materials. Definition provided by the Applicant. Page 2, lines 15-16) film ([0013]) and/or a single-layer film .
With respect to claim 19, Davis discloses wherein the bushing comprises at least a first ring (See Fig. 1 with additional annotations below) protruding radially from the bushing itself.
With respect to claim 20, Davis discloses wherein the bushing comprises a second ring (pointed by reference “3” in Fig. 1) protruding radially from the bushing itself, the second ring delimiting (defining) with the first ring an annular groove (defined by first and second rings) which is preferably symmetrical about the axis of symmetry.
With respect to claim 21, Davis discloses a cleaning device (Figs. 1-5) comprising a dispensing system claim 1 and a liquid product (cleaning and disinfecting products. [0001]) placed inside the pouch from where it can be dispensed through the sprayer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis in view of Schwandt (US20100155430).
With respect to claim 11, Davis discloses wherein the pumping assembly comprises a hose (12) for drawing the liquid from the pouch.
Davis fails to disclose the length of the hose being greater than the height of the pouch, measured between the first end and the second end.
However, Schwandt teaches a sprayer (Fig. 1-13d) having a container (20) comprising a first (lower) end and a second (upper) end, a pumping assembly (in 10) comprises a hose (14) for drawing the liquid from the container, wherein the length of the hose being greater than the height of the container, measured between the first end and the second end.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a longer hose, as taught by Schwandt, to replace Davis’ tube, in order to allow the sprayer to be operational at different orientation (Abstract and Figs. 4-7).
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis.
With respect to claim 16, Davis discloses wherein the pouch and the bushing are made from the same plastic material (Abstract, lines 1-3).
Davis fails to disclose the sprayer is made from the plastic material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the sprayer of plastic material in order to form the sprayer. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 17, Davis discloses the dispensing system according to claim 1 except for wherein the first wall, the second wall and the base wall have a thickness between 30 µm and 80 µm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first wall, the second wall and the base wall having a thickness between 30 µm and 80 µm, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a sprayer: Dickey, Achhammer, Hagihara, Totani, Richardson and Koesters.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752
December 11, 2025