This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 4/30/2026.
Claims 1-4 & 6-10 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 5 & 11 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3 & 6-9 have been amended.
Rejections to claims 1 & 7 under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn based on amendments to these claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that claims 1-4 & 6-10 are patentable because the cited references in the Non-Final rejection dated 1/30/2026 fail to teach or suggest all of the limitations in amendments to these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that amended claim 1 is directed to a single receiving STA configured to independently determine feedback reporting across two distinct 160 MHz channels (primary and secondary) using two separate bitmaps within a single NDPA signaling framework, while Vermani discloses NDPA signaling for multiple receiving STAs and feedback information on a per -STA basis, and thus Vermani fails to teach or suggest the use of multiple bitmaps associated with different 160 MHz portions of a 320 MHz band, or independent feedback control across such portions for a single STA. Examiner notes that Vermani is not relied upon to teach of multiple bitmaps associated with different 160 MHz portions of a 320 MHz band or independent feedback control across such portions for a single STA as these limitations are shown to be taught by Chen and Cao. Thus, the argument that Vermani fails to teach or suggest the use of multiple bitmaps associated with different 160 MHz portions of a 320 MHz band, or independent feedback control across such portions for a single STA is moot.
Applicant argues that Chen is not directed to bandwidth segmentation or use of different portions of the spectrum for different bitmap structures, and Chen fails to teach or suggest independent feedback control across multiple 160 MHz channels for a single STA, and there is no disclosure in Chen of providing multiple bitmap fields that are each mapped to different frequency segments and that independently indicate feedback request information. Examiner notes that Chen is only relied upon to teach that a first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value related to the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA. Examiner uses the combination of Vermani, which is directed to NDPA signaling with STA fields and partial band feedback subfields for multiple STAs, with Chen, which teaches that an identical AID value can be used so that the STA fields and partial feedback fields of Vermani can be directed to different bands for the same STA, and Cao is relied upon to teach of multiple bitmap fields that are each mapped to different frequency segments and that independently indicate feedback request information. Thus, the argument that Chen fails to teach or suggest independent feedback control across multiple 160 MHz channels for a single STA, and there is no disclosure in Chen of providing multiple bitmap fields that are each mapped to different frequency segments and that independently indicate feedback request information is moot.
Applicant argues that Cao merely discloses a bitmap structure for indicating feedback for subchannels within a bandwidth (e.g., 160 MHz) and is thus limited to a bitmap representing subchannels within a single bandwidth segment, and that Cao does not teach or suggest using multiple bitmaps corresponding to different 160 MHz channels within a 320 MHz band, nor associating such multiple bitmaps with a single STA for independent feedback control, and is silent as to any features related to coordinating feedback across multiple 160 MHz channels for a single STA using distinct bitmap structures. Examiner notes that Cao is only relied upon to teach of a bitmap structure for a single 160 MHz channel, and then is applied to each partial band subfield for each 160 MHz channel of a single STA as taught by Vermani in view of Chen and Ko. Therefore, the argument that Cao is silent as to any features related to coordinating feedback across multiple 160 MHz channels for a single STA using distinct bitmap structures is moot.
Applicant argues that Ko discusses a 320 MHz bandwidth configuration including primary and secondary 160 MHz channels, and cannot be argued as teaching or suggesting bitmap-based feedback indication, or independent feedback control per 160 MHz channel using separate bitmaps. Examiner notes that Ko is only used to teach of a first 160 MHz channel being a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and a second 160 MHz channel being a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, and is combined with Vermani in view of Chen & Cao, that teach of bitmap-based feedback indication and independent feedback control per 160 MHz channel using separate bitmaps, to teach that the per 160 MHz channels can be a primary 160 MHz channel and a secondary 160 MHz channel. Thus, the argument that Ko fails to teach or suggest a bitmap-based feedback indication, or independent feedback control per 160 MHz channel using separate bitmaps is moot.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose and teach of all the limitations of amended claim 1, and thus claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as demonstrated below in this office action.
Regarding claims 6 & 7, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner maintains rejections of claims 6 & 7 under 35 USC 103 as demonstrated below in this office action.
Regarding claims 2-4 & 8-10, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1 & 7 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 7. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner maintains rejections of claims 2-4 & 8-10 under 35 USC 103 as demonstrated below in this office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2021-0100115, filed on 7/29/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241)(herein after “Vermani”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0321293)(herein after “Chen”), and further in view of Cao et al. (Rui Cao, NXP, “EHT NDPA Partial BW Info Design”, IEEE 802.11-20/1747r0, 10/30/2020)(herein after “Cao”) and Ko et al. (US 2023/0276415)(herein after “Ko”).
Regarding claims 1 & 6, Vermani discloses a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, and a method for the receiving station in the wireless local area network (WLAN) system ([0007] discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device including receiving a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame (i.e. a receiving STA and a method for the receiving STA). [0042] discloses that the described implementations may use wireless communication protocols and RF signals of a WLAN (i.e. WLAN system).), wherein the receiving STA comprises:
a memory ([0010] discloses the receiving wireless communication device may include at least one memory.);
a transceiver (Fig 4 and [0054] & [0058] disclose the receiving wireless communication device may include a radio 404 that may include one or more transceivers.); and
a processor being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver (Fig 4 and [0010] & [0055] discloses at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one memory, and communicatively coupled, through modem 402, to radio 404 that may include the one or more transceivers.), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, by a receiving station (STA), a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame from a transmitting STA through a 320 MHz band ([0007] discloses the wireless communication device including receiving a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame. [0011] discloses the NDPA frame may be transmitted by a wireless communication device. [0044] & [0103] discloses that the NDPA frame may be used to request sounding feedback associated with bandwidths up to 320 MHz, and that the communication of the NDPA frame may be through communications over bandwidths of up to 320 MHz (i.e. through a 320 MHz channel). [0007] & [0011] disclose that the NDPA frame includes a first STA information field, and thus the receiving communication device may be interpreted as a receiving STA, and the transmitting communication device may be interpreted as a transmitting STA.);
receive, by the receiving STA, an NDP frame from the transmitting STA ([0007] disclose that the receiving wireless communication device may receive a null data packet (NDP) (i.e. an NDP frame) following the reception of the NDPA. [0011] discloses that the NDP frame may be transmitted by the transmitting wireless communication device, following the transmission of the NDPA frame); and
transmit, by the receiving STA, a feedback frame to the transmitting STA based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame ([0007] discloses the receiving wireless communication device transmits sounding feedback (i.e. a feedback frame) based on the received NDP and bandwidth information carried by the first wireless STA information field included in the NPDA frame. [0011] discloses that the sounding feedback transmitted by the receiving communication device may be received by the transmitting communication device (i.e. transmitted from the receiving communication device to the transmitting communication device).), wherein the NDPA frame includes first and second STA information fields ([0012] discloses that the first STA information field included in the NDPA frame may include a NumSTAInfoFields subfield indicating a number (N) of STA information fields following the first STA information field (e.g. for N=2, the NDPA frame would include first and second STA information fields).), wherein the first STA information field includes a first Association Identifier (AID) subfield and information on a first partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a first STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a first AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a first partial bandwidth subfield).), wherein the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield and information on a second partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a second STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a second AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a second partial bandwidth subfield).).
Vermani fails to disclose but Chen teaches wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value related to the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA ([0049] discloses two user information fields (i.e. first and second AID subfields) with the same AID12 value corresponding to one STA (i.e. associated with a single receiving STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiving STA, and a method for the receiving STA, wherein the receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, as disclosed by Vermani, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value of the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA, as taught by Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving wireless communication device, and a method for the receiving wireless communication device, wherein the receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device in order to enable higher throughput to the receiving wireless communication device.
Vermani fails to disclose, but Cao further teaches wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a first partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a first bitmap).),
wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a second partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a second bitmap).),
wherein the first bitmap relates to a first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band and the second bitmap relates to a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band (Slides 4 & 5 disclose that the bitmap (e.g. the first bitmap) can relate to a first 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1 to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, or that the bitmap (e.g. the second bitmap) can relate to a second 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1 to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band.),
wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA (Slides 4 & 5 disclose that by using the bitmap as a first bitmap as the information on the first partial band, as disclosed by Vermani, to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1, and using the bitmap as a second bitmap as the information on the second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani, to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1, the first and second bitmap can independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA of Vermani in view of Chen (i.e. when the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value).),
wherein a first bit of the first bitmap and a first bit of the second bitmap indicate channel unit information for the respective 160 MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that the bit B0 of the 9 bit bitmap (i.e. the first bitmap on the first partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), indicates a channel unit bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz and that the bit B0 of the 9 bit bitmap (i.e. the second bitmap on the second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), indicates a channel unit bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz.),
wherein based on the first bit of the first bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the first bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the first 160 MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that for the bitmap (i.e. the first bitmap on the first partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), when the first bit B0 is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within the first 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in the first 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the first 160 MHz channel), and
wherein based on the first bit of the second bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the second bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the secondary 160 MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that for the bitmap (i.e. the second bitmap on the second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), when the first bit B0 is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within the second 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in the second 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the second 160 MHz channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiving STA, and a method for the receiving STA, wherein the receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value of the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA, as disclosed by Vermani and Chen, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap, wherein the first bitmap relates to a first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band and the second bitmap relates to a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA, wherein a first bit of the first bitmap and a first bit of the second bitmap indicate channel unit information for the respective 160 MHz channel, wherein based on the first bit of the first bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the first bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the first 160 MHz channel, and wherein based on the first bit of the second bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the second bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the secondary 160 MHz channel, as further taught by Cao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving wireless communication device, and a method for the receiving wireless communication device, wherein the receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a first 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band using a first bitmap of a first partial band subfield in a first STA information field wherein the first bit of the first bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the first 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the first 160 MHz channel, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band using a second bitmap of a second partial band subfield in a second STA information field wherein the first bit of the second bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the second 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the second 160 MHz channel, in order avoid wasting time and resources calculating and transmitting feedback on 20 MHz channels for the first and second 160 MHz channels with too much interference to provide useful throughput.
Vermani fails to disclose but Ko further teaches wherein the first 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and the second 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band ([0113] discloses a signaling technique for puncturing of each a primary 160 MHz channel and a secondary 160 MHz channel in a 320 MHZ BW configuration (i.e. a 320 MHz band).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiving STA, and a method for the receiving STA, wherein the receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value of the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap, wherein the first bitmap relates to a first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band and the second bitmap relates to a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA, wherein a first bit of the first bitmap and a first bit of the second bitmap indicate channel unit information for the respective 160 MHz channel, wherein based on the first bit of the first bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the first bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the first 160 MHz channel, and wherein based on the first bit of the second bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the second bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the secondary 160 MHz channel, as disclosed by Vermani and Chen and Cao, wherein the first 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and the second 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, as further taught by Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving wireless communication device, and a method for the receiving wireless communication device, wherein the receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a primary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band using a first bitmap of a first partial band subfield in a first STA information field wherein the first bit of the first bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the primary 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the primary 160 MHz channel, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a secondary 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band using a second bitmap of a second partial band subfield in a second STA information field wherein the first bit of the second bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the secondary 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the secondary 160 MHz channel, in order avoid wasting time and resources calculating and transmitting feedback on 20 MHz channels of the primary and secondary 160 MHz channels with too much interference to provide useful throughput.
Regarding claims 4 & 10, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the methods of claims 1 & 7, respectively.
Vermani discloses wherein in the second STA information field, remaining subfields except the second AID subfield and the information on the second partial band are all reserved (Fig 11B & [0094]-[0095] disclose an STA information field (e.g. the second STA information field) where, except for an AID11 subfield and information on a partial band (e.g. the second partial band) included in the Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap and Disambiguation fields, all remaining subfields are reserved. The Disambiguation field is used by the receiving wireless communication devices that may be legacy devices to correctly interpret the Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap in order to determine the 20 MHz channels within the partial band for which to provide feedback, and thus both fields may be interpreted as information related to partial band.).
Regarding claim 7, Vermani discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising: transmitting, by a transmitting station (STA), a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame to a receiving STA through a 320 MHz band ([0011] discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device including transmitting a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame (i.e. a method for a transmitting STA). [0007] discloses the NDPA frame may be received by a wireless communication device. [0042] discloses that the described implementations may use wireless communication protocols and RF signals of a WLAN (i.e. WLAN system). [0044] & [0103] discloses that the NDPA frame may be used to request sounding feedback associated with bandwidths up to 320 MHz, and that the communication of the NDPA frame may be through communications over bandwidths of up to 320 MHz (i.e. through a 320 MHz channel). [0007] & [0011] disclose that the NDPA frame includes a first STA information field, and thus the receiving communication device may be interpreted as a receiving STA, and the transmitting communication device may be interpreted as a transmitting STA.);
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, an NDP frame to the receiving STA ([0011] disclose that the transmitting wireless communication device may transmit a null data packet (NDP) (i.e. an NDP frame) following the transmission of the NDPA. [0007] discloses that the NDP frame may be received by the receiving wireless communication device, following the reception of the NDPA frame); and
receiving, by the transmitting STA, a feedback frame based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame from the receiving STA ([0011] discloses the transmitting wireless communication device receives sounding feedback (i.e. a feedback frame) based on the transmitted NDP and bandwidth information carried by the first wireless STA information field included in the NPDA frame. [0007] discloses that the sounding feedback received by the transmitting communication device may be transmitted by the receiving communication device (i.e. received by the transmitting communication device from the receiving communication device).), wherein the NDPA frame includes first and second STA information fields ([0012] discloses that the first STA information field included in the NDPA frame may include a NumSTAInfoFields subfield indicating a number (N) of STA information fields following the first STA information field (e.g. for N=2, the NDPA frame would include first and second STA information fields).), wherein the first STA information field includes a first Association Identifier (AID) subfield and information on a first partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a first STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a first AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a first partial bandwidth subfield).), wherein the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield and information on a second partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a second STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a second AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a second partial bandwidth subfield).).
Vermani fails to disclose but Chen teaches wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value related to the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA ([0049] discloses two user information fields (i.e. first and second AID subfields) with the same AID12 value corresponding to one STA (i.e. associated with a single receiving STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method in a WLAN system, wherein a receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, as disclosed by Vermani, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value of the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA, as taught by Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method in a WLAN system wherein a receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device in order to enable higher throughput to the receiving wireless communication device.
Vermani fails to disclose, but Cao further teaches wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a first partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a first bitmap).),
wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a second partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a second bitmap).),
wherein the first bitmap relates to a first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band and the second bitmap relates to a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band (Slides 4 & 5 disclose that the bitmap (e.g. the first bitmap) can relate to a first 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1 to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, or that the bitmap (e.g. the second bitmap) can relate to a second 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1 to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band.),
wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA (Slides 4 & 5 disclose that by using the bitmap as a first bitmap as the information on the first partial band, as disclosed by Vermani, to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1, and using the bitmap as a second bitmap as the information on the second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani, to indicate a feedback request for a particular 20 MHz subchannel within the second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band by setting the 1st bit of the bitmap to 0, setting the 2nd to 5th bits of the bitmap to 0, and setting the 6th to 9th bits of the bitmap to either 0 or 1, the first and second bitmap can independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA of Vermani in view of Chen (i.e. when the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value).),
wherein a first bit of the first bitmap and a first bit of the second bitmap indicate channel unit information for the respective 160 MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that the bit B0 of the 9 bit bitmap (i.e. the first bitmap on the first partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), indicates a channel unit bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz and that the bit B0 of the 9 bit bitmap (i.e. the second bitmap on the second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), indicates a channel unit bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz.),
wherein based on the first bit of the first bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the first bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the first 160 MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that for the bitmap (i.e. the first bitmap on the first partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), when the first bit B0 is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within the first 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in the first 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the first 160 MHz channel), and
wherein based on the first bit of the second bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the second bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the secondary 160 MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that for the bitmap (i.e. the second bitmap on the second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani), when the first bit B0 is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within the second 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in the second 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the second 160 MHz channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method in a WLAN system, wherein a receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value of the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA, as disclosed by Vermani and Chen, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap, wherein the first bitmap relates to a first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band and the second bitmap relates to a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA, wherein a first bit of the first bitmap and a first bit of the second bitmap indicate channel unit information for the respective 160 MHz channel, wherein based on the first bit of the first bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the first bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the first 160 MHz channel, and wherein based on the first bit of the second bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the second bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the secondary 160 MHz channel, as further taught by Cao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method in a WLAN system, wherein a receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a first 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band using a first bitmap of a first partial band subfield in a first STA information field wherein the first bit of the first bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the first 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the first 160 MHz channel, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band using a second bitmap of a second partial band subfield in a second STA information field wherein the first bit of the second bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the second 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the second 160 MHz channel, in order avoid wasting time and resources calculating and transmitting feedback on 20 MHz channels for the first and second 160 MHz channels with too much interference to provide useful throughput.
Vermani fails to disclose but Ko further teaches wherein the first 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and the second 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band ([0113] discloses a signaling technique for puncturing of each a primary 160 MHz channel and a secondary 160 MHz channel in a 320 MHZ BW configuration (i.e. a 320 MHz band).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method in a WLAN system, wherein a receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to an identical AID value of the receiving STA such that the first and second STA information fields are associated with a single receiving STA, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap, wherein the first bitmap relates to a first 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band and the second bitmap relates to a second 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band, wherein the first bitmap and the second bitmap independently indicate feedback request information for the first 160 MHz channel and the second 160 MHz channel for the single receiving STA, wherein a first bit of the first bitmap and a first bit of the second bitmap indicate channel unit information for the respective 160 MHz channel, wherein based on the first bit of the first bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the first bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the first 160 MHz channel, and wherein based on the first bit of the second bitmap being set to 0, second to ninth bits of the second bitmap indicate whether feedback is requested for respective 20 MHz channels from a lowest frequency channel to a highest frequency channel within the secondary 160 MHz channel, as disclosed by Vermani and Chen and Cao, wherein the first 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and the second 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, as further taught by Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method in a WLAN system, wherein a receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a primary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band using a first bitmap of a first partial band subfield in a first STA information field wherein the first bit of the first bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the primary 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the primary 160 MHz channel, and can indicate feedback for each 20 MHz channel of a secondary 160 MHz channel of the 320 MHz band using a second bitmap of a second partial band subfield in a second STA information field wherein the first bit of the second bitmap indicates channel unit information (i.e. 20 MHz channels for feedback) for the secondary 160 MHz channel and the 2nd to 9th bits indicate which 20 MHz channels to feedback, from a lowest to highest 20 MHz channel of the secondary 160 MHz channel, in order avoid wasting time and resources calculating and transmitting feedback on 20 MHz channels of the primary and secondary 160 MHz channels with too much interference to provide useful throughput.
Claims 2, 3, 8 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241)( (herein after "Vermani") in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0321293) (herein after "Chen"), and Cao et al. (Rui Cao, NXP, "EHT NDPA Partial BW Info Design", IEEE 802.11-20/1747r0, 10/30/2020)( (herein after "Cao") and Ko et al. (US 2023/0276415) after "Ko"), as applied to claims 1 & 7, and further in view of Verma et al. (US 10772099) (herein after "Verma").
Regarding claims 2 & 8, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the methods of claims 1 & 7.
Vermani fails to disclose but Verma further teaches wherein for the first bitmap, the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel (Col 30, lines 58-67 & col 31, line 1-25 disclose a disallowed subchannel bitmap for indicating punctured sounding in an NDPA frame where the lowest numbered bit of the bitmap (e.g. the second bit) corresponds to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a BSS width (e.g. within a primary 160 MHz channel) and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the methods of claim 1 & 7, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko, wherein for the first bitmap, the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, as further taught by Verma. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a receiving wireless communication device can receive, and a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit, an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein when the first bit of the first bitmap is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second bit of the first bitmap corresponding to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a primary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel of the primary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band, in order to provide a simple & efficient puncturing method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of the primary 160 MHz channel for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, provide an easy mapping from the bitmap to the 20 MHz frequency bands the wireless communication device has been requested to measure, and help reduce overhead in reporting feedback by puncturing some of the 20 MHz channels for which feedback is reported compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of the primary 160 MHz channels.
Regarding claims 3 & 9, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the methods of claims 1 & 7.
Vermani fails to disclose but Verma further teaches wherein for the second bitmap, the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel (Col 30, lines 58-67 & col 31, line 1-25 disclose a disallowed subchannel bitmap for indicating punctured sounding in an NDPA frame where the lowest numbered bit of the bitmap (e.g. the second bit) corresponds to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a BSS width (e.g. within a secondary 160 MHz channel) and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the methods of claim 1 & 7, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko, wherein for the second bitmap, the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, as further taught by Verma. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a receiving wireless communication device can receive, and a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit, an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein when the first bit of the second bitmap is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second bit of the second bitmap corresponding to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a secondary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel of the secondary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band, in order to provide a simple & efficient puncturing method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of the secondary 160 MHz channel for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, provide an easy mapping from the bitmap to the 20 MHz frequency bands the wireless communication device has been requested to measure, and help reduce overhead in reporting feedback by puncturing some of the 20 MHz channels for which feedback is reported compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of the secondary 160 MHz channels.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kwon et al. (US 2021/0336752) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Wireless Communications.
Wu et al. (US 10110361) discloses Subchannel Feedback for OFDMA Systems.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409