This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/9/2024.
Claims 1-11 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2021-0100115, filed on 7/29/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/9/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 7 & 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 & 7 recite the limitations “wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20 MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20 MHz channel with the highest frequency in a primary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20 MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20 MHz channel with the highest frequency in a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting these limitations as “wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency to a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in a primary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency to a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band”.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame from the transmitting STA”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the case where there are multiple receiving STAs, it is unclear which receiving STA is being referenced by “the receiving STA”. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting these limitations as “wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: receiving, by each receiving STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame from the transmitting STA”.
Claim 11 recites the limitations “wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the receiving STA”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the case where there are multiple receiving STAs, it is unclear which receiving STA is being referenced by “the receiving STA”. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting these limitations as “wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame to each receiving STA”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241)(herein after “Vermani”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0321293)(herein after “Chen”), and further in view of Cao et al. (Rui Cao, NXP, “EHT NDPA Partial BW Info Design”, IEEE 802.11-20/1747r0, 10/30/2020)(herein after “Cao”) and Ko et al. (US 2023/0276415)(herein after “Ko”).
Regarding claims 1 & 6, Vermani discloses a receiving station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, and a method for the receiving station in the wireless local area network (WLAN) system ([0007] discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device including receiving a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame (i.e. a receiving STA and a method for the receiving STA). [0042] discloses that the described implementations may use wireless communication protocols and RF signals of a WLAN (i.e. WLAN system).), wherein the receiving STA comprises:
a memory ([0010] discloses the receiving wireless communication device may include at least one memory.);
a transceiver (Fig 4 and [0054] & [0058] disclose the receiving wireless communication device may include a radio 404 that may include one or more transceivers.); and
a processor being operatively connected to the memory and the transceiver (Fig 4 and [0010] & [0055] discloses at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one memory, and communicatively coupled, through modem 402, to radio 404 that may include the one or more transceivers.), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, by a receiving station (STA), a Null Data Packet Announcement (NDPA) frame from a transmitting STA through a 320 MHz band ([0007] discloses the wireless communication device including receiving a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame. [0011] discloses the NDPA frame may be transmitted by a wireless communication device. [0044] & [0103] discloses that the NDPA frame may be used to request sounding feedback associated with bandwidths up to 320 MHz, and that the communication of the NDPA frame may be through communications over bandwidths of up to 320 MHz (i.e. through a 320 MHz channel). [0007] & [0011] disclose that the NDPA frame includes a first STA information field, and thus the receiving communication device may be interpreted as a receiving STA, and the transmitting communication device may be interpreted as a transmitting STA.);
receive, by the receiving STA, an NDP frame from the transmitting STA ([0007] disclose that the receiving wireless communication device may receive a null data packet (NDP) (i.e. an NDP frame) following the reception of the NDPA. [0011] discloses that the NDP frame may be transmitted by the transmitting wireless communication device, following the transmission of the NDPA frame); and
transmit, by the receiving STA, a feedback frame to the transmitting STA based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame ([0007] discloses the receiving wireless communication device transmits sounding feedback (i.e. a feedback frame) based on the received NDP and bandwidth information carried by the first wireless STA information field included in the NPDA frame. [0011] discloses that the sounding feedback transmitted by the receiving communication device may be received by the transmitting communication device (i.e. transmitted from the receiving communication device to the transmitting communication device).), wherein the NDPA frame includes first and second STA information fields ([0012] discloses that the first STA information field included in the NDPA frame may include a NumSTAInfoFields subfield indicating a number (N) of STA information fields following the first STA information field (e.g. for N=2, the NDPA frame would include first and second STA information fields).), wherein the first STA information field includes a first Association Identifier (AID) subfield and information on a first partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a first STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a first AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a first partial bandwidth subfield).), wherein the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield and information on a second partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a second STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a second AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a second partial bandwidth subfield).).
Vermani fails to disclose wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to equally set to an AID value of the receiving STA.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to equally set to an AID value of the receiving STA ([0049] discloses two user information fields (i.e. first and second AID subfields) with the same AID12 value corresponding to one STA (i.e. the receiving STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiving STA, and a method for the receiving STA, wherein the receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, as disclosed by Vermani, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to equally set to an AID value of the receiving STA, as taught by Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving wireless communication device, and a method for the receiving wireless communication device, wherein the receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame from a transmitting wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device in order to enable higher throughput to the receiving wireless communication device.
Vermani fails to disclose wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a primary 160MHz channel, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a secondary 160MHz channel.
However, Cao further teaches wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a first partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits).), wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a second partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits).), wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information (Slide 4 discloses that the first bit B0 of the 9 bits (i.e. the first and 10th bits) indicates a channel unit bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz.), wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that when the first bit B0 is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in a 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the 160 MHz channel), and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that when a first bit B0 (i.e. the 10th bit) of a 9-bit bitmap is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits of the 9 bit bitmap (i.e. the 11th to 18th bits) are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within another 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in another 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the another 160 MHz channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiving STA, and a method for a receiving STA, wherein the receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes information on a first partial band and the second STA information field includes information on a second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel, as further taught by Cao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving wireless communication device, and a method for a receiving wireless communication device, wherein the receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, and a second STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel (e.g. a 160 MHz channel in a first frequency band), and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel (e.g. a 160 MHz channel in a second frequency band) in order to provide a simple & efficient method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of each 160 MHz channel for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, that helps reduce overhead in reporting feedback compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of both 160 MHz channels.
Vermani fails to disclose wherein a 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and another 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band.
However, Ko further teaches wherein a 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and another 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band ([0113] discloses a signaling technique for puncturing of each a primary 160 MHz channel and a secondary 160 MHz channel in a 320 MHZ BW configuration (i.e. a 320 MHz band).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiving STA, and a method for a receiving STA, wherein the receiving STA receives from a transmitting STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes information on a first partial band and the second STA information field includes information on a second partial band, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Cao, wherein a 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and another 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, as further taught by Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiving wireless communication device, and a method for a receiving wireless communication device, wherein the receiving wireless communication device can receive an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, and a second STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a primary 160MHz channel of a 320 MHz band, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a secondary 160MHz channel of the 320 MHz band in order to provide a simple & efficient puncturing method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of both the primary and secondary 160 MHz channels for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, that helps reduce overhead in reporting feedback by puncturing some of the 20 MHz channels for which feedback is reported compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of both the primary and secondary 160 MHz channels.
Regarding claims 3 & 9, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the methods of claims 1 & 7 respectively.
Vermani fails to disclose wherein the 11th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 12th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 13th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 14th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 15th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 16th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 17th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 18th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel.
However, Verma further teaches wherein the 11th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 12th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 13th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 14th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 15th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 16th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 17th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the 18th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel (Col 30, lines 58-67 & col 31, line 1-25 disclose a disallowed subchannel bitmap for indicating punctured sounding in an NDPA frame where the lowest numbered bit of the bitmap (e.g. the 11th bit) corresponds to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a BSS width (e.g. within a secondary 160 MHz channel) and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the methods of claims 1 & 7, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko, wherein the 11th bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, wherein the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the secondary 160MHz channel, as further taught by Verma. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a receiving wireless communication device can receive, and a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit, an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, and a second STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the 11th bit of the bitmap corresponding to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a secondary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel of the secondary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band, in order to provide a simple & efficient puncturing method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of the secondary 160 MHz channel for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, provide an easy mapping from the bitmap to the 20 MHz frequency bands the wireless communication device has been requested to measure, and help reduce overhead in reporting feedback by puncturing some of the 20 MHz channels for which feedback is reported compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of the secondary 160 MHz channels.
Regarding claims 4 & 10, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the methods of claims 1 & 7, respectively.
Vermani discloses wherein in the second STA information field, remaining subfields except the second AID subfield and the information on the second partial band are all reserved (Fig 11B & [0094]-[0095] disclose an STA information field (e.g. the second STA information field) where, except for an AID11 subfield and information on a partial band (e.g. the second partial band) included in the Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap and Disambiguation fields, all remaining subfields are reserved. The Disambiguation field is used by the receiving wireless communication devices that may be legacy devices to correctly interpret the Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap in order to determine the 20 MHz channels within the partial band for which to provide feedback, and thus both fields may be interpreted as information related to partial band.).
Regarding claim 7, Vermani discloses a method in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising: transmitting, by a transmitting station (STA), a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame to a receiving STA through a 320 MHz band ([0011] discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device including transmitting a null data packet announcement (NDPA) frame (i.e. a method for a transmitting STA). [0007] discloses the NDPA frame may be received by a wireless communication device. [0042] discloses that the described implementations may use wireless communication protocols and RF signals of a WLAN (i.e. WLAN system). [0044] & [0103] discloses that the NDPA frame may be used to request sounding feedback associated with bandwidths up to 320 MHz, and that the communication of the NDPA frame may be through communications over bandwidths of up to 320 MHz (i.e. through a 320 MHz channel). [0007] & [0011] disclose that the NDPA frame includes a first STA information field, and thus the receiving communication device may be interpreted as a receiving STA, and the transmitting communication device may be interpreted as a transmitting STA.);
transmitting, by the transmitting STA, an NDP frame to the receiving STA ([0011] disclose that the transmitting wireless communication device may transmit a null data packet (NDP) (i.e. an NDP frame) following the transmission of the NDPA. [0007] discloses that the NDP frame may be received by the receiving wireless communication device, following the reception of the NDPA frame); and
receiving, by the transmitting STA, a feedback frame based on the NDPA frame and the NDP frame from the receiving STA ([0011] discloses the transmitting wireless communication device receives sounding feedback (i.e. a feedback frame) based on the transmitted NDP and bandwidth information carried by the first wireless STA information field included in the NPDA frame. [0007] discloses that the sounding feedback received by the transmitting communication device may be transmitted by the receiving communication device (i.e. received by the transmitting communication device from the receiving communication device).), wherein the NDPA frame includes first and second STA information fields ([0012] discloses that the first STA information field included in the NDPA frame may include a NumSTAInfoFields subfield indicating a number (N) of STA information fields following the first STA information field (e.g. for N=2, the NDPA frame would include first and second STA information fields).), wherein the first STA information field includes a first Association Identifier (AID) subfield and information on a first partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a first STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a first AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a first partial bandwidth subfield).), wherein the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield and information on a second partial band (Figs 10 & 11A and [0092]-[0093] discloses that each of the N STA information fields 1030 (e.g. a second STA information field) include an association identifier (AID) AID11 subfield 1101 (e.g. a second AID subfield) and a partial bandwidth (BW) information subfield 1102 (e.g. a second partial bandwidth subfield).).
Vermani fails to disclose wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to equally set to an AID value of the receiving STA.
However, Chen teaches wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to equally set to an AID value of the receiving STA ([0049] discloses two user information fields (i.e. first and second AID subfields) with the same AID12 value corresponding to one STA (i.e. the receiving STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method where a transmitting STA transmits to a receiving STA device an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes a first AID subfield and the second STA information field includes a second AID subfield, as disclosed by Vermani, wherein the first and second AID subfields are set to equally set to an AID value of the receiving STA, as taught by Chen. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit an NDPA frame to a receiving wireless communication device that assigns multiple Resource Units (RUs) to the receiving wireless communication device through setting two different AID subfields in two different STA information fields to the same AID value for the receiving wireless communication device in order to enable higher throughput to the receiving wireless communication device.
Vermani fails to disclose wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a primary 160MHz channel, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a secondary 160MHz channel.
However, Cao further teaches wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a first partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits).), wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits (Slide 4 discloses partial BW information (e.g. for a second partial band) using a bitmap composed of 9 bits (e.g. a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits).), wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information (Slide 4 discloses that the first bit B0 of the 9 bits (i.e. the first and 10th bits) indicates a channel unit bandwidth of either 20 MHz or 40 MHz.), wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that when the first bit B0 is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in a 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the 160 MHz channel), and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel (Slide 4 discloses that when a first bit B0 (i.e. the 10th bit) of a 9-bit bitmap is set to 0, the second (B1) to ninth (B8) bits of the 9 bit bitmap (i.e. the 11th to 18th bits) are bits that request feedback for each of the 20 MHz channels within another 160 MHz (i.e. including a 20 MHz channel with a lowest frequency in another 160 MHz channel and a 20 MHz channel with a highest frequency in the another 160 MHz channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method where a transmitting STA transmits to a receiving STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes information on a first partial band and the second STA information field includes information on a second partial band, as disclosed by Vermani, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel, as further taught by Cao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, and a second STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel (e.g. a 160 MHz channel in a first frequency band), and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel (e.g. a 160 MHz channel in a second frequency band) in order to provide a simple & efficient method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of each 160 MHz channel for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, that helps reduce overhead in reporting feedback compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of both 160 MHz channels.
Vermani fails to disclose wherein a 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and another 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band.
However, Ko further teaches wherein a 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and another 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band ([0113] discloses a signaling technique for puncturing of each a primary 160 MHz channel and a secondary 160 MHz channel in a 320 MHZ BW configuration (i.e. a 320 MHz band).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method where a transmitting STA transmits to a receiving STA an NDPA frame with first and second STA information fields, wherein the first STA information field includes information on a first partial band and the second STA information field includes information on a second partial band, wherein the information on the first partial band includes a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, wherein the information on the second partial band includes a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein the first and 10th bits include information on channel units for requesting feedback information, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a 160MHz channel, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in another 160MHz channel, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Cao, wherein a 160 MHz channel is a primary 160 MHz channel in a 320MHz band and another 160 MHz channel is a secondary 160 MHz channel in the 320 MHz band, as further taught by Ko. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, and a second STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a primary 160MHz channel of a 320 MHz band, and wherein when the 10th bit is set to 0, the 11th to 18th bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency to a 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in a secondary 160MHz channel of the 320 MHz band in order to provide a simple & efficient puncturing method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of both the primary and secondary 160 MHz channels for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, that helps reduce overhead in reporting feedback by puncturing some of the 20 MHz channels for which feedback is reported compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of both the primary and secondary 160 MHz channels.,
Claims 2 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241)(herein after “Vermani”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0321293)(herein after “Chen”), and Cao et al. (Rui Cao, NXP, “EHT NDPA Partial BW Info Design”, IEEE 802.11-20/1747r0, 10/30/2020)(herein after “Cao”) and Ko et al. (US 2023/0276415)(herein after “Ko”), as applied to claims 1 & 7 respectively, and further in view of Verma et al. (US 10772099)(herein after “Verma”).
Regarding claims 2 & 8, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the method of claims 1 & 7 respectively.
Vermani fails to disclose wherein the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel.
However, Verma further teaches wherein the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel (Col 30, lines 58-67 & col 31, line 1-25 disclose a disallowed subchannel bitmap for indicating punctured sounding in an NDPA frame where the lowest numbered bit of the bitmap (e.g. the second bit) corresponds to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a BSS width (e.g. within a primary 160 MHz channel) and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the methods of claim 1 & 7, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko, wherein the second bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the third bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the second lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the fourth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the third lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the fifth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fourth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the sixth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the fifth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the seventh bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the sixth lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the eighth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the seventh lowest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, wherein the ninth bit is a bit that requests feedback information for the 20MHz channel with the highest frequency in the primary 160MHz channel, as further taught by Verma. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a receiving wireless communication device can receive, and a method where a transmitting wireless communication device can transmit, an NDPA frame with a first STA information field with first partial band information including a first bitmap composed of first to ninth bits, and a second STA information field with second partial band information including a second bitmap composed of 10th to 18th bits, wherein when the first bit is set to 0, the second to ninth bits are bits that request feedback information for a 20MHz channel with the second bit of the bitmap corresponding to a lowest 20 MHz channel within a primary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band and each successive bit in the bitmap may correspond to the next higher frequency 20 MHz channel of the primary 160 MHz channel of a 320 MHz band, in order to provide a simple & efficient puncturing method for indicating the 20 MHz channels of the primary 160 MHz channel for which the receiving wireless communication device should report feedback, provide an easy mapping from the bitmap to the 20 MHz frequency bands the wireless communication device has been requested to measure, and help reduce overhead in reporting feedback by puncturing some of the 20 MHz channels for which feedback is reported compared to always reporting feedback for all 20 MHz channels of the primary 160 MHz channels.
Claims 5 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vermani et al. (US 2022/0038241)(herein after “Vermani”) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0321293)(herein after “Chen”), and Cao et al. (Rui Cao, NXP, “EHT NDPA Partial BW Info Design”, IEEE 802.11-20/1747r0, 10/30/2020)(herein after “Cao”) and Ko et al. (US 2023/0276415)(herein after “Ko”), as applied to claim 1 & 7 respectively, and further in view of Saad et al. (US 2024/0223250)(herein after “Saad”).
Regarding claim 5, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the method of claim 1.
Vermani discloses the receiving STA is multiple STAs (Fig 10 and [0086] disclose an NPDA frame configured to request sounding feedback from one or more STAs.), further comprising:
wherein the feedback frame includes partial bands requested based on the first and second bitmaps ([0007] discloses the receiving wireless communication device transmits sounding feedback (i.e. a feedback frame) based on the received NDP and bandwidth information carried by the first and second wireless STA information fields (which may include the first and second bitmaps as taught by Cao) included in the NPDA frame.).
Vermani fails to disclose wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame from the transmitting STA, wherein the feedback frame is triggered by the BFRP trigger frame, wherein the feedback frame includes channel state information.
However, Saad teaches wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame from the transmitting STA, wherein the feedback frame is triggered by the BFRP trigger frame, wherein the feedback frame includes channel state information ([0109] discloses multiple STAs receiving a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) frame from an AP1 (i.e. the transmitting STA), triggering the multiple STAs to provide sounding feedback based on CSI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving STA is multiple STAs, and wherein the feedback frame includes partial bands requested based on the first and second bitmaps, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko, wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: receiving, by the receiving STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame from the transmitting STA, wherein the feedback frame is triggered by the BFRP trigger frame, wherein the feedback frame includes channel state information, as further taught by Saad. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where multiple receiving wireless communication devices can receive a BFRP trigger frame from an transmitting wireless communication device that triggers CSI based sounding feedback to be reported by the multiple STAs based on first and second bitmaps included in partial bands information in STA information fields of an NPDA so that the transmitting wireless communication device can coordinate the receiving of CSI sounding feedback from multiple STAs to reduce overhead by scheduling feedback and improve link quality by ensuring up-to-date steering metrics.
Regarding claim 11, Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko disclose the method of claim 7.
Vermani discloses the receiving STA is multiple STAs (Fig 10 and [0086] disclose an NPDA frame configured to request sounding feedback from one or more STAs.), further comprising:
wherein the feedback frame includes partial bands requested based on the first and second bitmaps ([0007] discloses the receiving wireless communication device transmits sounding feedback (i.e. a feedback frame) based on the received NDP and bandwidth information carried by the first and second wireless STA information fields (which may include the first and second bitmaps as taught by Cao) included in the NPDA frame.).
Vermani fails to disclose wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the receiving STA, wherein the feedback frame is triggered by the BFRP trigger frame, wherein the feedback frame includes channel state information.
However, Saad teaches wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the receiving STA, wherein the feedback frame is triggered by the BFRP trigger frame, wherein the feedback frame includes channel state information ([0109] discloses an AP1 (i.e. the transmitting STA) transmitting a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) frame to multiple STAs (i.e. receiving STAs), triggering the multiple STAs to provide sounding feedback based on CSI.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 7, wherein the receiving STA is multiple STAs, and wherein the feedback frame includes partial bands requested based on the first and second bitmaps, as disclosed by Vermani in view of Chen and Cao and Ko, wherein when the receiving STA is multiple STAs, further comprising: transmitting, by the transmitting STA, a Beamforming Report Poll (BFRP) trigger frame to the receiving STA, wherein the feedback frame is triggered by the BFRP trigger frame, wherein the feedback frame includes channel state information, as further taught by Saad. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a transmitting wireless communication device transmit a BFRP trigger frame to multiple receiving wireless communication devices that triggers CSI based sounding feedback to be reported by the multiple STAs based on first and second bitmaps included in partial bands information in STA information fields of an NPDA so that the transmitting wireless communication device can coordinate the receiving of CSI sounding feedback from multiple STAs to reduce overhead by scheduling feedback and improve link quality by ensuring up-to-date steering metrics.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sohn et al. (US 9350434) discloses a Channel Sounding Method in Wireless Local Area Network System and Apparatus for Supporting the Same.
Liu et al. (WO 2021/239143) discloses a Method and Device for Sending/Receiving Null Data Packet Announcement Frame.
Veerashetty et al. (US 2022/0216937) discloses a System and Method for Downlink Feedback.
Wu et al. (EP 3105969) discloses Subchannel Feedback for OFDMA Systems.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419