CTNF 18/578,016 CTNF 88776 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This office action is in regards to application # 18/578,016 that was filed on 01/10/2024. Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 10-19 are currently pending and are under examination. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the typographical error reciting “secon0d” in line 4 of claim 13 should be corrected into “second” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites “…wherein the return light reflected off the optical scanning unit passes through an outside of the light-path guiding unit…”. It sis not clear how a return light passes through an outside of the light-path guiding unit. In order to pass through the light path guiding unit, the return light have to be at least inside the light-path guiding unit. It is vague and indefinite how a return light that’s completely outside of the light-path guiding unit still be able to passes through an outside of the light-path guiding unit. Appropriate correction/clarification required. Claim 14 recites “…at least one of the first aperture unit or the second aperture unit is a tabular member that becomes thinner toward the first light-passing portion ”, but the first light passing portion exists only in the first aperture unit. It is not clear if the aperture is a second aperture unit, whether the tabular member becomes thinner toward the second light-passing portion or not? Appropriate correction required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 7, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in view of Vincent et al. (US 5,745,152) . Regarding Claim 1 , Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ), comprising: a laser light source ( 11, Fig. 1 ); an optical scanning unit ( 16, Fig. 1 ) to scan with outgoing light emitted from the laser light source ( 11 ); a light receiving unit ( 24/26, Fig. 1 ) to detect the return light reflected off the optical scanning unit, the return light being reflected off or scattered by the object (s urface 14, Fig. 1 ) irradiated with the outgoing light from the optical scanning unit ( Claim 1, 16, Fig. 1 ); a light-path guiding unit to direct the outgoing light emitted from the laser light source toward the optical scanning unit ( 12/22, Fig. 1 ); a first aperture unit ( ‘first aperture’ , claim 1, 23 Fig. 1 ) to make a diameter of the light small and disposed on an optical path (~10 mils ), the first aperture unit including a first light-passing portion to allow part, including center light flux, of the outgoing light to pass, and a first light blocker disposed outside the first light- passing portion ( 23, Fig. 1 ); and a second aperture unit ( aperture 25, Fig. 1 ) including a second light-passing portion and disposed on an optical path ( Fig. 1 ), from the first aperture unit to the light-path guiding unit (12/22), the second light-passing portion being larger than the first light-passing portion ( “a first aperture, a second aperture larger than said first aperture”, Claim 1 ). Burcher discloses the overall scanning range finder architecture (laser source, scanning unit, light path guiding, receiver for return light) and dual sized aperture for flux control (smaller first and larger second). Mainly the Burcher apertures are emphasized on the receive path of the light. Burcher is silent, but Vincent teaches explicit transmit path application of aperture stops for outgoing beam cleaning/collimation/divergence control before scanning mirror ( abstract, col. 1, lines 10-50, col. 2-4 (Fig. 1-3, Claim 1 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmit-path of the outgoing light disclosed in Burcher with the transmit path aperture technique taught in Vincent with a reasonable expectation of success because it optimizes outgoing spot size, reduce stray light, and improve measurement accuracy/eye safety with a predictable use of known beam-shaping elements and no unexpected results.. Regarding Claim 2 , Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) wherein the return light (i.e. dotted line, Fig. 1 )reflected off the optical scanning unit ( 16, Fig. 1 ) passes through the light-path guiding unit ( 12, Fig. 1 ) and is then incident on the light receiving unit ( 24, Fig. 1 ). Regarding Claim 3 , Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) wherein the return light ( i.e. dotted line, Fig. 1 ) reflected off the optical scanning unit ( 16, Fig. 1 ) is reflected off the light-path guiding unit (22, Fig. 1) and is then incident on the light receiving unit ( 24, Fig. 1 ). Regarding Claim 4 , broadly interpreted and best understood, Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) wherein the return light (i.e. dotted line, Fig. 1 ) reflected off the optical scanning unit ( 16, Fig. 1 ) passes through an outside of the light-path guiding unit ( interpreted to mean close to the edges of 12, Fig. 1 )and is then incident on the light receiving unit ( 24, Fig. 1 ). Regarding Claim 7 , Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) wherein the first light-passing portion is a first opening that is smaller than the diameter of the outgoing light (i.e., the opening of the first aperture unit 23 clearly make the diameter of the outgoing light. Therefore first opening would be smaller than the diameter of the outgoing light, Fig. 1 ). Regarding Claim 19 , Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) wherein the second aperture unit ( aperture 25, Fig. 1, 20mils, col. 2, lines 64-68 ) is disposed at a position for the case where a light intensity of the outgoing light passing through the second aperture unit is less of a peak intensity of the outgoing light passing through the first aperture unit (( ‘first aperture’ , claim 1, 23 Fig. 1, col. 2, lines 64-68 ) ( i.e. the light intensity going through second aperture unit would be way less than the light intensity passing through the first aperture unit since most of the light are blocked by the narrower first aperture unit, Fig. 1 ). Claim 19 is rejected because the light intensity passing through the second aperture unit being 1/5 or less is not integral to the device’s function and it does not directly impact how the device is constructed or operated. One of ordinary skill in the art is expected to routinely experiment with the parameters, especially when the specifics are not disclosed, so as to ascertain the optimum or workable ranges for a particular use. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller , 105 USPQ 233 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Norton et al. (US 5,859,424 . Regarding Claim 6, Burcher is silent, but Norton teaches an apodizing filter system wherein the aperture unit further includes a first boundary area disposed between the light-passing portion and the light blocker, and transmittance of the outgoing light in the first boundary area increases as it approaches the light-passing portion ( i.e. apodized aperture; col. 9, lines 7-12, “…will be a small discontinuity in transmittance at the boundary between the apodized area and the surrounding opaque material of the aperture…”, Fig. 3, Fig. 5B-5C ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the apodized aperture as taught in Norton with a reasonable expectation of success because it prevents detector saturation and gradient smoothly attenuates the light rather than creating a harsh cutoff. Regarding Claim 13, Burcher is silent, but Norton teaches an apodizing filter system wherein the aperture unit further includes a light blocker disposed outside the light-passing portion, and a boundary area disposed between the light-passing portion and the light blocker, wherein transmittance of the outgoing light in the boundary area increases as it approaches the light-passing portion( i.e. apodized aperture; col. 9, lines 7-12, “…will be a small discontinuity in transmittance at the boundary between the apodized area and the surrounding opaque material of the aperture…”, Fig. 3, Fig. 5B-5C ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the apodized aperture as taught in Norton with a reasonable expectation of success because it prevents detector saturation and gradient smoothly attenuates the light rather than creating a harsh cutoff . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Auerbach et al. (doc. “Serrated-aperture apodizers for high-energy laser systems”) . Regarding Claim 10, Burcher is silent, but Auerbach in the same optical field of endeavor teaches a serrated-aperture apodizers wherein projections are arranged on an inner surface surrounding an opening that is at least one of the first opening or the second opening, each projection narrowing as it approaching the opening ( page 1 (page 3179 in the document), col. 1 under “introduction”, “…As shown in Fig. 1, a serrated aperture is a round or rectangular opening with a serrated inner boundary….”, Fig. 1, Fig. 2 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first or the second openings of the first aperture unit or the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the serrated aperture as taught in Auerbach with a reasonable expectation of success because it increases radiation damage resistance, suppresses diffraction ripples, and creates a low phase distortion . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Suzuki (US 2008/0048117) . Regarding Claim 11, Burcher is silent, but Norton in the same optical field of endeavor teaches a distance between the first aperture unit and the second aperture unit is 1.0 mm or more ( “…the distance between the first aperture plate 8a and the second aperture plate 8b is 20 mm.”, para. [0042] ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance between the first aperture unit and the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the distance as taught in Suzucki with a reasonable expectation of success because it reduces deflection and cross-talk, enhances beam collimation, and space charge effect mitigation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Firnkes et al. (US 2021/0151284) . Regarding Claim 12, Burcher is silent, but Firnkes in the same optical field of endeavor teaches a thickness of the aperture unit is 2.0 mm or more ( “…the aperture plate may have a thickness of 5 mm or above, more particularly the thickness may be from 10 mm to 20 mm.”, para. [0057] ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of the first aperture unit or the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the thickness as taught in Firnkes with a reasonable expectation of success because it creates enhanced beam collimation, better thermal dissipation, enhanced structural integrity as well as vibration resistance . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Liu et al. (US 2016/0313115) . Regarding Claim 14, Burcher is silent, but Liu in the same optical field of endeavor teaches an aperture unit ( 216/230, Fig. 2 ) that is a tabular member that becomes thinner toward the light-passing portion ( Fig. 2) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first aperture unit or the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the tabular member aperture that becomes thinner towards the light passing portion as taught in Liu with a reasonable expectation of success because it minimizes peripheral light scattering and internal reflections. By eliminating sharp, thick, perpendicular edges near the light path, this profile prevents stray light rays from bouncing and degrading image contrast . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Yikifumi (JP05-019206)(summited on IDS dated 01/10/2024) . Regarding Claim 15, Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) the outgoing light, which travels from the laser light source ( 11, Fig. 1 ) to the light-path guiding unit ( 12/22, Fig. 1 ), passes between the first plate and the second plate (first and second plates of 23/25, Fig. 1 ). Burcher is silent, but Yikifumi in the same optical field of endeavor teaches an aperture unit includes a first plate ( 1, Fig. 1 ), and a second plate ( 7, Fig. 1 ) shifted in an outgoing direction of the outgoing light ( 3, Fig. 1 ) with respect to the first plate ( Fig. 2, plate 7 behind plate1 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first aperture unit or the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the staggered or shifter first and second plates as taught in Yikifumi with a reasonable expectation of success because it improve spatial coherence control, reduce back-reflections into the source, and enable dynamic angular steering. Regarding Claim 16., Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) the outgoing light, which travels from the laser light source ( 11, Fig. 1 ) to the light-path guiding unit ( 12/22, Fig. 1 ). Burcher is silent, but Yikifumi in the same optical field of endeavor teaches an aperture unit includes a first plate ( 1, Fig. 1 ), and a second plate ( 7, Fig. 1 ) shifted in an outgoing direction of the outgoing light ( 3, Fig. 1 ) with respect to the first plate ( Fig. 2, plate 7 behind plate1 ), wherein the second plate ( 7, Fig. 1 ) includes a penetration portion through which the outgoing light passes( Fig. 1-2 ), and the first plate and a part of the penetration portion overlap each other as seen in the outgoing direction( Fig. 1-2 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first aperture unit or the second aperture unit disclosed in modified Burcher with the staggered or shifter first and second plates with penetration portion as taught in Yikifumi with a reasonable expectation of success because it improve spatial coherence control, reduce back-reflections into the source, and enable dynamic angular steering . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Burcher et al. (US 4,088,408) in further view of Huang et al. (US 2021/0215825) . Regarding Claim 17, Burcher is silent, but Huang in the same optical field of endeavor teaches a laser light source includes a light source ( 103, Fig. 1 ), and an optical unit ( 104, Fig. 1 ) to convert laser light emitted from the light source into collimated beams and emits the collimated beams as the outgoing light ( Fig. 1, para. [0059]) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser light source disclosed in modified Burcher with the optical unit/collimating lens as taught in Huang with a reasonable expectation of success because it improves measurement accuracy by minimizing beam spread over long distances, increases the signal-to-noise ratio by concentrating maximum optical power onto the target, and prevents stray light interference. Regarding Claim 18, Burcher discloses a distance measuring apparatus to detect return light reflected off or scattered by an object and measure a distance to the object ( depth/ contour measurement, col. 1, Fig. 1 ) wherein the light-path guiding unit ( 12/22, Fig. 1 ) is inclined with respect to a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of the light receiving unit( 24/26, Fig. 1 ). Burcher is silent, but Huang in the same optical field of endeavor teaches a light receiving unit includes a light receiving element ( 105, Fig. 1, para. [0060] ), and a condensing lens ( 106, Fig. 1., para. [0060]) to condense the return light reflected off the optical scanning unit ( 102 ) and direct the return light to the light receiving element ( 108, Fig. 1 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light receiving unit with a light receiving element disclosed in modified Burcher with the light condensing lens as taught in Huang with a reasonable expectation of success because it improves light collection efficiency, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and measurement stability. It redirects and focuses light between the target and the sensor’s receiver . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Hoover et al. (US 3,749,911) discloses collimator is disclosed for examining the spatial location of distant sources of radiation and for imaging by projection, small, near sources of radiation, the collimator consisting of a plurality of plates, all of which are pierced with an identical random array of apertures. The plates are mounted perpendicular to a common axis, with like apertures on consecutive plates axially aligned so as to form radiation channels parallel to the common axis. For near sources the collimator is interposed between the source and a radiation detector and is translated perpendicular to the common axis so as to project radiation traveling parallel to the common axis incident to the detector. For far sources the collimator is scanned by rotating it in elevation and azimuth with a detector to determine the angular distribution of the radiation from the source. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM whose telephone number is (571)272-6607. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua Huson can be reached at 571-270-5301. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Assres H. Woldemaryam Primary Examiner (Aeronautics and Astronautics) Art Unit 3642 /ASSRES H WOLDEMARYAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 2 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 3 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 4 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 5 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 6 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 7 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 8 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 9 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 10 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 11 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 12 Art Unit: 3642 Application/Control Number: 18/578,016 Page 13 Art Unit: 3642