DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 claims “A process for reducing the release of microfibers during the washing process of textiles which are pretreated before the washing process with composition (Z) comprising”
The phrase “for reducing the release of microfibers during the washing process of textiles which are pretreated before the washing process with composition (Z) comprising” is interpreted as intended use.
Therefore, it is unclear to the examiner the exact method step taking place.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bau et al (WO2017/191462, cited on the 3/22/24 IDS).
Bau teaches a liquid laundry composition.
Bau, abstract, teaches a composition comprises : A) a liquid detergent product; and B) a silicone additive.
Bau, page 2, teaches one or more silicone may be used.
Bau, pages 2-3, teaches suitable aminosiloxane polymers are represented by of one or more liquid aminoalkyl- containing polyorganosiloxanes (P) comprising at least 80 mole percent of units selected from units of the general formulae 7, 8, 9 and 10
amine number of at least .01 mequiv/g.
Bau, claim 7, teaches about 8 wt% cationic surfactants.
Bau, pages 7-8, teach a carrier can be water.
Bau, page 2, teaches the amount of silicone additive employed in the composition of this invention is from 0.01 wt. percent to 25 wt. percent.
Bau, examples, teach water present in the amount of 30 wt.
Bau, page 5, teaches the polyorganosiloxane-silicone resin mixture comprises between about 50 percent to about 99.9 percent by weight of the mixture, of one or more polyorganosiloxane fluid compounds, at least about 0.01 percent by weight of the mixture, of one or more silicone resins, and a maximum of about 5 percent by weight of the mixture, of water.
Bau, pages 5-6, teaches
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to choose the amount of resin and the amount of fluid in the composition to increase the whiteness of laundered fabrics, as well as to improve their ease of ironing, hydrophilicity, and softness.
Regarding claims 11-12, Bau teaches R, R1 and R3 can be monovalent hydrocarbon residues with 1 to 40 carbon atoms.
Regarding claim 13, Bau teaches each of the one or more polyorganosiloxane fluid compounds that contains at least 80 mol percent of units selected from the group consisting of units of the general formulae la, lb, II and III.
Therefore, the compounds can contain 100 mol percent of II.
Regarding claim 14, Bau teaches the viscosity of the polyorganosiloxane fluid compounds is at least about 1 mPa-s at 25 degrees centigrade, especially at least about 10 mPa-s, and has a maximum of about 100,000, especially at least about 10,000 mPa-s.
Regarding claim 15, Bau teaches dicanoladimethylammonium chloride as a fabric softener.
Regarding claim 16, Bau, page 15, teaches the solvent can be polyethylene glycols. Mixing the composition with water will result in an emulsion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20180055328 teaches adsorption of particles on a material.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/