DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 (and its related dependent claims), 10, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1 and 13, the claimed, “liquid” lacks antecedent basis in the claims, and should be amended to “fluid” as previously claimed.
Regarding claim 10, the claimed, “further comprising hydro-dynamic elements” is unclear. As claimed, it cannot be determined which part of the sensor includes these “elements”, and the claim should be amended to clarify this deficiency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vagle et al. (US Pub. # 20130047737), hereinafter referred to as Vagle.
Regarding claim 13, Vagle teaches, “A kit for retrofitting a pressure sensor having an internal deformable diaphragm, said kit comprising: a) a lengthened elastomeric conduit having an external diaphragm (Fig. 1, 2; ref. # 2, 5; see para. [0025]); b) a non-compressible fluid for filling said elastomeric conduit (see para. [0029]); c) a mounting configured to secure said lengthened elastomeric conduit at least partially immersed in a material undergoing pressure measurement (2, 4, 7, 5, 8 in 1 and 3); wherein said mounting is further configured to secure said lengthened elastomeric conduit in fluid flow with at least one non-compressible fluid, such that pressure exerted by said material undergoing measurement, is transmitted via said external diaphragm, through said non-compressible liquid to an internal diaphragm of a pressure sensor, to allow measurement of the deformation of said internal diaphragm (ref. # 5 and 8 w/ 4; see para. [0024, 0025, 0028, 0029, 0030, 0036]).”
Regarding claim 14, Vagle teaches, “wherein said lengthened elastomeric conduit is pre-filled with said non-compressible fluid (see para. [0029]).”
Regarding claim 16, Vagle teaches, “wherein said elastomeric conduit is formed of a flexible material such that movement of said elastomeric conduit in response to flow of a material being measured, prevents residue buildup upon said external diaphragm (pressure pad 2 is flexible thus movable and configured to prevent residue buildup).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vagle (US Pub. # 20130047737).
Regarding claim 15, Vagle does not necessarily teach, “wherein said lengthened elastomeric conduit is formed of a material selected from: nitrile rubber (NBR), silicone, EPDM rubber, HNBR, and Viton®.” However, pressure pads are well known in the art of pressure measuring and testing for being made of flexible and resilient materials such as rubber or silicone. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vagle’s invention to include wherein said lengthened elastomeric conduit is formed of a material selected from: nitrile rubber (NBR), silicone, EPDM rubber, HNBR, and Viton®.
The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Vagle’s invention for at least the purpose of ensuring flexibility at the point of increased pressure within a pipe or conduit, resulting in reduced wear or damage of the sensor. Here the examiner takes Official notice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–12 are allowed (notably, claims 1–12 stand objected as shown above, and once these minor deficiencies are overcome, the claims will be allowable).
Regarding claims 1–12, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed, “ b) a rigid external tube, filled with a non-compressible fluid; c) a deformable internal diaphragm having a first side in contact with said pressure measuring mechanism and a second side in contact with said non-compressible fluid; d) a lengthened elastomeric conduit, having an external diaphragm, said lengthened elastomeric conduit in fluid flow with said rigid external tube such that said non- compressible fluid fills said lengthened elastomeric conduit; wherein said elastomeric conduit is formed of a flexible material such that movement of said elastomeric conduit in response to flow of a material being measured, prevents residue buildup upon said external diaphragm; e) a mounting for mounting said lengthened elastomeric conduit such that at least a portion of said lengthened elastomeric conduit is immersed in a material in need of pressure measurement”. The combination of limitations as shown above are allowable over the prior art of record, alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO–892 form. The references cited herewith teach pressure sensors configured similarly to the present application.
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852