DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1-10 repeatedly use the phrases “as being away from” and “ a direction of being away from.” The phrases are awkward, and, while not indefinite per se, could be written in a clearer manner. They are interpreted to mean “away from” and “a direction away from” respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 and 6-8 due to their dependency recite the limitation "the surface in contact with the intermediate layer" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0287354 (Sato).
For claim 1, Sato teaches a nitride semiconductor light emission element (fig. 1-2; title) comprising:
a substrate having a (0001) plane as a lamination plane (fig. 1, 11; [0041]; c-plane);
an n-type semiconductor layer (fig. 1 and 2, 312; [0046]);
an active layer (fig. 1 and 2, 352; [0058]);
a p-type semiconductor layer (fig. 1 and 2, 34 and 32; [0064]); and
a contact layer in this order (fig. 1 and 2, 33),
the p-type semiconductor layer including a cladding layer including AlGaN (fig. 1 and 2, label 32 or 322; [0068]), wherein
an Al composition of the cladding layer is formed to be smaller as being away from an interface on the substrate side ([0021]; x3 decreases away from the active layer which is also away from an interface on the substrate side, e.g. an interface between electron blocking layer 34 and light emitting unit 35), and
a Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to have a maximum value at the interface on the substrate side or a maximal value in a direction of being away from the interface on the substrate side ([0021]; the cladding layer is doped with Mg and the concentration will inherently be maximum at either “the interface on the substrate side,” i.e. adjacent to 34, or “in a direction away from the interface” as “a direction away from the interface” is a direction pointing across the remainder of the cladding layer. Therefore, if the maximum value is not at the interface, it must be in a direction of being away from the interface).
For claim 3, Sato teaches the p-type semiconductor layer includes an electron barrier layer including AlGaN (fig. 1 and 2, 34; [0024] and [0064]), and the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to have a maximum value on a surface in contact with the electron barrier layer (table 1 teaches a uniform doping of the cladding layer; Acceptor 3x10-19 cm-3 and the Mg concentration therefore has a uniform maximum concentration including on a surface in contact with the electron barrier). Note, if it is determined that the Mg concentration is not inherently uniform in the cladding layer, claim 3 is rejected in the alternative as being obvious of Sato in view of Takano.
For claim 5, Sato teaches the p-type semiconductor layer includes
an electron barrier layer including AlGaN (fig. 1 and 2, 34), and
an intermediate layer including AlGaN (fig. 1 and 2, 321) in order closer to the substrate having the (0001) plane as the lamination plane than to the cladding layer (fig. 1 and 2, 322), and
the Mg concentration in the cladding layer is formed such that either of maximal values in a direction away from the surface in contact with the intermediate layer or the interface on the substrate side makes a maximum value ([0021]; the cladding layer is doped with Mg and the concentration will inherently be maximum at either “the interface on the substrate side,” i.e. left end of 322 in fig. 2, or “in a direction away from the interface” as “a direction away from the interface” is a direction pointing across the remainder of the cladding layer. Therefore, if the maximum value is not at the interface, it must be in a direction of being away from the interface).
For claim 11, Sato teaches the substrate having the (0001) plane as the lamination plane includes any of aluminum nitride (AlN), gallium nitride (GaN), sapphire, or silicon carbide (SiC) ([0041]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0287354 (Sato) in view of US 2019/0067521 (Takano).
For claim 2, Sato does not teach the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to decrease from the maximum value or the maximal value as being away from the interface on the substrate side. However, Takano teaches the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to decrease from the maximum value or the maximal value as being away from the interface on the substrate side (fig. 1-2, 6) in order to curb deterioration while enhancing optical power ([0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Mg concentration of Takano with the invention of Sato in order to curb deterioration while enhancing optical power.
For claim 3, Sato teaches the p-type semiconductor layer includes an electron barrier layer including AlGaN (fig. 1 and 2, 34; [0024] and [0064]), and the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to have a maximum value on a surface in contact with the electron barrier layer (table 1 teaches a uniform doping of the cladding layer; Acceptor 3x10-19 cm-3 and the Mg concentration therefore has a uniform maximum concentration including on a surface in contact with the electron barrier). However, if it is determined that the Mg concentration is not inherently uniform in the cladding layer and Sato cannot be said to teach the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to have a maximum value on a surface in contact with the electron barrier layer, then Takano teaches a nitride semiconductor element where the Mg concentration of the cladding layer (fig. 1 and 4, 6) is formed to have a maximum value on a surface (fig. 4, top of 6) in contact (fig. 1 and 4, top of 6 is in electrical contact) with the electron barrier layer (fig. 1 and 4, 5) in order to curb deterioration while enhancing optical power ([0058]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Mg concentration of Takano with the invention of Sato in order to curb deterioration while enhancing optical power.
For claim 4, Sato and Takano are applied according to the rejection of claim 3 above. Takano further teaches the Mg concentration of the cladding layer (fig. 4) is formed to decrease from the maximum value formed on a surface in contact with the electron barrier layer (fig. 4, Mg has maximum concentration at the top surface which is in electrical contact with electron barrier 5) as being away from the interface on the substrate side (fig. 4, both the maximum the decrease in Mg concentration are away from the interface on the substrate side, e.g. the interface between ebl 5 and active element 3).
For claim 6, Sato does not teach the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is formed to decrease as being away from the surface in contact with the intermediate layer or decreased as being away from the interface on the substrate side from the maximal value. However, Takano teaches changes in the Mg concentration of the cladding layer is a results effective variable which curbs deterioration while enhancing optical power ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Mg doping of the cladding layer such that it decreases as being away from the surface in contact with the intermediate layer or decreased as being away from the interface on the substrate side from the maximal value in order to curb deterioration while enhancing optical power, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 7-8 are should also be written to overcome the claim objections.
Claims 9-10 are allowed but should be rewritten to overcome the claim objections.
Conclusion
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828