DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Ln 9, please amend to --to [[a]] the docking signal--.
Claim 8 Ln 3, please amend to --among the docking signals--.
Claim 20 Ln 2, please amend to --that the transmission times--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
-(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
-(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 8-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HONG SEUNG WOO KR 10-2011-0123975, hereinafter Hong.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) a mobile robot comprising:
a main body (111);
a communication unit configured to receive, from a server (100), docking signal information including identification information of a matching docking station (“charging and the charger closest to the current position of the mobile robot” Pg 3 [6]) to be docked with among a plurality of registered docking stations (101, 102; Pg 3 [5] states ‘The control server monitors the state of charge of the batter of the mobile robot’ which indicates that the mobile robot has some form of communication unit thereon);
a docking signal reception unit configured to receive a docking signal (“signal generated” Pg 5 [1]) transmitted from at least one of the plurality of docking stations (Pg 5 [1-2] states that (101/102) sends a signal that is recognized/received by (111) which indicates that the mobile robot has some form of reception unit thereon); and
a traveling unit (depicted wheels) configured to move the main body to the matching docking station according to a docking signal transmitted from the matching docking station (Pg 3 [7]).
Regarding claim 2, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the docking signal information further includes reference time information for synchronizing time information with the matching docking station, and docking signal transmission time information of the matching docking station (Pg 5 [1-2] discloses the robot approaching the docking station and a failure of receiving the docking signal, this indicates that the server has a ‘reference time’ or expected arrival time and a ‘docking signal transmission time’/’time to transmit docking signal’ or deviation amount from the expected arrival time, to re-initiate another docking attempt).
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the docking signal transmission time information includes information on a docking signal transmission order of the matching docking station among the plurality of registered docking stations, or information on a difference between the reference time information and a time to transmit the docking signal by the matching docking station (Pg 5 [1-2] discloses the robot approaching the docking station and a failure of receiving the docking signal, this indicates that the server has a ‘reference time’ or expected arrival time and a ‘docking signal transmission time’/’time to transmit docking signal’ or deviation amount from the expected arrival time, to re-initiate another docking attempt).
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the docking signal information received from the server is transmitted to the matching docking station in a state in which the mobile robot has docked with the matching docking station (Pg 3 [7]).
Regarding claim 5, Hong discloses (Fig. 2, 7) the mobile robot further comprising a power line communication unit (111a) configured to transmit the docking signal information to the matching docking station through a charging cable through which power for charging a battery is supplied from the matching docking station (Pg 4 [10] - Pg 5 [1]).
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the mobile robot further comprising a control unit configured to delete docking signals transmitted from docking stations other than the matching docking station among docking signals received through the docking signal reception unit and to control the mobile robot such that the mobile robot travels according to the docking signal transmitted from the matching docking station (as stated above regarding the communication unit and the receiving unit, at least Pg 3 [5-7] and Pg 5 [1-2] indicate that an electrical controller is present by which the communication and receiving units are considered components thereof; furthermore, as these robots are charged multiple times and Pg 3 [5-7] states the sending of current docking signal information/which charger to use for the immediate position/time, is indication that the controller ‘deletes’ or ‘overwrites’ the previous docking signals upon each charge cycle).
Regarding claim 9, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) a docking station (101, 102) comprising:
a charging terminal (101a) electrically connected to a terminal (111a) of a mobile robot (111);
a memory in which docking signal information including identification information assigned by a server is stored (Pg 5 [1-2] states that (101/102) sends a signal that is recognized/received by (111) which indicates that (101/102) has some form of memory thereon);
a charging unit configured to supply power to charge a battery of the mobile robot through a charging cable (Pg 4 [10] - Pg 5 [1] indicates that (101/102) charges (111) and thereby comprises a charging unit thereon); and
a signal transmission unit configured to output a docking signal according to the stored docking signal information (Pg 5 [1-2] states that (101/102) sends a signal that is recognized/received by (111) which indicates that (101/102) has some form of transmission unit thereon.
Regarding claim 10, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the docking signal information further includes reference time information for synchronizing time information with the mobile robot, and transmission time information of the docking signal (Pg 5 [1-2] discloses the robot approaching the docking station and a failure of receiving the docking signal, this indicates that the server has a ‘reference time’ or expected arrival time and a ‘docking signal transmission time’/’time to transmit docking signal’ or deviation amount from the expected arrival time, to re-initiate another docking attempt).
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the transmission time information of the docking signal includes information on an order in which the docking signal is transmitted among a plurality of docking stations registered in the server, or information on a difference between the reference time information and a time to transmit the docking signal (Pg 5 [1-2] discloses the robot approaching the docking station and a failure of receiving the docking signal, this indicates that the server has a ‘reference time’ or expected arrival time and a ‘docking signal transmission time’/’time to transmit docking signal’ or deviation amount from the expected arrival time, to re-initiate another docking attempt).
Regarding claim 12, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the docking station receives the docking signal information from the mobile robot in a state in which the mobile robot has docked (Pg 3 [7]).
Regarding claim 13, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the docking station further comprising a power line communication unit (101a) configured to receive the docking signal information through the charging cable (Pg 4 [10] - Pg 5 [1]).
Regarding claim 17, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the signal transmission unit periodically outputs the docking signal according to the stored docking signal information (Pg 5 [1-2] states that (101/102) sends a signal at least periodically).
Regarding claim 18, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) a robot system comprising:
a plurality of mobile robots (111, 112);
a plurality of docking stations (101, 102); and
a server (100) configured to assign identification information and docking signal transmission times to a plurality of registered docking stations and to transmit docking signal information including the identification information and the docking signal transmission times to the plurality of mobile robots corresponding to the plurality of docking stations (Pg 3 [6] discloses identification of robots and stations, Pg 5 [1-2] discloses the robot approaching the docking station and a failure of receiving the docking signal, this indicates that the server has a ‘reference time’ or expected arrival time and a ‘docking signal transmission time’/’time to transmit docking signal’ or deviation amount from the expected arrival time, to re-initiate another docking attempt).
Regarding claim 19, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the plurality of mobile robots transfers the docking signal information received from the server to docking stations with which the mobile robots have docked (Pg 3 [7]).
Regarding claim 20, Hong discloses (Fig. 2) the plurality of docking stations transmits docking signals such that transmission times do not overlap according to the received docking signal information (at least Pg 4 [9] indicates the sending of signals between the robots, stations and server such that robots do not use the same charger at the same time).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong, in view of MOGI MASATAKA JP 2019217199 A, hereinafter Mogi. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (robotic machines); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (automatic control of robotic machines). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 7, Hong discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 4 except fails to explicitly state that the mobile robot further comprising an IR light emitting unit configured to output an IR signal to transmit the docking signal information to the matching docking station.
Mogi discloses (Fig. 2-3) a mobile robot (2) comprising:
a main body (11); and
an IR light emitting unit (25) configured to output an IR signal to transmit the docking signal information to the matching docking station [0027, 0036].
Mogi further discloses the robot may comprise both wireless and infrared transmitting units for communication between the robot and the station [0051].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique (providing both wireless and infrared transmitting units) in the same way to the "base" device and the results (transmission of information between the robot and station) would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide both wireless and infrared transmitting units in the device of Hong to transmit information between the robot and station as taught by Mogi as the is a known technique amongst similar devices ready for improvement.
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 13 except fails to explicitly state that the docking station further comprising an IR light reception unit configured to receive an IR signal including the docking signal information.
Mogi discloses (Fig. 2-3) a docking station (3) comprising:
a charging terminal (41) electrically connected to a terminal of a mobile robot (2, [0047]); and
an IR light emitting unit (37) configured to output an IR signal to transmit the docking signal information to the matching docking station [0039, 0045].
Mogi further discloses the docking station may comprise both wireless and infrared transmitting units for communication between the robot and the station [0051].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique (providing both wireless and infrared transmitting units) in the same way to the "base" device and the results (transmission of information between the robot and station) would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide both wireless and infrared transmitting units in the device of Hong to transmit information between the robot and station as taught by Mogi as the is a known technique amongst similar devices ready for improvement.
Regarding claim 16, Hong discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1 except fails to explicitly state that the signal transmission unit includes an IR light emitting unit configured to output the docking signal.
Mogi discloses (Fig. 2-3) a docking station (3) comprising:
a charging terminal (41) electrically connected to a terminal of a mobile robot (2, [0047]); and
a signal transmission unit includes an IR light emitting unit (37) configured to output the docking signal [0039, 0045].
Mogi further discloses the docking station may comprise both wireless and infrared transmitting units for communication between the robot and the station [0051].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique (providing both wireless and infrared transmitting units) in the same way to the "base" device and the results (transmission of information between the robot and station) would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide both wireless and infrared transmitting units in the device of Hong to transmit information between the robot and station as taught by Mogi as the is a known technique amongst similar devices ready for improvement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Hong discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 5 except fails to explicitly state that the power line communication unit comprises: a transmission unit including a mixer for mixing a serial communication signal with a carrier signal to generate an on-off keying (OOK) modulated transmission signal, and a capacitor disposed between the mixer and the charging cable; and a reception unit including an operational amplifier (OP-AMP), an RC filter connected to a first terminal of the operational amplifier, an envelope detection unit connected to a second terminal of the operational amplifier, and a capacitor connected to the RC filter and the envelope detection unit.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim and specifically does not show the claimed power line communication unit. Although Hong discloses a mobile robot comprising powerline communication unit, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Hong to incorporate the details of the power line communication unit comprises: a transmission unit including a mixer for mixing a serial communication signal with a carrier signal to generate an on-off keying (OOK) modulated transmission signal, and a capacitor disposed between the mixer and the charging cable; and a reception unit including an operational amplifier (OP-AMP), an RC filter connected to a first terminal of the operational amplifier, an envelope detection unit connected to a second terminal of the operational amplifier, and a capacitor connected to the RC filter and the envelope detection unit, along with the other claimed components of the mobile robot. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, Hong discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 13 except fails to explicitly state that the power line communication unit comprises: a transmission unit including a mixer for mixing a serial communication signal with a carrier signal to generate an OOK modulated transmission signal, and a capacitor disposed between the mixer and the charging cable; and a reception unit including an operational amplifier (OP-AMP), an RC filter connected to a first terminal of the operational amplifier, an envelope detection unit connected to a second terminal of the operational amplifier, and a capacitor connected to the RC filter and the envelope detection unit.
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the claim and specifically does not show the claimed power line communication unit. Although Hong discloses a docking station comprising powerline communication unit, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Hong to incorporate the details of the power line communication unit comprises: a transmission unit including a mixer for mixing a serial communication signal with a carrier signal to generate an OOK modulated transmission signal, and a capacitor disposed between the mixer and the charging cable; and a reception unit including an operational amplifier (OP-AMP), an RC filter connected to a first terminal of the operational amplifier, an envelope detection unit connected to a second terminal of the operational amplifier, and a capacitor connected to the RC filter and the envelope detection unit, along with the other claimed components of the docking station. Therefore, when viewed as a whole and for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in the claim.
Relevant Art
The following is a listing of relevant art:
US 20200046193 A1, US 20200027336 A1, US 20200016571 A1 and US 20200012292 A1 disclose robot systems composing robots and docking stations.
Contact Information
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745