Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 2021-114851, filed on 12 July 2021 A.D.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 January 2024 and 26 August 2025 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are
“…first communication unit configured to perform…”
“…second communication unit configured to perform…”
in claims 1-9 and 10-13.
Also included claims limitations include
“…a storage unit configured to store…” in claim 9 and
“…a terminal display unit,…” in claims 12-13.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 describe the limitations of “…first communication unit configured to perform…” and “…second communication unit configured to perform…” while FIG. 2 describes the limitation “…a storage unit configured to store…”. On the other hand, paragraphs 0127 and 0134 of the specification describes the limitation of “…a terminal display unit…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka.
Claim 1
A communication apparatus, comprising:
a first communication unit (See Tanaka FIG. 4 [405] [WiFi communication unit]), configured to perform first communication using a first communication method;
(See Tanaka page 4 paragraph 2, The WiFi communication unit 405 converts the signal received from the WiFi antenna 404 into baseband, and outputs the converted signal to the reception signal processing unit 406.)
Shows First Communication method = Wi-Fi
a second communication unit (See Tanaka FIG. 4 [408] [LTE communication unit]) configured to perform second communication using a second communication method different from the first communication method; and
(See Tanaka page 4 paragraph 2, ...the LTE communication unit 408 converts the signal received from the LTE antenna 409 into baseband, and outputs the converted signal to the reception signal processing unit 410.)
Shows WiFi-AP supports communication in LTE network
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 5, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message.)
Shows the WiFi-AP supports communication in an EVDO network
Shows Second Communication method = LTE or EVDO or cellular
a controller (See Tanaka FIG. 4 [401] [control unit]) configured to control the first communication unit and the second communication unit,
(See Tanaka page 3 paragraph 10, The control unit 401 is a logical block for managing / controlling WiFi-AP from a communication carrier.)
Shows the control unit controls the WiFi-AP including the first and second communication units
wherein the controller performs the second communication via the second communication unit with
a terminal apparatus
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraph 4, (C) If it is determined that the EVDO terminal 501 and the WiFi-AP 503 support EAP-SIM authentication as a result of the Discovery process, the WiFi-AP 503 makes a request to the EVDO terminal 501 to perform EAP-SIM authentication. An EAP message (EAP-Request / Identity) that requests authentication start is transmitted.)
Shows the WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication to the terminal in the EVDO or second communication
supporting both the first communication method and the second communication method,
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 1, FIG. 5 shows a sequence diagram of authentication processing when a conventional EVDO terminal, that is, a WiFi terminal compatible with EAP-SIM connects to the LTE network.)
Shows the terminal supporting LTE communication
(See Tanka page 2 final paragraph , ...EVDO terminal 115 is a terminal device having a communication function between EVDO and WiFi and a switching function between them,...)
Shows the terminal supporting WiFi communication and EVDO communication
to acquire connection configuration information in the first communication method, and
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraphs 5-6, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message. (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request)...)
Shows the WiFi-AP performing authentication of the EVDO terminal using a WiFi or first communication method
the controller performs the first communication with a device other than the terminal apparatus via the first communication unit, using a configuration according to the connection configuration information.
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraphs 5-6, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message. (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request) and transfers it to the WiFi-AAA 509.)
Shows the WiFi-AP transmitting the EVDO authentication request as a RADIUS message in a WiFi network to a WiFi-AAA
Claim 5
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the connection configuration information is information determined according to an application program to be performed in the terminal apparatus.
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraph 5-6, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message.)
Claim 6
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller acquires second connection configuration information being a configuration in the second communication, based on the connection configuration information, and
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraph 8, (G) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Challenge) received from the WiFi-AAA 509 into an EAP message (EAP-Request / SIM / Start) and transfers it to the EVDO terminal 501.)
Shows the WiFi-AP receives a RADIUS-Access-Challenge message for the authentication of the EVDO terminal in the EVDO network based upon the authentication message of the EAP-Response / Identify message received in (D)
Claim 8
The communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the controller performs control of acquiring the second connection configuration information from the terminal apparatus using the second communication or determining the second connection configuration information based on the connection configuration information.
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraph 8, (G) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Challenge) received from the WiFi-AAA 509 into an EAP message (EAP-Request / SIM / Start) and transfers it to the EVDO terminal 501.)
Shows the WiFi-AP utilizing the converted EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity), the RADIUS message from the EVDO terminal or connection configuration information, to acquire and determine the RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Challenge) or second connection configuration information from the WiFi-AAA
Claim 9
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a storage unit (See Tanaka FIG. 4 [412] [routing unit] configured to store identification information for identifying the terminal apparatus and the connection configuration information in association with each other,
(See Tanaka page 8 paragraph 3, The WiFi-AP holds IP addresses to be allocated to WiFi terminals under the WiFi-AP as many as the number of WiFi terminals that can be accommodated by the WiFi-AP. The terminal information table is based on the judgment whether each IP address is assigned to the WiFi terminal or not assigned.)
Claim 14
A communication system comprising:
a communication apparatus configured to perform communication using a first communication method and a second communication method; and
(See Tanka page 4 paragraph 3, The WiFi communication unit 405 converts the signal received from the WiFi antenna 404 into baseband, and outputs the converted signal to the reception signal processing unit 406. The reception signal processing unit 406 demodulates the signal received from the WiFi communication unit 405, detects user data, and outputs the user data to the routing unit 412. On the other hand, the LTE communication unit 408 converts the signal received from the LTE antenna 409 into baseband, and outputs the converted signal to the reception signal processing unit 410.)
Shows the WiFi-AP supports communication in an WiFi and LTE network
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 5, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message.)
Shows the WiFi-AP supports communication in an EVDO network
Shows
First Communication method = WiFi
Second Communication method = LTE or EVDO or cellular
a terminal apparatus configured to perform communication using the first communication method and the second communication method, wherein
(See Tanka page 2 final paragraph, EVDO terminal 115 is a terminal device having a communication function between EVDO and WiFi and a switching function between them,...)
Shows the terminal using EVDO and WiFi communication
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 1, FIG. 5 shows a sequence diagram of authentication processing when a conventional EVDO terminal, that is, a WiFi terminal compatible with EAP-SIM connects to the LTE network.)
Shows the terminal may communicate with an LTE network
the communication apparatus performs second communication using the second communication method with the terminal apparatus not performing communication using the first communication method, to acquire connection configuration information in the first communication method, and
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 4, (C) If it is determined that the EVDO terminal 501 and the WiFi-AP 503 support EAP-SIM authentication as a result of the Discovery process, the WiFi-AP 503 makes a request to the EVDO terminal 501 to perform EAP-SIM authentication. An EAP message (EAP-Request / Identity) that requests authentication start is transmitted.)
Shows the WiF-AP transmits an authentication request message to the EVDO terminal in the EVDO network
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 6, (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request)...)
Shows the WiFi-AP converts the EVDO communication EAP message received from the EVDO terminal to a WiFi communication RADIUS message
the communication apparatus performs first communication using the first communication method with a device other than the terminal apparatus, using a configuration according to the connection configuration information.
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 6, (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request) and transfers it to the WiFi-AAA 509.)
Shows the WiFi-AP transmitting the converted EAP message received from the EVDO terminal as a WiFi RADIUS message to a WiFi-AAA
Claim 15
A communication control method in a communication apparatus configured
to perform first communication using a first communication method and second communication using a second communication method different from the first communication method,
(See Tanaka page 4 paragraph 2, The WiFi communication unit 405 converts the signal received from the WiFi antenna 404 into baseband, and outputs the converted signal to the reception signal processing unit 406.)
Shows First Communication method = Wi-Fi
(See Tanaka page 4 paragraph 2, ...the LTE communication unit 408 converts the signal received from the LTE antenna 409 into baseband, and outputs the converted signal to the reception signal processing unit 410.)
Shows WiFi-AP supports communication in LTE network
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 5, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message.)
Shows the WiFi-AP supports communication in an EVDO network
Shows Second Communication method = LTE or EVDO or cellular
the communication control method comprising:
performing the second communication using the second communication method with a terminal apparatus
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraph 4, (C) If it is determined that the EVDO terminal 501 and the WiFi-AP 503 support EAP-SIM authentication as a result of the Discovery process, the WiFi-AP 503 makes a request to the EVDO terminal 501 to perform EAP-SIM authentication. An EAP message (EAP-Request / Identity) that requests authentication start is transmitted.)
Shows the WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication to the terminal in the EVDO or second communication
supporting both the first communication method and the second communication method,
(See Tanka page 5 paragraph 1, FIG. 5 shows a sequence diagram of authentication processing when a conventional EVDO terminal, that is, a WiFi terminal compatible with EAP-SIM connects to the LTE network.)
Shows the terminal supporting LTE communication
(See Tanka page 2 final paragraph , ...EVDO terminal 115 is a terminal device having a communication function between EVDO and WiFi and a switching function between them,...)
Shows the terminal supporting WiFi communication and EVDO communication
to acquire connection configuration information in the first communication method; and
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraphs 5-6, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message. (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request)...)
Shows the WiFi-AP performing authentication of the EVDO terminal using a WiFi or first communication method
performing the first communication with a device other than the terminal apparatus, using a configuration according to the connection configuration information.
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraphs 5-6, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message. (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request) and transfers it to the WiFi-AAA 509.)
Shows the WiFi-AP transmitting the EVDO authentication request as a RADIUS message in a WiFi network to a WiFi-AAA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Babu et al. (US 20210410205 A1) or Babu.
Claim 2
Tanaka fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. However, Babu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The communication apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first communication method is a radio communication method used in a 5G System (SGS).
(See Babu paragraph 0094, When attached to a 5G cell (e.g., an anchor cell or a secondary cell), in 802, the wireless device may display an icon indicating 5G availability.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the WiFi Access Point or WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication for a terminal, supporting both a cellular and WiFi communication, in a EVDO network, receiving a response message from the terminal, and transmitting a RADIUS message for authenticating the terminal in a WiFi as disclosed by Tanaka with the cellular communication consisting of a 5G network as disclosed by Babu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the throughput of the cellular communication by leveraging the throughput capabilities of 5G).
Claim 3
Tanaka fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Babu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the connection configuration information is information for determining a network slice in network slicing of the SGS or information for determining Quality of Service (QoS).
(See Babu paragraph 0103, ...establishing a radio resource control (RRC) connection that includes connectivity with a fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) millimeter wave (mmW) cell; determining to display an indication of 5G NR mmW cell availability based at least in part on the RRC connection that includes connectivity with a 5G NR mmW cell; determining location status information for the wireless device; determining motion status information for the wireless device;...)
Shows the connection configuration information of displaying the 5G NR mmW cell availability or Quality of Service or QoS information
The motivation to combine Tanaka and Babu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Nithiyanantham et al. (US 20200260370 A1) or Nithiyanantham.
Claim 4
Tanaka fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 4. However, Nithiyanantham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The communication apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the controller performs control of determining a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to be used in the first communication, based on the connection configuration information.
(See Nithiyanantham paragraph 0037, For an NSA deployment architecture, the anchor PGW should be Dual Connectivity via New Radio (DCNR) capable so that on a successful handoff within 4G RAN or from WiFi to 4G handoff the UE Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session continues to get the NSA 5G services.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the WiFi Access Point or WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication for a terminal, supporting both a cellular and WiFi communication, in a EVDO network, receiving a response message from the terminal, and transmitting a RADIUS message for authenticating the terminal in a WiFi as disclosed by Tanaka with the determining a Protocol Data Unit or PDU session in the WiFi communication based on connection configuration information as disclosed by Nithiyanantham to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to decrease the time required to establish a connection using the first communication method of WiFi).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Youtz et al. (US 20210314818 A1) or Youtz.
Claim 7
Tanaka fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Youtz, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The communication apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the second connection configuration information is information for determining Quality of Service (QoS) or a communication band in the second communication.
(See Youtz paragraph 0031, As shown in FIG. 1I, and by reference number 146, UE 105 may establish or terminate a Wi-Fi connection with Wi-Fi network 120 based on determining whether the Wi-Fi latency data and Wi-Fi throughput data are better than the RAN latency data and RAN throughput data.)
Shows the quality of service for both the RAN with latency and throughput and the quality of service for the Wi-Fi connection with latency and throughput
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the WiFi Access Point or WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication for a terminal, supporting both a cellular and WiFi communication, in a EVDO network, receiving a response message from the terminal, and transmitting a RADIUS message for authenticating the terminal in a WiFi as disclosed by Tanaka with the second connection configuration determining the Quality of Service or QoS for a WiFi connection with the WiFi latency and throughput as disclosed by Youtz to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to accurately determine to switch from utilizing a cellular communication to a WiFi communication and vice versa).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Li et al. (CN 110224709 A) or Li.
Claim 10
Tanaka teaches,
…in a state in which the first communication using the first terminal communication unit is not performed,
the terminal controller transmits connection configuration information to be used
in a case that the communication apparatus performs the first communication with another apparatus to the communication apparatus via the second terminal communication unit.
(See Tanaka page 5 paragraphs 5-6, (D) In response to the authentication start request from the WiFi-AP 503, the EVDO terminal 501 returns an EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) including an IMSI (International Mobile Subscriber Identity) to the WiFi-AP 503 as an authentication message. (E) The WiFi-AP 503 converts the EAP message (EAP-Response / Identity) received from the EVDO terminal 501 into a RADIUS message (RADIUS-Access-Request) and transfers it to the WiFi-AAA 509.)
Shows the EVDO terminal utilizes cellular or EVDO communication with the WiFi-AP and not WiFi communication
Shows the EVDO transmits authentication information to the WiFi-AP with EVDO communication
Shows the WiFi-AP converts the EVDO EAP message to a WiFi RADIUS message and the WiFi-AP transmits the RADIUS message to a WiFi-AAA
However, Tanaka fails to explicitly teach,
A terminal apparatus comprising: a first terminal communication unit configured to perform first communication using a first communication method;
a second terminal communication unit configured to perform second communication with a communication apparatus, using a second communication method different from the first communication method; and
a terminal controller configured to control the first terminal communication unit and the second terminal communication unit, wherein…
Nevertheless, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
A terminal apparatus comprising:
a first terminal communication unit (See Li FIG. 3 [1011][first WiFi antenna]) configured to perform first communication using a first communication method;
(See Li page 12 paragraph 4, ...first WIFI antenna 1011, with the processor 110 connected by the first connecting channel, for transmitting WIFI 5G signal;)
a second terminal communication unit (See Li FIG. 3 [1013][antenna interface]) configured to perform second communication with a communication apparatus, using a second communication method different from the first communication method; and
(See Li page 12 paragraph 6, ...interface antenna 1013, with the processor 110 connected through the third connection channel, 5 G NR signal for transmission;)
a terminal controller (See Li FIG. 3 [110][processor]) configured to control the first terminal communication unit and the second terminal communication unit, wherein
(See Li page 11 paragraph 6, ...processor 110 is a control center of the terminal, using various interfaces and circuit is connected with each part of the whole terminal,...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the WiFi Access Point or WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication for a terminal, supporting both a cellular and WiFi communication, in a EVDO network, receiving a response message from the terminal, and transmitting a RADIUS message for authenticating the terminal in a WiFi as disclosed by Tanaka with the explicit teaching of a compiling a terminal with a first and second communication unit consisting of the first communication for WiFi and the second communication for cellular as disclosed by Li to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of hardware needed to perform transmission of a WiFi communication and cellular communication).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Li et al. (CN 110224709 A) or Li in further view of Gonzalez et al. (US 20170347278 A1) or Gonzalez.
Claim 11
Tanaka teaches,
...the communication apparatus.
(See Tanaka page 3 paragraph 10, FIG. 4 shows a block diagram of a conventional WiFi-AP configuration.)
However, Tanaka fails to explicitly teach,
The terminal apparatus according to claim 10, wherein
the second terminal communication unit transmits an acquisition request for network information to the communication apparatus,
in response to the acquisition request, the second terminal communication unit acquires information for identifying whether or not a communication method of the communication apparatus on a Wide Area Network (WAN) side is the first communication method, as the network information, and in a case that the network information is information indicating the first communication method, the second terminal communication unit transmits the connection configuration information to...
Nevertheless, Gonzalez, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The terminal apparatus according to claim 10, wherein
the second terminal communication unit transmits an acquisition request for network information to the communication apparatus,
(See Gonzalez paragraph 0110, ...the UE 402 may communicate requested profile information to the provisioning server 406 using a non-cellular protocol, e.g. directly or through one or more intermediate networks.)
in response to the acquisition request, the second terminal communication unit acquires information for identifying whether or not a communication method of the communication apparatus on a Wide Area Network (WAN) side is the first communication method, as the network information, and
(See Gonzalez paragraph 0120, Once the UE 402 has received the approved profile information in the communication 426, the UE 402 may initiate an attach procedure to establish a cellular connection with the cellular wireless network.)
Shows the UE receives permission to communicate in a cellular connection or Wide Area Network or WAN connection
in a case that the network information is information indicating the first communication method, the second terminal communication unit transmits the connection configuration information to... (See Gonzalez paragraph 0120, ...the UE 402 may initiate the attach procedure by transmitting a connection initiation request 440 (e.g., a MSG1) to the BS 404.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the WiFi Access Point or WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication for a terminal, supporting both a cellular and WiFi communication, in a EVDO network, receiving a response message from the terminal, and transmitting a RADIUS message for authenticating the terminal in a WiFi as disclosed by Tanaka with a terminal transmitting a request for authentication using a non-cellular communication, receiving approval to communicate in a cellular network, and transmitting an attach procedure to a base station as disclosed by Gonzalez to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the availability of terminal to utilize a cellular connection).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Li et al. (CN 110224709 A) or Li in further view of Huang et al. (CN 103077001 B) or Huang in further view of Babu et al. (US 20210410205 A1) or Babu.
Claim 12
Tanaka fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. However, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The terminal apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising a terminal display unit, wherein the terminal controller performs control of displaying, in the terminal display unit, an object including information indicating a state of the second communication and…
(See Huang page 2 paragraph 7, monitoring unit for starting wireless display Wi-Fi Display connection status of monitoring the Wi-Fi Display notice;)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the WiFi Access Point or WiFi-AP transmitting a request for authentication for a terminal, supporting both a cellular and WiFi communication, in a EVDO network, receiving a response message from the terminal, and transmitting a RADIUS message for authenticating the terminal in a WiFi as disclosed by Tanaka with a displaying of a WiFi connection status in a terminal as disclosed by Huang to increase the user experience of the system (i.e. to increase the user’s knowledge of the quality of service received by the WiFi connection status).
Babu teaches,
…information indicating the communication method of the communication apparatus on the WAN side indicated by the network information.
(See Babu paragraph 0075, In 504, the wireless device may determine whether to display an indicator of millimeter wave cellular availability, e.g., on a display of the wireless device. The indicator could include an icon, or any of various other possible visual indicators...)
Shows the indication of the communication method of millimeter wave cellular availability
(See Babu paragraph 0074, ...it may be possible that the wireless device can determine the cell centroid and perimeter locations for the 5G NR mmW cell (e.g., from aggregated information from multiple mmW capable devices), and can determine whether the wireless device is within the coverage area of the mmW cell based on such information as well as GPS (or other GNSS) based location information for the wireless device.)
Shows the wireless device determining network information to indicate millimeter wave cellular availability
The motivation to combine Tanaka and Babu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
The motivation to combine Tanaka and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (JP 2015039107 A) or Tanaka in view of Li et al. (CN 110224709 A) or Li in further view of Babu et al. (US 20210410205 A1) or Babu.
Claim 13
Tanaka fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13. However, Babu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The terminal apparatus according to claim 12, wherein
the first communication method is a radio communication method used in a SG System
(SGS),
(See Babu paragraph 0085, FIG. 7 illustrates aspects of such a further possible algorithm for a wireless device with a 5G wireless link to determine when to display an icon indicating 5G mmW communication availability.)
…acquires information for determining a network slice in network
slicing of the SGS or information for determining Quality of Service (QoS), as the information of the communication apparatus on the WAN side...
(See Babu paragraph 0086, In 706, the wireless device may determine various information to use in determining when to remove the icon indicating 5G mmW availability. This information may include a hysteresis timer 708, motion state information 710, and/or location information 712 for the wireless device.)
Shows determining the 5G mmV availability or quality of service or QoS in a 5G network or WAN side
...the terminal controller performs control of displaying an object including information indicating the network slice or the QoS in the terminal display unit.
(See Babu paragraph 0086, In 714, the wireless device may determine whether to remove the icon indicating 5G mmW availability, e.g., based on the determined information. Once it is determined to remove the icon indicating 5G mmW availability, the wireless device may return to step 702, and may display an icon indicating 5G availability (e.g., and cease displaying an icon indicating 5G mmW availability).)
Shows the wireless device removes 5G mmV availability or QoS icon
The motivation to combine Tanaka and Babu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the terminal controller (See Li FIG. 3 [110][processor])…
...via the second terminal communication unit (See Li FIG. 3 [1011][first WiFi antenna]), and...
The motivation to combine Tanaka and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao (US 20230239393 A1) teaches display a network indication icon based upon cellular connection of the terminal device. If the terminal device utilizes a 5G connection, a 5G icon will be displayed. If the terminal devices utilizes a 4G connection, a 4G icon will be displayed.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414