DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are pending in application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “[…] configured to operate […]” in claim 10, line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the gas transmitting member " in line 2 of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears Applicant is referring to “a gas permeable member,” however; it is not clear whether or not an additional element is being recited aside from the gas permeable member. For the purposes of examination, the gas transmitting member has been considered to be the gas permeable member.
Regarding claim 2, the term “near” in line 2 of claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the distance between the recited first layer of the electrically conductive member to the metal member is rendered indefinite.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "element portions" in line 2 of claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “element portions” is referring back to a previously recited element in claim 1 or 7 or if a new element is being claimed.
Regarding claim 10, claim limitation “[…] configured to operate the module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The “auxiliary device” is disclosed in para. [0077] – [0079] of the specification; however, the disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 2-10 which depend on claim 1, claim 3 which depends alternately on claim 2, and claims 9-10 which depend alternately on claim 8 are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuo (US PG Pub 2002/0187379 A1) as evidenced by “SUS304 Stainless Steel Material Properties, Chemical Composition, Meaning” and “AISI 316 Stainless Steel Properties, SS 316 Grade Density, Composition, Yield Strength, Thermal Conductivity” – Datasheets by The World Material as well as “Thermodynamic data NiO” – Datasheet by Japan Atomic Energy Agency.
Regarding claim 1, Yasuo discloses an electrochemical cell (fuel cell, title) comprising a gas permeable member through which a reducing gas is permeable (anode, para. [0042], ref. 22, Fig. 1), the gas transmitting member having electrical conductivity. Protons and electrons are generated in the fuel cell anode from hydrogen (para. [0047]) and therefore electrons must flow from the anode the fuel cell. Yasuo further discloses a metal member containing SUS 304 or SUS 316 stainless steel (substrate, para. [0051], ref. 31, Fig. 2) which contains chromium (Datasheets – The World Material). Yasuo also describes an electrically conductive member (conductive and intermediate layers, para. [0046], ref. 32 - 33, Fig. 3) interposed between the anode and the substrate which comprises a porous structure composed of metal particles (para. [0057] – [0058]). Furthermore, the conductive member may contain a first element, Ni in the metal layer (para. [0053], ref. 321, Fig. 3) whose first ionization energy and free energy of formation of an oxide per mole of oxygen is smaller (in absolute value) than that of chromium according to the thermodynamic database referred to in para. [0029] of the specification of the instant application (Datasheet - Japan Atomic Energy Agency). The values can be calculated as seen below:
4 Cr + 3 O2
→
2 Cr2O3 (Gibbs energy [=] J/mol = -1.16 X 106 (298 K) to -1.72 X 106 (2500 K))
Gibbs energy Cr2O3 per mole of O2- [=] J/mol = -3.87 x 105 (298 K) to -5.73 X 105 (2500 K)
Ni + O2
→
2NiO (Gibbs energy [=] J/mol = -2.5 X 105 (298 K) to -5.06 X 105 (2500 K))
Regarding claim 2, Yasuo discloses a first layer (conductive layer, (para. [0046], ref. 33, Fig. 3) near the metal member (substrate, (para. [0051], ref. 31, Fig. 2)) and contains the first element (Ni, (para. [0058])).
Regarding claim 3, the metal particles contain nickel (para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 7, the electrochemical device comprises a cell stack with an interposing separator between adjacent elements (para. [0113], ref. 24, Fig. 6)).
Regarding claim 8, the metal member (substrate, (para. [0051], ref. 31, Fig. 2)) serves as an interconnector electrically connecting adjacent element portions via the separator (para. [0113]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US PG Pub 2014/0377683 A1) in view of Narendar (US PG Pub 2009/0186249 A1) and further in view of Higashino (US PG Pub 2017/0098841 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches an electrochemical cell (solid oxide fuel cell, (title)) with a gas permeable member (porous conductive supporting body, (para. [0043] – [0050], ref. 1, Fig. 3A)) which is permeable to reducing gas which flows through the fuel gas passages (ref. 2, Fig. 3A). Inoue also teaches an interconnecting member (ref. 8, Fig. 3A) which is connected to the supporting body and an electrically conductive member (adhesion layer, (para. [0052] – [0057], ref. 7, Fig. 3A)) interposed between the interconnecting member and porous conductive supporting body. The adhesion layer is composed of the same material as the fuel electrode (para. [0052], ref. 3, Fig. 3A) and is therefore a porous, electrically conductive ceramic structure containing ZrO2 or CeO2 (para. [0023]). Zr and Ce are considered to be first elements whose first ionization energy and free energy of formation of an oxide per mole of oxygen are smaller than those of chromium according to the examples listed in para. [0029], Lines 18-20 of the specification of the instant application. The interconnector (ref. 8, Fig. 3A) is formed of conductive ceramics and is required to have both reduction and oxidation resistance (para. [0054]).
However, Inoue does not teach that the interconnecting member is a metal member containing chromium.
Narendar teaches an interconnect for a solid oxide fuel cell (SOFC) (abstract) which includes a first layer (para. [0024], ref. 36, Fig. 2) comprised of a metal (including Cr-based alloys) and a second layer (ref. 38, Fig. 2) including a doped M-titanate. Furthermore, Narendar teaches that metal interconnectors are known in the art to have a compatible coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) with solid oxide fuel cells and good electrical conductivity (para. [0003]-[0010]) and that M-titanates can function as effective oxidation barriers to extend the life of SOFC’s (para. [0010)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the two layered interconnect taught by Narendar which contains a metal member for the interconnecting member of Inoue with the predictable result of having both reduction and oxidation resistance while in contact with fuel gas and gas containing oxygen while also having good electrical conductivity (MPEP 2143 I. B.).
Inoue also fails to teach that the adhesion layer (ref. 7, Fig. 3A) contains metal particles.
Higashino teaches a porous electrically conductive member (abstract, ref. 9, Fig. 1) which also serves as the current collector. The conductive member is made of a porous metal network (para. [0070] – [0073]) containing nickel catalyst particles (para. [0093], ref. 21, Fig. 3) capable of generating protons from hydrogen gas. Furthermore, Higashino teaches that the presence of a catalyst on the current conducting member complements the proton generating function of the fuel electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the nickel catalyst particles taught by Higashino on the surface of the metal member taught by Narendar to improve catalytic function.
Regarding claim 2, Inoue teaches an electrically conductive member comprising a first layer located near the metal member (the adhesion layer) (ref. 7, Fig. 3A) and containing the first element (Zr, or Ce) (para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Higashino teaches the metal particles containing nickel (para. [0093], ref. 21, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue teaches the adhesion layer (ref. 7, Fig. 3A) being an electrically conductive ceramic structure with the first element being Ce (para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Inoue and Narendar teaches an interconnect containing a second layer (Narendar para. [0038], ref. 38, Fig. 2) which includes a doped M-titanate (titanium oxide). The second layer is considered a part of the electrically conductive member of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Inoue and Narendar teaches a metal member comprising a base member (second layer of Narendar, para. [0038], ref. 38, Fig. 2) facing the electrically conductive member (adhesion layer of Inoue, (para. [0052] – [0057], ref. 7, Fig. 3A) and a coating layer (first layer of Narendar, ref. 36, Fig. 2) exposed to an oxidizing atmosphere (para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Inoue teaches a fuel cell stack device comprising a plurality of cells (para. [0067] – [0070], ref. 11, Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Inoue and Narendar teach an interconnector in said fuel cell stack device electrically connecting adjacent element portions. Inoue teaches an interconnector between adjacent fuel cells electrically connecting them (ref. 8, Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue teaches a module comprising said fuel cell stack device (para. [0071] – [0075], ref. 18, Fig. 5) and a storage container housing the fuel cell stack device (ref. 19, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Inoue teaches a module housing device (para. [0076] – [0082], ref. 23, Fig. 6) comprising the module of claim 9 (ref. 18, Fig. 6), an auxiliary device configured to operate the module (para. [0077]) and an external case housing the module and auxiliary device, including outer boards (ref. 25, Fig. 6) and supporting columns (ref. 24, Fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Ruka (US Patent 5,908,713) discloses a solid oxide fuel cell with a layered fuel cell electrode.
/N.A.M/
Nathan A McMullen
Examiner, Art Unit 1788
07/20/2026
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788