DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 2022/0094982 A1) (“Iguchi I”) in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2023/0145001 A1) (“Iguchi II”).
Consider claim 1, Iguchi I teaches a method comprising: encoding geometry data of point cloud data into a first segmented slice based on a layer group and a subgroup in the layer group (FIG. 74 is a flowchart of a format transforming process. First, the three-dimensional data encoding device starts a format transform of encoded data (S8811). The three-dimensional data encoding device then stores one slice including a plurality of layers in one sample (S8812). The three-dimensional data encoding device also stores layer information in metadata (S8813). The three-dimensional data encoding device forms a frame (access unit: AU) (S8814). [0509] – [0513], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]); encoding attribute data of the point cloud data into a second segmented slice based on the layer group and the subgroup (FIG. 74 is a flowchart of a format transforming process. First, the three-dimensional data encoding device starts a format transform of encoded data (S8811). The three-dimensional data encoding device then stores one slice including a plurality of layers in one sample (S8812). The three-dimensional data encoding device also stores layer information in metadata (S8813). The three-dimensional data encoding device forms a frame (access unit: AU) (S8814). [0509] – [0513], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]), wherein the layer group is a group of layers in a tree ([0206] – [0207], [0214] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]), and the subgroup is a subset of the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76); wherein the first segmented slice is mapped to a geometry of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), and the second segmented slice is mapped to an attribute of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), wherein the encoded geometry data and the encoded attribute data are included in a bitstream ([0499], Fig. 68 – Fig. 69), and the second information related to an indicator of a parent subgroup related to a parent-child subgroup relationship ([0530] – [0535] and Fig. 82-84).
However, Iguchi I does not explicitly teach wherein the bitstream further includes first information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference.
Iguchi II teaches the bitstream further includes first information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference ([0723] – [0738]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 2, Iguchi I teaches the encoding geometry data of the point cloud data comprises: generating the tree of the point cloud data ([0206] – [0207], [0214] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]); and grouping the layers of the tree into the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], [0530] – [0538], Fig. 73, Fig. 76, Fig. 82-84).
Consider claim 3, Iguchi II teaches the encoding geometry data of the point cloud data further comprises: encoding the point cloud data based on context information ([0244] – [0256], [0531] – [0539], Fig. 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 4, Iguchi II teaches the encoding of geometry data the point cloud data further comprises: based on the context information about a first group, encoding a second group ([0531] – [0539], [0595] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 68); and storing context information about the second group ([0531] – [0539], [0595] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 5, Iguchi II teaches the first group contains point cloud data belonging to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 6, Iguchi I teaches the bitstream further includes third information specifying the first segmented slice is dependent to another slice ([0377] – [0387], Fig. 34 – Fig. 36).
Consider claim 7, Iguchi I teaches the second information is related to an identifier of a group referenced by the second group ([0530] – [0535] and Fig. 82-84).
Consider claim 8, Iguchi II teaches the first information is related to an identifier of a group having a context referenced by the second group ([0723] – [0738]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 9, Iguchi II teaches the first information is related to information identifying a group corresponding to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], [0723] – [0738], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 10, claim 10 recites the device comprising: a memory ([0149] of Iguchi I); and at least one processor connected to the memory ([0149] of Iguchi I), the at least one processor configured to perform the method recited in claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
Consider claim 11, Iguchi I teaches a method of receiving point cloud data, the method comprising: decoding geometry data of point cloud data in a first segmented slice based on a layer group and a subgroup in a bitstream (FIG. 70 is a diagram showing an example configuration of a three-dimensional data decoding device. The three-dimensional data decoding device includes file inverse transformer 8811 and decoder 8812. File inverse transformer 8811 transforms a file format into a bitstream including encoded data and control information. Decoder 8812 generates point cloud data by decoding the bitstream. [0500], [0514] – [0518], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]); decoding attribute data of the point cloud data in a second segmented slice based on the layer group and the subgroup in the bitstream (FIG. 70 is a diagram showing an example configuration of a three-dimensional data decoding device. The three-dimensional data decoding device includes file inverse transformer 8811 and decoder 8812. File inverse transformer 8811 transforms a file format into a bitstream including encoded data and control information. Decoder 8812 generates point cloud data by decoding the bitstream. [0500], [0514] – [0518], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]), wherein the layer group is a group of layers in a tree structure ([0206] – [0207], [0214] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]), and the subgroup is a subset of the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76); wherein the first segmented slice is mapped to a geometry of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), and the second segmented slice is mapped to an attribute of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), wherein the encoded geometry data and the encoded attribute data are included in a bitstream ([0499], Fig. 68 – Fig. 69), and the second information related to an indicator of a parent subgroup related to a parent-child subgroup relationship ([0530] – [0535] and Fig. 82-84).
However, Iguchi I does not explicitly teach wherein the bitstream further includes first information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference.
Iguchi II teaches the bitstream further includes first information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference ([0723] – [0738]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 12, Iguchi I teaches the decoding geometry data of the point cloud data comprises: generating the tree of the point cloud data ([0206] – [0207], [0211] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]); and grouping the layers of the tree into the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], [0530] – [0538], Fig. 73, Fig. 76, Fig. 82-84).
Consider claim 13, Iguchi II teaches the decoding of the point cloud data further comprises: decoding the grouped point cloud data based on context information ([0261] – [0272], [0559] – [0568], Fig. 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 14, Iguchi II teaches the decoding of the point cloud data comprises: based on the context information about a first group, decoding a second group ([0559] – [0568], [0587] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 62, Fig. 68); and storing context information about the second group ([0559] – [0568], [0587] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 62, Fig. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 15, Iguchi II teaches the first group contains point cloud data belonging to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 16, Iguchi I teaches the bitstream further includes third information specifying the first segmented slice is dependent to another slice ([0377] – [0387], Fig. 34 – Fig. 36).
Consider claim 17, Iguchi I teaches the second information is related to an identifier of a group referenced by the second group ([0530] – [0535] and Fig. 82-84).
Consider claim 18, Iguchi II teaches the first information is related to an identifier of a group having a context referenced by the second group ([0723] – [0738]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 19, Iguchi II teaches the first information is related to information identifying a group corresponding to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], [0723] – [0738], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 20, claim 20 recites a device comprising: a memory ([0151] of Iguchi I); and at least one processor connected to the memory ([0149]), the at least one processor configured to perform the method recited in claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486