DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Iguchi I and Iguchi II does not explicitly teach third information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Iguchi II teaches If entropy_continue_enable in the SPS is valid, (i.e., if entropy_continue_enable indicates the presence of the function of continuing the context), the header (DevidedGeometryHeader) of the divided geometry information indicates the flag geom_du_entropy_continue_flag. This flag indicates whether the data unit including this divided geometry information is encoded by continuously using the context used for encoding the previous data unit preceding that data unit. The header (DevidedGeometryHeader) of the divided geometry information thus includes the flag geom_du_entropy_continue_flag. Further, if geom_du_entropy_continue_flag is valid, the header (DevidedGeometryHeader) of the divided geometry information indicates the slice ID (slice2_id) to which the previous data unit belongs. The header (DevidedGeometryHeader) of the divided geometry information thus includes the slice ID (slice2_id). The flag geom_du_entropy_continue_flag is an example of first identification information.
As illustrated in FIG. 80, the header (DevidedAttributeHeader) of the divided attribute information includes: the identifier (aps_id) of the APS (attribute information parameter set) referred to by the data unit including this divided attribute information; the number (attr_index) of this attribute information in the order of the attribute information items described in the SPS; and the slice ID (geom_slice_id) of the geometry information corresponding to this attribute information.
If entropy_continue_enable in the SPS is valid (i.e., if entropy_continue_enable indicates the presence of the function of continuing the context), the header (DevidedAttributeHeader) of the divided attribute information shows the flag attr_du_entropy_continue_flag. This flag indicates whether the data unit including this divided attribute information is encoded by continuously using the context used for encoding the previous data unit preceding that data unit. The header (DevidedAttributeHeader) of the divided attribute information thus includes the flag attr_du_entropy_continue_flag. Further, if attr_du_entropy_continue_flag is valid, the header (DevidedAttributeHeader) of the divided attribute information shows the slice ID (slice2_id) to which the previous data unit belongs. The header (DevidedAttributeHeader) of the divided attribute information thus includes the slice ID (slice2_id). The flag geom_du_entropy_continue_flag is an example of the first identification information. [0709] – [0713]; see also [0723] – [0738]
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 2022/0094982 A1) (“Iguchi I”) in view of Iguchi et al. (US 2023/0145001 A1) (“Iguchi II”) and Takahashi et al. (US 2022/0312035 A1).
Consider claim 1, Iguchi I teaches a method comprising: encoding geometry data of point cloud data into a first segmented slice based on a layer group and a subgroup in the layer group (FIG. 74 is a flowchart of a format transforming process. First, the three-dimensional data encoding device starts a format transform of encoded data (S8811). The three-dimensional data encoding device then stores one slice including a plurality of layers in one sample (S8812). The three-dimensional data encoding device also stores layer information in metadata (S8813). The three-dimensional data encoding device forms a frame (access unit: AU) (S8814). [0509] – [0513], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]); encoding attribute data of the point cloud data into a second segmented slice based on the layer group and the subgroup (FIG. 74 is a flowchart of a format transforming process. First, the three-dimensional data encoding device starts a format transform of encoded data (S8811). The three-dimensional data encoding device then stores one slice including a plurality of layers in one sample (S8812). The three-dimensional data encoding device also stores layer information in metadata (S8813). The three-dimensional data encoding device forms a frame (access unit: AU) (S8814). [0509] – [0513], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]), wherein the layer group is a group of layers in a tree ([0206] – [0207], [0214] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]), and the subgroup is a subset of the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76); wherein the first segmented slice is mapped to a geometry of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), and the second segmented slice is mapped to an attribute of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), wherein the encoded geometry data and the encoded attribute data are included in a bitstream ([0499], Fig. 68 – Fig. 69), and the second information related to an indicator of a parent subgroup related to a parent-child subgroup relationship ([0530] – [0535] and Fig. 82-84).
However, Iguchi I does not explicitly teach the bitstream includes first information specifying a layer group identifier of the geometry, second information specifying a subgroup identifier of the geometry, and third information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry.
Iguchi II teaches third information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry ([0709] – [0713]; [0723] – [0738]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Takahashi teaches the bitstream includes first information specifying a layer group identifier of the geometry, second information specifying a subgroup identifier of the geometry (unit index is considered as first information and subs_entry is considered as second information. [0197] and Fig. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information specifying a layer group identifier of the geometry and information for specifying a subgroup identifier of the geometry because such incorporation would provide a viewing experience that meets the viewer’s requests. [0007] – [0008].
Consider claim 2, Iguchi I teaches the encoding geometry data of the point cloud data comprises: generating the tree of the point cloud data ([0206] – [0207], [0214] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]); and grouping the layers of the tree into the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], [0530] – [0538], Fig. 73, Fig. 76, Fig. 82-84).
Consider claim 3, Iguchi II teaches the encoding geometry data of the point cloud data further comprises: encoding the point cloud data based on context information ([0244] – [0256], [0531] – [0539], Fig. 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 4, Iguchi II teaches the encoding of geometry data the point cloud data further comprises: based on the context information about a first group, encoding a second group ([0531] – [0539], [0595] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 68); and storing context information about the second group ([0531] – [0539], [0595] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 5, Iguchi II teaches the first group contains point cloud data belonging to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 6, Iguchi I teaches the bitstream further includes fourth information specifying the first segmented slice is dependent to another slice ([0377] – [0387], Fig. 34 – Fig. 36).
Consider claim 9, Iguchi II teaches the first information is related to information identifying a group corresponding to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], [0723] – [0738], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 10, claim 10 recites the device comprising: a memory ([0149] of Iguchi I); and at least one processor connected to the memory ([0149] of Iguchi I), the at least one processor configured to perform the method recited in claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
Consider claim 11, Iguchi I teaches a method of receiving point cloud data, the method comprising: decoding geometry data of point cloud data in a first segmented slice based on a layer group and a subgroup in a bitstream (FIG. 70 is a diagram showing an example configuration of a three-dimensional data decoding device. The three-dimensional data decoding device includes file inverse transformer 8811 and decoder 8812. File inverse transformer 8811 transforms a file format into a bitstream including encoded data and control information. Decoder 8812 generates point cloud data by decoding the bitstream. [0500], [0514] – [0518], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]); decoding attribute data of the point cloud data in a second segmented slice based on the layer group and the subgroup in the bitstream (FIG. 70 is a diagram showing an example configuration of a three-dimensional data decoding device. The three-dimensional data decoding device includes file inverse transformer 8811 and decoder 8812. File inverse transformer 8811 transforms a file format into a bitstream including encoded data and control information. Decoder 8812 generates point cloud data by decoding the bitstream. [0500], [0514] – [0518], [0519] – [0522], [0530] – [0538]), wherein the layer group is a group of layers in a tree structure ([0206] – [0207], [0214] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]), and the subgroup is a subset of the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76); wherein the first segmented slice is mapped to a geometry of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), and the second segmented slice is mapped to an attribute of the subgroup in the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], Fig. 73, and Fig. 76), wherein the encoded geometry data and the encoded attribute data are included in a bitstream ([0499], Fig. 68 – Fig. 69), and the second information related to an indicator of a parent subgroup related to a parent-child subgroup relationship ([0530] – [0535] and Fig. 82-84).
However, Iguchi I does not explicitly teach the bitstream includes first information specifying a layer group identifier of the geometry, second information specifying a subgroup identifier of the geometry, and third information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry.
Iguchi II teaches third information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry ([0709] – [0713]; [0723] – [0738]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information specifying a reference layer group identifier for a context reference of the geometry because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Takahashi teaches the bitstream includes first information specifying a layer group identifier of the geometry, second information specifying a subgroup identifier of the geometry (unit index is considered as first information and subs_entry is considered as second information. [0197] and Fig. 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information specifying a layer group identifier of the geometry and information for specifying a subgroup identifier of the geometry because such incorporation would provide a viewing experience that meets the viewer’s requests. [0007] – [0008].
Consider claim 12, Iguchi I teaches the decoding geometry data of the point cloud data comprises: generating the tree of the point cloud data ([0206] – [0207], [0211] – [0215], [0466], [0498], [0510]); and grouping the layers of the tree into the layer group ([0509] – [0512], [0519] – [0523], [0530] – [0538], Fig. 73, Fig. 76, Fig. 82-84).
Consider claim 13, Iguchi II teaches the decoding of the point cloud data further comprises: decoding the grouped point cloud data based on context information ([0261] – [0272], [0559] – [0568], Fig. 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 14, Iguchi II teaches the decoding of the point cloud data comprises: based on the context information about a first group, decoding a second group ([0559] – [0568], [0587] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 62, Fig. 68); and storing context information about the second group ([0559] – [0568], [0587] – [0607], [0611] – [0619], [0620] – [0627], Fig. 62, Fig. 68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 15, Iguchi II teaches the first group contains point cloud data belonging to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 16, Iguchi I teaches the bitstream further includes fourth information specifying the first segmented slice is dependent to another slice ([0377] – [0387], Fig. 34 – Fig. 36).
Consider claim 19, Iguchi II teaches the first information is related to information identifying a group corresponding to a higher layer than the second group ([0645] – [0670], [0696] – [0700], [0709] – [0721], [0723] – [0738], Fig. 32 – Fig. 33, Fig. 73).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate information related to an identifier of a layer group for a context reference because such incorporation would improve encoding efficiency by having context reference information determined. [0675].
Consider claim 20, claim 20 recites a device comprising: a memory ([0151] of Iguchi I); and at least one processor connected to the memory ([0149]), the at least one processor configured to perform the method recited in claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11).
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486