DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Allowable Subject Matter
The allowability of prior claim 16 (incporated into claim 1) is withdrawn in view of the newly presented prior art of US20020081350A1 (see Fig 2; and prior art rejection below).
Claim 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loulourgas (US 6012914 A) and in view of Elder (US 20020081350 A1).
In reference to claim 1, 8, and 14, Loulourgas discloses an injection molding machine (Fig 5) comprising a mold clamping device (cf. Loulourgas , mold clamping plate 12) comprising:
a fixed platen;
a movable platen configured to move closer toward or away from the fixed
platen; (injection molding machines are generally provided with a fixed and a
movable plate, Loulourgas concerns an injection molding machine, cf. Loulourgas , title)
a rotary platen provided on one platen of the fixed platen and the movable
platen, a mold being attachable to the rotary platen (cf. Loulourgas , rotary plate 10); and
an extrusion device provided on the one platen and configured to extrude a
molded article from the mold ( see also comments below, cf. 02, column 2, line
60, ''push rods”),,
wherein the rotary platen is disposed at a side of a surface of the one platen
facing the other platen to face the one platen, the rotary platen being provided
to be rotatable via a bearing structure (cf. 02, column 2, lines 42, 43),
wherein the extrusion device is disposed on a surface of the one platen
opposite to the surface facing the other platen (implicit from the disclosure of the
pushing rods in O 1, column 2, lines 60-62),
wherein the bearing structure is configured to bear the rotary platen at a position
away from a rotation center in a radial direction (cf. 01, column 2, lines 47-51 in
particular "bearing retaining ring 66'1), and
wherein the extrusion device is provided with an ejector rod that protrudes
radially inward than the bearing structure (as indicated in 01, column 2, lines
60-62 holes 56 are used to accommodate the push rods. It can be seen from
figure 5 of O 1, that the holes 56 are located radially inward in comparison to
bearing retaining ring 66).
Loulourgas does not explicitly recite that one platen is fixed and another is movable however this is an art recognized standard configuration of injection molding machines. Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of skill in the art to configure the invention to comprise a movable and static platen as claimed.
Furthermore, in the same field, Elder teaches that one platen is fixed and another is movable (abstract) and shows
at Fig 2, copied below:
which is substantially similar to the claimed structure as illustrated by Applicants Fig 3, shown below:
and shown comparatively, below:
The context of Elder is directed to “A rotate mechanism is a device that is utilized to quickly rotate a large mass, such as, for example, a mold component of an injection molding” thus the utilization of the bearing structure of Elder the Loulourgas prior art is an obvious integration.
In reference to claim 2 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 3 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas and see holes 56 in figure 2 and 3 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 4 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas and see holes 56 in figure 2 and 3 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 5 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas and see ''bearing retaining ring 66".
In reference to claim 6 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 7 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 9 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 10 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas and see holes 56 in figure 2 and 3 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 11 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas and see holes 56 in figure 2 and 3 of Loulourgas .
In reference to claim 12-13 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 5 of Loulourgas and see ''bearing retaining ring 66". As can be seen from D5, a plurality of plate members are being applied. These members would reduce friction.
In reference to claim 15 the cited prior art discloses the claimed features in Fig 3 of Elder.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner has utilized USPTO approved search resources, such as EIC or external tools, beyond routine search tools and/or leveraged experts in the field. Examiner has cited and explained the relevance of prior art not used in rejections but pertinent to the claims or disclosure. Examiner has provided detailed search documentation through detailed Search Notes, such as annotated search results that identify which data sets were reviewed. When citing the prior art examiner has used annotations clearly in prior art rejections such as, using item-to-item matching to the prior art, pairing exact claim language to particular language used in the prior art, and/or clearly explaining examiner’s interpretation as to how a citation maps to claim language especially when there is not a one-to-one matching of terms.
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744