Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama et al (US 20200072466 as referenced in OA dated 4/16/2025) in view of Bizzarrini (US 20150076817 as referenced in OA dated 1/16/2026) and Kumagai et al (US 20160033136 as referenced in OA dated 1/16/2026) (This set of claims use a first interpretation of the prior art)
Annotated Figure 7 of Akiyama
First interpretation of Annotated Figure 2A of Bizzarrini
Regarding claim 1, Akiyama discloses a gas turbine combustor (Figure 8) comprising:
a burner (Figure 7; 32);
a fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 7; labeled first fuel pipe or Annotated Figure 7; labeled claim 9 fuel pipe. Annotated Figure 7; labeled claim 9 fuel pipe is only for dependent claim 9) that supplies a fuel (The fuel from the fuel pipe) to the burner;
a fuel cavity forming portion (The portion of Figure 7; 7 excluding Annotated Figure 7; labeled lid member) formed with at least one fuel cavity (Figure 8; 23); and
a lid member (Annotated Figure 7; labeled lid member) partitioning at least a portion of the at least one fuel cavity and an outside (The outside of the gas turbine combustor which includes fuel outside of Figure 8; 23 which is supplied to 23) of the gas turbine combustor, and covering the at least one fuel cavity from an axial upstream side (The axial upstream side of the gas turbine combustor) of the gas turbine combustor,
wherein the fuel pipe is connected to the lid member, a through-hole (The through hole through the lid member for the fuel pipe) which is formed in the lid member and through which the outside and the at least one fuel cavity communicate with each other
the through-hole has two opposite end portions (The left and right end portions of the through-hole in Figure 8) and a downstream end (The right end of the fuel pipe in Figure 8) of the fuel pipe reaches one end portion (The right end of through hole in Figure 8) of the through-hole that is closer to the at least one fuel cavity than the other of the end portions of the through-hole.
Akiyama does not disclose the fuel pipe includes a first region located on an upstream side of the lid member, a second region fitted to a through-hole, and a third region having an outer peripheral surface separated inward in a radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the through-hole,
each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape,
the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the third region,
wherein a first outer diameter of the first region is larger than a second outer diameter of the second region,
the fuel pipe has a step portion formed by a difference between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter at a boundary portion between the first region and the second region,
the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface of the lid member,
the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion.
However, Bizzarrini teaches a pipe (Figure 2A; 4) includes a first region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled first region) located on an upstream side of a lid member (The upstream side of Figure 2A; 8, 9), a second region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled second region) fitted to a through-hole (The through hole formed by Figure 2A; 5, 8, 9), and a third region (The region to the right of Annotated Figure 2A; labeled second region) having an outer peripheral surface (The outer peripheral surface of the third region) separated inward in a radial direction (The radial direction with respect to the central axis of Figure 2A; 5) from an inner peripheral surface (The inner peripheral surface of Figure 2A; 5) of the through-hole,
each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape (The first, second, and third region are tubular),
a downstream end (The downstream end of the pipe) of the pipe is located only between two opposite end portions (The left and right ends of the through-hole in Figure 2) of the through-hole
a downstream end of the pipe is a downstream end of the third region (The downstream end of the pipe is a downstream end of the third region),
wherein a first outer diameter (The outer diameter of the first region)of the first region is larger than a second outer diameter (Any outer diameter of the second region) of the second region,
the pipe has a step portion (The step portion between the first and second outer diameters) formed by a difference (The difference between the first and second diameters) between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter at a boundary portion (The boundary portion between the first and second regions) between the first region and the second region, and
the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface (The left surface of Figure 2A; 8, 9) of the lid member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the fuel pipe includes a first region located on an upstream side of the lid member, a second region fitted to a through-hole, and a third region having an outer peripheral surface separated inward in a radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the through-hole, each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape, the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the third region, wherein a first outer diameter of the first region is larger than a second outer diameter of the second region, the fuel pipe has a step portion formed by a difference between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter at a boundary portion between the first region and the second region, and the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface of the lid member as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, the modification uses at least the shape of Figure 2A; 4 of Bizzarrini and includes 8 and 9 of Bizzarrini in Akiyama).
Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini does not disclose the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion.
However, Kumagai teaches an outer surface (The left vertical line of Figure 9; 14) of a lid member (Figure 9; 14) includes a contact portion (The portion of the outer surface that contacts Figure 9; 15) that comes into contact with a step portion, and a non-contact portion (The portion of the outer surface that contacts Figure 9; 45) that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion (Figure 9; 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini wherein the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion as taught by and suggested by Kumagai in order to connect the fuel pipe to lid member (Paragraph 0089, the modification welds the fuel pipe to the lid member in a similar manner as taught by Kumagai).
Regarding claim 3, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama does not disclose wherein the third region is located on a downstream side of the fuel pipe with respect to the second region.
However, Bizzarrini teaches wherein the third region is located on a downstream side (The downstream side of the pipe) of the pipe with respect to the second region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the third region is located on a downstream side of the fuel pipe with respect to the second region as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama does not disclose wherein the first outer diameter of the first region is larger than the second outer diameter of the second region, and
the second outer diameter of the second region is larger than a third outer diameter of the third region.
However, Bizzarrini teaches wherein the first outer diameter of the first region is larger than the second outer diameter of the second region, and
the second outer diameter of the second region is larger than a third outer diameter (The diameter of the right side of Figure 2A; 12 which is part of the third region) of the third region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the first outer diameter of the first region is larger than the second outer diameter of the second region, and the second outer diameter of the second region is larger than a third outer diameter of the third region as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 7, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama does not disclose wherein a length of the third region along an axial direction of the fuel pipe is longer than a length of the second region along the axial direction.
However, Bizzarrini teaches wherein a length (The axial length of the third region) of the third region along an axial direction (The axial direction of the pipe) of the pipe is longer than a length (The axial length of the second region) of the second region along the axial direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein a length of the third region along an axial direction of the fuel pipe is longer than a length of the second region along the axial direction as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama further discloses wherein the fuel pipe includes a first fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 7; labeled first fuel pipe) and a second fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 7; labeled other fuel pipe) different from the first fuel pipe,
during a partial load operation (Functional Language, Using Figure 8; 33 during start-up to a load, Paragraph 0054. Halfway to the load is a partial load operation) of the gas turbine combustor, the fuel circulates through the first fuel pipe, and the fuel does not circulate through the second fuel pipe (Functional Language, Paragraph 0059, the outer burners being individually controlled means that the fuel is capable of not being supplied to the second fuel pipe during the partial load operation), and
during a rated load operation (Functional Language, Using Figure 8; 33 during start-up to a load, Paragraph 0054. The load is the rated load operation) of the gas turbine combustor, the fuel circulates through the first fuel pipe and the second fuel pipe (Functional Language, Paragraph 0059, the outer burners being individually controlled means that the fuel is capable of being supplied to the second fuel pipe during the full load operation).
Regarding claim 9, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama further discloses wherein the burner is a main burner (Annotated Figure 7; labeled claim 9 fuel pipe. Functional Language, Paragraph 0054, states 32 is used for startup, so that one of ordinary skill would recognize that the 32 is a pilot burner, so that 33 are the main burners).
Regarding claim 11, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama does not disclose wherein the fuel pipe comes into contact with molten metal of the welding portion, and includes a fourth region having a fourth outer diameter larger than the first outer diameter of the first region.
However, Bizzarrini teaches wherein the fuel pipe includes a fourth region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled fourth region) having a fourth outer diameter (The diameter of the fourth region) larger than the first outer diameter of the first region
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the fuel pipe includes a fourth region having a fourth outer diameter larger than the first outer diameter of the first region as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini does not teach wherein the fuel pipe comes into contact with molten metal of the welding portion.
However, Kumagai teaches wherein the fuel pipe comes into contact with molten metal (The molten metal of the welding portion) of the welding portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini wherein the fuel pipe comes into contact with molten metal of the welding portion as taught by and suggested by Kumagai in order to connect the fuel pipe to lid member (Paragraph 0089, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama further discloses wherein the fuel is a gas fuel (Figure 1; 210 is a gas fuel per Paragraph 0027, so that Figure 8; 210 would also be a gas fuel).
Regarding claim 13, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama further discloses wherein the fuel pipe includes at least a first fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 7; labeled first fuel pipe) and a second fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 7; labeled other fuel pipe) different from the first fuel pipe, and
the first fuel pipe and the second fuel pipe are disposed at positions displaced by 180 degrees (The first and second fuel pipes are displaced by 180 degrees) around a central axis (The central axis of the gas turbine combustor) of the gas turbine combustor.
Regarding claim 14, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the gas turbine combustor according to Claim 1.
Akiyama further discloses a gas turbine (Figure 1; 2, 3, 4) comprising:
the gas turbine combustor.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai (This claim uses a second interpretation of the prior art).
Second interpretation of Annotated Figure 2A of Bizzarrini
Regarding claim 4, Akiyama discloses a gas turbine combustor (Figure 8) comprising:
a burner (Figure 7; 32);
a fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 7; labeled first fuel pipe or Annotated Figure 7; labeled claim 9 fuel pipe. Annotated Figure 7; labeled claim 9 fuel pipe is only for dependent claim 9) that supplies a fuel (The fuel from the fuel pipe) to the burner;
a fuel cavity forming portion (The portion of Figure 7; 7 excluding Annotated Figure 7; labeled lid member) formed with at least one fuel cavity (Figure 8; 23); and
a lid member (Annotated Figure 7; labeled lid member) partitioning at least a portion of the at least one fuel cavity and an outside (The outside of the gas turbine combustor which includes fuel outside of Figure 8; 23 which is supplied to 23) of the gas turbine combustor, and covering the at least one fuel cavity from an axial upstream side (The axial upstream side of the gas turbine combustor) of the gas turbine combustor,
wherein the fuel pipe is connected to the lid member, a through-hole (The through hole through the lid member for the fuel pipe) which is formed in the lid member and through which the outside and the at least one fuel cavity communicate with each other
the through-hole has two opposite end portions (The left and right end portions of the through-hole in Figure 8) and a downstream end (The right end of the fuel pipe in Figure 8) of the fuel pipe is located only between the two opposite end portions and reaches one end portion (The right end of through hole in Figure 8) of the through-hole that is closer to the at least one fuel cavity than the other of the end portions of the through-hole.
Akiyama does not disclose the fuel pipe includes a first region located on an upstream side of the lid member, a second region fitted to a through-hole, and a third region having an outer peripheral surface separated inward in a radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the through- hole,
each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape,
the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the second region,
wherein a first outer diameter of the first region is larger than a third outer diameter of the third region,
the fuel pipe has a step portion formed by a difference between the first outer diameter and the third outer diameter at a boundary portion between the first region and the third region,
the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface of the lid member,
the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion.
However, Bizzarrini teaches a pipe (Figure 2A; 4) includes a first region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled first region) located on an upstream side of a lid member (The upstream side of Figure 2A; 8, 9), a second region (The region to the right of Annotated Figure 2A; labeled third region) fitted to a through-hole (The through hole formed by Figure 2A; 5, 8, 9), and a third region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled third region) having an outer peripheral surface (The outer peripheral surface of the third region) separated inward in a radial direction (The radial direction with respect to the central axis of Figure 2A; 5) from an inner peripheral surface (The inner peripheral surface of Figure 2A; 5) of the through-hole,
each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape (The first, second, and third region are tubular),
a downstream end (The downstream end of the pipe) of the pipe is located only between two opposite end portions (The left and right ends of the through-hole in Figure 2) of the through-hole
the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the second region (The downstream end of the pipe is a downstream end of the second region),
wherein a first outer diameter (The outer diameter of the first region)of the first region is larger than a third outer diameter (The outer diameter of the third region) of the third region,
the fuel pipe has a step portion (The step portion between the first and third outer diameters) formed by a difference (The difference between the first and third diameters) between the first outer diameter and the third outer diameter at a boundary portion (The boundary portion between the first and third regions) between the first region and the third region, and
the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface (The left surface of Figure 2A; 8, 9) of the lid member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the fuel pipe includes a first region located on an upstream side of the lid member, a second region fitted to a through-hole, and a third region having an outer peripheral surface separated inward in a radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the through- hole, each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape, the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the second region, wherein a first outer diameter of the first region is larger than a third outer diameter of the third region, the fuel pipe has a step portion formed by a difference between the first outer diameter and the third outer diameter at a boundary portion between the first region and the third region, and the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface of the lid member as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, the modification uses at least the shape of Figure 2A; 4 of Bizzarrini and includes 8 and 9 of Bizzarrini in Akiyama).
Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini does not disclose the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion.
However, Kumagai teaches an outer surface (The left vertical line of Figure 9; 14) of a lid member (Figure 9; 14) includes a contact portion (The portion of the outer surface that contacts Figure 9; 15) that comes into contact with a step portion, and a non-contact portion (The portion of the outer surface that contacts Figure 9; 45) that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion (Figure 9; 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini wherein the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion as taught by and suggested by Kumagai in order to connect the fuel pipe to lid member (Paragraph 0089, the modification welds the fuel pipe to the lid member in a similar manner as taught by Kumagai).
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama et al (US 20200072466 as referenced in OA dated 4/16/2025) in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai (This set of claims use a third interpretation of the prior art)
Third interpretation of Annotated Figure 1 of Akiyama
Regarding claim 1, Akiyama discloses a gas turbine combustor (Figure 1; 3) comprising:
a burner (Figure 2; 8);
a fuel pipe (Annotated Figure 1; labeled fuel pipe) that supplies a fuel (The fuel from the fuel pipe) to the burner;
a fuel cavity forming portion (The portion of Figure 1; 7 excluding Annotated Figure 1; labeled lid member) formed with at least one fuel cavity (Figure 8; 23); and
a lid member (Annotated Figure 1; labeled lid member) partitioning at least a portion of the at least one fuel cavity and an outside (The outside of the gas turbine combustor which includes fuel outside of Figure 1; 23 which is supplied to 23) of the gas turbine combustor, and covering the at least one fuel cavity from an axial upstream side (The axial upstream side of the gas turbine combustor) of the gas turbine combustor,
wherein the fuel pipe is connected to the lid member, a through-hole (The through hole through the lid member for the fuel pipe) which is formed in the lid member and through which the outside and the at least one fuel cavity communicate with each other
the through-hole has two opposite end portions (The left and right end portions of the through-hole in Figure 1) and a downstream end (The right end of the fuel pipe in Figure 1) of the fuel pipe reaches one end portion (The right end of through hole in Figure 1) of the through-hole that is closer to the at least one fuel cavity than the other of the end portions of the through-hole.
Akiyama does not disclose the fuel pipe includes a first region located on an upstream side of the lid member, a second region fitted to a through-hole, and a third region having an outer peripheral surface separated inward in a radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the through-hole,
each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape,
the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the third region,
wherein a first outer diameter of the first region is larger than a second outer diameter of the second region,
the fuel pipe has a step portion formed by a difference between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter at a boundary portion between the first region and the second region,
the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface of the lid member,
the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion.
However, Bizzarrini teaches a pipe (Figure 2A; 4) includes a first region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled first region) located on an upstream side of a lid member (The upstream side of Figure 2A; 8, 9), a second region (Annotated Figure 2A; labeled second region) fitted to a through-hole (The through hole formed by Figure 2A; 5, 8, 9), and a third region (The region to the right of Annotated Figure 2A; labeled second region) having an outer peripheral surface (The outer peripheral surface of the third region) separated inward in a radial direction (The radial direction with respect to the central axis of Figure 2A; 5) from an inner peripheral surface (The inner peripheral surface of Figure 2A; 5) of the through-hole,
each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape (The first, second, and third region are tubular),
a downstream end (The downstream end of the pipe) of the pipe is located only between two opposite end portions (The left and right ends of the through-hole in Figure 2) of the through-hole
a downstream end of the pipe is a downstream end of the third region (The downstream end of the pipe is a downstream end of the third region),
wherein a first outer diameter (The outer diameter of the first region)of the first region is larger than a second outer diameter (Any outer diameter of the second region) of the second region,
the pipe has a step portion (The step portion between the first and second outer diameters) formed by a difference (The difference between the first and second diameters) between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter at a boundary portion (The boundary portion between the first and second regions) between the first region and the second region, and
the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface (The left surface of Figure 2A; 8, 9) of the lid member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the fuel pipe includes a first region located on an upstream side of the lid member, a second region fitted to a through-hole, and a third region having an outer peripheral surface separated inward in a radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the through-hole, each of the first, second and third regions being formed in a tubular shape, the downstream end of the fuel pipe is a downstream end of the third region, wherein a first outer diameter of the first region is larger than a second outer diameter of the second region, the fuel pipe has a step portion formed by a difference between the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter at a boundary portion between the first region and the second region, and the step portion comes into contact with an outer surface of the lid member as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, the modification uses at least the shape of Figure 2A; 4 of Bizzarrini and includes 8 and 9 of Bizzarrini in Akiyama).
Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini does not disclose the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion.
However, Kumagai teaches an outer surface (The left vertical line of Figure 9; 14) of a lid member (Figure 9; 14) includes a contact portion (The portion of the outer surface that contacts Figure 9; 15) that comes into contact with a step portion, and a non-contact portion (The portion of the outer surface that contacts Figure 9; 45) that does not come into contact with the step portion, and
the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion (Figure 9; 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini wherein the outer surface of the lid member includes a contact portion that comes into contact with the step portion, and a non-contact portion that does not come into contact with the step portion, and the fuel pipe is connected to the non-contact portion of the outer surface of the lid member by a weld portion as taught by and suggested by Kumagai in order to connect the fuel pipe to lid member (Paragraph 0089, the modification welds the fuel pipe to the lid member in a similar manner as taught by Kumagai).
Regarding claim 10, Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini and Kumagai teaches the invention as claimed.
Akiyama further discloses wherein the fuel pipe extends along an axial direction (The axial direction of Figure 1) of the gas turbine combustor, and
the fuel pipe extends outward in a radial direction (The axial direction of Figure 1) of the gas turbine combustor as the first region faces an upstream side in at least some regions.
Akiyama does not disclose wherein the second region extends along an axial direction of the gas turbine combustor, and
the first region extends outward in a radial direction of the gas turbine combustor as the first region faces an upstream side in at least some regions
However, Bizzarrini teaches the first region extends outward in the radial direction as the first region faces an upstream side in at least some regions (The upstream sides in the second and third region)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Akiyama wherein the first region extends outward in the radial direction as the first region faces an upstream side in at least some regions as taught by and suggested by Bizzarrini in order to ensure pressure tightness (Paragraph 0029, This is the same modification as claim 1).
It is herein asserted that the combined invention of Akiyama in view of Bizzarrini has wherein the second region extends along an axial direction of the gas turbine combustor, and the first region extends outward in a radial direction of the gas turbine combustor because the fuel pipe of Akiyama extends parallel along an axial direction of the gas turbine combustor, and the fuel pipe extends outward in a radial direction of the gas turbine combustor. By using the shape of Bizzarrini in Akiyama, the combined fuel pipe and each section still extends parallel along the axial direction of the gas turbine engine and the first region extends outward in a radial direction with respect to the fuel pipe. Since the combined fuel pipe extends parallel to the gas turbine combustor, the first region extends outward in the radial direction of the gas turbine combustor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the modification of Kumagai in Bizzarrini would destroy the sliding function of Bizzarrini. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted by Applicant, the gasket must slide and remain in full contact-compression to ensure a seal. Thus, the gasket can slide as taught by Bizzarrini, then welded as taught by Kumagai, so that the gasket remains in full contact-compression to ensure a seal.
Applicant asserts that the weld of the instant application has unexpectedly advantageous results which is not disclosed or suggested by the prior art. These unexpectedly advantageous results are not recited in the claims, and as such, are not given patentable weight.
Applicant asserts that Kumagai does not disclose the amended features of claim 1 and 4. Examiner respectfully disagrees as shown above in this OA. Furthermore, this assertion is conclusory, and thus, not persuasive.
Conclusion
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741