Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,673,079 to Kane.
As to Claim 1, Kane discloses a system (Figs. 14-17) for performing distraction osteogenesis of a bone segment of an anatomical extremity of a human or animal subject (Col. 2, Lines 15-32). The system comprises a proximal bone fixture component (241, Fig. 14) configured to engage a proximal portion of the bone segment (227b), a movable distractor component (225) configured to be positionable distal of the proximal bone fixture component (Fig. 14, Col. 10, Lines 34-55), and to engage a region (227) of the anatomical extremity located distal of the bone portion engageable by the bone fixture component (Fig. 14), drive means (221) configured to apply a distraction force between the bone fixture component (241) and the movable distractor component (225, Col. 10, Lines 34-67 – Col. 11, Lines 1-8), and a control component arranged to control operation of the drive means automatically (automated actuators described in Col. 10, Lines 17-33).
As to Claim 3, Kane discloses a system wherein the control component is configured to operate the drive means in a continuous manner (Col. 9, Lines 21-24, Col. 11, Lines 6-8).
As to Claim 6, Kane discloses a system wherein the proximal bone fixture component and the movable distractor component interconnect via a transitional arrangement comprising force transfer means (223) configured to apply the distraction force between the components (Col. 10, Lines 35-63).
As to Claim 7, Kane discloses a system wherein the drive means is configured as a linear drive means (221) connected to the movable distractor component and configured to move the distractor component along a linear vector away from the bone fixture component (Col. 10, Lines 35-63).
As to Claim 8, Kane discloses a system wherein the movable distractor component comprises grip means for gripping the distal region of the anatomical extremity (grip formed by heads of 241 against bone, Fig. 14, Col. 10, Lines 45-51).
As to Claim 9, Kane discloses a method for performing distraction osteogenesis of a bone segment of an anatomical extremity of a human or animal subject (Col. 2, Lines 15-32). The method comprises the steps of fixing a proximal bone fixture component (241, Fig. 14) to a proximal portion of the bone segment (227b), utilizing a movable distractor component (225) to engage a region (227) of the anatomical extremity positioned distal of the proximal bone portion (Fig. 14), utilizing a drive means (221)to apply a distraction force between the bone fixture component (241) and the movable distractor component (225, Col. 10, Lines 34-67 – Col. 11, Lines 1-8), and controlling operation of the drive means automatically using a control component (automated actuators described in Col. 10, Lines 17-33).
As to Claim 11, Kane discloses a method which includes operating the control component to drive the drive means in a continuous manner (Col. 9, Lines 21-24, Col. 11, Lines 6-8).
As to Claim 14, Kane discloses a method wherein the proximal bone fixture component and the movable distractor component interconnect via a transitional arrangement comprising force transfer means (223) configured to apply the distraction force between the components (Col. 10, Lines 35-63).
As to Claim 15, Kane discloses a method which includes utilizing the drive means (221) to move the distractor component along a linear vector away from the proximal bone fixture component (Col. 10, Lines 35-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,673,079 to Kane in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0025075 to Hokanson.
As to Claims 2 and 10, Kane discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the anatomical extremity comprises a hand.
Hokanson discloses a system (10) and method [0048] for performing distraction osteogenesis of a bone segment of an anatomical extremity of a human or animal subject [0014], wherein the anatomical extremity comprises a hand (Fig. 2, [0014, 0033]) in order to allow for the device to be used to perform external distractor for the treatment of complex fracture luxations of the PIP of the hand [0014].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the distraction osteogenesis system of Kane with the hand modification of Hokanson in order to allow for the device to be used to perform external distractor for the treatment of complex fracture luxations of the PIP of the hand.
Claims 4, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 6,673,079 to Kane in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0296234 to Wilhelm et al.
As to Claims 4, 5, 12, and 13, Kane discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the control component includes a user interface module for setting parameters of automatic operation and control of the drive means, wherein the user interface module is configured to be separable in a tool-free manner from the remainder of the control component.
Wilhelm discloses a system (100, Fig. 1) and method [0005]for performing distraction osteogenesis of a bone segment of an anatomical extremity of a human or animal subject [0004] wherein the control component (10) includes a user interface module (50) for setting parameters of automatic operation and control of the drive means [0028, 0031, 0032], wherein the user interface module (50) is configured to be separable in a tool-free manner from the remainder of the control component (seen as separate component in Fig. 1, [0028]) in order to provide a means for easily observable data of the control component to be provided to the patient and medical professionals [0028].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the distraction osteogenesis system of Kane with the control component modification of Wilhelm in order to provide a means for easily observable data of the control component to be provided to the patient and medical professionals.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BECCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775