DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Japanese reference(JP2016-211845A).
Japanese reference in figure 9 teaches an air conditioner comprising a casing(casing 1) having an air outflowing cavity(air outflowing cavity shown including airflow arrows), a side wall of the air outflowing cavity having as an outflowing cavity opening(side wall air outlet 5), an air treatment device(air purification device 8) disposed in the casing, the air treatment device having an air inlet(arrow shown into air purification device 8) and an air outlet(arrow shown out of air purification device 8), and a light emission component(light source 61) provided at an outer peripheral side of the air outlet(light source peripheral to air outlet 5 in figure 9) and configured to emit light towards the air flowing cavity(para 0063 stating “it is possible to configure the airflow direction control plates 10 so that light from the light source 61 is reflected by the airflow direction control plates 10 and leaks out through the air outlet 5 to the outside”, also noting para 0064 stating “the operating state of the air purifier can be notified to the user by the color of the light source 61, and the color effect can enhance the product value”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-49 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 31 recites “wherein the air treatment device includes: an air treatment unit; and an air outflowing housing having an air outflowing chamber in communication with an inner chamber of the air treatment device, the air outlet being formed at the air outflowing housing and in communication with the air outflowing chamber, an accommodation chamber configured to accommodate the light emission component being formed at the air outflowing housing, an accommodation chamber configured to accommodate the light emission component being formed at the air outflowing housing, and a side of the air accommodation chamber facing the air outflowing cavity being provided with a light-permeable member.”. Japanese reference teaches an air treatment device includes an air treatment unit, and an air outflowing housing having an air outflowing chamber in communication with an inner chamber of the air treatment unit, and the air outlet being formed at the air outflowing housing and in communication with the air outflowing chamber , however Japanese reference does not teach or suggest an accommodation chamber configured to accommodate the light emission component being formed at the air outflowing housing, an accommodation chamber configured to accommodate the light emission component being formed at the air outflowing housing, and a side of the air accommodation chamber facing the air outflowing cavity being provided with a light-permeable member. Claims 32-39 depend on claim 31 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 31 into claim 30.
Claim 40 recites “an air guide mechanism disposed in the casing and movable in an up-down direction to open or close the air outlet; and a drive assembly including a drive mechanism and a drive member disposed at the air guide mechanism, the drive mechanism being engaged with the drive mechanism in a transmission manner to drive the air guide mechanism to move up and down.”. Japanese reference teaches an air conditioner including a casing including an air outlet , and an air treatment device, however Japanese reference does not teach or suggest an air guide mechanism disposed in the casing and movable in an up-down direction to open or close the air outlet; and a drive assembly including a drive mechanism and a drive member disposed at the air guide mechanism, the drive mechanism being engaged with the drive mechanism in a transmission manner to drive the air guide mechanism to move up and down. Claims 41-45 depend on claim 40 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 40 into claim 30.
Claim 46 recites “wherein the light emission component includes : a lamp socket having a mounting recess; a light emission member disposed in the mounting recess; and a lamp cover covering an open end of the lamp socket, at least part of the lamp cover being accommodated in the mounting recess.”. Japanese reference teaches a light emission component (light source 61) includes a lamp socket having a mounting recess, and a light emission member disposed in the mounting recess, however Japanese reference does not teach or suggest a lamp cover covering an open end of the lamp socket, at least part of the lamp cover being accommodated in the mounting recess. Claims 47-49 depend on claim 46 hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 46 into claim 30.
ROBERT A. HOPKINS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779