DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (US 2008/0227906) in view of Ebdon et al. (US 2020/0029557).
Regarding claim 1: Sakata et al. teaches an organic binder/resin for molding a sinterable inorganic powder (title, abstract) comprising a polyglycolic acid (para. 30).
Sakata et al. does not teach the degradation catalyst, but instead removes the resin via an alkaline gas. However, Ebdon et al. teaches a biodegradable polymer such as poly(glycolic acid) (para. 10-11) where the degradation of the resin is enhanced by a Lewis acid (para. 9) such as titanium tetrabutoxide (para. 47). Sakata et al. and Ebdon et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely degrading the polymer polyglycolic acid. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the Lewis acid titanium tetrabutoxide of Ebdon et al. in the composition of Sakata et al. and would have been motivated to do so to avoid the environmental concerns of alkaline gas.
The examples in the instant specification achieve the weight reduction percentage limitation claimed by the combination of polyglycolic acid and titanium tetrabutoxide.
Regarding claim 3: Sakata et al. teaches 2-40 wt% of the binder in the compact composition (para. 36) in with the sinterable inorganic powder (abstract), which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 4: Sakata et al. teaches molding the composition (para. 18).
Regarding claim 5: Sakata et al. teaches a degreased body where the resin is decomposed and removed from the compact formed by molding the composition (para. 18).
Regarding claim 6: Sakata et al. teaches an inorganic material molded article (title, abstract) formed by heat-treating/sintering the degreased body (para. 19).
Regarding claim 7: Sakata et al. teaches a method of producing an inorganic material molded article (abstract) comprising molding the composition (para. 18), depolymerizing/decomposing and removing the resin/polyglycolic acid (para. 18, 30) to obtain a degreased body and heat treating/sintering the body to obtain the article (para. 19).
Regarding claim 8: Sakata et al. teaches a method of producing an inorganic material molded article (abstract) comprising molding the composition (para. 18), degrading/decomposing and removing the resin/polyglycolic acid (para. 18, 30) at a temperature of 20-190 °C (para. 20) in water (para. 114) to obtain a degreased body and heat treating/sintering the body to obtain the article (para. 19).
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767