DETAILED ACTION
Receipt and consideration of Applicant’s amended claim set and Applicant’s arguments/remarks submitted on March 2, 2026 are acknowledged.
All rejections/objections not explicitly maintained in the instant office action have been withdrawn per Applicant’s claim amendments and/or persuasive arguments. Applicant’s claim amendments have necessitated new grounds of rejections set forth below.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 14, 15, 18, 21, 22, 33-36, 41, 44, 45, 48, 49, and 52-55 are pending and under consideration in this action. Claims 4-13, 16, 17, 19, 20, 23-32, 37-40, 42, 43, 46, 47, 50, and 51 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chemla et al. (Chemla) (WO 99/32464 A1; published Jul. 1, 1999).
With regards to Claims 1 and 2, Chemla discloses compounds of formula (I) and processes for protecting and immunizing plants against attack by phytopathogenic microorganisms by applying compounds of formula (I) as active ingredient to plants, to parts of the plant, and/or to the locus of the plants (abstract; p.1, para.1; p.3, para.2; p.5; Chemla claims 1-8 and 10).
Among the preferred compounds of formula (I) include compounds of formula I.A in group 14, which include compounds as follows (p.10):
Compound I.A reads on the structure show in the instant claim 1 when:
Z is CO-A
A is OR6
R6 is H or C1-alkyl
R1 is H or halogen
R2 H
R3 is H
R4 is Cl
Also among the preferred compounds of formula (I) include Compound No. 1.2, which has the following structure (p.30, Table 1):
R1 is H
R2 is H
A is OMe
Chemla’s Compound No. 1.2 reads on compounds of claims 1 and 2 wherein Z is the 4th structure and n is 0
Chemla also discloses compositions for protecting and immunizing plants against attack by microorganisms, comprising a compound of formula (I) together with a suitable carrier (Chemla claim 10; p.18, para.4).
With regards to the preamble of the instant claims, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention, an herbicidal composition in the instant application, must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Note: MPEP 2111.02. In the present case, Chemla’s compounds discussed above, are structurally the same as the structure recited in the instant claims 1 and 2, and Chemla’s compounds are in a composition with a carrier. There does not appear to be any required component of Chemla that would preclude Chemla’s composition from being used as an herbicide. Chemla also discloses their composition for agricultural use, being suitable for application to plants and locus of plants. Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, and thus meets the claim.
With regards to Claims 14 and 15, the compounds of formula (I) are generally used in the form of compositions and can be applied to the crop area or plant to be treated, simultaneously or in succession, with further compounds. These further compounds can be, for example, herbicides, insecticides, fungicides, or preparations that influence plant growth (p.18, par.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 14, 15, 21, 33, 34, 44, 49, and 52-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chemla et al. (Chemla) (WO 99/32464 A1; published Jul. 1, 1999).
The teachings of Chemla as they apply to Claims 1, 2, 14, and 15 are set forth above and incorporated herein. Additional relevant teachings of Chemla are set forth herein below.
With regards to Claims 21, 44, and 52-55, the instant Specification discloses that in general, an herbicidally effective amount of compounds of this invention is about 0.001 to 20 kg/ha with a preferred range of about 0.001 to 1 kg/ha (p.79, ln.7-15). Although Chemla does not appear to explicitly disclose methods of controlling (undesired) plant growth, Chemla discloses that advantageous rates of application of their compounds are normally from 5 g to 2 kg of active ingredient (i.e., their compounds) per hectare, preferably from 10 g to 1 kg/ha (p.19, para.2). Chemla also discloses that their compounds are applied to the leaves (foliar application) (p.19, para.1). Chemla further disclose that the compounds can also penetrate the plant through the roots via the soil (systemic action) if the locus of the plant is impregnated with a liquid formulation or if the substances are introduced in solid form into the soil, e.g., in the form of granules (soil application) (p.19, para.1). Furthermore, as discussed above, Chemla discloses that selective herbicides may be applied with the compounds (p.18, para.4), thus indicating that compositions are applied to the location of undesired plant growth.
Although Chemla does not appear to explicitly disclose a method of controlling (undesired) plant growth or controlling amino acid content in a plant or a plant part thereof, because Chemla discloses performing the same application step to the claimed loci (foliar or to the locus of undesired plant growth) with compounds encompassed by the instant claims in amounts that overlap and are within the range the instant Specification indicates are considered “herbicidally effective amounts,” absent evidence to the contrary, performing the methods as disclosed by Chemla, will absent evidence to the contrary, also result in the control of (undesired) plant growth and controlling amino acid content in a plant or plant part thereof as recited in the preamble to instant claims 52-55. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05 [R-5].
With regards to Claims 33, 34, and 49, the compounds of formula (I) are generally used in the form of compositions and can be applied to the crop area or plant to be treated, simultaneously or in succession, with further compounds. These further compounds can be, for example, herbicides, insecticides, fungicides, or preparations that influence plant growth, or mixtures of several of these preparations (p.18, par.4).
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, because the combined teachings of the prior art references is fairly suggestive of the claimed invention.
Claims 18, 35, 36, 41, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chemla et al. (Chemla) (WO 99/32464 A1; published Jul. 1, 1999) as applied to Claims 1, 2, 14, 15, 21, 33, 34, 44, 49, and 52-55, further in view of Winter et al. (Winter) (US 2021/0022345 A1; published Jan. 28, 2021).
The teachings of Chemla as they apply to Claims 1, 2, 14, 15, 21, 33, 34, 44, 49, and 52-55 are set forth above and incorporated herein. Additional relevant teachings of Chemla are set forth herein below.
Chemla further discloses that target crops to be protected within the scope of their invention include cotton (p.18, para.3).
Chemla does not appear to explicitly disclose the application of the specific herbicide or plant growth regulator as recited in Claims 18, 35, 36, 41, and 48. Winter is relied upon for this disclosure. The teachings of Winter are set forth herein below.
Winter discloses herbicidal mixtures for controlling undesirable vegetation in conventional and tolerant (e.g., glufosinate-tolerant) cotton (abstract). The herbicidal mixture comprises L-glufosinate and at least one herbicidal compound II. Among the suitable herbicidal compound II include 2,4-D and imazapyr (abstract; para.0019; Winter claim 1).
With regards to Claims 18, 35, 36, 45, 48, as discussed above, Chemla discloses that their compositions may be used for protecting cotton crops, and their compositions may further include herbicides. In light of Winter’s disclosure that herbicidal mixtures of L-glufosinate and imazapyr are known to control undesirable vegetation in conventional and tolerant cotton, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Chemla and Winter, and incorporate Winter’s herbicidal mixture of L-glufosinate and imazapyr in Chemla’s composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to obtain the advantage of widening the scope of pests controlled to include conventional and tolerant weeds of cotton crop. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as Chemla discloses that herbicides may be used with their compounds, and among the target crops to be protected include cotton, and Winter discloses herbicides known to be used to control undesirable vegetation in cotton.
With regards to Claims 18, 41, 48, as discussed above, Chemla discloses that their compositions may be used for protecting cotton crops, and their compositions may further include herbicides. In light of Winter’s disclosure that herbicidal mixtures of L-glufosinate and 2,4-D are known to control undesirable vegetation in conventional and tolerant cotton, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the instant invention to combine the teachings of Chemla and Winter, and incorporate Winter’s herbicidal mixture of L-glufosinate and 2,4-D in Chemla’s composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to obtain the advantage of widening the scope of pests controlled to include conventional and tolerant weeds of cotton crop. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so as Chemla discloses that herbicides may be used with their compounds, and among the target crops to be protected include cotton, and Winter discloses herbicides known to be used to control undesirable vegetation in cotton.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, because the combined teachings of the prior art references is fairly suggestive of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered. In light of Applicant’s claim amendments, new rejections citing new prior art references are set forth above to address the newly amended claim scope.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 14, 15, 18, 21, 22, 33-36, 41, 44, 45, 48, 49, and 52-55 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-15, 19-23, 25, 26, and 28-30 of copending Application No. 18/876,582 (Copending 582).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims claim substantially similar and overlapping compounds having the structure claimed in the instant claim 1. Boths sets of claims also claim such compounds being in a composition with an agriculturally acceptable carrier, and using the compositions in methods of controlling undesired plants by application to a locus of the undesired plant an herbicidally effective amount of the compounds. Both sets of claims also claim the use of the compounds and compositions containing such compounds in combination with at least one crop protection agent, such as herbicides.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 14, 15, 18, 21, 22, 33-36, 41, 44, 45, 48, 49, and 52-55 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/MONICA A SHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616