DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Macura et al. (US /SAUL RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Macura discloses:
An automatic machine (10 & 10B) comprising:
a load-bearing frame (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9) comprising a base (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9), at least one vertical side wall (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9), a horizontal wall facing the base (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9), a vertical front wall (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9), defining a machine front (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9), from which protrudes at least one motor-driven supporting shaft (40) [0037 & 0082] which supports a respective reel (100) of wound material (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9) [0085 & 0086] ;
a plurality of operating stations (20a & 20b & 20c & 38 & 42 & 44 & 42b & 44b) positioned on the front wall through which a processing path extends along which said material proceeds while it is unwound from the reel (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9) [0035 & 0039 & 0041 & 0042 & 0046 & 0050 & 0054 & 0082 & 0083 & 0084 & 0087];
a first storage unit (110 & 110B) configured to house replacement reels (120 & 120B) and positioned directly associated with the load-bearing frame of the machine and located close to the shaft supporting the reel (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9);
a device (150) for picking up and releasing replacement reels configured for picking up one of the replacement reels from the first storage unit and positioning it on the supporting shaft [0051 & 0056 & 0086], said pick-up and release device being positioned directly associated with the load-bearing frame and located close to the first storage unit (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9); and
a control unit configured for activating the device for picking up and releasing reels in response to a run out signal of the reel present on the supporting shaft [0044 & 0051 & 0056 & 0059].
Regarding Claim 2, Macura discloses:
the first storage unit is associated with at least one vertical side wall of the machine positioned close to the shaft for supporting the reel (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9);
the first storage unit protruding towards the outside of the frame of the machine (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 3, Macura discloses:
the device for picking up and releasing replacement reels is associated with the vertical front wall of the machine, and positioned close to the shaft supporting the reel and the first storage unit (Fig. 6);
the pick-up and release device protruding towards the outside of the frame of the machine (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 4, Macura discloses:
the pick-up and release device comprises a robotic arm (200 & 200b) having, at a relative free end, a gripper (230) for picking up and releasing the replacement reel configured to engage/disengage in/from a central hole or core of the replacement reel [0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0067].
Regarding Claim 9, Macura discloses:
a second storage unit (110 & 110b) for housing replacement reels associated with the at least one vertical side wall of the frame of the machine and positioned close to the first storage unit (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 10, Macura discloses:
the device for picking up and releasing the replacement reel is associated with the frame of the machine at an intermediate position between the first storage unit and the second storage unit (Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macura et al. (US 20160060059 A1) in view of Cranston et al. (US 20060180699 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Macura teaches:
the reels being carried by the first storage unit and the pick-up and release device;
the first storage unit being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reels in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device.
Macura does not teach:
a reel pressing element configured to stabilise the replacement reel on the supporting shaft;
the reel pressing element being carried by a supporting element associated outside the frame of the machine, close to the first storage unit and the pick-up and release device;
the supporting element being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reel pressing element in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device.
Cranston teaches:
A machine (10) comprising:
a load-bearing frame (Fig. 1) comprising a base (Fig. 1), at least one motor-driven (32) supporting shaft (12) [0048] which supports a respective reel (22) of wound material (Fig. 1) [0024 & 0025 & 0026 & 0027] protruding from the load bearing frame (Fig. 1);
the supporting shaft supporting the reel as said material is unwound from the reel (Fig. 1) [0008 & 0010 & 0015 & 0023 & 0050 & 0053];
a device (34) for picking up and releasing replacement reels configured for picking up one of the replacement reels from the first storage unit and positioning it on the supporting shaft [0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060], said pick-up and release device being positioned directly associated with the load-bearing frame and located close to the first storage unit (Fig. 1); and
a control unit (48) configured for activating the device for picking up and releasing reels [0057].
a reel pressing element (18) configured to stabilise the replacement reel on the supporting shaft [0024 & 0036 & 0040 & 0051];
the reel pressing element being carried by a supporting element associated outside the frame of the machine, close to the pick-up and release device (Fig. 1);
the supporting element being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reel pressing element in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device (Fig. 1) [0024 & 0036 & 0040 & 0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel material dispensing machine having an automated reloading system for replacing spent reels the reels being carried by a first storage unit and a pick-up and release device, the first storage unit being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reels in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device taught by Macura with the reel material dispensing machine having a reloading apparatus and a reel pressing element configured to stabilise the replacement reel on the supporting shaft, the reel pressing element being carried by a supporting element associated outside the frame of the machine, close to the first storage unit and the pick-up and release device, the supporting element being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reel pressing element in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device taught by Cranston in order to provide a means of stabilizing the reel during dispensing in order to prevent misalignment of the roll material during dispensing.
Regarding Claim 6, Macura teaches:
every element of the system is associated with the horizontal wall of the frame of the machine, in such a way as to position the elements close to and above or below the pick-up and release device (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9).
Macura does not teach:
the supporting element supporting the reel pressing element associated with the horizontal wall of the frame of the machine, in such a way as to position the reel pressing element close to the pick-up and release device.
Cranston teaches:
the supporting element is associated with a horizontal element of the frame of the machine, in such a way as to position the reel pressing element close to the pick-up and release device (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel material dispensing machine having an automated reloading system for replacing spent reels the reels being carried by a first storage unit and a pick-up and release device, the first storage unit being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reels in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device, every element of the system is associated with the horizontal wall of the frame of the machine, in such a way as to position the elements close to and above or below the pick-up and release device taught by Macura with the reel material dispensing machine having a reloading apparatus and a reel pressing element configured to stabilise the replacement reel on the supporting shaft, the reel pressing element being carried by a supporting element associated outside the frame of the machine, close to the first storage unit and the pick-up and release device, the supporting element being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reel pressing element in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device, the supporting element is associated with a horizontal element of the frame of the machine, in such a way as to position the reel pressing element close to the pick-up and release device taught by Cranston in order to provide a means of stabilizing the reel during dispensing in order to prevent misalignment of the roll material during dispensing.
Regarding Claim 7, Macura teaches:
the reels comprise a cylindrical body with a diameter greater than a diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, for being coupled with the robotic arm [0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0067].
Macura does not teach:
the reel pressing element comprises a cylindrical body with a diameter greater than a diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, for being coupled with the robotic arm.
Cranston teaches:
the reel pressing element comprises a cylindrical body (19) with a diameter greater than a diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, for being coupled with the robotic arm (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5) [0024 & 0036 & 0040 & 0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel material dispensing machine having an automated reloading system for replacing spent reels the reels being carried by a first storage unit and a pick-up and release device, the first storage unit being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reels in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device, the reels comprise a cylindrical body with a diameter greater than a diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, for being coupled with the robotic arm taught by Macura with the reel material dispensing machine having a reloading apparatus and a reel pressing element configured to stabilise the replacement reel on the supporting shaft, the reel pressing element being carried by a supporting element associated outside the frame of the machine, close to the first storage unit and the pick-up and release device, the supporting element being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reel pressing element in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device, the reel pressing element comprises a cylindrical body (19) with a diameter greater than a diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, for being coupled with the robotic arm taught by Cranston in order to provide a means of stabilizing the reel during dispensing in order to prevent misalignment of the roll material during dispensing.
Regarding Claim 8, Macura discloses:
the reels comprise a rigid ring having a diameter greater than the diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, to be placed, under the action of the pick-up and release device, a stable positioning, by axial sliding, of the replacement reel on the supporting shaft [0052 & 0053 & 0054 & 0055 & 0056 & 0067].
Macura does not teach:
the reel pressing element comprises a rigid ring having a diameter greater than the diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, to be placed in contact with a flat surface of the replacement reel in such a way as to allow, under the action of the pick-up and release device, a stable positioning, by axial sliding, of the replacement reel on the supporting shaft.
Cranston teaches:
the reel pressing element comprises a rigid ring (19) having a diameter greater than the diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, to be placed in contact with a flat surface of the replacement reel in such a way as to allow, under the action of the pick-up and release device, a stable positioning, by axial sliding, of the replacement reel on the supporting shaft (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 5) [0024 & 0036 & 0040 & 0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel material dispensing machine having an automated reloading system for replacing spent reels the reels being carried by a first storage unit and a pick-up and release device, the first storage unit being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reels in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device, the reels comprise a rigid ring having a diameter greater than the diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, to be placed, under the action of the pick-up and release device, a stable positioning, by axial sliding, of the replacement reel on the supporting shaft taught by Macura with the reel material dispensing machine having a reloading apparatus and a reel pressing element configured to stabilise the replacement reel on the supporting shaft, the reel pressing element being carried by a supporting element associated outside the frame of the machine, close to the first storage unit and the pick-up and release device, the supporting element being equipped with means for quick coupling and detachment of the reel pressing element in such a way as to allow it to be picked up and repositioned by the pick-up and release device, the reel pressing element comprises a rigid ring (19) having a diameter greater than the diameter of the reel supporting shaft and configured, in use, to be placed in contact with a flat surface of the replacement reel in such a way as to allow, under the action of the pick-up and release device, a stable positioning, by axial sliding, of the replacement reel on the supporting shaft taught by Cranston in order to provide a means of stabilizing the reel during dispensing in order to prevent misalignment of the roll material during dispensing.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macura et al. (US 20160060059 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Macura discloses:
the first storage unit comprises a rigid structure having a cradle portion for supporting a plurality of replacement reels, a rigid disc-shaped base, supported by the cradle portion, for supporting the replacement reels (Fig. 6 & Fig. 9).
Macura does not teach:
the first storage unit comprises a side portion fixed to the at least one vertical side wall of the frame of the machine.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a fixing means for fixing the first storage unit side portion to the at least one vertical side wall in order to prevent unintentional shifting of the storage unit during engagement of a replacement roll by the transfer device in order to prevent misengagement since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that docking systems for fixing portable support systems for support of process supplies to a process system were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20160060061 A1, US 20030032538 A1, and US 5205505 A have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: reel dispensing systems with automated reloading means.
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
***