Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 1, line 3, “a glass” should be – the glass --. In claim 7 the meaning of “caulking” is unclear and thus this limitation will not be considered on the merits. In claim 8 it is unclear what “a surface” is part of. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiraishi et al 2017/0338575.
Regarding claim 1, Shiraishi et al discloses an electrical connection structure 10 for a conductor formed on a glass surface 1, comprising: a conductor 2 formed on a glass surface; a housing 11 having a cover member 40 provided to cover at least a part of the conductor, forming a cavity between the cover member and the glass surface and having an insertion slot 35 in communication with the cavity, and a connection member 60 inserted into the insertion slot made of an electrically conductive material having elasticity (at 68), wherein the connection member presses the conductor by being elastically deformed in the cavity whereby the connection member and the conductor are electrically connected, and wherein the cover member comprises a releasable plate-shaped ceiling forming in its open position an angle (α) between the glass surface and the cover member from 15 to 135°.
Regarding claim 2, Shiraishi et al discloses the angle (α) is from 30° to 70° (Figure 12).
Regarding claim 3, Shiraishi et al (paragraph 39) discloses the conductor 2 formed on the glass surface contains a vapor deposited, printed-on, or glued-on metal, a metal compound, a metal alloy, a baked silver paste, or an electrically conductive polymer.
Regarding claim 4, Shiraishi et al (paragraph 42) discloses a bottom part of the housing 11 is fixed on the glass surface 1 by an adhesive or a glue.
Regarding claim 5, Shiraishi et al discloses the cover member 40 and the connection member 60 have respectively a structure fitting or engaging with each other.
Regarding claim 6, Shiraishi et al discloses an end of the connection member 60 has elasticity (cantilever arms 68) and another end of the connection member is a male type 63 or female type terminal for a connector connected with a lead wire.
Regarding claim 7, Shiraishi et al discloses an end of the connection member 60 has elasticity and the other another end of the connection member is connected with a lead wire by caulking.
Regarding claim 8, Shiraishi et al discloses a contact portion of the connection member to be in contact with the conductor 2 is applied by metal plating at a surface.
Regarding claim 10, Shiraishi et al discloses the conductor 2 is formed on a window glass 1 for automobiles.
Regarding claim 11, Shiraishi et al discloses the electrical connecting structure is formed on the inner face of a window glass for automobiles.
Regarding claim 12, Shiraishi et al discloses the angle (α) is from 35° to 55°.
35 USC 103 Rejection
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraishi et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Durussel 4023008.
Durussel (column 2, lines 10-12) discloses the conductor comprises a baked silver paste, and to form the conductor of Shiraishi et al in this way thus would have been obvious, for good conductivity.
/GARY F PAUMEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834