DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they considered moot because the arguments are directed toward subject matter that has not been previously considered and has necessitated a new grounds of rejection as outlined below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC §103, amendments made to the claims have necessitated a new grounds of rejection as outlined below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“enabling assembly” in claim 1. Applicant’s disclosure recites “enabling assembly 102” in paragraph [0039] and Fig. 3.
“operating assembly” in claim 1. Applicant’s disclosure recites “operating assembly 103” in paragraph [0039] and Fig. 2.
“emergency component” in claim 2. Applicant’s disclosure recites “emergency component 104” in paragraph [0054] and Fig. 2.
“auxiliary components” in claim 9. Applicant’s disclosure recites “auxiliary components 106” in paragraph [0057] and Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braut (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0255704 A1) in view of Norman et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,810,378 B1; hereinafter Norman), Eggert et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0213535 A1; hereinafter Eggert), and Capello (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0035073 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Braut discloses:
An electronic device (robot controller, see at least abstract) comprising: a portable body (portable robot controller, see at least [0002]) comprising a housing (see at least Figs 1-2) and a cable extending outward from the housing (see at least Fig. 3),;
an enabling assembly comprising an enabling component at least partially arranged outside the housing, the enabling assembly adapted to provide an enabling signal to the unmanned ground vehicle via the cable in response to the enabling component being operated (safety switch operating means to be used to be held in a run position and robot movement stops if safety switch operating means is not held in the run position, see at least [0013] and [0051]; and Fig. 5); and
an operating assembly at least partially arranged outside the housing and adapted to, in response to reception of the enabling signal, provide an operation signal to the unmanned ground vehicle to control an operation of the unmanned ground vehicle (control means 2 and 3 are joysticks, see at least [0046], velocity and robot movement is determined by deflection of joystick from its neutral position, see at least [0052]; and Figs 1-2 and 4).
wherein the operating assembly is arranged on a first side of the housing (see front side of Fig. 4 with joystick) and enabling component is arranged on a second side of the housing opposite to the first side (see opposite side or back of controller in Fig. 5 with safety switch)
wherein the housing comprises a handheld part arranged on the second side to facilitate holding of the electronic device (safety switch and grips to be held, see Fig. 5), and wherein the enabling component is arranged adjacent to the handheld part to allow the user to press the enabling component while holding the electronic device with one hand (operator is permitted to operate robot controller using one hand only [0023])
Braut does not explicitly disclose:
unmanned ground vehicle
wherein the end cable is coupled to an interface of a printed circuit board at a first end and has a second end configured to be plugged into a corresponding socket of the unmanned ground vehicle
wherein the enabling assembly is adapted to provide the enabling signal comprising a pair of check signals for dual-channel transmission
wherein the pair of check signals are verified against each other by the unmanned ground vehicle
the handheld part comprising a band
However, Norman teaches:
the cable adapted to electrically connect the electronic device to an unmanned ground vehicle (tether cable 330, see at least Fig. 3B)
wherein the end cable is coupled to an interface of a printed circuit board at a first end and has a second end configured to be plugged into a corresponding socket of the unmanned ground vehicle (user may control robot using a wired connection, transmitter 106 communicates control signals between tether port 308 and the OVPC tether port 324 through tether cable 330, see at least col. 7 lines 9-15 and Fig. 3B)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Braut by adding the tether cable taught by Norman with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use a hard wire connection (see col. 7 lines 3-4) and “to plug the transmitter directly into the OVPC and specifically bypass the receiver for diagnostic purposes” (see col. 7 lines 21-23).
Additionally, Eggert teaches:
wherein the enabling assembly is adapted to provide the enabling signal comprising a pair of check signals for dual-channel transmission (transmitted signals are checked for dual-channel transmission, see abstract and [0005])
wherein the pair of check signals are verified against each other by the unmanned ground vehicle (generated signals transmitted via two transmission channels to a common evaluation unit to be checked within the evaluation unit using calculation specifications that correspond to one another, see at least [0008])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Braut and the tether cable taught by Norman by adding the dual-channel transmission taught by Eggert with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to detect errors between signals (see [0011]).
Furthermore, Capello teaches:
the handheld part comprising a band (additional component part of robot 600 provides communication for instruction relating to operation of robot, may comprise one or more attachment means such as straps to attach making the robot hand-held, see at least [0061])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Braut, the tether cable taught by Norman, and the dual-channel transmission taught by Eggert by adding the strap taught by Capello with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to actively attach a controller to a user’s arm (see [0061]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
an emergency component (emergency stop button 4, see at least [0048]) at least partially arranged outside the housing (see at least reference number 4 in figures 4 and 5) and adapted to, in response to being pressed, provide an emergency signal to the unmanned ground vehicle to stop the operation of the unmanned ground vehicle (emergency stop 4 is arranged as a push button on the panel, see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
a display arranged on the housing (display 5, see at least [0033] and Fig. 1) and adapted to at least present parameters and/or status of the unmanned ground vehicle (displays what measures are permitted at each moment such as current position and orientation, see at least [0033]-[0035])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above but Braut does not disclose:
the cable comprises: an Ethernet cable to allow the operation signal to be transmitted
However, Phillips teaches:
the cable comprises: an Ethernet cable to allow the operation signal to be transmitted (communication between remote vehicle 10 and operator control unit 20 is accomplished via a communication link that includes an ethernet cable, see at least [0327])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Barut by adding the ethernet cable taught by Phillips with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for “low EMC footprint, noise/bounce tolerant, modularity, can uniformly read/control each endpoint” and because “an Ethernet network can handle far node-to-far node communication” (see [0178]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
the operating assembly comprises: a joystick adapted to generate the operation signal (control means such as joysticks, see at least [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
the joystick and the display are arranged on a first side of the housing, and the enabling component is arranged on a second side of the housing opposite to the first side (display and joysticks on the top and live handle switch on the bottom, see at least fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
the housing comprises: a handheld part arranged on the second side to facilitate holding of the electronic device (left and right handgrips 32L and 32R, see at least [0048] and Fig. 5), and wherein the enabling component is arranged adjacent to the handheld part to allow the user to press the enabling component while holding the electronic device with one hand (see grips 32L and 32R adjacent to live handle switches 11L and 11R in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
auxiliary components at least partially arranged outside the housing and adapted to generate an adjustment signal to adjust the parameters of the unmanned ground vehicle and/or to adjust a presentation present on the display (switch means 6 and 7 arranged as pushbuttons and may activate fixed functions or programmable functions and when activated, displays to the operator information about what measures are permitted at each moment, see at least [0033] and Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
the electronic device is a standardized teach pendant (teach pendant unit TPU, see at least [0002])
Regarding claim 11, Braut discloses:
obtaining an enabling signal from an enabling assembly of an electronic device (safety switch operating means to be used to be held in a run position and robot movement stops if safety switch operating means is not held in the run position, see at least [0013] and [0051]; and Fig. 5);
obtaining an operation signal from an operating assembly of the electronic device (control means 2 and 3 are joysticks, see at least [0046], velocity and robot movement is determined by deflection of joystick from its neutral position, see at least [0052]; and Figs 1-2 and 4); and
controlling an operation of the unmanned ground vehicle according to the operation signal in response to reception of the enabling signal (press live handle operating switch to enable TPU and move the joystick for robot to move in indicated direction, see at least steps 60-62 in Fig. 6).
wherein the operating assembly is arranged on a first side of the housing (see front side of Fig. 4 with joystick) and enabling component is arranged on a second side of the housing opposite to the first side (see opposite side or back of controller in Fig. 5 with safety switch)
wherein the housing comprises a handheld part arranged on the second side to facilitate holding of the electronic device (safety switch and grips to be held, see Fig. 5), and wherein the enabling component is arranged adjacent to the handheld part to allow the user to press the enabling component while holding the electronic device with one hand (operator is permitted to operate robot controller using one hand only [0023])
Braut does not explicitly disclose:
unmanned ground vehicle
wherein the enabling signal is received via cable that is coupled to an interface of a printed circuit board at a first end and has a second end configured to be plugged into a corresponding socket of the unmanned ground vehicle
obtaining a pair of check signals of the enabling signal from the enabling assembly of the electronic device
comparing the pair of the check signals to verify a validity of the enabling signal
the handheld part comprising a band
However, Norman teaches:
the cable adapted to electrically connect the electronic device to an unmanned ground vehicle (tether cable 330, see at least Fig. 3B)
wherein the enabling signal is received via cable that is coupled to an interface of a printed circuit board at a first end and has a second end configured to be plugged into a corresponding socket of the unmanned ground vehicle (user may control robot using a wired connection, transmitter 106 communicates control signals between tether port 308 and the OVPC tether port 324 through tether cable 330, see at least col. 7 lines 9-15 and Fig. 3B)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Braut by adding the tether cable taught by Norman with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use a hard wire connection (see col. 7 lines 3-4) and “to plug the transmitter directly into the OVPC and specifically bypass the receiver for diagnostic purposes” (see col. 7 lines 21-23).
Additionally, Eggert teaches:
obtaining a pair of check signals of the enabling signal from the enabling assembly of the electronic device (transmitted signals are checked for dual-channel transmission, see abstract and [0005])
comparing the pair of the check signals to verify a validity of the enabling signal (generated signals transmitted via two transmission channels to a common evaluation unit to be checked within the evaluation unit using calculation specifications that correspond to one another, see at least [0008])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Braut and the tether cable taught by Norman by adding the dual-channel transmission taught by Eggert with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to detect errors between signals (see [0011]).
Furthermore, Capello teaches:
the handheld part comprising a band (additional component part of robot 600 provides communication for instruction relating to operation of robot, may comprise one or more attachment means such as straps to attach making the robot hand-held, see at least [0061])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the portable robot controller disclosed by Braut, the tether cable taught by Norman, and the dual-channel transmission taught by Eggert by adding the strap taught by Capello with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to actively attach a controller to a user’s arm (see [0061]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
obtaining an emergency signal from the emergency component of the electronic device (emergency stop button 4, see at least [0048]); and stopping the operation of the unmanned ground vehicle in response to reception of the emergency signal (emergency stop 4 is arranged as a push button on the panel, see at least [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
obtaining an adjustment signal; and adjusting corresponding one or more of parameters according to the adjustment signal (switch means 6 and 7 arranged as pushbuttons and may activate fixed functions or programmable functions and when activated, displays to the operator information about what measures are permitted at each moment, see at least [0033] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
transmitting information involving parameters and/or status of the unmanned ground vehicle to the electronic device (displays what measures are permitted at each moment such as current position, orientation, and status, see at least [0033]-[0040]; cable for transfer of data communication, see at least [0047])
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
A computer readable storage medium having computer readable program instructions stored thereon which, when executed by a control module, cause the control module to perform the method of claim 11 (program stored on computer readable medium that make the computer perform the method, see at least [0079])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
obtaining an emergency signal from the emergency component of the electronic device (emergency stop button 4, see at least [0048]); and stopping the operation of the unmanned ground vehicle in response to reception of the emergency signal (emergency stop 4 is arranged as a push button on the panel, see at least [0033])
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
obtaining an adjustment signal; and adjusting corresponding one or more of parameters according to the adjustment signal (switch means 6 and 7 arranged as pushbuttons and may activate fixed functions or programmable functions and when activated, displays to the operator information about what measures are permitted at each moment, see at least [0033] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Braut, Norman, Eggert, and Capello teaches the elements above and Braut further discloses:
transmitting information involving parameters and/or status of the unmanned ground vehicle to the electronic device (displays what measures are permitted at each moment such as current position, orientation, and status, see at least [0033]-[0040]; cable for transfer of data communication, see at least [0047])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0013239 A1) teaches a multi-channel signal check to determine whether a signal is normal.
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/DALE W HILGENDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662