DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The preamble recitation of “a buffer tank separation system” is not given patentable weight as the recitation fails to breathe life and meaning into the claim, the limitation is not recited in the body of the claim and the claim does not rely on the recitation for completeness. For examination purposes, claims 1-10 are considered to read broadly on a separation system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (CN 106946432, the passages below refer to the machine-generated English translation provided with the instant office action) in view of Levine (US 2016/0122703).
Per claim 1, Lian et al. teach a buffer tank separation system (page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3, sewage so that the flexible buffer 31 movement. a displacement sensor (32) for detecting displacement of the flexible buffer 31.), comprising:
at least one inlet (from storage tank 2 leading to separator 3; Fig. 1);
a liquids collection tank (18; page 5, the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate) comprising a liquids outlet (Fig. 1);
a solids collection tank (6; page 5, The displacement sensor 32 detects the displacement quantity, vibrating actuator 341 vibrating, the vibrating sieve plate control motor 351 to rotate so that the vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6;) comprising a solids outlet (Fig. 1);
a belt separator (36) comprising a perforated belt (36-vibrating screen) looped between two rollers (34, 35; Fig. 1), the belt separator positioned to receive an input stream via the at least one inlet onto the belt of the belt separator (Fig. 1; page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3, sewage so that the flexible buffer 31 movement. a displacement sensor (32) for detecting displacement of the flexible buffer 31.), the input stream comprising at least one of: solids and liquids (page 5, …manure solids), the belt separator configured to deliver a solids portion of the input stream to the solids collection tank (page 5, The displacement sensor 32 detects the displacement quantity, vibrating actuator 341 vibrating, the vibrating sieve plate control motor 351 to rotate so that the vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6;) and to deliver a liquids portion of the input stream to the liquids collection tank (page 5, the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate); and
a shredder (4) connected to the solids outlet (Fig. 1), the shredder configured to receive a collected solids portion output (page 5, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6;). Lian et al. do not disclose the shredder is a homogenizer and forms a uniform and homogenized slurry.
Levine, also directed to a separation system ([0088] FIG. 1 shows a flow diagram of a system embodiment. Shown is waste generated by animals 101 that is collected in a pit 102 and then pumped to a screw press 104 which could also be replaced by a macerator or other device configured to reduce waste particulate size to less than about 1 mm in diameter. The screw press 104 removes solids larger than about 1 mm as fibrous solids 103.), disclose providing a homogenizer (107; [0088] From there, the slurry goes to a micronizer 107 such as a nozzle containing one or more orifices. The waste is pumped into the micronizer 107 at sufficiently high velocity such that the absolute pressure in the orifice(s) is less than atmospheric pressure. The waste solids are further disintegrated, emulsified, and solubilized in the micronizer.) configured to form a uniform and homogenized slurry (abstract, The method and system begins with a maceration and/or screening step that reduces waste particle size. Then, the waste is pumped through orifice(s) under high pressure to emulsify the waste and covert it to a slurry.) in order to, for example, accelerate microbial breakdown of wastes ([0074] Particle size reduction of waste solids in the orifice(s) helps accelerate microbial breakdown of the waste and emulsification and homogenization helps reduce settling in the anaerobic digester, which reduces maintenance and costs.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Lian et al. such that it comprises a homogenizer configured to form a uniform and homogenized slurry in order to, for example, accelerate microbial degradation of wastes.
Per claim 2, Lian et al. disclose wherein the perforated belt of the belt separator inherently comprises pores configured to allow the liquids portion of the input stream to pass through to the liquids collection tank and to retain the solids portion on the perforated belt (page 5, vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt,).
Per claim 4, Lian et al. disclose further comprising a liquid deflector (38) positioned beneath the belt separator (Fig. 1) configured to direct at least some of the liquids portion of the input stream to the liquids collection tank (page 4, primary filter storage case 3 bottom is provided with clapboard 38, clapboard 38 is located just below the second vibrating rollers 35, clapboard 38 upper end and second vibrating rollers 35 are provided with a brush 39. the first vibrating rollers 34 one end of which is connected with a vibrating driver 341, second vibrating rollers 35 of one end is connected with a vibrating sieve plate control motor 351. cavity of right clapboard 38 through second elastic cam rotor 17 the waste liquid of the filter into the primary settling liquid mixing box in 18,).
Per claim 5, Lian et al. disclose wherein the liquids collection tank further comprises a sludge outlet (19; page 4, a sludge discharge pipe 19 is provided with a third control valve 191,) and a bottom wall configured to direct a sludge stream to the sludge outlet (Fig. 1), the sludge stream comprising solids settled from the liquids portion contained in the liquids collection tank (page 5, dung dirt, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6; the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate, the second gravity sensor 182 to detect it, when the deposit dung dirt reaches a certain value, the third control valve 191 is opened.).
Per claim 7, Lian et al. disclose wherein the at least one inlet comprises a solids inlet configured to receive a mostly solids input stream comprising feces (page 5, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3,), the solids inlet comprising a chamber (Fig. 1), an offset chamber inlet (Fig. 1), and a chamber outlet (Fig. 1), the chamber shaped such that the solids input stream received via the offset chamber inlet is directed toward an interior wall surface of the chamber to flow out the chamber outlet onto the belt separator (Fig. 1).
Per claim 8, Lian et al. do not disclose wherein the at least one inlet comprises a liquids inlet configured to receive and direct a mostly liquids input stream onto the belt separator.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the system of Lian et al. such that it comprises wherein the at least one inlet comprises a liquids inlet configured to receive and direct a mostly liquids input stream onto the belt separator in order to, for example, thicken the solids to increase the filterability of the solids in the manure.
Per claim 10, Lian et al. disclose further comprising a motor (351) configured to drive at least one of the two rollers of the belt separator (page 5, The displacement sensor 32 detects the displacement quantity, vibrating actuator 341 vibrating, the vibrating sieve plate control motor 351 to rotate so that the vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt,).
Per claim 11, Lian et al., as modified by Levine, disclose a method for separating human waste (see, Lian et al., page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3, sewage so that the flexible buffer 31 movement. a displacement sensor (32) for detecting displacement of the flexible buffer 31.) using the buffer tank separation system of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), the method comprising:
receiving, onto a belt separator (36) , an input stream comprising at least one of: solids and liquids (See Lian et al., Fig. 1; page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3, sewage so that the flexible buffer 31 movement. a displacement sensor (32) for detecting displacement of the flexible buffer 31. The displacement sensor 32 detects the displacement quantity, vibrating actuator 341 vibrating, the vibrating sieve plate control motor 351 to rotate so that the vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6;
the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate,);
separating, by the belt separator, the input stream into a solids portion and a
liquids portion (see Lian et al., Fig. 1; page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3, sewage so that the flexible buffer 31 movement. a displacement sensor (32) for detecting displacement of the flexible buffer 31. The displacement sensor 32 detects the displacement quantity, vibrating actuator 341 vibrating, the vibrating sieve plate control motor 351 to rotate so that the vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6;
the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate,);
delivering the liquids portion to a liquids collection tank (18) for sedimentation (see Lian et al., page 5, and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6; the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate,);
delivering the solids portion to a solids collection tank (see Lian et al., 6; page 5, when the deposit dung dirt reaches a certain value, the third control valve 191 is opened. deposit dung dirt into stirring sterilizing chamber in 6, stirring and sterilization chamber 6 of the first weight sensor 9 to detect when it reaches a certain value,);
forming, in a shredder (4), a uniform and shredded slurry from a collected solids portion output from the solids collection tank (see Lian et al., page 5, dry dung dirt into the first cutter 4 for cutting. and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6;). Lian et al. do not explicitly disclose forming, in a homogenizer, a uniform and homogenized slurry from a collected solids portion output from the solids collection tank.
Levine, also directed to a separation system ([0088] FIG. 1 shows a flow diagram of a system embodiment. Shown is waste generated by animals 101 that is collected in a pit 102 and then pumped to a screw press 104 which could also be replaced by a macerator or other device configured to reduce waste particulate size to less than about 1 mm in diameter. The screw press 104 removes solids larger than about 1 mm as fibrous solids 103.), disclose forming, in a homogenizer (107; [0088] From there, the slurry goes to a micronizer 107 such as a nozzle containing one or more orifices. The waste is pumped into the micronizer 107 at sufficiently high velocity such that the absolute pressure in the orifice(s) is less than atmospheric pressure. The waste solids are further disintegrated, emulsified, and solubilized in the micronizer.) a uniform and homogenized slurry (abstract, The method and system begins with a maceration and/or screening step that reduces waste particle size. Then, the waste is pumped through orifice(s) under high pressure to emulsify the waste and covert it to a slurry.) in order to, for example, accelerate microbial breakdown of wastes ([0074] Particle size reduction of waste solids in the orifice(s) helps accelerate microbial breakdown of the waste and emulsification and homogenization helps reduce settling in the anaerobic digester, which reduces maintenance and costs.).
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Lian et al. such that it comprises forming in a homogenizer a uniform and homogenized slurry from a collected solids portion output from the solids collection tank in order to, for example, accelerate microbial degradation of wastes.
Per claim 12, Lian et al. disclose wherein the input stream comprises at least one of: a mostly liquids input stream, a mostly solids input stream comprising feces, a urine stream comprising mostly urine, a sludge stream received from the liquids collection tank, an overflow stream received from the solids collection tank, a reject stream received from a liquids treatment system, a filtrate received from a feces treatment system, and a condensed effluent received from a feces treatment system (page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3,).
Per claim 13, Lian et al. disclose wherein when the input stream is a mostly solids input stream comprising feces (page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3,), the input stream is received via a solids inlet comprising a chamber (Fig. 1), an offset chamber inlet (Fig. 1), and a chamber outlet (Fig. 1), the chamber shaped such that the solids input stream received via the offset chamber inlet is directed toward an interior wall surface of the chamber to flow out the chamber outlet onto the belt separator (Fig. 1).
Per claim 14, Lian et al. disclose wherein the belt separator comprises an inherently perforated belt (vibrating screen 36) looped between two rollers (Fig. 1), the belt separator positioned to receive an input stream comprising at least one of: solids and liquids, the input stream received via the at least one inlet onto the belt of the belt separator (page 5, The invention claims a railway vacuum sewage treatment system in the working process, the vacuum absorbing device 2 the manure sewage into the sewage collecting box 1 into the primary filter storage tank in 3,), the belt separator configured to deliver a solids portion of the input stream to the solids collection tank (6; page 5, when the deposit dung dirt reaches a certain value, the third control valve 191 is opened. deposit dung dirt into stirring sterilizing chamber in 6, stirring and sterilization chamber 6 of the first weight sensor 9 to detect when it reaches a certain value) and to deliver the liquids portion of the input stream to the liquids collection tank (18; page 5, and then entering to a stirring sterilizing chamber 6; the wet dung dirt into the primary settling liquid mixing tank 18 to precipitate,).
Per claim 15, Lian et al. disclose wherein the perforated belt of the belt separator inherently comprises pores configured to allow the liquids portion of the input stream to pass through to the liquids collection tank and to retain the solids portion on the perforated belt (page 5, vibrating screen 36 for filtering the dung dirt,).
Per claim 17, Lian et al. disclose wherein delivering the liquids portion to a liquids collection tank for sedimentation comprises directing at least some of the liquids portion of the input stream to the liquids collection tank (Fig. 1) via a liquid deflector (38) positioned beneath the belt separator (Fig. 1; page 4, primary filter storage case 3 bottom is provided with clapboard 38, clapboard 38 is located just below the second vibrating rollers 35, clapboard 38 upper end and second vibrating rollers 35 are provided with a brush 39. the first vibrating rollers 34 one end of which is connected with a vibrating driver 341, second vibrating rollers 35 of one end is connected with a vibrating sieve plate control motor 351. cavity of right clapboard 38 through second elastic cam rotor 17 the waste liquid of the filter into the primary settling liquid mixing box in 18,).
Per claim 18, Lian et al. disclose the method further comprising at least one of:
releasing the slurry to a feces treatment system (11; page 5, the dry dung dirt to biodegrade, after stirring for 2-3 hours, the second control valve 101 is opened, the dry dung dirt into the pressing device 11 to press the water,); and
releasing a collected liquids portion from the liquids collection tank to a liquids
treatment system (23; page 5, waste liquid heating box is generated in 23 of water
vapor and sterilizing cabinet in 12 water vapour produced through wet elastomer cam rotor vacuum pump 25 into the condenser 16, a condenser 16 for condensing the water vapour, an ultraviolet sterilizer 26 for sterilizing the condensed water.).
Per claim 19, Lian et al. do not disclose the method further comprising delivering a sludge portion of the liquids collection tank to the belt separator via a sludge outlet.
It is submitted that it would have been a routine matter of design choice to modify the system of Lian et al., as modified by Levine, such that it further comprises delivering a sludge portion of the liquids collection tank to the belt separator via a sludge outlet in order to, for example, thicken the solids to subsequently use the solids as a soil amendment or fertilizer.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (CN 106946432) in view of Levine (US 2016/0122703), as applied above, and further in view of Shin-Ya (US 2015/0164292).
Per claim 3, Lian et al., as modified by Levine, do not disclose the system further comprising a squeegee configured to remove the solids portion of the input stream from the perforated belt of the belt separator.
Shin-Ya, also directed to a separator system (abstract, A waterless toilet includes a urine/feces separation device, a transport conveyor, and a drier drum inside a casing.), discloses providing a functional equivalent of a squeegee (22; [0060] The frame 22 thus acts as a squeegee. Similarly the surface of the belt 43 of the transport conveyor 4 moves into contact with an upper edge of the frame 22 that rakes the toilet paper and feces sticking to the surface of the belt 43 off down into the drier drum 5.) in order to, for example, separate urine and feces in a waste stream.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Lian et al., as modified by Levine, such that it comprises a squeegee configured to remove the solids portion of the input stream from the perforated belt of the belt separator in order to, for example, separate urine and feces in a waste stream.
Per claim 16, Lian et al., as modified by Levine, do not disclose wherein delivering the solids portion to the solids collection tank comprises removing the solids portion of the input stream from the perforated belt of the belt separator with a squeegee.
Shin-Ya, also directed to a separator method (abstract, A waterless toilet includes a urine/feces separation device, a transport conveyor, and a drier drum inside a casing.), discloses providing a functional equivalent of a squeegee (22; [0060] The frame 22 thus acts as a squeegee. Similarly the surface of the belt 43 of the transport conveyor 4 moves into contact with an upper edge of the frame 22 that rakes the toilet paper and feces sticking to the surface of the belt 43 off down into the drier drum 5.) in order to, for example, separate urine and feces in a waste stream.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Lian et al., as modified by Levine, such that it comprises wherein delivering the solids portion to the solids collection tank comprises removing the solids portion of the input stream from the perforated belt of the belt separator with a squeegee in order to, for example, separate urine and feces in a waste stream.
Claims 6, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (CN 106946432) in view of Levine (US 2016/0122703), as applied above, and further in view of Hwang (KR 20190051381).
Per claim 6, Lian et al., as modified by Levine, do not disclose wherein the solids collection tank further comprises an overflow outlet.
Hwang, also directed to a separation system (Abstract, The present invention relates to a solid-liquid separator, capable of improving solid-liquid separation
efficiency of livestock excretions, and improving processing performance and processing capacity.), discloses wherein a solids collection tank (10; Fig. 1) further comprises an overflow outlet (12; Fig. 1; page 3, The storage tank 10 is provided with a discharge port 11 through which a manure is injected into a lower portion thereof and a discharge portion 12 which is discharged in the form of an overflow in an upper portion of the storage tank 10, So that the livestock manure can be dropped on the transporting direction starting portion 34 and transported to the take-out portion 35. The upper and lower screens 31 and 32 are wound around the drive roller 21, the driven roller 22 and the guide roller 23 installed in the fixed frame 20 in the form of a belt, The upper screen 31 is provided in an inclined manner and the transporting direction starting portion 34 of the upper screen 31 is installed on the lower side and the carry-out portion 35 is provided on the upper side, Liquid separation of livestock manure is carried out.) in order to, for example, subsequently facilitate the separation of solids and liquids in a waste stream.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Lian et al., as modified by Levine, such that it comprises wherein the solids collection tank further comprises an overflow outlet in order to, for example, subsequently facilitate the separation of solids and liquids in a waste stream.
Per claim 9, Lian et al., as modified by Levine, do not disclose wherein the at least one inlet comprises one or more auxiliary input ports configured to receive at least one of: a urine stream comprising mostly urine, a sludge stream received from the liquids collection tank, an overflow stream received from the solids collection tank, a reject stream received from a liquids treatment system, a filtrate received from a feces treatment system, and a condensed effluent received from a feces treatment system.
Hwang discloses wherein a solids collection tank (10; Fig. 1) further comprises an overflow outlet (12; Fig. 1; page 3, The storage tank 10 is provided with a discharge port 11 through which a manure is injected into a lower portion thereof and a discharge portion 12 which is discharged in the form of an overflow in an upper portion of the storage tank 10, So that the livestock manure can be dropped on the transporting direction starting portion 34 and transported to the take-out portion 35. The upper and lower screens 31 and 32 are wound around the drive roller 21, the driven roller 22 and the guide roller 23 installed in the fixed frame 20 in the form of a belt, The upper screen 31 is provided in an inclined manner and the transporting direction starting portion 34 of the upper screen 31 is installed on the lower side and the carry-out portion 35 is provided on the upper side, Liquid separation of livestock manure is carried out.) in order to, for example, subsequently facilitate the separation of solids and liquids in a waste stream.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the system of Lian et al., as modified by Levine, such that it comprises an overflow stream received from the solids collection tank, in order to, for example, subsequently facilitate the separation of solids and liquids in a waste stream.
Per claim 20, Lian et al., as modified by Levine, do not disclose the method further comprising delivering an overflow portion of the solids collection tank to the belt separator via an overflow outlet.
Hwang, also directed to a separation method (Abstract, The present invention relates to a solid-liquid separator, capable of improving solid-liquid separation
efficiency of livestock excretions, and improving processing performance and processing capacity.), discloses delivering an overflow portion (12) of a solids collection tank (10; Fig. 1) to a belt separator (31 via an overflow outlet (12; Fig. 1; page 3, The storage tank 10 is provided with a discharge port 11 through which a manure is injected into a lower portion thereof and a discharge portion 12 which is discharged in the form of an overflow in an upper portion of the storage tank 10, So that the livestock manure can be dropped on the transporting direction starting portion 34 and transported to the take-out portion 35. The upper and lower screens 31 and 32 are wound around the drive roller 21, the driven roller 22 and the guide roller 23 installed in the fixed frame 20 in the form of a belt, The upper screen 31 is provided in an inclined manner and the transporting direction starting portion 34 of the upper screen 31 is installed on the lower side and the carry-out portion 35 is provided on the upper side, Liquid separation of livestock manure is carried out.) in order to, for example, subsequently facilitate the separation of solids and liquids in a waste stream.
Accordingly, it would have been readily obvious for the skilled artisan to modify the method of Lian et al., as modified by Levine, such that it further comprises delivering an overflow portion of the solids collection tank to the belt separator via an overflow outlet in order to, for example, subsequently facilitate the separation of solids and liquids in a waste stream.
Conclusion
/FRED PRINCE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779