DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a WPAN communication unit for wireless communications with the external unit” as described in the specification. Particularly, in Fig. 8, the external unit 16a is included inside the transceiver system 10a. With respect to Fig. 8, Fig. 1 also illustrates transceiver system 10a, wherein the external unit is 16a is a mobile device. However, Fig. 1 clearly depicts an one-to-one communication configuration rather than a WPAN communication system. WPAN communication enables simultaneous communication with multiple devices. In contrast, the system illustrated in Fig. 1 appears limited to direct communication between the transceiver and a single external unit and does not suggest the capability to communicate with multiple devices concurrently. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/579297.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 1,
Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234
Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297
A transceiver interface, in particular mobile transceiver interface, having a configuration unit for configuring a pluggable transceiver,
A transceiver interface, in particular mobile transceiver interface, having a configuration unit for configuring a pluggable transceiver,
which comprises a communication interface for communication with an external unit and a transceiver interface for communication with the transceiver,
which comprises a communication interface for communication with an external unit and a transceiver interface for communication with the transceiver,
characterized in that the communication interface comprises a WPAN communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the communication interface comprises a wireless communication unit, in particular a WPAN communication unit, for wireless communication with the external unit.
However, Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234 differs from Claims of Application No. 18/579297 because Claims of Application No. 18/578234 does not include “characterized by a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit.”
It is clear that all the elements of the Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234 are to be found in Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297 (as the Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234 fully encompasses Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297). The difference between the Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234 and the Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297 lies in the fact that the claims includes many more elements and thus much more specific. Thus, the invention of Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297 is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since Claim 1 of Application No. 18/578234 is anticipated by Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297, it is not patentably distinct from Claims 1 and 3 of Application No. 18/579297.
Regarding claim 2,
Claim 2 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 4 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, characterized in that the transceiver interface is designed for providing a user data connection to the transceiver.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the transceiver interface is designed for providing a user data connection to the transceiver.
Regarding claim 3,
Claim 3 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 1 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, characterized by a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit.
characterized by a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit.
Regarding claim 4,
Claim 4 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 2 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, characterized in that the power supply unit provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit for at least 30 minutes.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the power supply unit provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit for at least 30 minutes.
Regarding claim 5,
Claim 5 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 12 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, characterized in that the power supply unit is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the power supply unit is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit.
Regarding claim 6,
Claim 6 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 5 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, characterized in that the communication interface comprises at least one wire-bound communication unit, in particular a USB communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the external unit.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the communication interface comprises at least one wire-bound communication unit, in particular a USB communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the external unit.
Regarding claim 7,
Claim 7 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 6 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, characterized by a transceiver configuration device, which comprises at least the transceiver interface and a configuration element of the configuration unit at least for programming the transceiver
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized by a transceiver configuration device, which comprises at least the transceiver interface and a configuration element of the configuration unit at least for programming the transceiver.
Regarding claim 8,
Claim 8 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 7 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, characterized in that the power supply unit is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply of at least of the configuration element
The transceiver interface according to claim 6, characterized in that the power supply unit is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration element.
Regarding claim 9,
Claim 9 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 8 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 7, characterized by an adapter having an adapter unit, which comprises the communication interface and an adapter interface for communication with the transceiver configuration device
The transceiver interface according to claim 6, characterized by an adapter having an adapter unit, which comprises the communication interface and an adapter interface for communication with the transceiver configuration device.
Regarding claim 10,
Claim 10 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 9 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 9, characterized in that the adapter interface comprises at least one wire-bound adapter communication unit , in particular a USB adapter communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the transceiver configuration device
The transceiver interface according to claim 8, characterized in that the adapter interface comprises at least one wire-bound adapter communication unit, in particular a USB adapter communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the transceiver configuration device.
Regarding claim 11,
Claim 11 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 10 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 10, characterized in that the wire-bound adapter communication unit has a plug connector element, which can be connected directly to the transceiver configuration device
The transceiver interface according to claim 9, characterized in that the wire-bound adapter communication unit has a plug connector element, which can be connected directly to the transceiver configuration device.
Regarding claim 12,
Claim 12 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 11 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, characterized in that the adapter comprises the power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the adapter unit
The transceiver interface according to claim 8, characterized in that the adapter comprises the power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the adapter unit.
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 13 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the configuration unit has a display unit which is designed for displaying at least one operating status.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized in that the configuration unit has a display unit which is designed for displaying at least one operating status.
Regarding claim 14,
Claim 14 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 14 of Application No. 18/579297
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized by an operator interface for operating and/or controlling the configuration unit.
The transceiver interface according to claim 1, characterized by an operator interface for operating and/or controlling the configuration unit.
Regarding claim 15,
Claim 15 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 15 of Application No. 18/579297
A transceiver system having a transceiver interface according to claim 1, having the external unit and the transceiver.
The transceiver system having a transceiver interface according to claim 1, having the external unit and the transceiver.
Regarding claim 16,
Claim 16 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 16-17 of Application No. 18/579297
A method for operating a transceiver interface, in particular according to claim 1, having an external unit for controlling the transceiver interface, wherein
A method for operating a transceiver interface, in particular according to claim 1, having an external unit for controlling the transceiver interface, wherein
the transceiver interface comprises a configuration unit for configuring a transceiver with a communication interface for communication with the external unit,
the transceiver interface comprises a configuration unit for configuring a transceiver with a communication interface for communication with the external unit,
characterized in that the communication interface comprises a WPAN communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit and the external unit is at least partially placed on the transceiver interface.
17 The method according to claim 16, characterized in that the communication interface has a WPAN communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit and the external unit is placed at least partially on the transceiver interface.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 of Application No. 18/578234
Claim 16 of Application No. 18/579297
The method according to Claim 16, characterized in that at least the configuration unit is autonomously supplied with power.
characterized in that at least the configuration unit is autonomously supplied with power.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires “the communication interface comprises a WPAN communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit.” However, the specification as originally filed does not provide an adequate explanation as to how this is performed. Specifically, in Fig. 8, the external unit 16a is included inside the transceiver system 10a. With respect to Fig. 8, Fig. 1 also illustrates transceiver system 10a, wherein the external unit is 16a is a mobile device. However, Fig. 1 clearly depicts an one-to-one direct communication configuration rather than a WPAN communication system. WPAN communication enables simultaneous communication with multiple devices. In contrast, the system illustrated in Fig. 1 appears limited to direct communication between the transceiver and a single external unit and does not suggest the capability to communicate with multiple devices concurrently. To satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. However, the specification, as filed, fails to conveys with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, applicant was in possession of the invention as now claimed.
The dependent claims 2-17 are rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 1.
Claim 7 requires “a transceiver configuration device, which comprises at least the transceiver interface.” However, Claim 1 has already defined that a configuration unit comprises a transceiver interface. Thus, this limitation is directly contradicting the limitation of Claim 1.
The dependent claim 9-11 are rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 7.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires “a transceiver interface” in line 4. It is not clear whether the claim is introducing a second transceiver interface or this limitation is referring to the transceiver interface in line 1. Claim 1 further requires “the transceiver” in lines 4-5. It is unclear whether this is referring to the pluggable transceiver in line 2. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “a transceiver interface” will be considered to mean “a second transceiver interface” while “the transceiver” will be considered to mean “the pluggable transceiver.” Also, Claim 1 recites “characterized in that the communication interface comprises a WPAN communication unit.” It is unclear whether this limitation is introducing structural limitation.
The dependent claims 2-17 are rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the autonomous power supply." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims 4-5, 8, and 12 are rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 3.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit." It is unclear whether the applicant is introducing a new autonomous power supply or referring to the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit in claim 3.
Claim 7 recites the limitation, “a transceiver configuration device, which comprises at least the transceiver interface.” It is unclear which transceiver interface is being referred to by this limitation. Is this referring to the transceiver interface of the preamble? Furthermore, Claim 1 has already defined that a configuration unit comprises a transceiver interface. Thus, this limitation is directly contradicting the limitation of Claim 1.
The dependent claim 9-11 are rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 7.
Claim 12 recites the limitation, “the adapter.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, Claim 12 recites “the adapter comprises the power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the adapter unit.” However, Claim 3 which this claim depend on has already claimed a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit. Thus, the limitation directly contradicts the claim limitation of Claim 3. It is also unclear whether the applicant is introducing a new power supply unit or referring to the same power supply unit.
Claim 16 recites “the transceiver interface.” It is unclear which transceiver interface is being referred. Is this referring to the transceiver interface of the preamble?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) in view of Wikipedia (Personal area network, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Weible et al. discloses A transceiver interface (Fig. 1; a transceiver interface 84), in particular mobile transceiver interface (Fig. 1; Abstract; a transceiver interface 84 is in particular mobile transceiver interface), having a configuration unit (Fig. 1; Page 7, Description of the embodiments, third paragraph; the transceiver interface 84 includes an interface unit 10) for configuring (Fig. 1; Page 8, last paragraph; the interface unit 10 provided a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 26, 28, 30, 34, in particular repeatedly, to change. The interface unit 10 provided in at least one operating state, a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 to adapt to different hardware types and/or hardware configurations, in particular to use the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 with different hardware) a pluggable transceiver (Fig. 1; Page 9, second paragraph; the first transceiver slot 12 is for connection of a first transceiver module 24. In the present case in particular of an SFP transceiver module and/or SFP+ transceiver module provided), which comprises a communication interface (Fig. 1; the communication unit 82) for communication with an external unit (Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device) and a transceiver interface(Fig. 1; transceiver slots 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for communication with the transceiver (Fig. 1; Abstract; interface unit 10 has at least one transceiver slot (12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for connecting at least one transceiver modules and is intended to change in at least one operating state, a configuration of the transceiver module), characterized in that the communication interface comprises a communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit (Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device).
However, the present reference does not expressly disclose WPAN.
Wikipedia discloses WPAN (Page 1, Wireless personal area network; A wireless personal area network (WPAN) is a personal area network in which the connections are wireless. IEEE 802.15 has produced standards for several types of PANs operating in the ISM band including Bluetooth. Bluetooth uses short-range radio waves. Uses in a WPAN include, for example, Bluetooth devices such as keyboards, pointing devices, audio headsets, printers may connect to personal digital assistants (PDAs), cellphones, or computers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Bluetooth WPAN as taught by Wikipedia. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because WPAN is well-known. It is a standard in art described by IEEE 802.15. Furthermore, it provides the convenience through eliminating cable clutter and allowing devices like smartphones, laptops, headphones, and smartwatches to connect seamlessly.
Furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
Regarding claim 2, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, as described and applied above.
Regarding the claim limitation, “the transceiver interface is designed for providing a user data connection to the transceiver,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
Regarding claim 14, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to claim 1, as described and applied above, characterized by an operator interface for operating and/or controlling (Weible et al., Fig. 2; Page 3, third paragraph; the interface unit can in particular comprise at least one connection interface, advantageously a data interface, preferably a USB interface, in particular at least for, advantageously, a connection to at least one external device. In this context, an "external device" is to be understood as meaning, in particular, a device, in particular an electronic device, preferably designed as an operating unit and/or control unit, which is preferably used for controlling the transceiver interface is provided and/or can be provided. The external device is designed in particular as a permanently installed computer and/or advantageously as a mobile external device, such as a notebook, a tablet, a smartphone and/or an equivalent electronic device. Advantageously, the transceiver interface is controlled by means of the external device directly by means of a browser which can be executed, in particular, on the external device, whereby in particular an installation of a special program and / or a special application can be dispensed with. Alternatively or additionally, however, it is also conceivable to provide a special application for controlling the transceiver interface, in particular when the external device is designed as a tablet and/or smartphone) the configuration unit (Fig. 1; Abstract; interface unit 10 has at least one transceiver slot (12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for connecting at least one transceiver modules and is intended to change in at least one operating state, a configuration of the transceiver module).
The present combination is different in that the present combination performs the functions of the configuration unit using a single processor that also performs other functions. That is, it does not have a separate configuration unit. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place separate processor for performing configuration, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 15, the present combination discloses A transceiver system having a transceiver interface according to claim 1, as described and applied above, having the external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device) and the transceiver (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 9, second paragraph; the first transceiver slot 12 is for connection of a first transceiver module 24. In the present case in particular of an SFP transceiver module and/or SFP+ transceiver module provided).
Regarding claim 16, the present combination discloses A method for operating a transceiver interface, in particular according to claim 1, as described and applied above, having an external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 14; the external device is shown on top of interface unit 10) for controlling the transceiver interface (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Abstract; The invention relates to a transceiver interface (84), in particular a mobile transceiver interface, comprising at least one interface unit (10) which has at least one transceiver slot (12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for connecting at least one transceiver modules (24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34) is provided, and which is intended to change in at least one operating state, a configuration of the transceiver module (24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34)), wherein the transceiver interface comprises a configuration unit (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 7, Description of the embodiments, third paragraph; the transceiver interface 84 includes an interface unit 10) for configuring a transceiver with a communication interface for communication with the external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 2; Page 3, third paragraph; the interface unit can in particular comprise at least one connection interface, advantageously a data interface, preferably a USB interface, in particular at least for, advantageously, a connection to at least one external device. In this context, an "external device" is to be understood as meaning, in particular, a device, in particular an electronic device, preferably designed as an operating unit and/or control unit, which is preferably used for controlling the transceiver interface is provided and/or can be provided. The external device is designed in particular as a permanently installed computer and/or advantageously as a mobile external device, such as a notebook, a tablet, a smartphone and/or an equivalent electronic device. Advantageously, the transceiver interface is controlled by means of the external device directly by means of a browser which can be executed, in particular, on the external device, whereby in particular an installation of a special program and / or a special application can be dispensed with. Alternatively or additionally, however, it is also conceivable to provide a special application for controlling the transceiver interface, in particular when the external device is designed as a tablet and/or smartphone), characterized in that the communication interface comprises a WPAN (Wikipedia, Page 1, Wireless personal area network; A wireless personal area network (WPAN) is a personal area network in which the connections are wireless. IEEE 802.15 has produced standards for several types of PANs operating in the ISM band including Bluetooth. Bluetooth uses short-range radio waves. Uses in a WPAN include, for example, Bluetooth devices such as keyboards, pointing devices, audio headsets, printers may connect to personal digital assistants (PDAs), cellphones, or computers) communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device).
Regarding “the external unit is at least partially placed on the transceiver interface,” the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem. There is no evidence that the size of the device has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. The present combination discloses the claimed invention except for size. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the external device partially placed on the transceiver interface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claim(s) 3-4, 8, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) and Wikipedia (Personal area network, 2019) in view of Davis (US5920177).
Regarding claims 3, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply.
Davis discloses a power supply unit (Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30) for the autonomous power supply (Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a rechargeable power source, as taught by Davis, in the present system, in order to ensure continuous operation of the communication device without being tethered to a fixed power source. This allows the communication device to operate independently even in the remote place where connection to fixed electric grid is not available.
Regarding claim 4, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the power supply unit provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit (Davis, Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
Regarding “for at least 30 minutes,” there is no evidence that providing power for at least 30 minutes has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Also, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 8, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the power supply unit (Davis, Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30) is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply (Davis, Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply) of at least of the configuration element (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 8, last paragraph; the interface unit 10 provided a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 26, 28, 30, 34, in particular repeatedly, to change. The interface unit 10 provided in at least one operating state, a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 to adapt to different hardware types and/or hardware configurations, in particular to use the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 with different hardware. The interface unit 10 comprises a various elements).
Regarding claim 12, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the adapter comprises the power supply unit (Weible et al., Page 8, fifth paragraph; The connection interface 94 is at least for connection to an external power supply unit (not shown), which in the present case in particular to a power supply of the transceiver interface 84 , in particular the electronics unit 92 , is provided).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply.
Davis discloses a power supply unit (Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30) for the autonomous power supply (Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a rechargeable power source, as taught by Davis, in the present system, in order to ensure continuous operation of the communication device without being tethered to a fixed power source. This allows the communication device to operate independently even in the remote place where connection to fixed electric grid is not available.
Regarding claim 17, the present combination discloses The method according to Claim 16, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least the unit is autonomously supplied with power.
Davis discloses at least the unit is autonomously supplied with power (Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a rechargeable power source, as taught by Davis, in the present system, in order to ensure continuous operation of the communication device without being tethered to a fixed power source. This allows the communication device to operate independently even in the remote place where connection to fixed electric grid is not available.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation), Wikipedia (Personal area network, 2019), and Davis (US5920177) in view of Veselic et al. (US7518343B2).
Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the power supply unit (Davis, Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit.
Veselic et al. discloses the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit (Fig. 1; the mobile electronic device 10 includes a rechargeable battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a battery charging mechanism for the mobile device, as taught by Veselic et al., in order to ensure continuous operation of the mobile device without being tethered to a fixed power source.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) and Wikipedia (Personal area network, 2019) in view of Veselic et al. (US7518343B2).
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least one wire-bound communication unit, in particular a USB communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the external unit.
Veselic et al. discloses at least one wire-bound communication unit (Fig. 1; the interface 28 of the host device 22), in particular a USB communication unit (Fig. 1; Column 2, lines 52-53; the user connect the mobile electronic device 10 to the USB host 22 via a USB cable 24), for wire-bound communication with the external unit (Fig. 1; Column 2, lines 56-59; A device interface 28, preferably a mobile electronic device interface, is connected to the USB host port 26 for transmitting data and current to and receiving data from the mobile electronic device 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a battery charging mechanism for the mobile device, as taught by Veselic et al., in order to ensure continuous operation of the mobile device without being tethered to a fixed power source while communicating data.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) and Wikipedia (Personal area network, 2019) in view of Matsushita et al. (US7415212B2).
Regarding claim 13, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a display unit which is designed for displaying at least one operating status.
Matsushita et al. discloses a display unit (Fig. 1; the transmitter 20A) which is designed for displaying at least one operating status (Fig. 1; Colum 16, lines 22-34; Column 13, lines 22-24; Each of the transmitters 20A . . . is disposed in a place where the surface of the object is easily seen, and comprises one or more light-emitting sections. The light-emitting section comprises, for example, a microcomputer-controlled LED. Then, an optical signal formed of a flashing pattern or a brightness variation pattern, corresponding to transmission data of a predetermined bit length (assumed to be N bits) in accordance with a display form such that the switching on of the LED represents bit 1 and the switching off thereof represents bit 0 is generated, making it possible to perform data transfer which is robust in terms of distance. The pilot lamp can indicate the status of a device by a color, etc., in order to show the status of the device to the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add microcomputer-controlled LEDs in order to easily check the status of a device.
Conclusion
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634