DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 5/19/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application No. 18/579297 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires “and not a Bluetooth®-Classic connection.” However, the specification as failed does not provide any support for this limitation. This is a new matter.
The dependent claims 2-17 are rejected for being dependent on the rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) in view of Krishnakumar et al. (US11665645B2).
Regarding claim 1, Weible et al. discloses A transceiver interface (Fig. 1; a transceiver interface 84), in particular mobile transceiver interface (Fig. 1; Abstract; a transceiver interface 84 is in particular mobile transceiver interface), having a configuration unit (Fig. 1; Page 7, Description of the embodiments, third paragraph; the transceiver interface 84 includes an interface unit 10) for configuring (Fig. 1; Page 8, last paragraph; the interface unit 10 provided a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 26, 28, 30, 34, in particular repeatedly, to change. The interface unit 10 provided in at least one operating state, a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 to adapt to different hardware types and/or hardware configurations, in particular to use the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 with different hardware) a pluggable transceiver (Fig. 1; Page 9, second paragraph; the first transceiver slot 12 is for connection of a first transceiver module 24. In the present case in particular of an SFP transceiver module and/or SFP+ transceiver module provided), which comprises a communication interface (Fig. 1; the communication unit 82) for communication with an external unit (Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device) and a transceiver port (Fig. 1; transceiver slots 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for communication with the pluggable transceiver (Fig. 1; Abstract; interface unit 10 has at least one transceiver slot (12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for connecting at least one transceiver modules and is intended to change in at least one operating state, a configuration of the transceiver module), wherein
the communication interface comprises a communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit (Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device).
However, the present reference does not expressly disclose WPAN, wherein the WPAN communication unit provides at least a Bluetooth® connection, characterized in that the Bluetooth® connection is a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) connection and not a Bluetooth®-Classic connection and the communication interface communicates with the external unit using BLE.
Krishnakumar et al discloses WPAN, wherein the WPAN communication unit provides at least a Bluetooth® connection, characterized in that the Bluetooth® connection is a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) connection and not a Bluetooth®-Classic connection and the communication interface communicates with the external unit using BLE (Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 17-21; wireless interface module 24 supports wireless communication through wireless personal area networks (WPAN), such as BLUETOOTH and BLUTOOTH LOW ENGERGY (BLE)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement WPAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because WPAN is well-known. It is a standard in art described by IEEE 802.15. Furthermore, it provides the convenience through eliminating cable clutter and allowing devices like smartphones, laptops, headphones, and smartwatches to connect seamlessly. Furthermore, it would also be obvious to utilize BLUTOOTH LOW ENGERGY because Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) dramatically reduces power consumption while maintaining reliable, short-range communication.
Regarding claim 2, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, as described and applied above.
Regarding the claim limitation, “the transceiver port is designed for providing a user data connection to the pluggable transceiver,” it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claim apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)).
Regarding claim 14, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to claim 1, as described and applied above, characterized by an operator interface for operating and/or controlling (Weible et al., Fig. 2; Page 3, third paragraph; the interface unit can in particular comprise at least one connection interface, advantageously a data interface, preferably a USB interface, in particular at least for, advantageously, a connection to at least one external device. In this context, an "external device" is to be understood as meaning, in particular, a device, in particular an electronic device, preferably designed as an operating unit and/or control unit, which is preferably used for controlling the transceiver interface is provided and/or can be provided. The external device is designed in particular as a permanently installed computer and/or advantageously as a mobile external device, such as a notebook, a tablet, a smartphone and/or an equivalent electronic device. Advantageously, the transceiver interface is controlled by means of the external device directly by means of a browser which can be executed, in particular, on the external device, whereby in particular an installation of a special program and / or a special application can be dispensed with. Alternatively or additionally, however, it is also conceivable to provide a special application for controlling the transceiver interface, in particular when the external device is designed as a tablet and/or smartphone) the configuration unit (Fig. 1; Abstract; interface unit 10 has at least one transceiver slot (12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for connecting at least one transceiver modules and is intended to change in at least one operating state, a configuration of the transceiver module).
The present combination is different in that the present combination performs the functions of the configuration unit using a single processor that also performs other functions. That is, it does not have a separate configuration unit. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place separate processor for performing configuration, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 15, the present combination discloses A transceiver system having a transceiver interface according to claim 1, as described and applied above, having the external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device) and the transceiver (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 9, second paragraph; the first transceiver slot 12 is for connection of a first transceiver module 24. In the present case in particular of an SFP transceiver module and/or SFP+ transceiver module provided).
Regarding claim 16, the present combination discloses A method for operating a transceiver interface, in particular according to claim 1, as described and applied above, having an external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 14; the external device is shown on top of interface unit 10) for controlling the transceiver interface (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Abstract; The invention relates to a transceiver interface (84), in particular a mobile transceiver interface, comprising at least one interface unit (10) which has at least one transceiver slot (12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22) for connecting at least one transceiver modules (24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34) is provided, and which is intended to change in at least one operating state, a configuration of the transceiver module (24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34)), wherein the transceiver interface comprises a configuration unit (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 7, Description of the embodiments, third paragraph; the transceiver interface 84 includes an interface unit 10) for configuring a pluggable transceiver with a communication interface for communication with the external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 2; Page 3, third paragraph; the interface unit can in particular comprise at least one connection interface, advantageously a data interface, preferably a USB interface, in particular at least for, advantageously, a connection to at least one external device. In this context, an "external device" is to be understood as meaning, in particular, a device, in particular an electronic device, preferably designed as an operating unit and/or control unit, which is preferably used for controlling the transceiver interface is provided and/or can be provided. The external device is designed in particular as a permanently installed computer and/or advantageously as a mobile external device, such as a notebook, a tablet, a smartphone and/or an equivalent electronic device. Advantageously, the transceiver interface is controlled by means of the external device directly by means of a browser which can be executed, in particular, on the external device, whereby in particular an installation of a special program and / or a special application can be dispensed with. Alternatively or additionally, however, it is also conceivable to provide a special application for controlling the transceiver interface, in particular when the external device is designed as a tablet and/or smartphone), wherein the communication interface comprises a WPAN (Krishnakumar et al., Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 17-21; wireless interface module 24 supports wireless communication through wireless personal area networks (WPAN), such as BLUETOOTH and BLUTOOTH LOW ENGERGY (BLE)) communication unit for wireless communication with the external unit (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 10, second paragraph; the communication unit 82 is formed in the present case as a Bluetooth receiver and/or Bluetooth transmitter. The communication unit 82 is intended to provide a wireless connection, in the present case in particular a Bluetooth connection, in particular for selective connection and/or communication with the external device), wherein the WPAN communication unit provides at least a Bluetooth® connection, characterized in that the Bluetooth® connection is a Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) connection and not a Bluetooth®-Classic connection and the communication interface communicates with the external unit using BLE (Krishnakumar et al., Fig. 1; Column 6, lines 17-21; wireless interface module 24 supports wireless communication through wireless personal area networks (WPAN), such as BLUETOOTH and BLUTOOTH LOW ENGERGY (BLE)).
Regarding “the external unit is at least partially placed on the transceiver interface,” the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem. There is no evidence that the size of the device has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. The present combination discloses the claimed invention except for size. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the external device partially placed on the transceiver interface, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claim(s) 3-4, 8, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) and Krishnakumar et al. (US11665645B2) in view of Davis (US5920177).
Regarding claims 3, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply.
Davis discloses a power supply unit (Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30) for the autonomous power supply (Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a rechargeable power source, as taught by Davis, in the present system, in order to ensure continuous operation of the communication device without being tethered to a fixed power source. This allows the communication device to operate independently even in the remote place where connection to fixed electric grid is not available.
Regarding claim 4, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the power supply unit provides an autonomous power supply of at least the configuration unit (Davis, Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
Regarding “for at least 30 minutes,” there is no evidence that providing power for at least 30 minutes has any mechanical function in relation to the underlying article or does it provide any unexpected advantage. Also, the claimed differences for this claim exist not as a result of an attempt by Applicant to solve an unknown problem but merely amount to the selection of expedients known as design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 8, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the power supply unit (Davis, Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30) is designed additionally for the autonomous power supply (Davis, Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply) of at least of the configuration element (Weible et al., Fig. 1; Page 8, last paragraph; the interface unit 10 provided a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 26, 28, 30, 34, in particular repeatedly, to change. The interface unit 10 provided in at least one operating state, a configuration of the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 to adapt to different hardware types and/or hardware configurations, in particular to use the at least one transceiver module 24, 25, 28, 30, 32, 34 with different hardware. The interface unit 10 comprises a various elements).
Regarding claim 12, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the adapter comprises the power supply unit (Weible et al., Page 8, fifth paragraph; The connection interface 94 is at least for connection to an external power supply unit (not shown), which in the present case in particular to a power supply of the transceiver interface 84 , in particular the electronics unit 92 , is provided).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a power supply unit for the autonomous power supply.
Davis discloses a power supply unit (Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30) for the autonomous power supply (Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a rechargeable power source, as taught by Davis, in the present system, in order to ensure continuous operation of the communication device without being tethered to a fixed power source. This allows the communication device to operate independently even in the remote place where connection to fixed electric grid is not available.
Regarding claim 17, the present combination discloses The method according to Claim 16, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least the unit is autonomously supplied with power.
Davis discloses at least the unit is autonomously supplied with power (Fig. 2; Abstract; A communications system is configured with an autonomous power supply. The autonomous power supply is an integrated rechargeable power source, such as a secondary battery like nickel-cadmium, nickel-metal-hydroxide or lithium-ion. The secondary battery is recharged by means of the computer power supply).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a rechargeable power source, as taught by Davis, in the present system, in order to ensure continuous operation of the communication device without being tethered to a fixed power source. This allows the communication device to operate independently even in the remote place where connection to fixed electric grid is not available.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation), Krishnakumar et al. (US11665645B2), and Davis (US5920177) in view of Veselic et al. (US7518343B2).
Regarding claim 5, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 3, as described and applied above, characterized in that the power supply unit (Davis, Fig. 2; the computer power supply 30).
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit.
Veselic et al. discloses the autonomous power supply of at least the external unit (Fig. 1; the mobile electronic device 10 includes a rechargeable battery 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a battery charging mechanism for the mobile device, as taught by Veselic et al., in order to ensure continuous operation of the mobile device without being tethered to a fixed power source.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) and Krishnakumar et al. (US11665645B2) in view of Veselic et al. (US7518343B2).
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to Claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose at least one wire-bound communication unit, in particular a USB communication unit, for wire-bound communication with the external unit.
Veselic et al. discloses at least one wire-bound communication unit (Fig. 1; the interface 28 of the host device 22), in particular a USB communication unit (Fig. 1; Column 2, lines 52-53; the user connect the mobile electronic device 10 to the USB host 22 via a USB cable 24), for wire-bound communication with the external unit (Fig. 1; Column 2, lines 56-59; A device interface 28, preferably a mobile electronic device interface, is connected to the USB host port 26 for transmitting data and current to and receiving data from the mobile electronic device 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a battery charging mechanism for the mobile device, as taught by Veselic et al., in order to ensure continuous operation of the mobile device without being tethered to a fixed power source while communicating data.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weible et al. (DE102016115546A1, the machine translation) and Krishnakumar et al. (US11665645B2) in view of Matsushita et al. (US7415212B2).
Regarding claim 13, the present combination discloses The transceiver interface according to claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose a display unit which is designed for displaying at least one operating status.
Matsushita et al. discloses a display unit (Fig. 1; the transmitter 20A) which is designed for displaying at least one operating status (Fig. 1; Colum 16, lines 22-34; Column 13, lines 22-24; Each of the transmitters 20A . . . is disposed in a place where the surface of the object is easily seen, and comprises one or more light-emitting sections. The light-emitting section comprises, for example, a microcomputer-controlled LED. Then, an optical signal formed of a flashing pattern or a brightness variation pattern, corresponding to transmission data of a predetermined bit length (assumed to be N bits) in accordance with a display form such that the switching on of the LED represents bit 1 and the switching off thereof represents bit 0 is generated, making it possible to perform data transfer which is robust in terms of distance. The pilot lamp can indicate the status of a device by a color, etc., in order to show the status of the device to the user.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add microcomputer-controlled LEDs in order to easily check the status of a device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634