Priority
Instant application 18/578,240 filed on 01/10/2024 claims benefit as follows:
CONTINUING DATA:
Status of the Application
Claims 2-16, 24, 33 and 50-54 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS documents have not been provided.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 07/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 52-54 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/23/2026.
Regarding species election, Applicant’s election without traverse of compound 375 in the reply filed on 07/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-16, 24 and 33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/23/2026.
Examination will begin with the elected species. In accordance with the MPEP 803.02, if upon examination of the elected species, no prior art is found that would anticipate or render obvious the instant invention based on the elected species, the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. If prior art is then found that anticipates or renders obvious the non-elected species, the Markush-type claim will be rejected. It should be noted that the prior art search will not be extended unnecessarily to cover all non-elected species. Should Applicant overcome the rejection by amending the claim, the amended claim will be reexamined. Id. The prior art search will be extended to the extent necessary to determine patentability of the Markush-type claim. Id. In the event prior art is found during reexamination that renders obvious or anticipates the amended Markush-type claim, the claim will be rejected and the action made final. Id.
As per MPEP 803.02, the Examiner will attempt to determine whether the entire scope of the claims is patentable. Applicants' elected species, as shown above, does make a contribution over the prior art. Therefore, according to MPEP 803.02: should the elected species appear allowable; the search of the Markush-type claim will be extended. The search and examination should be continued until either (1) prior art is found that anticipates or renders obvious a species that falls within the scope of a proper Markush grouping that includes the elected species, or (2) it is determined that no prior art rejection of any species that falls within the scope of a proper Markush grouping that includes the elected species can be made. The Examiner need not extend the search beyond a proper Markush grouping.
Species Election
A careful review of the prior art has indicated that elected species is free of the prior art. A claim directed to the elected species in independent form would be free of prior art.
The examiner has moved onto alternative species embodied within the general formula recited in the instant claim 2, and subsequent examination is based on this species expansion.
The whole scope of claim 2 has not been searched.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is withdrawn. However, it should be noted that a preamble is missing from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3, 5-12 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HUANG (CN-111620854-A, publication date 2020-09-04; please note that machine translation has been provided with the previous office action: Google Patents, printed 02/18/2026)
HUANG teaches heterocyclic compounds for treatments of EGFR-mediated diseases, including cancers (see the machine translation, page 51, last paragraph). For example, HUANG discloses and claims the following compound (see claim 8, machine translation, page 16, second row):
The above compound disclosed by HUANG falls under instant Formula (I):
wherein: X is C1 alkoxy (methoxy), Y and Y’ are each H, Het represents is 9 atom heteroaromatic bicyclic group comprising one N, Het is substituted with one C1 alkyl, Z is NR6, R6 is C1 alkyl, R1 is H, R2 is H, R3 is -C(O)-R11 wherein R11 is C2 haloalkyl, R7, R8, R9 and R10 are each H, n is 1, and R4 and R5 are each C1 alkyl.
Regarding instant claim 5, it should be noted that the above compound bears Het (the first structure recited in the instant claim)
wherein X’ is absent and R14 is methyl.
Further, regarding instant claims 11 and 12, it should be noted that the above compound falls under the formula (IA) and (IB).
Regarding instant claim 50, HUANG teaches “The present invention also provides a pharmaceutical composition comprising the above-mentioned compound represented by formula I or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier” (see page 52, second paragraph, machine translation).
Claims 2-3 and 5-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BUTTERWORTH (US-20130053409-A1).
BUTTERWORTH teaches compounds of Formula (II)
For example, BUTTERWORTH teaches the following compound (see page 62, pare [0700]).
The above compound disclosed by BUTTERWORTH falls under instant Formula (I):
wherein: X is C1 alkoxy (methoxy), Y and Y’ are each H, Het represents is 9 atom heteroaromatic bicyclic group comprising one N, Z is NR6, R6 is C1 alkyl, R1 is H, R2 is H, R3 is -H, R7, R8, R9 and R10 are each H, n is 1, and R4 and R5 are each C1 alkyl.
Regarding instant claim 5, it should be noted that the above compound bears (Het is the first structure recited in instant claim 5)
wherein X’ is absent and R14 is H.
Further, regarding instant claim 11 and 12, it should be noted that the above compound falls under the formula (IA) and (IB).
Claims 2-12 and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (Sato, et al., ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 11 June 2020; 11 (6): 1137–1144; Published April 8, 2020).
Sato teaches EGSF inhibitors (see abstract):
Sato teaches compound 19 (see Table 2):
that falls under instant Formula (I):
wherein: X is C1 alkoxy (methoxy), Y is CF3 and Y’ is H, Het represents is 9 atom heteroaromatic bicyclic group comprising one N, Z is NR6, R6 is C1 alkyl, R1 is H, R2 is H, R3 is -C(O)R11, R11 is haloalkyl, R7, R8, R9 and R10 are each H, n is 1, and R4 and R5 are each C1 alkyl.
Regarding instant claim 5, it should be noted that the above compound bears (Het, the first structure recited in the instant claim)
wherein X’ is absent and R14 is H.
Further, regarding instant claim 11 and 12, it should be noted that the above compound falls under the formula (IA) and (IB).
Regarding claim 50, it should be noted that Sato teaches that compound 19 shows antiproliferative properties (see Table 2):
Further, Sato teaches compound 19 is soluble in DMSO (see supporting information, page 47):
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would at once envisage a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound 19 and DMSO. DMSO is pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-12, 50 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (Sato, et al., ACS Med. Chem. Lett. 11 June 2020; 11 (6): 1137–1144; Published April 8, 2020 as applied to claims 2-12 and 50 above, and further in view of BUTTERWORTH (US-20130053409-A1).
Sato teaches compound 19 (see Table 2):
that falls under instant Formula (I):
wherein: X is C1 alkoxy (methoxy), Y is CF3 and Y’ is H, Het represents is 9 atom heteroaromatic bicyclic group comprising one N, Z is NR6, R6 is C1 alkyl, R1 is H, R2 is H, R3 is -C(O)R11, R11 is haloalkyl, R7, R8, R9 and R10 are each H, n is 1, and R4 and R5 are each C1 alkyl.
Regarding instant claim 5, it should be noted that the above compound bears Het (the first structure recited in the instant claim)
wherein X’ is absent and R14 is H.
Further, regarding instant claim 11 and 12, it should be noted that the above compound falls under the formula (IA) and (IB).
Regarding claim 50, it should be noted that Sato teaches that compound 19 shows antiproliferative properties (see Table 2):
Further, Sato teaches compound 19 is soluble in DMSO (see supporting information, page 47):
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in art would at once envisage a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound 19 and DMSO. DMSO is pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Regarding instant claim 51, Sato does not teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising an additional therapeutic agent.
BUTTERWORTH teaches EGFR inhibitors of Formula (I):
Further, BUTTERWORTH teaches compounds of Formula (I) in combinations with additional anti-tumor agent (see para. [0298]):
Applying KSR prong (A) - Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results - it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine compound 19 of Sato and additional anti-tumor agent with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would expect additive effect.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/I.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1621