1. The instant office action of restriction requirement is to correct the typographic error of claim 31 listed in Group I. Claim 31 is directed to different T cells which belong to Group II that directed to nucleic acid and cells in the restriction requirement dated 06/09/2026.
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
3. As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Election/Restrictions
4. Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-8 and 29-30, drawn to a novel chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising a chimeric antigen receptor and a NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising a full length sequence of a truncated fragment of NKG2D, DAP10 and/or DAP12
Group II, claim(s) 9-14,18-23 and 31, drawn to a nucleic acid encoding the chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein of claim 1, a vector comprising the claimed nucleic acid, a cell expressing the claimed chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, and a method for preparing the claimed cell.
Group III, claim(s) 15-17 and 24-28, drawn to a method treating a tumor in a patient comprising administering to the patient the chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein of claim 1.
5. The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a novel chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising a chimeric antigen receptor and a NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising a full length sequence of a truncated fragment of NKG2D, DAP10 and/or DAP12, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Baumeister et al. (Cancer Immunol. Res. 2019; 7:100-112. Doi:10.1158/2326-6066.CIR-18-0307), Han et al. (US2020/0360437, published Nov 19, 2020, priority Feb 7, 2018), or Liu et al. (US2020/0308248, published Oct 1, 2020, priority Mar 26, 2019). For example, Baumeister et al. teach a fusion protein comprising a chimeric antigen receptor and a NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising a full length sequence of a truncated fragment of NKG2D (see p. 1, abstract; p.4-8), which meets the limitation of the claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Baumeister et al.. Since the 1st claimed invention has no special technical feature, it cannot share a special technical feature with the other claimed inventions. Thus, Applicant’s inventions do not contribute a special technical feature when view over the prior art, they do not have a single inventive concept and so lack unity of invention.
Groups I-III lack unity of invention because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical feature. Group I is directed to a technical feature of a chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein. Group II is directed to a technical feature of a DNA, a vector, a cell and a method of preparing a chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein. Group III is directed to a technical feature of a method of treatment. Therefore, the above Inventions do not share a common special technical feature as they comprise different steps and utilize different products, which demonstrates that each method has a different mode of operation and use of structurally and functionally divergent materials. For example, a method for treating patients does not have a same corresponding technical feature as that in a method of preparing a cell comprising a vector because the patients are not required by the method of preparing a cell comprising a vector. In addition, the claimed chimeric receptor has different sequences including recited SEQ ID NOs:1-8, which does not share the same or corresponding technical feature because the sequence of each chimer receptor is different from other. Accordingly, Groups I-III are not so linked by the same or a corresponding special technical feature within meaning of PCT Rule 13.1 so as to form a single general inventive concept.
Species Election
6. This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
The species are as follows:
Species of Molecule: A) NKG2D, DAP10 or DAP12 recited in claims 1-2.
Species of costimulatory molecule: CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 and CD40 recited in claim 3.
Species of tumor-associated antigen: CD19, BCMA, CD22, CD20, CD123, CD30, CD38, CD138, CD56, CD7, CLL-1, CD10, CD34, CSI, CD16, CD4, CD5, IL-1-RAP, ITGB7, k-IgG, TAC1, TRBC1, MUC1, NKG2D, PD-L1, CD133, CD177, LeY, CD70, ROR1, AFP, AXL, CD80, CD86, DLL3, DR5, FAP, LMP1, MAGE-A1, MAGE-A4, MG7, MUC16, PMEL, ROR2, VEGFR2, CD171, Claudin 18.2, Claudin 6, EphA2, ErbB, Fra, PSCA, cMet, IL13Ra2, EPCAM, EGFR, PSMA, EGFRvIII, GPC3, CEA, HER2, GD2, and Mesothelin recited in claim 5.
Species of the hinge domain: CD8a, CD28, 4-1BB, ICOS, OX40, CD40, CD80, and IgG recited in claim 6.
Species of the transmembrane domain:CD2, CD27, LFA-1, CD8a, CD28, 4-1BB, ICOS, OX40, CD40, CD80, CD3x, and CD3e recited in claim 6
Species of the intracellular signal domain: Toll-like receptor, CD2, CD27, LFA-1, CD8a, CD28, 4-1BB, ICOS, OX40, CD40, CD80, DAP10, DAP12, CD3x, and CD3e recited in claim 6.
Species of 2A peptide: foot-and-mouth disease virus (FMDV) (F2A) peptide, porcine teschovirus (PTV-1) (P2A) peptide, Thosea asigna virus (TaV) (T2A) peptide and equine rhinitis A virus (ERAV) (E2A) peptide recited in claim 7.
Species of sequence of the chimeric receptor: SEQ ID NO:1-8 recited in claims 8 and 30.
Species of cell: abT cells, gd T cells, NK cells, dendritic cells and macrophages recited in claims 12 and 31.
Applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single species to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. The reply must also identify the claims readable on the elected species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered non-responsive unless accompanied by an election.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which are written in dependent form or otherwise include all the limitations of an allowed generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which are readable upon the elected species. MPEP § 809.02(a).
7. The claims are deemed to correspond to the species listed above in the following manner:
i. If any group from Groups I-III is elected, Applicant is required under PCT Rule 13.2 to elect a single disclosed species of molecule set forth above and as recited in claims 1-2 for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
ii. If any group from Groups I-III is elected, Applicant is required under PCT Rule 13.2 to further elect a single disclosed species of costimulatory molecule set forth above and as recited in claim 3 for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
iii. If any group from Groups I-III is elected, Applicant is required under PCT Rule 13.2 to further elect a single disclosed species of tumor-associated antigen set forth above and as recited in claim 5 for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
iv. If any group from Groups I-III is elected, Applicant is required under PCT Rule 13.2 to further elect a single disclosed species of hinge domain, a single disclosed species of transmembrane domain, a single disclosed species of intracellular signal domain, a single disclosed species of 2A peptide set forth above and as recited in claims 5-7 for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
v. If any group from Groups I-III is elected, Applicant is required under PCT Rule 13.2 to further elect a single disclosed species of cell set forth above and as recited in claims 12 and 31 for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
vi. If any group from Groups I-III is elected, Applicant is required under PCT Rule 13.2 to further elect a single disclosed molecular embodiment of SEQ ID NO: for sequence of the chimeric receptor set forth above and as recited in claims 8 and 30 for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable.
The following claim(s) are generic: Claims 1, 9-11, 13-15 and 18-28.
8. The species listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons: These species lack unity of invention because these species do not share the same or corresponding technical feature. The technical features of these species are different because they are different molecules, different sequences and different cells. For molecules, costimulatory molecules, tumor-associated antigens, hinge domains, transmembrane domains, intracellular signal domains, 2A peptides and sequences of the chimeric receptor, each specific species differs with respect to its composition and structures. For cells, the cell contents and biological characteristics in different types of cells are different from each other. Consequently, the responses to different biomolecules in different cells are also different. Therefore, these species do not share a common corresponding technical feature; and thus lack unity of invention.
9. Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse.
10. Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
11. The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Chang-Yu Wang
October 15, 2026
/CHANG-YU WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application/Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-8 and 29-31), DAP10 for species of costimulatory molecule, Claudin 18.2 for species of tumor-associated protein, CD28 for species of hinge domain, CD28 for species of transmembrane domain, CD3z for species of intracellular domain, P2A for species of 2A sequence, SEQ ID NO:4 for species of NKG2D chimeric receptor and abT cell for species of cell in the reply filed on August 7, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 1,3 and 30 are amended. Claims 1 and 3-31 are pending in this application. Claims 9-28 and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 31 is directed to different T cells which belong to Group II that is directed to nucleic acid and cells in the restriction requirement dated 06/09/2026 and thus is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The corrected office action of restriction requirement is attached herein. Election was treated as without traverse in the reply filed on August 7, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are under examination with respect to DAP10 for the costimulatory molecule, Claudin 18.2 for the tumor-associated protein, CD28 for hinge domain, CD28 for the transmembrane domain, CD3for the intracellular domain, P2A for the 2A sequence and SEQ ID NO:4 for the NKG2D chimeric receptor in this office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the wrong format (SEQ ID NO. x) is used for identification of a sequence in the Sequence Listing in the specification (see p. 9, [0083]-[0084], table 1 to p. 12,[0085]; p. 15-16; p. 19-21). The correct format is “SEQ ID NO: x”. Appropriate correction is required.
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
The attempt to incorporate subject matter into this application by reference to “SEQ ID NO:1 in the Chinese patent application published under CN113621073A on November 09, 2021 is referred to” in paragraphs [0083]- [0084], Table 1 of the instant specification is ineffective because the anti-CLDN18.2-CAR with an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1…..21007) in Chinese….” is the essential material for practice the claimed invention.
The incorporation by reference will not be effective until correction is made to comply with 37 CFR 1.57(c), (d), or (e). If the incorporated material is relied upon to meet any outstanding objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office, the correction must be made within any time period set by the Office for responding to the objection, rejection, or other requirement for the incorporation to be effective. Compliance will not be held in abeyance with respect to responding to the objection, rejection, or other requirement for the incorporation to be effective. In no case may the correction be made later than the close of prosecution as defined in 37 CFR 1.114(b), or abandonment of the application, whichever occurs earlier.
Any correction inserting material by amendment that was previously incorporated by reference must be accompanied by a statement that the material being inserted is the material incorporated by reference and the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 8-31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
i. Regarding claims 1, 3 and 5-6, the recitations “NKG2D”, “DAP12”, “4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40”, “BCMA, IL-1-RAP, ITGB7, k-IgG, TAC1, TRBC1, MUC1, NKG2D, PD-L1, LeY, ROR1, AFP, AXL, DLL3, DR5, FAP, LAMP1, MAGE-A1, MG7, MUC16, PMEL, ROR2, EphA2, ErbB, Fra, PSCA, IL13Ra2, PSMA, EGFRvIII, GPC3, CEA, HER2, GD2” recited in claims 1, 3 and 5-6 are not unique or common abbreviations in the art. Applicants are required to spell out “NKG2D”, “DAP12”, “4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40”, “BCMA, IL-1-RAP, ITGB7, k-IgG, TAC1, TRBC1, MUC1, NKG2D, PD-L1, LeY, ROR1, AFP, AXL, DLL3, DR5, FAP, LAMP1, MAGE-A1, MG7, MUC16, PMEL, ROR2, EphA2, ErbB, Fra, PSCA, IL13Ra2, PSMA, EGFRvIII, GPC3, CEA, HER2, GD2” at the first usage. Appropriate correction is required.
ii. Regarding claims 8, 29 and 30, the wrong format is used for identification of a sequence in the Sequence Listing. Claims 8, 29 and 30 16 refer to “SEQ ID No. 1 to SEQ ID NO. 8”, “SEQ ID NO. 9” and “SEQ ID NO. 4” respectively, however, the correct format is “SEQ ID NO:1 to SEQ ID NO:8”, “SEQ ID NO:9” and “SEQ ID NO:4” respectively. Applicant is invited to view MPEP 2422 and 37 CFR 1.821 (d). Appropriate correction is required.
iii. Regarding claims 9-28 and 31, the status of claims 9-28 and 31 is incorrect because these claims are withdrawn from consideration. Appropriate correction is required. See MPEP 714 & 37 CFR 1.121.
“In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are indefinite because:
i. Regarding claim 1, the term "novel” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "novel" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not unclear what the term “novel” is relative to. Applicant fails to set forth the metes and bounds of what is encompassed within the definition of “novel”. Since the metes and bounds are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot envision what would be considered as a novel chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein recited in the claim. Thus the claim is indefinite.
ii. Regarding claim 7, the limitation "i.e.,…. " renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
iii. The rest of claims are indefinite as depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of a claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof.
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are drawn to a chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a NKG2D chimeric receptor, wherein the NKG2D chimeric receptor comprises sequences of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP12 intracellular domain.
The claims encompass a genus of chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising a genus of CAR and a genus of NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising a genus of sequences of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a genus of a DAP12 intracellular domain. Claim 4 encompasses a genus of CAR comprising a genus of an extracellular recognition domain, a genus of an extracellular hinge domain, a genus of a transmembrane domain and a genus of an intracellular domain. Claim 5 encompasses a genus of antibody or fragment recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2 (elected). Claim 6 encompasses a genus of hinge domain having a genus of sequences derived from recited molecules including CD28 (elected), a genus of transmembrane domain having a genus of sequences derived from recited molecules including CD28 (elected), and a genus of intracellular domain having a genus of sequences derived from recited molecules including CD3z (elected). Claim 7 encompasses a genus of connecting peptide and a genus self-cleaving peptide including P2A (elected). Claim 8 encompasses a genus of an amino acid sequence of recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected), which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO:4. Claim 29 encompasses a genus of PA having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:9, which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO: 9.
Applicant has not disclosed sufficient species for the broad genus of chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, CAR, NKG2D chimeric receptor, sequences of a NKG2D extracellular domain, sequence of a DAP12 intracellular domain, the broad genus of an extracellular recognition domain, extracellular hinge domain, a transmembrane domain and an intracellular domain, the broad genus of antibody or fragment recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2 (elected), the broad genus of hinge domain having a sequence derived from recited molecules including CD28 (elected), transmembrane domain having a sequence derived from recited molecules including CD28 (elected), and intracellular domain having a sequence derived from recited molecules including CD3z (elected), the broad genus of connecting peptide, self-cleaving peptide including P2A (elected), the broad genus of an amino acid sequence of recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected) which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO:4, and the broad genus of PA having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:9, which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO: 9.
The specification only describes: anti-CLDN18.2-CAR: 21007 (SEQ ID NO:1 in CN113621073), anti-CLDN18.2-CAR+NKG2D chimeric receptor: 21067 (SEQ ID NO:1), 21068 (SEQ ID NO:2), 21069 (SEQ ID NO:3), 21070 (SEQ ID NO:4), 21071 (SEQ ID NO:5), 21072 (SEQ ID NO:6), 21073 (SEQ ID NO:7), 21074 (SEQ ID NO:8) (Example 2, table 1, figure 3) or 210326 (SEQ ID NO:20), 21327 (SEQ ID NO:21), 21328 (SEQ ID NO:22), 21329 (SEQ ID NO:23) (Example 7, table, figure 12).
However, the claims are not limited to the anti-CLDN18.2-CAR+NKG2D chimeric receptor set forth above but also encompass structurally and functionally undefined chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein comprising a structurally and functionally undefined CAR and a structurally and functionally undefined NKG2D chimeric receptor. The specification provides no structural and functional relationship between the claimed chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein and the anti-CLDN18.2-CAR+NKG2D chimeric receptor: 21067, 21068, 21069, 21070, 21071,21072, 21073, 21074, 210326, 21327, 21328 or 21329 shown in Examples 2 and 7, table 1 and figures 3 and 12.
In making a determination of whether the application complies with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, it is necessary to understand what Applicant is in possession of and what Applicant is claiming.
M.P.E.P. § 2163 instructs:
An invention described solely in terms of a method of making and/or its function may lack written descriptive support where there is no described or art-recognized correlation between the disclosed function and the structure(s) responsible for the function. . . .
An applicant may show possession of an invention by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that are sufficiently detailed to show that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention as a whole. . . .
An applicant may also show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics.”
This standard has not been met in this case. From the specification, Applicant is in possession of the anti-CLDN18.2-CAR+NKG2D chimeric receptor: 21067, 21068, 21069, 21070, 21071,21072, 21073, 21074, 210326, 21327, 21328 or 21329 shown in Examples 2 and 7, table 1 and figures 3 and 12.
However, Applicant is not in possession of other structurally and functionally undefined chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein comprising a structurally and functionally undefined CAR and a structurally and functionally undefined NKG2D chimeric receptor. The specification provides no well-established structural and functional relationship between the claimed chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein comprising a structurally and functionally undefined CAR and a structurally and functionally undefined NKG2D chimeric receptor recited in claim 1 and the anti-CLDN18.2-CAR+NKG2D chimeric receptor: 21067, 21068, 21069, 21070, 21071,21072, 21073, 21074, 210326, 21327, 21328 or 21329 shown in Examples 2 and 7, table 1 and figures 3 and 12.
The specification provides no identification of any particular portion of the structure that must be conserved. The instant specification fails to provide sufficient descriptive information, such as definitive structural or functional features of the claimed genus of chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, the genus of CAR and the genus of NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising a sequence of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP12 intracellular domain, the genus of CAR comprising a genus of an extracellular recognition domain, a genus of an extracellular hinge domain, a genus of a transmembrane domain and a genus of an intracellular domain, the genus of antibody or fragment recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2, the genus of connecting peptide and a genus self-cleaving peptide including P2A (elected), the genus of an amino acid sequence of recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected), which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO:4, and the genus of PA having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:9, which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO: 9.
The specification provides no description of the conserved regions which are critical to the function of the genus claimed. There is no description of the sites at which variability may be tolerated and there is no information regarding the relation of structure of the genus of chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, the genus of CAR and the genus of NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising a sequence of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP12 intracellular domain, the genus of CAR comprising a genus of an extracellular recognition domain, a genus of an extracellular hinge domain, a genus of a transmembrane domain and a genus of an intracellular domain, the genus of antibody or fragment recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2, the genus of connecting peptide and a genus self-cleaving peptide including P2A (elected), the genus of an amino acid sequence of recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected), which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO:4, and the genus of PA having an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:9, which includes fragments within SEQ ID NO: 9.
Furthermore, the prior art does not provide compensatory structural or correlative teachings sufficient to enable one of skill to identify what other chimeric receptor composition or fusion proteins, CARs, NKG2D chimeric receptors, extracellular recognition domains, extracellular hinge domains, transmembrane domains, intracellular domains, antibodies or fragments recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2, connecting peptides and self-cleaving peptides, amino acid sequences within recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected) and PAs having fragments within SEQ ID NO:9 might be.
Since the common characteristics/features of other chimeric receptor composition or fusion proteins, CARs, NKG2D chimeric receptors, extracellular recognition domains, extracellular hinge domains, transmembrane domains, intracellular domains, antibodies or fragments recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2, connecting peptides and self-cleaving peptides, amino acid sequences within recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected) and PAs having fragments within SEQ ID NO:9 are unknown, a skilled artisan cannot envision the functional correlations of the genus with the claimed invention.
Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the genus of other chimeric receptor composition or fusion proteins, CARs, NKG2D chimeric receptors, extracellular recognition domains, extracellular hinge domains, transmembrane domains, intracellular domains, antibodies or fragments recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2, connecting peptides and self-cleaving peptides, amino acid sequences within recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected) and PAs having fragments within SEQ ID NO:9.
Based on MPEP § 2161.01 and §2163, “to satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116”.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111, clearly states “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (See page 1117.) The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (See Vas-Cath at page 1116).
As discussed above, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed genus of other chimeric receptor composition or fusion proteins, CARs, NKG2D chimeric receptors, extracellular recognition domains, extracellular hinge domains, transmembrane domains, intracellular domains, antibodies or fragments recognizing recited tumor-associated or specific antigen including Claudin 18.2, connecting peptides and self-cleaving peptides, amino acid sequences within recited SEQ ID NOs: including SEQ ID NO:4 (elected) and PAs having fragments within SEQ ID NO:9, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483.
Therefore, the claimed chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein has not met the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115). Applicant is directed to the Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, ¶ 1 "Written Description" Requirement. See MPEP § 2161.01 and 2163.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yi et al. (CN113621073, published Nov 9, 2021, priority July 14, 2021, as in IDS; the citations are based on CN113621073-English translated version).
Claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are drawn to a chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a NKG2D chimeric receptor, wherein the NKG2D chimeric receptor comprises sequences of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP12 intracellular domain.
Yi et al. (CN113621073) teach a chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) and a NKG2D chimeric receptor, wherein the NKG2D chimeric receptor comprises sequences of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP12 intracellular domain (see p.), and wherein NKG2D chimeric receptor further comprises a costimulatory molecule including CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 or CD40 as in claim 3 (see p.), the CAR comprises an extracellular recognition domain, an extracellular hinge domain, a transmembrane domain and an intracellular signal domain as in claim 4 (see p.), and wherein the extracellular domain of the CAR comprises an antibody or fragment recognizing Claudin 18.2 and other molecules recited in claim 5 (see p.), the hinge domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 or CD40, the transmembrane domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 or CD40 and the intracellular domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 or CD40 as in claim 6 (see p.). Yi teaches that the chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein further comprising a connecting peptide including P2A recited in claims 7 and 29 (see p.). Yi teaches that the sequence of the chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein comprises the amino acid sequence of instant SEQ ID NO:4 as in claims 8 and 30(see the sequence alignment below). Thus, claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are anticipated by Yi et al. (CN113621073).
The sequence search results disclose as follows:
SEQ ID NO:4
BKJ44715
(NOTE: this sequence has 3 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BKJ44715 standard; protein; 300 AA.
XX
AC BKJ44715;
XX
DT 02-JUN-2022 (revised)
DT 20-JAN-2022 (first entry)
XX
DE P2A-NKG2DECD-CD8 hinge/TM-DAP10ECD-DAP12ICD CAR construct (21070), SEQ 5.
XX
KW 2A protein; C-type lectin domain protein 5A; CD8 protein; DAP10 protein;
KW DAP12 protein; NKG2D ligand; T-cell surface glycoprotein CD8; cancer;
KW cell culture; chimeric antigen receptor; chimeric protein; cytostatic;
KW immunotherapy; macrophage; natural killer cell; t-lymphocyte;
KW therapeutic.
XX
OS Teschovirus A1.
OS Chimeric.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN CN113621073-A.
XX
CC PD 09-NOV-2021.
XX
CC PF 14-JUL-2021; 2021CN-10793058.
XX
PR 14-JUL-2021; 2021CN-10793058.
XX
CC PA (SHAN-) SHANGHAI YIMUFENG BIOTECHNOLOGY CO LTD.
XX
CC PI Yi Q, Wang Y, Zhong Y, Li Y;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-D0363X/005.
XX
CC PT New chimeric receptor composition useful in preparing anti-tumor
CC PT medicines comprises chimeric antigen receptor and NKG2D chimeric receptor
CC PT including complete-length sequence or truncated fragment of NKG2D, DAP10
CC PT and/or DAP12.
XX
CC PS Claim 9; SEQ ID NO 5; 31pp; Chinese.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel chimeric receptor composition,
CC useful for preparing an antitumor drug. The composition comprises
CC chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) of SEQ ID NO: 1-9 (see BKJ44711-BKJ44719)
CC containing full-length sequences or truncated fragments of NKG2D, DAP10
CC and/or DAP12. The invention further claims: (1) a nucleic acid sequence
CC encoding the chimeric receptor composition; (2) a vector comprising the
CC nucleic acid sequence; (3) a cell (preferably T cells, NK cells, DC cells
CC and macrophages) expressing the chimeric receptor composition; (4) a
CC biological agent comprising the cell; and (5) a method for preparing the
CC cell. The cell expressing chimeric receptor is useful for treating tumor.
CC The present sequence is a CAR construct containing P2A protein, NKG2D
CC protein extracellular region (NKG2DECD), CD8 protein hinge/transmembrane
CC region (TM), DAP10 protein extracellular region (DAP10ECD) and DAP12
CC protein intracellular region (DAP12ICD), which is useful in a composition
CC for treating tumor.
CC
CC Revised record issued on 02-JUN-2022 : Addition of DWPI-enhanced title
CC (PT field).
XX
SQ Sequence 300 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1625; Length 300;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 300; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNWY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNWY 60
Qy 61 ESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLTI 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLTI 120
Qy 121 IEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTVTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPLSLRPE 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 IEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTVTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPLSLRPE 180
Qy 181 ACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCLCARPRRSPAQEDGKV 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 ACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCLCARPRRSPAQEDGKV 240
Qy 241 YINMPGRGYFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQRPYYK 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 YINMPGRGYFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQRPYYK 300
SEQ ID NO:12
BKJ44712
(NOTE: this sequence has 2 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BKJ44712 standard; protein; 292 AA.
XX
AC BKJ44712;
XX
DT 02-JUN-2022 (revised)
DT 20-JAN-2022 (first entry)
XX
DE P2A-DAP12ICD-DAP10ICD-NKG2DFL CAR construct (21067), SEQ 2.
XX
KW 2A protein; C-type lectin domain protein 5A; DAP10 protein;
KW DAP12 protein; NKG2D ligand; cancer; cell culture;
KW chimeric antigen receptor; chimeric protein; cytostatic; immunotherapy;
KW macrophage; natural killer cell; t-lymphocyte; therapeutic.
XX
OS Teschovirus A1.
OS Chimeric.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN CN113621073-A.
XX
CC PD 09-NOV-2021.
XX
CC PF 14-JUL-2021; 2021CN-10793058.
XX
PR 14-JUL-2021; 2021CN-10793058.
XX
CC PA (SHAN-) SHANGHAI YIMUFENG BIOTECHNOLOGY CO LTD.
XX
CC PI Yi Q, Wang Y, Zhong Y, Li Y;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-D0363X/005.
XX
CC PT New chimeric receptor composition useful in preparing anti-tumor
CC PT medicines comprises chimeric antigen receptor and NKG2D chimeric receptor
CC PT including complete-length sequence or truncated fragment of NKG2D, DAP10
CC PT and/or DAP12.
XX
CC PS Claim 9; SEQ ID NO 2; 31pp; Chinese.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel chimeric receptor composition,
CC useful for preparing an antitumor drug. The composition comprises
CC chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) of SEQ ID NO: 1-9 (see BKJ44711-BKJ44719)
CC containing full-length sequences or truncated fragments of NKG2D, DAP10
CC and/or DAP12. The invention further claims: (1) a nucleic acid sequence
CC encoding the chimeric receptor composition; (2) a vector comprising the
CC nucleic acid sequence; (3) a cell (preferably T cells, NK cells, DC cells
CC and macrophages) expressing the chimeric receptor composition; (4) a
CC biological agent comprising the cell; and (5) a method for preparing the
CC cell. The cell expressing chimeric receptor is useful for treating tumor.
CC The present sequence is a CAR construct containing P2A protein, DAP12
CC protein intracellular region (DAP12ICD), DAP10 protein intracellular
CC region (DAP10ICD) and NKG2D protein (full length NKG2DFL), which is
CC useful in a composition for treating tumor.
CC
CC Revised record issued on 02-JUN-2022 : Addition of DWPI-enhanced title
CC (PT field).
XX
SQ Sequence 292 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1202; Length 292;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 216; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 77 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 136
Qy 61 VAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 137 VAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 196
Qy 121 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 197 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 256
Qy 181 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 216
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 257 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 292
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1, 3-7 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Trager et al. (US2021/0060073, published Mar 4, 2021, priority Mar 5, 2019).
Trager et al. (US2021/0060073) teach a chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein, comprising an anti-CD19 CAR (see para. [0029]) and a NKG2D chimeric receptor (para. [0043]; [0149]; [0166]-[0168]; [0207]-[0208]; [0264]-[0266]), wherein the NKG2D chimeric receptor comprises sequences of a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP10 intracellular domain (see para. [0167]), and wherein NKG2D chimeric receptor further comprises a costimulatory molecule including CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 or CD40 as in claim 3 (see para. [0177]-[0178]), wherein the anti-CD19 CAR comprises an extracellular anti-CD19 binding moiety comprising a VH and a VL of scFv as in claim 5, an extracellular hinge domain, a transmembrane domain and an intracellular signal domain comprising an OX40 and a CD3z subdomain as in claims 4 and 6 (see para. [0006]-[0008]), which meets the limitations recited in claims 1, 3-7 and 29. Trager teaches that the extracellular domain of the CAR comprises an antibody or fragment recognizing Claudin 18.2 and other molecules recited in claim 5 (see para. [0264]). Trager teaches that the hinge domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40, CD80 or IgG see (para.[0026]-[0027]), the transmembrane domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40, CD80, CDz or CDe (see para.[0026]-[0027]; [0047]-[0048])and the intracellular domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40, CD80, DAP10, DAP12, CDz or CDe as in claim 6 (see para.[0026]-[0027]). Trager teaches that the chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein further comprising a connecting peptide including P2A recited in claims 7 and 29 (see para. [0048]; [0178]). Thus, claims 1, 3-8 and 29-30 are anticipated by Trager (US2021/0060073).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Davila (US2021/0024608, published Jan 28, 2021, priority Apr 6, 2018).
Davila (US2021/0024608) teaches a dual CAR fusion protein (see para. [0043]; [0052]), comprising a NKG2D CAR or chimeric receptor and at least one other CAR with a different ligand binding target including CD33, CD123, TIM3 or CLEC12A (see para. [0010]; [0064]-[0066]), wherein the NKG2D CAR or chimeric comprises a NKG2D extracellular domain and a DAP12 intracellular domain (see para. [0063]-[0066], p.5-6 tables 1-2; p.25-27, table 3; p.6-37, tables 3-6), and wherein NKG2D chimeric receptor further comprises a costimulatory molecule including CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40 or CD40 as in claim 3 (see para. [0058]), wherein the at least one other CAR comprises an extracellular antigen recognition domain from a scFv as in claim 5 (see para. [0010]), an extracellular hinge domain, a transmembrane domain and an intracellular signal domain comprising an OX40 and a CD3z subdomain as in claims 4 and 6 (see para. [0011]-[0014] ; [0055]-[0062]), which meets the limitations recited in claims 1, 3-7 and 29. Davila teaches that the hinge domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40, CD80 or IgG see (para.[0059), the transmembrane domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40, CD80, CDz or CDe (see para.[0060]) and the intracellular domain has a sequence derived from CD28, 4-1BB, DAP10, ICOS, OX40, CD80, DAP10, DAP12, CDz or CDe as in claim 6 (see para.[0058]). Davila teaches that the chimeric receptor composition or fusion protein further comprising a connecting peptide as in claim 7 (see para. [0147]). Thus, claims 1 and 3-7 are anticipated by Davila (US2021/0024608).
Conclusion
14. NO CLAIM IS ALLOWED.
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2021058563 teaches a NKG2D chimeric receptor fusion protein DAP10-DAP12-fursin cleavage-linker-P2A-NKG2D comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:64 which is 91.7% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:1 or a NKG2D chimeric receptor fusion protein CD8 alpha-FLAG-DAP10-DAP12-furin-T2A-DAP10-furin-P2A-NKG2D, SEQ ID 65 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:1
BJE02665
(NOTE: this sequence has 7 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BJE02665 standard; protein; 388 AA.
XX
AC BJE02665;
XX
DT 13-MAY-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE DAP10-DAP12-furin cleavage-linker-P2A-NKG2D fusion, SEQ ID 64.
XX
KW 2A protein; DAP10 protein; DAP12 protein; DNAX-activating protein 10;
KW DNAX-activating protein 12; Furin; NKG2D ligand; cancer;
KW chimeric protein; cytostatic; fusion protein; prophylactic to disease;
KW protein production; protein therapy; recombinant protein; substrate;
KW therapeutic.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Porcine teschovirus 1.
OS Chimeric.
OS Synthetic.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN WO2021058563-A1.
XX
CC PD 01-APR-2021.
XX
CC PF 23-SEP-2020; 2020WO-EP076566.
XX
PR 23-SEP-2019; 2019GB-00013697.
XX
CC PA (UNLO ) KINGS COLLEGE LONDON.
XX
CC PI Maher J, Davies DM;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-329728/032.
DR N-PSDB; BJE02675.
DR UNIPROT; Q9UBK5, O43914, P26718.
XX
CC PT Fusion polypeptide used in therapy, comprises a DNAX-activating protein
CC PT 10 polypeptide, or a functional variant and a DNAX-activating protein 12
CC PT polypeptide, or a functional variant.
XX
CC PS Claim 32; SEQ ID NO 64; 93pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel fusion polypeptide comprising a
CC DNAX-activating protein 10 (DAP10) selected from SEQ ID NO: 1-8 (see
CC BJE02602-BJE02609) and a DNAX-activating protein 12 (DAP12) selected from
CC SEQ ID NO: 9-13 (see BJE02610-BJE02614). The fusion protein further
CC comprises a NKG2D protein of SEQ ID NO: 14. The fusion protein is
CC selected from SEQ ID NO: 60-69 (see BJE02661-BJE02670). The invention
CC further claims: (1) an isolated nucleic acid sequence selected from SEQ
CC ID NO: 70-79 (see BJE02671-BJE02680) encoding the fusion polypeptide; (2)
CC a vector comprising the nucleic acid; (3) a host cell comprising the
CC fusion polypeptide; (4) a method for making the fusion polypeptide; (5) a
CC method for making an immunoresponsive cell; (6) a method for preparing a
CC chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) construct; and (7) a pharmaceutical
CC composition comprising the fusion polypeptide. The fusion polypeptide of
CC the present invention is used in a pharmaceutical composition for
CC preventing and treating cancer. The present sequence represents a fusion
CC protein (comprising a human DAP10 protein (1-93), a human DAP12 protein
CC (62-113) endodomain, a furin cleavage site, a linker, a P2A peptide and a
CC human NKG2D protein (1-216)) which is used for preparing the CAR
CC construct of the present invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 388 AA;
Query Match 90.8%; Score 1455.5; Length 388;
Best Local Similarity 91.7%;
Matches 275; Conservative 4; Mismatches 8; Indels 13; Gaps 4;
Qy 1 YFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQRPYYKLCARPRRS 60
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | :||
Db 94 YFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQRPYYK---RRKRS 150
Qy 61 PA--------QEDGKVYINMPGRGMGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQK 112
: :: | | | || ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 151 GSGATNFSLLKQAGDVEEN-PG-PMGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQK 208
Qy 113 QRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIAVAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYC 172
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 209 QRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIAVAMGIRFIIMVAIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYC 268
Qy 173 GPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNWYESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMG 232
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 269 GPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNWYESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMG 328
Qy 233 LVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLTIIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 292
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 329 LVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLTIIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 388
BJE02666
(NOTE: this sequence has 4 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BJE02666 standard; protein; 494 AA.
XX
AC BJE02666;
XX
DT 13-MAY-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE CD8 alpha-FLAG-DAP10-DAP12-furin-T2A-DAP10-furin-P2A-NKG2D, SEQ ID 65.
XX
KW 2A protein; CD8a protein; DAP10 protein; DAP12 protein;
KW DNAX-activating protein 10; DNAX-activating protein 12; Furin;
KW NKG2D ligand; T-cell surface CD8 alpha chain; cancer; chimeric protein;
KW cytostatic; fusion protein; prophylactic to disease; protein production;
KW protein therapy; recombinant protein; substrate; therapeutic.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Porcine teschovirus 1.
OS Thosea asigna virus.
OS Chimeric.
OS Synthetic.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN WO2021058563-A1.
XX
CC PD 01-APR-2021.
XX
CC PF 23-SEP-2020; 2020WO-EP076566.
XX
PR 23-SEP-2019; 2019GB-00013697.
XX
CC PA (UNLO ) KINGS COLLEGE LONDON.
XX
CC PI Maher J, Davies DM;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-329728/032.
DR N-PSDB; BJE02676.
DR UNIPROT; Q9UBK5, O43914, P26718, P01732.
XX
CC PT Fusion polypeptide used in therapy, comprises a DNAX-activating protein
CC PT 10 polypeptide, or a functional variant and a DNAX-activating protein 12
CC PT polypeptide, or a functional variant.
XX
CC PS Claim 32; SEQ ID NO 65; 93pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel fusion polypeptide comprising a
CC DNAX-activating protein 10 (DAP10) selected from SEQ ID NO: 1-8 (see
CC BJE02602-BJE02609) and a DNAX-activating protein 12 (DAP12) selected from
CC SEQ ID NO: 9-13 (see BJE02610-BJE02614). The fusion protein further
CC comprises a NKG2D protein of SEQ ID NO: 14. The fusion protein is
CC selected from SEQ ID NO: 60-69 (see BJE02661-BJE02670). The invention
CC further claims: (1) an isolated nucleic acid sequence selected from SEQ
CC ID NO: 70-79 (see BJE02671-BJE02680) encoding the fusion polypeptide; (2)
CC a vector comprising the nucleic acid; (3) a host cell comprising the
CC fusion polypeptide; (4) a method for making the fusion polypeptide; (5) a
CC method for making an immunoresponsive cell; (6) a method for preparing a
CC chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) construct; and (7) a pharmaceutical
CC composition comprising the fusion polypeptide. The fusion polypeptide of
CC the present invention is used in a pharmaceutical composition for
CC preventing and treating cancer. The present sequence represents a fusion
CC protein (comprising a CD8 alpha leader peptide, a FLAG tag, a human DAP10
CC protein (19-69), a human DAP12 protein (62-113) endodomain, a furin
CC cleavage site, a linker, a T2A peptide, a human DAP10 protein (1-93), a
CC furin cleavege site, a linker, a P2A peptide and a human NKG2D protein (1
CC -216)) which is used for preparing the CAR construct of the present
CC invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 494 AA;
Query Match 94.6%; Score 1517; Length 494;
Best Local Similarity 70.3%;
Matches 291; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 122; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 YFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQRPYYK-------- 52
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 81 YFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQRPYYKRRKRSGSG 140
Qy 53 ------------------------------------------------------------ 52
Db 141 EGRGSLLTCGDVEENPGPMIHLGHILFLLLLPVAAAQTTPGERSSLPAFYPGTSGSCSGC 200
Qy 53 ---------------------------LCARPRRSPAQEDGKVYINMPGRG--------- 76
||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 201 GSLSLPLLAGLVAADAVASLLIVGAVFLCARPRRSPAQEDGKVYINMPGRGRRKRSGSGA 260
Qy 77 ------------------MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVV 118
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 261 TNFSLLKQAGDVEENPGPMGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVV 320
Qy 119 KSKCRENASPFFFCCFIAVAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKN 178
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 321 KSKCRENASPFFFCCFIAVAMGIRFIIMVAIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKN 380
Qy 179 WICYKNNCYQFFDESKNWYESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPT 238
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 381 WICYKNNCYQFFDESKNWYESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPT 440
Qy 239 NGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLTIIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 292
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 441 NGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLTIIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 494
SEQ ID NO:12
BJE02665
(NOTE: this sequence has 7 duplicates in the database searched)
ID BJE02665 standard; protein; 388 AA.
XX
AC BJE02665;
XX
DT 13-MAY-2021 (first entry)
XX
DE DAP10-DAP12-furin cleavage-linker-P2A-NKG2D fusion, SEQ ID 64.
XX
KW 2A protein; DAP10 protein; DAP12 protein; DNAX-activating protein 10;
KW DNAX-activating protein 12; Furin; NKG2D ligand; cancer;
KW chimeric protein; cytostatic; fusion protein; prophylactic to disease;
KW protein production; protein therapy; recombinant protein; substrate;
KW therapeutic.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Porcine teschovirus 1.
OS Chimeric.
OS Synthetic.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN WO2021058563-A1.
XX
CC PD 01-APR-2021.
XX
CC PF 23-SEP-2020; 2020WO-EP076566.
XX
PR 23-SEP-2019; 2019GB-00013697.
XX
CC PA (UNLO ) KINGS COLLEGE LONDON.
XX
CC PI Maher J, Davies DM;
XX
DR WPI; 2021-329728/032.
DR N-PSDB; BJE02675.
DR UNIPROT; Q9UBK5, O43914, P26718.
XX
CC PT Fusion polypeptide used in therapy, comprises a DNAX-activating protein
CC PT 10 polypeptide, or a functional variant and a DNAX-activating protein 12
CC PT polypeptide, or a functional variant.
XX
CC PS Claim 32; SEQ ID NO 64; 93pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel fusion polypeptide comprising a
CC DNAX-activating protein 10 (DAP10) selected from SEQ ID NO: 1-8 (see
CC BJE02602-BJE02609) and a DNAX-activating protein 12 (DAP12) selected from
CC SEQ ID NO: 9-13 (see BJE02610-BJE02614). The fusion protein further
CC comprises a NKG2D protein of SEQ ID NO: 14. The fusion protein is
CC selected from SEQ ID NO: 60-69 (see BJE02661-BJE02670). The invention
CC further claims: (1) an isolated nucleic acid sequence selected from SEQ
CC ID NO: 70-79 (see BJE02671-BJE02680) encoding the fusion polypeptide; (2)
CC a vector comprising the nucleic acid; (3) a host cell comprising the
CC fusion polypeptide; (4) a method for making the fusion polypeptide; (5) a
CC method for making an immunoresponsive cell; (6) a method for preparing a
CC chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) construct; and (7) a pharmaceutical
CC composition comprising the fusion polypeptide. The fusion polypeptide of
CC the present invention is used in a pharmaceutical composition for
CC preventing and treating cancer. The present sequence represents a fusion
CC protein (comprising a human DAP10 protein (1-93), a human DAP12 protein
CC (62-113) endodomain, a furin cleavage site, a linker, a P2A peptide and a
CC human NKG2D protein (1-216)) which is used for preparing the CAR
CC construct of the present invention.
XX
SQ Sequence 388 AA;
Query Match 99.6%; Score 1197; Length 388;
Best Local Similarity 99.5%;
Matches 215; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 173 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 232
Qy 61 VAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 120
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 233 VAMGIRFIIMVAIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 292
Qy 121 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 293 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 352
Qy 181 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 216
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 353 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 388
WO2018124766 teaches a recombinant CAR NKG2D-28(H)OX40L comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:91 which is 84.9% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:6 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:6
BFL76423
ID BFL76423 standard; protein; 397 AA.
XX
AC BFL76423;
XX
DT 23-AUG-2018 (first entry)
XX
DE Recombinant CAR NKG2D-28(H)OX40LZ construct, SEQ 91.
XX
KW CD252 protein; CD3 zeta protein; NKG2D ligand; OX40L protein;
KW T cell surface glycoprotein CD28; T-cell CD3 glycoprotein zeta chain;
KW T-cell surface CD8 alpha chain; b-cell lymphoma; breast tumor; cancer;
KW cell therapy; cytostatic; expression; fusion protein; immunotherapy;
KW leukemia; lung tumor; lymphoma; natural killer cell; recombinant protein;
KW therapeutic.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN WO2018124766-A2.
XX
CC PD 05-JUL-2018.
XX
CC PF 28-DEC-2017; 2017WO-KR015635.
XX
PR 28-DEC-2016; 2016KR-00181119.
XX
CC PA (GREE-) GREEN GROSS LAB CELL CORP.
XX
CC PI Hwang YK, Cho SY, Won SY, Lim HY, Her JH, Jung MY, Kim HA;
CC PI Gwon SH, Lee ES, Kim HS;
XX
DR WPI; 2018-537162/51.
DR N-PSDB; BFL76422.
XX
CC PT New chimeric antigen receptor useful in pharmaceutical composition for
CC PT treating tumor e.g. B-cell lymphoma in human, comprises intracellular
CC PT signaling domain comprising OX40 ligand.
XX
CC PS Claim 28; SEQ ID NO 91; 56pp; Korean.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel chimeric antigen receptor (CAR),
CC useful in preparing a pharmaceutical composition for treating a tumor in
CC a human. The CAR comprises an intracellular signaling domain comprising
CC all or part of an OX40 ligand (CD252). The invention also provides: an
CC immune cell expressing the chimeric antigen receptor, wherein the immune
CC cell can be natural killer (NK) cell; a pharmaceutical composition
CC comprising the immune cell as an active ingredient; a nucleic acid
CC sequence encoding the chimeric antigen receptor; and a method for
CC treating the tumor by administering the immune cells. The tumor includes
CC lymphoma, leukemia, breast cancer, lung cancer or B-cell lymphoma. The
CC present sequence represents a recombinant chimeric antigen receptor NKG2D
CC -28(H)OX40LZ protein construct (comprising CD8 alpha signal peptide,
CC NKG2D extracellular domain, CD8 alpha hinge-transmembrane domain, CD3
CC zeta intracellular signaling domain, CD28 hinge-transmembrane-
CC intracellular signaling domain and CD252 intracellular signaling domain),
CC which is used in preparing the chimeric antigen receptor involved in
CC preparing the immune cells of the invention, for treating the tumor in a
CC subject.
XX
SQ Sequence 397 AA;
Query Match 84.9%; Score 1451.5; Length 397;
Best Local Similarity 86.8%;
Matches 277; Conservative 8; Mismatches 19; Indels 15; Gaps 5;
Qy 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARP-FNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 59
||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 60
Qy 60 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 119
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 120
Qy 120 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTVIEVMYPPPYLDNEKSNGTIIHVKG 179
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTVIEVMYPPPYLDNEKSNGTIIHVKG 180
Qy 180 KHLCPSPLFPGPSKPFWVLVVVGGVLACYSLLVTVAFIIFWVRSKRSRLLHSDYMNMTPR 239
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 KHLCPSPLFPGPSKPFWVLVVVGGVLACYSLLVTVAFIIFWVRSKRSRLLHSDYMNMTPR 240
Qy 240 RPGPTRKHYQPYAPPRDFAAYRSYFLGRLVPRGRGAAEAA----TRKQRITETES----P 291
||||||||||||||||||||||| |: | || | :|: : |
Db 241 RPGPTRKHYQPYAPPRDFAAYRS---ERVQPLEENVGNAARPRFERNKRVKFSRSADAPA 297
Qy 292 YQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQR 310
||: | | :|::|| |
Db 298 YQQGQNQ---LYNELNLGR 313
US11365236 teaches a truncated NKG2D chimeric receptor comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:63 which is 80.8% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:4
US-16-497-678-63
(NOTE: this sequence has 1 duplicate in the database searched)
Sequence 63, US/16497678
Patent No. 11365236
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: National University of Singapore; Nkarta, Inc
TITLE OF INVENTION: TRUNCATED NKG2D CHIMERIC RECEPTORS AND USES THEREOF IN NATURAL
TITLE OF INVENTION: KILLER CELL IMMUNOTHERAPY
FILE REFERENCE: 4459.1144-016
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/497,678
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2019-09-25
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2018/024650
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-03-27
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/477335
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-03-27
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/628774
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-02-09
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 109
SEQ ID NO 63
LENGTH: 410
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
FEATURE:
NAME/KEY: MISC_FEATURE
OTHER INFORMATION: Amino Acid Sequence Variant 15
Query Match 80.8%; Score 1312.5; Length 410;
Best Local Similarity 75.8%;
Matches 257; Conservative 8; Mismatches 13; Indels 61; Gaps 5;
Qy 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARP-FNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 59
||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MALPVTALLLPLALLLHAARPLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 60
Qy 60 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 119
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 120
Qy 120 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTVTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPLSLRP 179
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTVTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPLSLRP 180
Qy 180 EACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYC--------------- 224
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 EACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWAPLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCKRGRKKLLYIFKQPF 240
Qy 225 ---------------------------LCARPRRSPAQEDGKVYINMPGRGYFLGRLVPR 257
||||||||||| ||||||||||||:
Db 241 MRPVQTTQEEDGCSCRFPEEEEGGCELLCARPRRSPAQ-DGKVYINMPGRGW-------- 291
Qy 258 GRGAAEAATRKQRITETESPYQELQGQRSDVYSDLNTQR 296
||:: ::|: :| || || |:|
Db 292 --------RRKRKEKQSETSPKEFLTIYEDV-KDLKTRR 321
WO2014117121 teaches a NKG2D chimeric receptor fusion protein comprising an extracellular domain of NKG24, a DAP10 and a CD3zeta signaling domain and having the sequence of SEQ ID NO:22, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:12 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:12
BBL04729
ID BBL04739 standard; protein; 216 AA.
XX
AC BBL04739;
XX
DT 25-SEP-2014 (first entry)
XX
DE Human natural killer group 2 member D receptor (NKG2D) SEQ: 22.
XX
KW NKG2D ligand; antimicrobial-gen.; cancer; cell therapy; chimeric protein;
KW cytostatic; infectious disease; natural killer group 2 member D receptor;
KW therapeutic.
XX
OS Homo sapiens.
OS Synthetic.
XX
CC PN WO2014117121-A1.
XX
CC PD 31-JUL-2014.
XX
CC PF 28-JAN-2014; 2014WO-US013292.
XX
PR 28-JAN-2013; 2013US-0757481P.
XX
CC PA (SJUD-) ST JUDE CHILDREN'S RES HOSPITAL.
CC PA (UNUS ) UNIV SINGAPORE NAT.
XX
CC PI Campana D, Chang T;
XX
DR WPI; 2014-N98096/52.
DR N-PSDB; BBL04738.
XX
CC PT New polynucleotide encoding cluster of differentiation 3 zeta signaling
CC PT domain, extracellular ligand-binding domain having natural killer group 2
CC PT member D receptor and DNAX-activating protein 10 useful for treating
CC PT cancer, infection disease.
XX
CC PS Disclosure; SEQ ID NO 22; 96pp; English.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel polynucleotide encoding: (a) a
CC CD3 zeta signaling domain; (b) an extracellular ligand-binding domain
CC comprising a natural killer group 2 member D receptor (NKG2D); and (c) a
CC DNAX-activating protein 10 (DAP10), wherein the nucleotide sequence
CC encoding DAP10 is operably linked to a nucleotide sequence comprising an
CC internal ribosome entry site (IRES). The invention also relates to
CC chimeric receptor with NKG2D specificity for use in cell therapy against
CC cancer and infectious disease. The invention further provides: (1) a
CC vector comprising the polynucleotide; (2) an isolated genetically
CC engineered cell comprising the polynucleotide; (3) a method of increasing
CC or enhancing cytotoxicity of an NK cell or T lymphocyte in a mammal in
CC need thereof; (4) a method for reducing tumor burden in a mammal; and (5)
CC a method for treating, ameliorating, or protecting a mammal against
CC cancer or infectious disease by administering an expanded population of
CC NK cells or T cells, wherein the NK cells or T cells comprise the
CC polynucleotide. The present sequence represents an amino acid sequence
CC encoded by a human NKG2D cDNA which forms a part of the chimeric receptor
CC polynucleotide used in a cell therapy against cancer and infectious
CC diseases. Note: SEQ ID 7-8 are mentioned on page 9 of the specification
CC but no corresponding sequences are provided in the patent.
XX
SQ Sequence 216 AA;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1202; Length 216;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 216; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 60
Qy 61 VAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 VAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 120
Qy 121 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 180
Qy 181 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 216
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 216
CN111484559 teaches a NKG2D-41BB-CD3zeta chimeric antigen receptor having the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, which is 99.6% identical to instant SEQ ID NO:12 (see the sequence alignment below).
SEQ ID NO:12
BIB26089
ID BIB26089 standard; protein; 371 AA.
XX
AC BIB26089;
XX
DT 17-SEP-2020 (first entry)
XX
DE NKG2D-41BB-CD3 zeta chimeric antigen receptor polypeptide SEQ: 1.
XX
KW 41BB protein; CD3 zeta protein; CDw137; NKG2D protein;
KW T-cell CD3 glycoprotein zeta chain; chimeric antigen receptor;
KW fusion protein; recombinant protein.
XX
OS Chimeric.
OS Synthetic.
OS Unidentified.
XX
CC PN CN111484559-A.
XX
CC PD 04-AUG-2020.
XX
CC PF 03-MAR-2020; 2020CN-10139179.
XX
PR 03-MAR-2020; 2020CN-10139179.
XX
CC PA (ZHEJ-) ZHEJIANG QIXIN BIOTECHNOLOGY CO LTD.
XX
CC PI Gao J, Wei C, Wang C, Zhao A;
XX
DR WPI; 2020-75964R/067.
XX
CC PT Encoded third-generation chimeric antigen receptor for gene for
CC PT expressing third-generation chimeric antigen receptor forming NKG2D-41BB-
CC PT CD3z, comprises full-length sequence of NKG2D, 41BB costimulatory
CC PT molecule and CD3z.
XX
CC PS Claim 1; SEQ ID NO 1; 13pp; Chinese.
XX
CC The present invention relates to a novel method for constructing a third-
CC generation chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) corresponding to an amino acid
CC sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (see BIB26089). The CAR comprises a NKG2D
CC sequence, a 41BB costimulatory molecule and a CD3 zeta sequence. The
CC invention claims a gene capable of expressing the CAR NKG2D-41BB-CD3
CC zeta.
XX
SQ Sequence 371 AA;
Query Match 99.6%; Score 1197; Length 371;
Best Local Similarity 99.5%;
Matches 215; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 156 MGWIRGRRSRHSWEMSEFHNYNLDLKKSDFSTRWQKQRCPVVKSKCRENASPFFFCCFIA 215
Qy 61 VAMGIRFIIMVTIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 120
||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 216 VAMGIRFIIMVAIWSAVFLNSLFNQEVQIPLTESYCGPCPKNWICYKNNCYQFFDESKNW 275
Qy 121 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 276 YESQASCMSQNASLLKVYSKEDQDLLKLVKSYHWMGLVHIPTNGSWQWEDGSILSPNLLT 335
Qy 181 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 216
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 336 IIEMQKGDCALYASSFKGYIENCSTPNTYICMQRTV 371
Chang-Yu Wang
October 15, 2026
/CHANG-YU WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675