DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu; Jinsook et al. US PGPUB 20200196375 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Ryn teaches A method for performing communication, the method performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), and comprising:
receiving a first registration request message from a user equipment (UE) over a New Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN); ([0280] The wireless device 1700 may send a registration request message 1710 to the AMF 1708. The wireless device 1700 may send the registration request message 1710 to the AMF 1708, for example, via a first access network 1702.)
transmitting, in response to the first registration request message, a first registration accept message to the UE over the NG-RAN; (Ibid. The AMF 1708 may accept the registration request 1710. The AMF 1708 may accept the registration request 1710, for example, by sending a registration accept message 1712 to the wireless device 1700 via the first access network 1702.)
receiving, in response to the first registration request message, a second registration request message from the UE over the NG-RAN; (Ibid. The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704. The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704, for example, by sending a second registration request message 1714 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 1704.)
transmitting, in response to the second registration request message, a second registration accept message to the UE over the NG-RAN; (Ibid. he AMF 1708 may accept the second registration request 1714. The AMF 1708 may accept the second registration request 1714, for example, by sending a second registration accept message 1716 to the wireless device 1700 via the second access network 1704) and
transmitting a paging message to the UE over the NG-RAN, wherein the second registration request message includes information indicating that a second path, over which the second registration request message was sent, has been added as a path for the UE, ([0348] Resume procedures for a wireless device in an inactive state, in at least some systems, may require RAN paging, for example, if an AMF has a pending NAS message for a wireless device in an inactive state for a first access technology. As described herein, a second access technology may be used to improve the connection setup and resume procedures for a wireless device.)
wherein the paging message is transmitted to the UE over a paging path, ([0348] Resume procedures for a wireless device in an inactive state, in at least some systems, may require RAN paging,) and
wherein the paging path being determined to be one of the second path or the first path over which the first registration request message was transmitted. ([0348] An AMF may query a base station of the first access technology to determine the state of the wireless device for which the AMF may have a pending NAS message. The AMF may determine whether the wireless device is connected via a second access technology, for example, if the wireless device is inactive for the first access technology. The second access technology may be used,)
Regarding claim 2. Ryu teaches The method of The method of wherein the first path and the second path are different communication paths generated between the UE and the NG-RAN. ([0348]
Messaging using the second access technology may decrease resources used for the first access technology, for example, by reducing the amount of RAN paging. Reduced RAN paging may reduce power consumption of the wireless device. Systems, methods, and apparatuses described herein may provide advantages such as improved connection setup and/or connection resume speed (e.g., reduced delay).)
Regarding claim 3. Ryu teaches The method of The method of wherein the second registration accept message includes information related to paging path. ([0280] The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704, for example, by sending a second registration request message 1714 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 1704.)
Regarding claim 4. Ryu teaches The method of The method of if the paging path is an indirect path through a UE-to-Network Relay, wherein the information related to the paging path is used by the UE to request that the UE-to-Network Relay receive a paging message. ([0132] The functionality of non-3GPP interworking function N3IWF 170, 270 for non-3GPP access 265 may comprise at least one or more of the following: supporting of IPsec tunnel establishment with the wireless device, terminating the IKEv2/IPsec protocols with the wireless device 100, 200 over NWu, relaying over N2 the information needed to authenticate the wireless device 100 and authorize its access to the 5GC,)
Regarding claim 5. Ryu teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining the paging path based on that the information indicating that the second path has been added as a path for the UE is received. ([0280] The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704,… by sending a second registration request message 1714 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)))
Regarding claim 6. Nyu teaches The method of claim 5, wherein the paging path is determined, based on at least one of: whether a direct path exists among the first path or the second path, an order of generation of the first path and the second path, the priority of the first path and the second path, and whether a main path exists among the first path and the second path.
Regarding claim 7. Ryu teaches The method of The method of wherein a combination of the first path and the second path is any one of among: a combination that the first path is a direct path and the second path is an indirect path; a combination that the first path is an indirect path and the second path is a direct path; a combination that wherein the first path is an indirect path and the second path is an indirect path. ([0293] The wireless device 1900 may use an idle mode mobility (e.g., use idle mode DRX period, perform mobility-based registration procedure) and/or delete a wireless device context of the first access technology for an existing connection upon entering RRC idle state 1920. The wireless device 1900 may send a release notification response message 1922 to the AMF 1906 via the second access technology.)
Regarding claim 10. Ryu teaches Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) for performing communication, the AMF comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connectable to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor, perform operations comprising steps recited in claim 1. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11. Ryu teaches A method for performing communication, the method performed by a User Equipment (UE), and comprising:
transmitting a first registration request message to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) over a New Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN); ([0280] The wireless device 1700 may send a registration request message 1710 to the AMF 1708. The wireless device 1700 may send the registration request message 1710 to the AMF 1708, for example, via a first access network 1702.)
receiving, in response to the first registration request message, a first registration accept message from the AMF over the NG-RAN; (Ibid. The AMF 1708 may accept the registration request 1710. The AMF 1708 may accept the registration request 1710, for example, by sending a registration accept message 1712 to the wireless device 1700 via the first access network 1702.)
transmitting, in response to the first registration request message, a second registration request message to the AMF over the NG-RAN; (Ibid. The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704. The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704, for example, by sending a second registration request message 1714 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI)) for the initial registration via the second access network 1704.)
receiving, in response to the second registration request message, a second registration accept message from the AMF over the NG-RAN; (Ibid. he AMF 1708 may accept the second registration request 1714. The AMF 1708 may accept the second registration request 1714, for example, by sending a second registration accept message 1716 to the wireless device 1700 via the second access network 1704) and
receiving a paging message from the AMF over the NG-RAN, ([0348] Resume procedures for a wireless device in an inactive state, in at least some systems, may require RAN paging, for example, if an AMF has a pending NAS message for a wireless device in an inactive state for a first access technology. As described herein, a second access technology may be used to improve the connection setup and resume procedures for a wireless device.)
wherein the second registration request message includes information indicating that a second path, over which the second registration on request message was sent, has been added as a path for the UE, (([0280] The wireless device 1700 may register with the same AMF 1708 via the second access network 1704,… by sending a second registration request message 1714 comprising a wireless device identity (e.g., a 5G globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI))))
wherein the paging message is transmitted to the UE over a paging path, ([0348] Resume procedures for a wireless device in an inactive state, in at least some systems, may require RAN paging,) and
wherein the paging path being determined to be one of the second path or the first path over which the first registration request message was transmitted. ([0348] An AMF may query a base station of the first access technology to determine the state of the wireless device for which the AMF may have a pending NAS message. The AMF may determine whether the wireless device is connected via a second access technology, for example, if the wireless device is inactive for the first access technology. The second access technology may be used,)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang; Mingyue et al. US PGPUB 20230292208 A1.
Regarding claim 8. Ryu teaches The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the path identification information includes at least one of: a path number, a path ID, a order of generation of the path, a path type, a priority of the path, a preference of the path, whether the path is a main path, information relating to a UE-to-Network Relay if the path type is an indirect path, or a number of UE-to-Network Relays on the path if the path type is an indirect path.
However, Yang teaches
wherein the path identification information ([0102] In some implementations, the receiving unit is further configured to: [0103] receive a registration request from the first terminal device, where the registration request includes path support capability information of the first terminal device.)
includes at least one of: a path number, a path ID, a order of generation of the path, a path type, a priority of the path, a preference of the path, whether the path is a main path, information relating to a UE-to-Network Relay if the path type is an indirect path, or a number of UE-to-Network Relays on the path if the path type is an indirect path. ([0373] The registration request includes path support capability information of the first terminal device. The path support capability information indicates that the first terminal device supports one or more of the following: the Uu interface and PC5 interface dual connectivity, the Uu interface connectivity, or the PC5 interface connectivity.)
in order to improve data transmission efficiency. ([0040])
Ryu and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Ryu with the technique of path information in register request in Yang in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YU HYUN et al. KR 20190074614 A.
Regarding claim 9. Ryu teaches The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein the second registration request message is a path addition request message, wherein the second registration accept message is a path addition accept message.
However, Yu teaches
wherein the second registration request message is a path addition request message, wherein the second registration accept message is a path addition accept message. (Page 9/18, first para “In this way, when the gateway 200 accepts the control registration request according to the service type requested by the terminal 100, the transmission path can be added or the transmission path can be changed according to the registered control condition.”)
in order to improve terminal performance by increasing the tunnels between terminal and gateways. (page 9/18, para starting with “Next, a method…”)
Ryu and Yu are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Ryu with the technique of path addition in Yu in order to improve terminal performance by increasing the tunnels between terminal and gateways.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468