DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian et al (US 2021/0360664 A1) in view of Harada et al (WO 2023/281721 A1) (see attached translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Fakoorian ‘664 teaches, a terminal of a communication system( [0157], [0158] and Figs. 2, 8 UE 115), the terminal comprising: a transceiver([0157], [0158] and Figs. 2, 8 UE 115 comprisingTX840/RX810); at least one processor configured to:
([0157], [0158] and Figs. 2, 8 UE 115 comprising communication manager 815); configured to: identify an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol allocated for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0006], [0099], [0137] and Figs. 4-5, UE receiving joint DCI including time domain resource allocation (TDRA) and identifying time domain resources allocated (i.e. symbols and slot) for PUSCH).
Fakoorian ‘664 does not explicitly teach, determine an offset and an uplink resource size for frequency hopping based on whether an uplink resource and a downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in the OFDM symbol; and transmit the PUSCH by applying frequency hopping based on the offset and the uplink resource size.
Harada ‘721 teaches, determine an offset and an uplink resource size for frequency hopping based on whether an uplink resource and a downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in theFourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, XDD time units where downlink and uplink resources overlap in time(e.g. within the same symbol) but are separated by frequency. Determining frequency hopping parameters (such as offset) and frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) (resource size) differently depending on whether the time unit is an XDD time unit (shared UL/DL or only UL or only DL. “The UE behavior… may differ between frequency hopping within XDD time units and frequency hopping within pure time units”. “Different interpretations (methods of interpretation, e.g. formulas/tables/rules) of the FDRA (FDRA field) are used for multiple time units with different frequency-time unit patterns”); and
transmit the PUSCH by applying frequency hopping based on the offset and the uplink resource size(fourth embodiment pages 24-27, the UE transmitting the PUSCH by applying frequency hopping . Determining the specific time and frequency resources for the firs hop and second hop (applying the offset and resource size) and successfully transmitting the PUSCH after excreting collision handling to ensure the hops fall on valid uplink frequency time units).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the combination of Fakoorian ‘664 and Harada ‘721 teaches all the claim limitations Fakoorian ‘664 further teaches, wherein, in case that the uplink resource and the downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in the OFDM symbol([0006], [0099], [0137] and Figs. 4-5, subband Full-Duplex(SBFD) configuration where resources used for downlink (DL) reception and resources used for uplink UL transmission overlap in time within the same carrier bandwidth).
Harada ‘721 teaches, the offset for the frequency hopping corresponds to a second offset, and wherein a value of the second offset is determined based on higher layer signaling(Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, “The setting of frequency hopping within the XDD time unit and the setting of frequency hopping within the pure time unit may be common or independent”, which suggests that using a distinct independent frequency hopping configuration (a second offset) specifically triggered by the condition of sharing the time unit with DL resources (an XDD time unit) versus an unshared time unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the combination of Fakoorian ‘664 and Bae ‘896 teaches all the claim limitations Fakoorian ‘664 further teaches, wherein, in case that the uplink resource and the downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in the OFDM symbol ([0101], [0104], [0105], [0132] and Figs. 4-5, receiving joint DCI allocating DL and UL resources on different subbands(BWP) within the same slot and determining an offset value based on the configuration).
Harada ‘721 teaches, the uplink resource size for the frequency hopping corresponds to a second uplink resource size, and wherein the second uplink resource size is a size of the frequency resource allocated for uplink in the OFDM symbol (Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, applying different interpretations of the frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) which controls the resource size depending on the frequency-time unit pattern of the scheduled symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the combination of Fakoorian ‘664 and Harada ‘721teaches all the claim limitations Harada ‘721 further teaches, in case that only the uplink resource is configured in the OFDM symbol (Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, in a scenario where a time unit (such as a symbol) contains only uplink resource. It teaches that “ if one or more frequency-time units within a time unit are all for UL, the time unit may be referred to as a pure UL time unit , UL time unit” which corresponds to the condition where only the uplink resource is configured in the OFDM symbol), the offset for the frequency hopping corresponds to a first offset and (Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, frequency hopping can be configured distinctly based on the type of time unit being used. “ UE behavior…may differ between frequency hopping withing XDD time units and frequency hopping within pure time units”, the setting of frequency hopping within the XDD time unit and the setting of frequency hopping within the pure time unit may be common or independent setting for frequency hopping within a pure time unit, Harada ‘721 teaches using a firs offset” when only uplink resource are present) the uplink resource size for the frequency hopping corresponds to a first uplink resource size(Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, the interpretation of the FDRA which controls the resource size, differs depending on the configuration of the time unit. It discloses that “different interpretations (methods of interpretation e.g. formulas/tables/rules) of the FDRA (FDRA filed) are used for multiple time units with different frequency-time unit patterns”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Fakoorian ‘664 teaches, a base station of a communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor configured to:
identify orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol allocated for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0006], [0099], [0137] and Figs. 4-5, base station determining and transmitting to UE joint DCI including time domain resource allocation (TDRA) that identifies time domain resources allocated (i.e. symbols and slot) for PUSCH);
Fakoorian ‘664 does not explicitly teach, determine an offset and an uplink resource size for frequency hopping based on whether an uplink resource and a downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in the OFDM symbol; and receive the PUSCH by applying frequency hopping based on the offset and the uplink resource size.
Harada ‘721 teaches, determine an offset and an uplink resource size for frequency hopping based on whether an uplink resource and a downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in theFourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, XDD time units where downlink and uplink resources overlap in time(e.g. within the same symbol) but are separated by frequency. Determining frequency hopping parameters (such as offset) and frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) (resource size) differently depending on whether the time unit is an XDD time unit (shared UL/DL or only UL or only DL. “The UE behavior… may differ between frequency hopping within XDD time units and frequency hopping within pure time units”. “Different interpretations (methods of interpretation, e.g. formulas/tables/rules) of the FDRA (FDRA field) are used for multiple time units with different frequency-time unit patterns”); and
receive the PUSCH by applying frequency hopping based on the offset and the uplink resource size (fourth embodiment pages 24-27, receiving from the UE the PUSCH which is transmitted from the UE by applying frequency hopping. Determining the specific time and frequency resources for the first hop and second hop (applying the offset and resource size) and successfully transmitting the PUSCH after excreting collision handling to ensure the hops fall on valid uplink frequency time units).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the combination of Fakoorian ‘664 and Harada ‘721 teaches all the claim limitations Fakoorian ‘664 further teaches, wherein, in case that the uplink resource and the downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in the OFDM symbol([0006], [0099], [0137] and Figs. 4-5, subband Full-Duplex(SBFD) configuration where resources used for downlink (DL) reception and resources used for uplink UL transmission overlap in time within the same carrier bandwidth).
Harada ‘721 teaches, the offset for the frequency hopping corresponds to a second offset, and wherein a value of the second offset is determined based on higher layer signaling(Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, “The setting of frequency hopping within the XDD time unit and the setting of frequency hopping within the pure time unit may be common or independent”, which suggests that using a distinct independent frequency hopping configuration (a second offset) specifically triggered by the condition of sharing the time unit with DL resources (an XDD time unit) versus an unshared time unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, the combination of Fakoorian ‘664 and Bae ‘896 teaches all the claim limitations Fakoorian ‘664 further teaches, wherein, in case that the uplink resource and the downlink resource are configured on different frequency resources in the OFDM symbol ([0101], [0104], [0105], [0132] and Figs. 4-5, receiving joint DCI allocating DL and UL resources on different subbands (BWP) within the same slot and determining an offset value based on the configuration).
Harada ‘721 teaches, the uplink resource size for the frequency hopping corresponds to a second uplink resource size, and wherein the second uplink resource size is a size of the frequency resource allocated for uplink in the OFDM symbol (Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, applying different interpretations of the frequency domain resource assignment (FDRA) which controls the resource size depending on the frequency-time unit pattern of the scheduled symbol).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, the combination of Fakoorian ‘664 and Harada ‘721teaches all the claim limitations Harada ‘721 further teaches, in case that only the uplink resource is configured in the OFDM symbol (Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, in a scenario where a time unit (such as a symbol) contains only uplink resource. It teaches that “ if one or more frequency-time units within a time unit are all for UL, the time unit may be referred to as a pure UL time unit , UL time unit” which corresponds to the condition where only the uplink resource is configured in the OFDM symbol), the offset for the frequency hopping corresponds to a first offset and (Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, frequency hopping can be configured distinctly based on the type of time unit being used. “ UE behavior…may differ between frequency hopping withing XDD time units and frequency hopping within pure time units”, the setting of frequency hopping within the XDD time unit and the setting of frequency hopping within the pure time unit may be common or independent setting for frequency hopping within a pure time unit, Harada ‘721 teaches using a firs offset” when only uplink resource are present) the uplink resource size for the frequency hopping corresponds to a first uplink resource size(Fourth and Fifth embodiments, pages 24-31, the interpretation of the FDRA which controls the resource size, differs depending on the configuration of the time unit. It discloses that “different interpretations (methods of interpretation e.g. formulas/tables/rules) of the FDRA (FDRA filed) are used for multiple time units with different frequency-time unit patterns”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Fakoorian ‘664, by incorporating the teaching of Harada ‘721, since such modification would provide a method/system for indicating link direction of each resource for XDD, thereby increasing communication quality and throughput, as suggested by Harada ‘721(page 7).
Internet Communications
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474